tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : THE ROADRUNNERS - Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)

THE ROADRUNNERS

Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)

Concert
Blues 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

The weekly Summer terrace concerts from Mechelen's smallest bar, 'De Borrel Babbel', 'Borrel Babbel Zomert', are quite interessting. Each time another musical genre is featured. On wednesday august 17th the focus was on blues. Wednesdays guests were Antwerp based power trio The Roadrunners who played a very groovy set.

Whilst singer-guitarist Wim Degezelle was promoting the bar's Mojito's the band themselves delivered a delicious rocking cocktail; an exquisite and unique mixture of blues, southern rock, swing, rock and even country!

Degezelle's guitar playing is truly phenomenal. Great technique and how the guitar howld in one the blues ballads: wow! Degzelle was accompagnied by the fine rhythm section Seppe Donvil and Dirk Michielse on percussion and bass. Together they provided a very tight and groovy rock sound, clearly enjoying what they're doing to the maximum.

The Roadrunners are working on an album which is due for release some time soon. Should be good. We already got to hear some of the new material with beauties such as Cold Wind, Love Twister and If that's The Way, with the clear message: If that's the way your love goes, your love don't mean a thing.

At times Degezelles voice reminded at Steve Miller in his better days.

Apart from their own songs, new and old, then band also performed some covers. A man in the audience kept on shouting for a Status Quo song. There was no Status Quo-material in the set though. Instead the band dwelled into the catalogues of both Jimi Hendrix and Eric Clapton. Their epical rendition of Hendrix' Foxy Lady was awesome as was Hey Joe were Degezelle directed the not so well trained audience choir.

The way The Roadrunners covered Robert Johnson's Crossroads and certainly Further Up On The Road (Johnny Cash), both best known from the recordings by Eric Clapton, was just sublime. Who needs Status Quo then?

The Roadrunners played two sets, starting at about 20.15 and playin' their last tune only ten minutes before midnight and still you felt that it was way too short! Anyways, this is a band to follow and that album release can't come soon enough if you ask me!

On the band's website you can hear some of their new material.

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens zomermaanden juli en augustus is er elke woensdagavond wel iets te beleven op het Nieuwwerkplein in Mechelen tijdens Borrel Babbel Zomert. Woensdagavond 17 augustus 2016 stond de swingende blues rock 'n roll van het Antwerpse power trio The Roadrunners op het programma. Een ontdekking!

Op het facebookevent prijkte 'Blues bij de Borrel Babbel'. Blues was slechts één van de bestanddelen. The Roadrunners brachten een unieke mengeling van blues, rock, swing, southern rock en zelfs country! Altijd gepaard gaand met een vette groove en een gezonde overdosis spelplezier.

Zanger-gitarist Wim Degezelle prees de Mojito's van de Borrel Babbel gretig aan, zelf serveerde hij, samen met zijn strakke ritmesectie Seppe Donvil (drums) en Dirk Michielse (bas) Mechelen een stevige rockende cocktail met sterke eigen nummers en een uitstekende selectie covers die het trio met brio bracht.

De 'rocking blues' van The Roadrunners wist te bekoren en vooraleer je het goed en wel besefte was de tweede set alweer voorbij. We hadden dan uitvoerig kunnen genieten van Degezelle's uitmuntende gitaarspel, met percussie-tandem Michielse-Donvil als perfecte backbone. Het eigen songmateriaal was van hoge kwaliteit, met toppers zoals Cold Wind, Love Twister en zeer zeker If That's The Way. If that's the way your love goes, your love don't mean a single thing. Duidelijke taal!
Naar verluidt komt een en ander dra op een album terecht; alvast iets om naar uit te kijken!

Een man in het publiek zat alsmaar om een Status Quo-nummer te roepen. Hij bleef dienaangaande op zijn honger maar hij heeft vast ook genoten van de meesterlijke en episch renditie van Jimi Hendrix' Foxy Lady én een lekker lang uitgesponnen Hey Joe van dezelfde meester waarbij Degezelle plots op het tafeltje naast jullie verslaggever stond te spelen, dan weer een voorbijganger de snaren liet beroeren en aanstoker was van het plots ontstane niet al te goed geoefende gelegenheidskoor.

Had ik al gemeld dat de covers van Crossroads (Robert Johnson) en vooral Further Up On The Road (Johnny Cash), die we allemaal kennen in de hertalingen van grote meneer Eric Clapton, subliem waren? Wie wilt er dan nog Status Quo horen?

Heel af en toe deed Degzelle's stem een beetje aan die van Steve Miller in diens betere dagen denken, al moet niemand zich ongerust maken; de rauwe blueskantjes zijn er ook. Dat Degezelle een sterk gitarist is, verklapte ik al, hoe hij zijn gitaar kon laten huilen in een ongeloofelijke mooie blues ballad; fenomenaal!

De twee sets van The Roadrunners vlogen zo voorbij en wanneer je na de laatste bis toch om meer bleef roepen, besefte je dat het eigenlijk al meer dan laat genoeg was en er daags nadien nog gewerkt moest worden. Om in de gaten te houden dus. Laat maar komen, dat album!

Op de band's webstek kun je alvast enkele nummers beluisteren.

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
08
Diane Grace signs Devil's pact with Starman Records
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless