tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TREETOP FLYERS - Palomino

TREETOP FLYERS

Palomino

MusicCD
AmericanaFolkIndie Rock

[90/100]   

Loose Music
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Opening song You, Darling You, reminds me a bit of Neil Young. Treetop Flyers offers a kind of indie/folk rock with Americana influence, all with a great sense of harmony and melody. It can actually be traced back to the seventies. I see a bunch of bearded guys in front of me, dressed in elephant pipes, acoustic guitar, organ, drums... The band photos however show me a modern version. Before you think it sounds corny, I can tell you that everything has a contemporary sound. Palomino is the successor of the rated debut The Mountain Moves and was recorded in their own studio (Soup Studios) in London. Everything is self-produced and mixed by Jonathan Wilson (Elvis Costello and Conor Oberst).

You, Darling You is an instant hit. A wonderful song with a catchy organ, synths and very striking vocals. A song that is worth being a single. Sleepless Nights has the same concept: a catchy guitar lick that takes you through the song. The band also has other types of songs in its repertoire: in It's A Shame the sax reminds us of Morphine, while the choir in the chorus sounds very soulful. Again a beautiful track! Dance Through The Night is soul funk. St Andrews Cross is more Fleet Foxes-like. 31 Years is upbeat and is about a friend who died when the band recorded its debut. A beautiful and profound text, and also a fine track. Never Been As Hard is a beautiful ballad with a subtle weeping guitar. A captivating moment.

In total there are 11 gems on a fascinating and mature album. Last year, Roseland by The View Electric was the best album I heard in the indie genre, Treetop Flyers could be this year's successor.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Openingssong You, Darling You, doet mij een beetje denken aan Neil Young. Met name het stemtimbre en de muzikale omlijsting. De Treetop Flyers brengt een soort indie/folkrock met Americana-invloeden. Dat alles met veel gevoel voor harmonie en melodie. Het voert je zowaar terug naar de jaren zeventig. Ik zie een stel baardige kerels voor mij, gehuld in olifantenpijpen, met acoustische gitaar, orgel, drum… De bandfoto’s tonen mij een moderne versie. Voordat je denkt dat het oubollig klinkt, kan ik wel vertellen dat alles in een modern jasje is gestopt. Palomino is de opvolger van het gewaardeerd debuut The Mountain Moves en werd in de eigen studio (Soup Studios) in Londen opgenomen. Alles is zelf geproduceerd en daarna gemixt door Jonathan Wilson (o.a. Elvis Costello, Conor Oberst…).

Opener You, Darling You is meteen een voltreffer. Een heerlijke song met een catchy orgel of synth en heel rake vocals. Een song die een single waard is. Sleepless Nights volgt een beetje op hetzelfde concept: een catchy gitaarlick die je meeneemt doorheen de song. Op het einde horen we nog een atmosferische en mijmerende uitloper. De band heeft ook andere soorten songs in zijn repertoire: In It’s A Shame doet de sax wat aan Morphine denken, terwijl het koortje in het refrein heel soulvol klinkt. Wederom een prachtige track! in Dance Through The Night horen we dan weer een soort soulfunk. In St Andrews Cross gaat de samenzang meer in de richting van Fleet Foxes. 31 Years is uptempo en gaat over een vriend die stierf toen ze het debuut opnamen. Een mooie en diepgaande tekst en tevens een fijne track. Never Been As Hard is een mooie ballad met een subtiel wenende gitaar. Een beklijvend moment.

In totaal zijn er 11 van dergelijke pareltjes, die samen een boeiend en volwassen album vormen. Verleden jaar was Roseland van The View Electric het beste wat ik heb gehoord in het indiegenre, dit jaar dingen The Treetop Flyers naar die titel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden