tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Forbidden Games

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Forbidden Games

MusicCD
MinimalNew wave

[90/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course the fans keep on asking when Absolute Body Control will write some new material. Because yes, when will that long awaited successor to Shattered Illusion of 2010 be released? Meanwhile, Dirk Ivens and Eric Van Wonterghem come with a perfect solution. Sleepless Records Berlin released a CD with unreleased songs which were somewhere on a compilation, previously on vinyl on Turntable Sounds, but on this CD you find fourteen tracks (on the record eight).

The nice thing about this record is that we hear Absolute Body Control in different styles. Heartbeat is a real ode to Suicide, with the same beats the late Alan Vega had a patent on. But there is also the club killer Into The Light, a song which was composed so you can watch yourself in the mirror and perform all kinds of crazy dances. But you also hear a very subdued version of A Broken Dream which can’t be more melancholic. Automatic 4 with its addictive dance beats, floats between EBM and disco.

Also two great covers on Forbidden Games. They are obvious, even predictable, but these two Belgians give both Warm Leatherette and Blue Monday a very different sound. The strangest song is the repetitive Tanzmuzik that doesn’t seem to stop, not that we want it to.

Naturally you also find a few classics here that probably are in your collection, but in another version, like The Man I Wanna Be or Waving Hands.

This superb compilation ends with the hypnotic instrumental Forbidden Games. Recommended? That is a question we do not have to answer!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

De fans blijven natuurlijk smeken om nieuw materiaal van Absolute Body Control. De grote vraag is wanneer de opvolger van Shattered Illusion uit 2010 uitkomt. Ondertussen hebben Dirk Ivens en Eric Van Wonterghem voor een ideaal zoethoudertje gezorgd. Op Sleepless Records Berlin verscheen een cd met daarop een resem onuitgebrachte nummers die ooit ergens op één of andere compilatie stonden. Ze zijn al eerder op vinyl uitgebracht op Turntable Sounds, maar op deze cd vind je veertien tracks (op de plaat slechts acht).

Het mooie aan deze plaat is dat we Absolute Body Control in diverse stijlen leren kennen. Zo is Heartbeat een regelrechte ode aan Suicide: dezelfde koude beat waarop wijlen Alan Vega een patent had. Maar er is ook de clubkiller Into The Light, een song die gewoon gecomponeerd is zodat je voor de spiegel kan staan en allerlei gekke dansjes doen. Maar je hoort ook een zeer ingetogen geluid, de versie van A Broken Dream kan moeilijk nog weemoediger zijn. Automatic 4 zweeft met zijn verslavende dansbeats ergens tussen EBM en disco.

Ook twee leuke covers tref je op Forbidden Games aan. Ze zijn voor de hand liggend, zelfs voorspelbaar, maar zowel Warm Leatherette als Blue Monday krijgen dankzij deze twee Belgen een heel ander geluid. De vreemdste song is zonder twijfel het repetitieve Tanzmuzik waaraan maar geen eind lijkt te komen, niet dat het hoeft.
Vanzelfsprekend vind je hier ook een paar klassiekers die zonder twijfel al in je collectie zitten, maar wel in een andere versie zoals The Man I Wanna Be of Waving Hands.

De knappe verzamelaar wordt afgesloten met de hypnotische instrumental Forbidden Games. Een aanrader? Dat is nu eens een vraag waarop we niet hoeven te antwoorden!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT • Adcbep1
CHROM • Peak And Decay
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day