tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Forbidden Games

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Forbidden Games

MusicCD
MinimalNew wave

[90/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course the fans keep on asking when Absolute Body Control will write some new material. Because yes, when will that long awaited successor to Shattered Illusion of 2010 be released? Meanwhile, Dirk Ivens and Eric Van Wonterghem come with a perfect solution. Sleepless Records Berlin released a CD with unreleased songs which were somewhere on a compilation, previously on vinyl on Turntable Sounds, but on this CD you find fourteen tracks (on the record eight).

The nice thing about this record is that we hear Absolute Body Control in different styles. Heartbeat is a real ode to Suicide, with the same beats the late Alan Vega had a patent on. But there is also the club killer Into The Light, a song which was composed so you can watch yourself in the mirror and perform all kinds of crazy dances. But you also hear a very subdued version of A Broken Dream which can’t be more melancholic. Automatic 4 with its addictive dance beats, floats between EBM and disco.

Also two great covers on Forbidden Games. They are obvious, even predictable, but these two Belgians give both Warm Leatherette and Blue Monday a very different sound. The strangest song is the repetitive Tanzmuzik that doesn’t seem to stop, not that we want it to.

Naturally you also find a few classics here that probably are in your collection, but in another version, like The Man I Wanna Be or Waving Hands.

This superb compilation ends with the hypnotic instrumental Forbidden Games. Recommended? That is a question we do not have to answer!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

De fans blijven natuurlijk smeken om nieuw materiaal van Absolute Body Control. De grote vraag is wanneer de opvolger van Shattered Illusion uit 2010 uitkomt. Ondertussen hebben Dirk Ivens en Eric Van Wonterghem voor een ideaal zoethoudertje gezorgd. Op Sleepless Records Berlin verscheen een cd met daarop een resem onuitgebrachte nummers die ooit ergens op één of andere compilatie stonden. Ze zijn al eerder op vinyl uitgebracht op Turntable Sounds, maar op deze cd vind je veertien tracks (op de plaat slechts acht).

Het mooie aan deze plaat is dat we Absolute Body Control in diverse stijlen leren kennen. Zo is Heartbeat een regelrechte ode aan Suicide: dezelfde koude beat waarop wijlen Alan Vega een patent had. Maar er is ook de clubkiller Into The Light, een song die gewoon gecomponeerd is zodat je voor de spiegel kan staan en allerlei gekke dansjes doen. Maar je hoort ook een zeer ingetogen geluid, de versie van A Broken Dream kan moeilijk nog weemoediger zijn. Automatic 4 zweeft met zijn verslavende dansbeats ergens tussen EBM en disco.

Ook twee leuke covers tref je op Forbidden Games aan. Ze zijn voor de hand liggend, zelfs voorspelbaar, maar zowel Warm Leatherette als Blue Monday krijgen dankzij deze twee Belgen een heel ander geluid. De vreemdste song is zonder twijfel het repetitieve Tanzmuzik waaraan maar geen eind lijkt te komen, niet dat het hoeft.
Vanzelfsprekend vind je hier ook een paar klassiekers die zonder twijfel al in je collectie zitten, maar wel in een andere versie zoals The Man I Wanna Be of Waving Hands.

De knappe verzamelaar wordt afgesloten met de hypnotische instrumental Forbidden Games. Een aanrader? Dat is nu eens een vraag waarop we niet hoeven te antwoorden!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT • Adcbep1
CHROM • Peak And Decay
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten