tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TREETOP FLYERS - Palomino

TREETOP FLYERS

Palomino

MusicCD
AmericanaFolkIndie Rock

[90/100]   

Loose Music
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Opening song You, Darling You, reminds me a bit of Neil Young. Treetop Flyers offers a kind of indie/folk rock with Americana influence, all with a great sense of harmony and melody. It can actually be traced back to the seventies. I see a bunch of bearded guys in front of me, dressed in elephant pipes, acoustic guitar, organ, drums... The band photos however show me a modern version. Before you think it sounds corny, I can tell you that everything has a contemporary sound. Palomino is the successor of the rated debut The Mountain Moves and was recorded in their own studio (Soup Studios) in London. Everything is self-produced and mixed by Jonathan Wilson (Elvis Costello and Conor Oberst).

You, Darling You is an instant hit. A wonderful song with a catchy organ, synths and very striking vocals. A song that is worth being a single. Sleepless Nights has the same concept: a catchy guitar lick that takes you through the song. The band also has other types of songs in its repertoire: in It's A Shame the sax reminds us of Morphine, while the choir in the chorus sounds very soulful. Again a beautiful track! Dance Through The Night is soul funk. St Andrews Cross is more Fleet Foxes-like. 31 Years is upbeat and is about a friend who died when the band recorded its debut. A beautiful and profound text, and also a fine track. Never Been As Hard is a beautiful ballad with a subtle weeping guitar. A captivating moment.

In total there are 11 gems on a fascinating and mature album. Last year, Roseland by The View Electric was the best album I heard in the indie genre, Treetop Flyers could be this year's successor.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Openingssong You, Darling You, doet mij een beetje denken aan Neil Young. Met name het stemtimbre en de muzikale omlijsting. De Treetop Flyers brengt een soort indie/folkrock met Americana-invloeden. Dat alles met veel gevoel voor harmonie en melodie. Het voert je zowaar terug naar de jaren zeventig. Ik zie een stel baardige kerels voor mij, gehuld in olifantenpijpen, met acoustische gitaar, orgel, drum… De bandfoto’s tonen mij een moderne versie. Voordat je denkt dat het oubollig klinkt, kan ik wel vertellen dat alles in een modern jasje is gestopt. Palomino is de opvolger van het gewaardeerd debuut The Mountain Moves en werd in de eigen studio (Soup Studios) in Londen opgenomen. Alles is zelf geproduceerd en daarna gemixt door Jonathan Wilson (o.a. Elvis Costello, Conor Oberst…).

Opener You, Darling You is meteen een voltreffer. Een heerlijke song met een catchy orgel of synth en heel rake vocals. Een song die een single waard is. Sleepless Nights volgt een beetje op hetzelfde concept: een catchy gitaarlick die je meeneemt doorheen de song. Op het einde horen we nog een atmosferische en mijmerende uitloper. De band heeft ook andere soorten songs in zijn repertoire: In It’s A Shame doet de sax wat aan Morphine denken, terwijl het koortje in het refrein heel soulvol klinkt. Wederom een prachtige track! in Dance Through The Night horen we dan weer een soort soulfunk. In St Andrews Cross gaat de samenzang meer in de richting van Fleet Foxes. 31 Years is uptempo en gaat over een vriend die stierf toen ze het debuut opnamen. Een mooie en diepgaande tekst en tevens een fijne track. Never Been As Hard is een mooie ballad met een subtiel wenende gitaar. Een beklijvend moment.

In totaal zijn er 11 van dergelijke pareltjes, die samen een boeiend en volwassen album vormen. Verleden jaar was Roseland van The View Electric het beste wat ik heb gehoord in het indiegenre, dit jaar dingen The Treetop Flyers naar die titel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On