tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TREETOP FLYERS - Palomino

TREETOP FLYERS

Palomino

MusicCD
AmericanaFolkIndie Rock

[90/100]   

Loose Music
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Opening song You, Darling You, reminds me a bit of Neil Young. Treetop Flyers offers a kind of indie/folk rock with Americana influence, all with a great sense of harmony and melody. It can actually be traced back to the seventies. I see a bunch of bearded guys in front of me, dressed in elephant pipes, acoustic guitar, organ, drums... The band photos however show me a modern version. Before you think it sounds corny, I can tell you that everything has a contemporary sound. Palomino is the successor of the rated debut The Mountain Moves and was recorded in their own studio (Soup Studios) in London. Everything is self-produced and mixed by Jonathan Wilson (Elvis Costello and Conor Oberst).

You, Darling You is an instant hit. A wonderful song with a catchy organ, synths and very striking vocals. A song that is worth being a single. Sleepless Nights has the same concept: a catchy guitar lick that takes you through the song. The band also has other types of songs in its repertoire: in It's A Shame the sax reminds us of Morphine, while the choir in the chorus sounds very soulful. Again a beautiful track! Dance Through The Night is soul funk. St Andrews Cross is more Fleet Foxes-like. 31 Years is upbeat and is about a friend who died when the band recorded its debut. A beautiful and profound text, and also a fine track. Never Been As Hard is a beautiful ballad with a subtle weeping guitar. A captivating moment.

In total there are 11 gems on a fascinating and mature album. Last year, Roseland by The View Electric was the best album I heard in the indie genre, Treetop Flyers could be this year's successor.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Openingssong You, Darling You, doet mij een beetje denken aan Neil Young. Met name het stemtimbre en de muzikale omlijsting. De Treetop Flyers brengt een soort indie/folkrock met Americana-invloeden. Dat alles met veel gevoel voor harmonie en melodie. Het voert je zowaar terug naar de jaren zeventig. Ik zie een stel baardige kerels voor mij, gehuld in olifantenpijpen, met acoustische gitaar, orgel, drum… De bandfoto’s tonen mij een moderne versie. Voordat je denkt dat het oubollig klinkt, kan ik wel vertellen dat alles in een modern jasje is gestopt. Palomino is de opvolger van het gewaardeerd debuut The Mountain Moves en werd in de eigen studio (Soup Studios) in Londen opgenomen. Alles is zelf geproduceerd en daarna gemixt door Jonathan Wilson (o.a. Elvis Costello, Conor Oberst…).

Opener You, Darling You is meteen een voltreffer. Een heerlijke song met een catchy orgel of synth en heel rake vocals. Een song die een single waard is. Sleepless Nights volgt een beetje op hetzelfde concept: een catchy gitaarlick die je meeneemt doorheen de song. Op het einde horen we nog een atmosferische en mijmerende uitloper. De band heeft ook andere soorten songs in zijn repertoire: In It’s A Shame doet de sax wat aan Morphine denken, terwijl het koortje in het refrein heel soulvol klinkt. Wederom een prachtige track! in Dance Through The Night horen we dan weer een soort soulfunk. In St Andrews Cross gaat de samenzang meer in de richting van Fleet Foxes. 31 Years is uptempo en gaat over een vriend die stierf toen ze het debuut opnamen. Een mooie en diepgaande tekst en tevens een fijne track. Never Been As Hard is een mooie ballad met een subtiel wenende gitaar. Een beklijvend moment.

In totaal zijn er 11 van dergelijke pareltjes, die samen een boeiend en volwassen album vormen. Verleden jaar was Roseland van The View Electric het beste wat ik heb gehoord in het indiegenre, dit jaar dingen The Treetop Flyers naar die titel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real