tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TREETOP FLYERS - Palomino

TREETOP FLYERS

Palomino

MusicCD
AmericanaFolkIndie Rock

[90/100]   

Loose Music
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Opening song You, Darling You, reminds me a bit of Neil Young. Treetop Flyers offers a kind of indie/folk rock with Americana influence, all with a great sense of harmony and melody. It can actually be traced back to the seventies. I see a bunch of bearded guys in front of me, dressed in elephant pipes, acoustic guitar, organ, drums... The band photos however show me a modern version. Before you think it sounds corny, I can tell you that everything has a contemporary sound. Palomino is the successor of the rated debut The Mountain Moves and was recorded in their own studio (Soup Studios) in London. Everything is self-produced and mixed by Jonathan Wilson (Elvis Costello and Conor Oberst).

You, Darling You is an instant hit. A wonderful song with a catchy organ, synths and very striking vocals. A song that is worth being a single. Sleepless Nights has the same concept: a catchy guitar lick that takes you through the song. The band also has other types of songs in its repertoire: in It's A Shame the sax reminds us of Morphine, while the choir in the chorus sounds very soulful. Again a beautiful track! Dance Through The Night is soul funk. St Andrews Cross is more Fleet Foxes-like. 31 Years is upbeat and is about a friend who died when the band recorded its debut. A beautiful and profound text, and also a fine track. Never Been As Hard is a beautiful ballad with a subtle weeping guitar. A captivating moment.

In total there are 11 gems on a fascinating and mature album. Last year, Roseland by The View Electric was the best album I heard in the indie genre, Treetop Flyers could be this year's successor.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Openingssong You, Darling You, doet mij een beetje denken aan Neil Young. Met name het stemtimbre en de muzikale omlijsting. De Treetop Flyers brengt een soort indie/folkrock met Americana-invloeden. Dat alles met veel gevoel voor harmonie en melodie. Het voert je zowaar terug naar de jaren zeventig. Ik zie een stel baardige kerels voor mij, gehuld in olifantenpijpen, met acoustische gitaar, orgel, drum… De bandfoto’s tonen mij een moderne versie. Voordat je denkt dat het oubollig klinkt, kan ik wel vertellen dat alles in een modern jasje is gestopt. Palomino is de opvolger van het gewaardeerd debuut The Mountain Moves en werd in de eigen studio (Soup Studios) in Londen opgenomen. Alles is zelf geproduceerd en daarna gemixt door Jonathan Wilson (o.a. Elvis Costello, Conor Oberst…).

Opener You, Darling You is meteen een voltreffer. Een heerlijke song met een catchy orgel of synth en heel rake vocals. Een song die een single waard is. Sleepless Nights volgt een beetje op hetzelfde concept: een catchy gitaarlick die je meeneemt doorheen de song. Op het einde horen we nog een atmosferische en mijmerende uitloper. De band heeft ook andere soorten songs in zijn repertoire: In It’s A Shame doet de sax wat aan Morphine denken, terwijl het koortje in het refrein heel soulvol klinkt. Wederom een prachtige track! in Dance Through The Night horen we dan weer een soort soulfunk. In St Andrews Cross gaat de samenzang meer in de richting van Fleet Foxes. 31 Years is uptempo en gaat over een vriend die stierf toen ze het debuut opnamen. Een mooie en diepgaande tekst en tevens een fijne track. Never Been As Hard is een mooie ballad met een subtiel wenende gitaar. Een beklijvend moment.

In totaal zijn er 11 van dergelijke pareltjes, die samen een boeiend en volwassen album vormen. Verleden jaar was Roseland van The View Electric het beste wat ik heb gehoord in het indiegenre, dit jaar dingen The Treetop Flyers naar die titel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go