tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Forbidden Games

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Forbidden Games

MusicCD
MinimalNew wave

[90/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course the fans keep on asking when Absolute Body Control will write some new material. Because yes, when will that long awaited successor to Shattered Illusion of 2010 be released? Meanwhile, Dirk Ivens and Eric Van Wonterghem come with a perfect solution. Sleepless Records Berlin released a CD with unreleased songs which were somewhere on a compilation, previously on vinyl on Turntable Sounds, but on this CD you find fourteen tracks (on the record eight).

The nice thing about this record is that we hear Absolute Body Control in different styles. Heartbeat is a real ode to Suicide, with the same beats the late Alan Vega had a patent on. But there is also the club killer Into The Light, a song which was composed so you can watch yourself in the mirror and perform all kinds of crazy dances. But you also hear a very subdued version of A Broken Dream which can’t be more melancholic. Automatic 4 with its addictive dance beats, floats between EBM and disco.

Also two great covers on Forbidden Games. They are obvious, even predictable, but these two Belgians give both Warm Leatherette and Blue Monday a very different sound. The strangest song is the repetitive Tanzmuzik that doesn’t seem to stop, not that we want it to.

Naturally you also find a few classics here that probably are in your collection, but in another version, like The Man I Wanna Be or Waving Hands.

This superb compilation ends with the hypnotic instrumental Forbidden Games. Recommended? That is a question we do not have to answer!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

De fans blijven natuurlijk smeken om nieuw materiaal van Absolute Body Control. De grote vraag is wanneer de opvolger van Shattered Illusion uit 2010 uitkomt. Ondertussen hebben Dirk Ivens en Eric Van Wonterghem voor een ideaal zoethoudertje gezorgd. Op Sleepless Records Berlin verscheen een cd met daarop een resem onuitgebrachte nummers die ooit ergens op één of andere compilatie stonden. Ze zijn al eerder op vinyl uitgebracht op Turntable Sounds, maar op deze cd vind je veertien tracks (op de plaat slechts acht).

Het mooie aan deze plaat is dat we Absolute Body Control in diverse stijlen leren kennen. Zo is Heartbeat een regelrechte ode aan Suicide: dezelfde koude beat waarop wijlen Alan Vega een patent had. Maar er is ook de clubkiller Into The Light, een song die gewoon gecomponeerd is zodat je voor de spiegel kan staan en allerlei gekke dansjes doen. Maar je hoort ook een zeer ingetogen geluid, de versie van A Broken Dream kan moeilijk nog weemoediger zijn. Automatic 4 zweeft met zijn verslavende dansbeats ergens tussen EBM en disco.

Ook twee leuke covers tref je op Forbidden Games aan. Ze zijn voor de hand liggend, zelfs voorspelbaar, maar zowel Warm Leatherette als Blue Monday krijgen dankzij deze twee Belgen een heel ander geluid. De vreemdste song is zonder twijfel het repetitieve Tanzmuzik waaraan maar geen eind lijkt te komen, niet dat het hoeft.
Vanzelfsprekend vind je hier ook een paar klassiekers die zonder twijfel al in je collectie zitten, maar wel in een andere versie zoals The Man I Wanna Be of Waving Hands.

De knappe verzamelaar wordt afgesloten met de hypnotische instrumental Forbidden Games. Een aanrader? Dat is nu eens een vraag waarop we niet hoeven te antwoorden!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT • Adcbep1
CHROM • Peak And Decay
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire