tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TREETOP FLYERS - Palomino

TREETOP FLYERS

Palomino

MusicCD
AmericanaFolkIndie Rock

[90/100]   

Loose Music
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Opening song You, Darling You, reminds me a bit of Neil Young. Treetop Flyers offers a kind of indie/folk rock with Americana influence, all with a great sense of harmony and melody. It can actually be traced back to the seventies. I see a bunch of bearded guys in front of me, dressed in elephant pipes, acoustic guitar, organ, drums... The band photos however show me a modern version. Before you think it sounds corny, I can tell you that everything has a contemporary sound. Palomino is the successor of the rated debut The Mountain Moves and was recorded in their own studio (Soup Studios) in London. Everything is self-produced and mixed by Jonathan Wilson (Elvis Costello and Conor Oberst).

You, Darling You is an instant hit. A wonderful song with a catchy organ, synths and very striking vocals. A song that is worth being a single. Sleepless Nights has the same concept: a catchy guitar lick that takes you through the song. The band also has other types of songs in its repertoire: in It's A Shame the sax reminds us of Morphine, while the choir in the chorus sounds very soulful. Again a beautiful track! Dance Through The Night is soul funk. St Andrews Cross is more Fleet Foxes-like. 31 Years is upbeat and is about a friend who died when the band recorded its debut. A beautiful and profound text, and also a fine track. Never Been As Hard is a beautiful ballad with a subtle weeping guitar. A captivating moment.

In total there are 11 gems on a fascinating and mature album. Last year, Roseland by The View Electric was the best album I heard in the indie genre, Treetop Flyers could be this year's successor.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Openingssong You, Darling You, doet mij een beetje denken aan Neil Young. Met name het stemtimbre en de muzikale omlijsting. De Treetop Flyers brengt een soort indie/folkrock met Americana-invloeden. Dat alles met veel gevoel voor harmonie en melodie. Het voert je zowaar terug naar de jaren zeventig. Ik zie een stel baardige kerels voor mij, gehuld in olifantenpijpen, met acoustische gitaar, orgel, drum… De bandfoto’s tonen mij een moderne versie. Voordat je denkt dat het oubollig klinkt, kan ik wel vertellen dat alles in een modern jasje is gestopt. Palomino is de opvolger van het gewaardeerd debuut The Mountain Moves en werd in de eigen studio (Soup Studios) in Londen opgenomen. Alles is zelf geproduceerd en daarna gemixt door Jonathan Wilson (o.a. Elvis Costello, Conor Oberst…).

Opener You, Darling You is meteen een voltreffer. Een heerlijke song met een catchy orgel of synth en heel rake vocals. Een song die een single waard is. Sleepless Nights volgt een beetje op hetzelfde concept: een catchy gitaarlick die je meeneemt doorheen de song. Op het einde horen we nog een atmosferische en mijmerende uitloper. De band heeft ook andere soorten songs in zijn repertoire: In It’s A Shame doet de sax wat aan Morphine denken, terwijl het koortje in het refrein heel soulvol klinkt. Wederom een prachtige track! in Dance Through The Night horen we dan weer een soort soulfunk. In St Andrews Cross gaat de samenzang meer in de richting van Fleet Foxes. 31 Years is uptempo en gaat over een vriend die stierf toen ze het debuut opnamen. Een mooie en diepgaande tekst en tevens een fijne track. Never Been As Hard is een mooie ballad met een subtiel wenende gitaar. Een beklijvend moment.

In totaal zijn er 11 van dergelijke pareltjes, die samen een boeiend en volwassen album vormen. Verleden jaar was Roseland van The View Electric het beste wat ik heb gehoord in het indiegenre, dit jaar dingen The Treetop Flyers naar die titel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy