tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this music dvd review

09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987

THIERRY ANSALLEM

Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987

MusicMusic DVD
BluesRock

[80/100]   

Eagle Vision
09/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

He is the most talented singer that England has ever produced. These are not our words, but those of Eric Clapton, and they relate to Joe Cocker, the wild and jerky performer with the sandpaper voice. In 1968 he surprised the world with the Beatles cover With a Little Help From My Friends, and a year later he was one of the revelations at the Woodstock Festival. He strengthened his reputation with major hits like The Letter (No. 7 in the US), Cry Me a River (No. 11 in the USA) and High Time We Went (No. 22 in the USA), but after the financially disastrous Mad Dogs & Englishmen tour (1970) through the States, he got into trouble and became addicted to drugs and alcohol. Halfway through the decade his career had stalled. In the early 80s he was offered a demo of Up Where You Belong (from the film An Officer and a Gentleman), but Cocker was not excited, because he would record the song with Jennifer Warnes, according to him a country & western singer. But finally he agreed, and the single reached the top of the American charts and won a Grammy Award (1983). I could not believe that this kind of music was still being made, was his reaction, but Up Where We Belong put him back on the map and marked the relaunch of his career.

Joe Cocker was particularly successful in the US, due to the fact that the music he made connected very well with the American R&B tradition. In Europe, he is best known for his Beatles covers (She Came in Through the Bathroom Window, Something), while in America he became famous with successful covers of Bob Dylan, Randy Newman and Marvin Gaye. During the concert in Montreux (1987) he sings three Dylan compositions (Dear Landlord, Seven Days, Watching the River Flow), 2 Newman songs (You Can Leave Your Hat on, Guilty), and Inner City Blues, as a tribute to Marvin Gaye. The rest of the material (5 songs) comes from his album A Civilized Man (1984). And of course, With a Little Help From My Friends, his famous Beatles cover, is also present.

Joe Cocker is in his best shape in Montreux. The financial problems are averted by the renewed international success, he is out of rehab and he uses alcohol in reasonable quantities. Supported by a strong six-member band and two background singers, he delivers a strong performance. He looks relaxed and healthy, and he has the material under control. He is 18 years older than at the Woodstock festival, but his performance is more balanced and disciplined, while the magnificent voice is still the same.

Playlist:
1 Dear Landlord
2 You Can Leave Your Hat on
3 Feelin’ Alright
4 Civilized Man
5 Inner City Blues
6 Just Like Always
7 Up Where We Belong
8 Seven Days
9 Shelter Me
10 With a Little Help from my Friends
11 You Are so Beautiful
12 Watching the River Flow
13 Guilty

Joe Cocker has always enjoyed more respect from his peers than from the public, and in America he was always more successful than in Europe. His magnum opus is probably the live album Mad Dogs & Englishmen, and his performance in Montreux in 1987 is a perfect sample of his great talent.

THIERRY ANSALLEM – Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
Eagle Vision
Switzerland/Zwitserland 2005
Language/Taal: English/Engels Dolby Digital Stereo 5.1
Subtitles/Ondertitels: - 73 min. – 1.33:1

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


NL

Hij is de meest getalenteerde zanger die Engeland ooit heeft voortgebracht. Het zijn niet onze woorden, maar die van Eric Clapton, en ze hebben betrekking op Joe Cocker, de wilde en spastische performer met de schuurpapieren stem. In 1968 brak hij door met de Beatles-cover With a Little Help from my Friends, waarvan hij de definitieve versie op vinyl vastlegde, en een jaar later was hij één van de revelaties op het Woodstock-festival. Hij verstevigde z’n reputatie met grote hits als The Letter (nr 7 in de USA), Cry Me a River (nr 11 in de USA) High Time We Went (nr 22 in de USA), maar na de financieel desastreuze Mad Dogs & Englishmen-tournee (1970) door de States, kwam hij in de problemen en raakte verslaafd aan drugs en alcohol. Halfweg het decennium stokte z’n carrière. Begin jaren 80 werd hem aangeboden om Up Where You Belong (uit de film An Officer and a Gentleman) voor z’n rekening te nemen, maar Cocker was niet enthousiast, want die song zou hij opnemen met Jennifer Warnes, volgens hem een country- & western-zangers. Dat project kwam er uiteindelijk toch, de single bereikte de top van de Amerikaanse hitparade en won een Grammy Award (1983). Ik geloofde niet dat dat soort muziek nog werd gemaakt, was Joe Cockers reactie achteraf. Maar Up Where We Belong zette hem wél weer op de kaart en betekende de doorstart van zijn carrière.

Joe Cocker was vooral succesvol in de VS, mede door het feit dat de muziek die hij maakte bij de Amerikaanse r&b-traditie aansluit eerder dan bij de Europese. In Europa is hij vooral bekend wegens zijn Beatles-covers (She Came in Through the Bathroom Window, Something), terwijl hij in Amerika vooral bekendheid verwierf met z’n geslaagde covers van Bob Dylan, Randy Newman en Marvin Gaye. Tijdens het concert in Montreux (1987) brengt hij 3 interpretaties van Dylan-songs (Dear Landlord, Seven Days, Watching the River Flow), 2 Newman-composities (You Can Leave Your Hat on en de afsluiter Guilty), en Inner City Blues als een hommage aan Marvin Gaye. De rest van het materiaal (5 songs) komt uit z’n album A Civilized Man (1984). En uiteraard mocht ook With a Little Help from my Friends niet ontbreken.

In Montreux is Joe Cocker in z’n beste vorm. De financiële problemen zijn bezworen door het hernieuwde internationale succes, van drugs is hij afgekickt en alcohol gebruikt hij nu in redelijke hoeveelheden, en gesteund door een sterke zeskoppige band en twee achtergrondzangeressen levert hij een sterke prestatie. Hij ziet er ontspannen en gezond uit en hij heeft het materiaal duidelijk helemaal onder controle. Hij is 18 jaar ouder dan destijds op het Woodstock-festival en zijn optreden is evenwichtiger en gedisciplineerd, terwijl de prachtige stem nog precies dezelfde is.

Playlist:
1 Dear Landlord
2 You Can Leave Your Hat on
3 Feelin’ Alright
4 Civilized Man
5 Inner City Blues
6 Just Like Always
7 Up Where We Belong
8 Seven Days
9 Shelter Me
10 With a Little Help from my Friends
11 You Are so Beautiful
12 Watching the River Flow
13 Guilty

Joe Cocker heeft altijd meer aanzien genoten bij zijn vakgenoten dan bij het publiek en in Amerika was hij altijd al succesvoller dan in Europa. Zijn magnus opus is wellicht het live album Mad Dogs & Englishmen, maar zijn optreden in Montreux in 1987 is een perfecte staalkaart van zijn grote talent.

THIERRY ANSALLEM – Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
Eagle Vision
Switzerland/Zwitserland 2005
Language/Taal: English/Engels Dolby Digital Stereo 5.1
Subtitles/Ondertitels: - 73 min. – 1.33:1

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots