tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : THE ROADRUNNERS - Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)

THE ROADRUNNERS

Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)

Concert
Blues 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

The weekly Summer terrace concerts from Mechelen's smallest bar, 'De Borrel Babbel', 'Borrel Babbel Zomert', are quite interessting. Each time another musical genre is featured. On wednesday august 17th the focus was on blues. Wednesdays guests were Antwerp based power trio The Roadrunners who played a very groovy set.

Whilst singer-guitarist Wim Degezelle was promoting the bar's Mojito's the band themselves delivered a delicious rocking cocktail; an exquisite and unique mixture of blues, southern rock, swing, rock and even country!

Degezelle's guitar playing is truly phenomenal. Great technique and how the guitar howld in one the blues ballads: wow! Degzelle was accompagnied by the fine rhythm section Seppe Donvil and Dirk Michielse on percussion and bass. Together they provided a very tight and groovy rock sound, clearly enjoying what they're doing to the maximum.

The Roadrunners are working on an album which is due for release some time soon. Should be good. We already got to hear some of the new material with beauties such as Cold Wind, Love Twister and If that's The Way, with the clear message: If that's the way your love goes, your love don't mean a thing.

At times Degezelles voice reminded at Steve Miller in his better days.

Apart from their own songs, new and old, then band also performed some covers. A man in the audience kept on shouting for a Status Quo song. There was no Status Quo-material in the set though. Instead the band dwelled into the catalogues of both Jimi Hendrix and Eric Clapton. Their epical rendition of Hendrix' Foxy Lady was awesome as was Hey Joe were Degezelle directed the not so well trained audience choir.

The way The Roadrunners covered Robert Johnson's Crossroads and certainly Further Up On The Road (Johnny Cash), both best known from the recordings by Eric Clapton, was just sublime. Who needs Status Quo then?

The Roadrunners played two sets, starting at about 20.15 and playin' their last tune only ten minutes before midnight and still you felt that it was way too short! Anyways, this is a band to follow and that album release can't come soon enough if you ask me!

On the band's website you can hear some of their new material.

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens zomermaanden juli en augustus is er elke woensdagavond wel iets te beleven op het Nieuwwerkplein in Mechelen tijdens Borrel Babbel Zomert. Woensdagavond 17 augustus 2016 stond de swingende blues rock 'n roll van het Antwerpse power trio The Roadrunners op het programma. Een ontdekking!

Op het facebookevent prijkte 'Blues bij de Borrel Babbel'. Blues was slechts één van de bestanddelen. The Roadrunners brachten een unieke mengeling van blues, rock, swing, southern rock en zelfs country! Altijd gepaard gaand met een vette groove en een gezonde overdosis spelplezier.

Zanger-gitarist Wim Degezelle prees de Mojito's van de Borrel Babbel gretig aan, zelf serveerde hij, samen met zijn strakke ritmesectie Seppe Donvil (drums) en Dirk Michielse (bas) Mechelen een stevige rockende cocktail met sterke eigen nummers en een uitstekende selectie covers die het trio met brio bracht.

De 'rocking blues' van The Roadrunners wist te bekoren en vooraleer je het goed en wel besefte was de tweede set alweer voorbij. We hadden dan uitvoerig kunnen genieten van Degezelle's uitmuntende gitaarspel, met percussie-tandem Michielse-Donvil als perfecte backbone. Het eigen songmateriaal was van hoge kwaliteit, met toppers zoals Cold Wind, Love Twister en zeer zeker If That's The Way. If that's the way your love goes, your love don't mean a single thing. Duidelijke taal!
Naar verluidt komt een en ander dra op een album terecht; alvast iets om naar uit te kijken!

Een man in het publiek zat alsmaar om een Status Quo-nummer te roepen. Hij bleef dienaangaande op zijn honger maar hij heeft vast ook genoten van de meesterlijke en episch renditie van Jimi Hendrix' Foxy Lady én een lekker lang uitgesponnen Hey Joe van dezelfde meester waarbij Degezelle plots op het tafeltje naast jullie verslaggever stond te spelen, dan weer een voorbijganger de snaren liet beroeren en aanstoker was van het plots ontstane niet al te goed geoefende gelegenheidskoor.

Had ik al gemeld dat de covers van Crossroads (Robert Johnson) en vooral Further Up On The Road (Johnny Cash), die we allemaal kennen in de hertalingen van grote meneer Eric Clapton, subliem waren? Wie wilt er dan nog Status Quo horen?

Heel af en toe deed Degzelle's stem een beetje aan die van Steve Miller in diens betere dagen denken, al moet niemand zich ongerust maken; de rauwe blueskantjes zijn er ook. Dat Degezelle een sterk gitarist is, verklapte ik al, hoe hij zijn gitaar kon laten huilen in een ongeloofelijke mooie blues ballad; fenomenaal!

De twee sets van The Roadrunners vlogen zo voorbij en wanneer je na de laatste bis toch om meer bleef roepen, besefte je dat het eigenlijk al meer dan laat genoeg was en er daags nadien nog gewerkt moest worden. Om in de gaten te houden dus. Laat maar komen, dat album!

Op de band's webstek kun je alvast enkele nummers beluisteren.

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)