tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/06/2011 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Surrender No Resistance EP

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Surrender No Resistance EP

MusicCD
MinimalNew wave

[90/100]   
06/06/2011, Didier BECU

Some persons are schizophrenic in a sane sense which often results in so-called side projects but in the case of Dirk Ivens it’s an individuality that’s been splitting in four.

There’s his solo EBM-esque project Dive, along with Marc Verhaeghen and Peter Mastbooms he forms the institute named The Klinik and with his other buddy Eric Van Wonterghem, he’s involved in both Sonar (harsh noise) and Absolute Body Control.

I recently asked Dirk to come up with his favourite baby but he couldn’t as a good father loves all his children in an equal way.

Having said that, there’s no doubt about that Absolute Body Control is the project that sounds most like the 80’s. I guess it’s no wonder that last year’s “Shattered Illusion” was my favourite album.

Some hear Fad Gadget (I do), others might hear John Foxx but after being so many years in the biz and so many good releases, I guess they can only be compared to themselves and that is the highest compliment an artist can get.

All quite normal after 30 years’ ABC and to celebrate this event, there’s not only a worldwide tour (including Shadowplay) and the release of this EP.

Described as a collection of remixes and unreleased material, this EP offers you 6 tracks.

“Surrender no resistance” has been remixed by Crash Course In Science (and as expected, it gives it even a more minimal synth-feel), Covenant (and no, it hasn’t turned out in being a futurepop thing) and Millimetric.

You don’t like remixes? Neither do I, but in the case of ABC it’s different just because the versions are different and apart from the same choruses it feels like you’re listening to songs that haven’t that much in common.

Also “Talking to the men” has been remixed and it still stays a track that could have been made by The Neon Judgement in 1984.

“Tears” is an instrumental song in where you can hear how much these guys love Kraftwerk and “Feels like love” is indeed a cover and so the perfect homage to Luc Van Acker.

Which brings us to the conclusion that not one fan can live without this (therefore you’re a fan, ha!) and for all the others, it’s not too late to discover the best band from Belgium. Okay, one of the best that is!

Didier BECU
06/06/2011


 

Next reviews
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason
COMBAT VOICE • The last flow
SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER • It means nothing so it means nothing
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Umsturz Jetzt!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Das Bunker, choice of a new generation
GIFTS FROM ENOLA • Gifts from Enola
VENDEMMIAN • One in a million
CUBS • The Whispering Woods
ESCALATOR • Out of my ego

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu