tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this music dvd review

09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987

THIERRY ANSALLEM

Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987

MusicMusic DVD
BluesRock

[80/100]   

Eagle Vision
09/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

He is the most talented singer that England has ever produced. These are not our words, but those of Eric Clapton, and they relate to Joe Cocker, the wild and jerky performer with the sandpaper voice. In 1968 he surprised the world with the Beatles cover With a Little Help From My Friends, and a year later he was one of the revelations at the Woodstock Festival. He strengthened his reputation with major hits like The Letter (No. 7 in the US), Cry Me a River (No. 11 in the USA) and High Time We Went (No. 22 in the USA), but after the financially disastrous Mad Dogs & Englishmen tour (1970) through the States, he got into trouble and became addicted to drugs and alcohol. Halfway through the decade his career had stalled. In the early 80s he was offered a demo of Up Where You Belong (from the film An Officer and a Gentleman), but Cocker was not excited, because he would record the song with Jennifer Warnes, according to him a country & western singer. But finally he agreed, and the single reached the top of the American charts and won a Grammy Award (1983). I could not believe that this kind of music was still being made, was his reaction, but Up Where We Belong put him back on the map and marked the relaunch of his career.

Joe Cocker was particularly successful in the US, due to the fact that the music he made connected very well with the American R&B tradition. In Europe, he is best known for his Beatles covers (She Came in Through the Bathroom Window, Something), while in America he became famous with successful covers of Bob Dylan, Randy Newman and Marvin Gaye. During the concert in Montreux (1987) he sings three Dylan compositions (Dear Landlord, Seven Days, Watching the River Flow), 2 Newman songs (You Can Leave Your Hat on, Guilty), and Inner City Blues, as a tribute to Marvin Gaye. The rest of the material (5 songs) comes from his album A Civilized Man (1984). And of course, With a Little Help From My Friends, his famous Beatles cover, is also present.

Joe Cocker is in his best shape in Montreux. The financial problems are averted by the renewed international success, he is out of rehab and he uses alcohol in reasonable quantities. Supported by a strong six-member band and two background singers, he delivers a strong performance. He looks relaxed and healthy, and he has the material under control. He is 18 years older than at the Woodstock festival, but his performance is more balanced and disciplined, while the magnificent voice is still the same.

Playlist:
1 Dear Landlord
2 You Can Leave Your Hat on
3 Feelin’ Alright
4 Civilized Man
5 Inner City Blues
6 Just Like Always
7 Up Where We Belong
8 Seven Days
9 Shelter Me
10 With a Little Help from my Friends
11 You Are so Beautiful
12 Watching the River Flow
13 Guilty

Joe Cocker has always enjoyed more respect from his peers than from the public, and in America he was always more successful than in Europe. His magnum opus is probably the live album Mad Dogs & Englishmen, and his performance in Montreux in 1987 is a perfect sample of his great talent.

THIERRY ANSALLEM – Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
Eagle Vision
Switzerland/Zwitserland 2005
Language/Taal: English/Engels Dolby Digital Stereo 5.1
Subtitles/Ondertitels: - 73 min. – 1.33:1

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


NL

Hij is de meest getalenteerde zanger die Engeland ooit heeft voortgebracht. Het zijn niet onze woorden, maar die van Eric Clapton, en ze hebben betrekking op Joe Cocker, de wilde en spastische performer met de schuurpapieren stem. In 1968 brak hij door met de Beatles-cover With a Little Help from my Friends, waarvan hij de definitieve versie op vinyl vastlegde, en een jaar later was hij één van de revelaties op het Woodstock-festival. Hij verstevigde z’n reputatie met grote hits als The Letter (nr 7 in de USA), Cry Me a River (nr 11 in de USA) High Time We Went (nr 22 in de USA), maar na de financieel desastreuze Mad Dogs & Englishmen-tournee (1970) door de States, kwam hij in de problemen en raakte verslaafd aan drugs en alcohol. Halfweg het decennium stokte z’n carrière. Begin jaren 80 werd hem aangeboden om Up Where You Belong (uit de film An Officer and a Gentleman) voor z’n rekening te nemen, maar Cocker was niet enthousiast, want die song zou hij opnemen met Jennifer Warnes, volgens hem een country- & western-zangers. Dat project kwam er uiteindelijk toch, de single bereikte de top van de Amerikaanse hitparade en won een Grammy Award (1983). Ik geloofde niet dat dat soort muziek nog werd gemaakt, was Joe Cockers reactie achteraf. Maar Up Where We Belong zette hem wél weer op de kaart en betekende de doorstart van zijn carrière.

Joe Cocker was vooral succesvol in de VS, mede door het feit dat de muziek die hij maakte bij de Amerikaanse r&b-traditie aansluit eerder dan bij de Europese. In Europa is hij vooral bekend wegens zijn Beatles-covers (She Came in Through the Bathroom Window, Something), terwijl hij in Amerika vooral bekendheid verwierf met z’n geslaagde covers van Bob Dylan, Randy Newman en Marvin Gaye. Tijdens het concert in Montreux (1987) brengt hij 3 interpretaties van Dylan-songs (Dear Landlord, Seven Days, Watching the River Flow), 2 Newman-composities (You Can Leave Your Hat on en de afsluiter Guilty), en Inner City Blues als een hommage aan Marvin Gaye. De rest van het materiaal (5 songs) komt uit z’n album A Civilized Man (1984). En uiteraard mocht ook With a Little Help from my Friends niet ontbreken.

In Montreux is Joe Cocker in z’n beste vorm. De financiële problemen zijn bezworen door het hernieuwde internationale succes, van drugs is hij afgekickt en alcohol gebruikt hij nu in redelijke hoeveelheden, en gesteund door een sterke zeskoppige band en twee achtergrondzangeressen levert hij een sterke prestatie. Hij ziet er ontspannen en gezond uit en hij heeft het materiaal duidelijk helemaal onder controle. Hij is 18 jaar ouder dan destijds op het Woodstock-festival en zijn optreden is evenwichtiger en gedisciplineerd, terwijl de prachtige stem nog precies dezelfde is.

Playlist:
1 Dear Landlord
2 You Can Leave Your Hat on
3 Feelin’ Alright
4 Civilized Man
5 Inner City Blues
6 Just Like Always
7 Up Where We Belong
8 Seven Days
9 Shelter Me
10 With a Little Help from my Friends
11 You Are so Beautiful
12 Watching the River Flow
13 Guilty

Joe Cocker heeft altijd meer aanzien genoten bij zijn vakgenoten dan bij het publiek en in Amerika was hij altijd al succesvoller dan in Europa. Zijn magnus opus is wellicht het live album Mad Dogs & Englishmen, maar zijn optreden in Montreux in 1987 is een perfecte staalkaart van zijn grote talent.

THIERRY ANSALLEM – Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
Eagle Vision
Switzerland/Zwitserland 2005
Language/Taal: English/Engels Dolby Digital Stereo 5.1
Subtitles/Ondertitels: - 73 min. – 1.33:1

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987 09/12/2016 : THIERRY ANSALLEM - Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles