tempobet yeni adresi

06/06/2011 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Surrender No Resistance EP

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Surrender No Resistance EP

MusicCD
MinimalNew wave

[90/100]   
06/06/2011, Didier BECU

Some persons are schizophrenic in a sane sense which often results in so-called side projects but in the case of Dirk Ivens it’s an individuality that’s been splitting in four.

There’s his solo EBM-esque project Dive, along with Marc Verhaeghen and Peter Mastbooms he forms the institute named The Klinik and with his other buddy Eric Van Wonterghem, he’s involved in both Sonar (harsh noise) and Absolute Body Control.

I recently asked Dirk to come up with his favourite baby but he couldn’t as a good father loves all his children in an equal way.

Having said that, there’s no doubt about that Absolute Body Control is the project that sounds most like the 80’s. I guess it’s no wonder that last year’s “Shattered Illusion” was my favourite album.

Some hear Fad Gadget (I do), others might hear John Foxx but after being so many years in the biz and so many good releases, I guess they can only be compared to themselves and that is the highest compliment an artist can get.

All quite normal after 30 years’ ABC and to celebrate this event, there’s not only a worldwide tour (including Shadowplay) and the release of this EP.

Described as a collection of remixes and unreleased material, this EP offers you 6 tracks.

“Surrender no resistance” has been remixed by Crash Course In Science (and as expected, it gives it even a more minimal synth-feel), Covenant (and no, it hasn’t turned out in being a futurepop thing) and Millimetric.

You don’t like remixes? Neither do I, but in the case of ABC it’s different just because the versions are different and apart from the same choruses it feels like you’re listening to songs that haven’t that much in common.

Also “Talking to the men” has been remixed and it still stays a track that could have been made by The Neon Judgement in 1984.

“Tears” is an instrumental song in where you can hear how much these guys love Kraftwerk and “Feels like love” is indeed a cover and so the perfect homage to Luc Van Acker.

Which brings us to the conclusion that not one fan can live without this (therefore you’re a fan, ha!) and for all the others, it’s not too late to discover the best band from Belgium. Okay, one of the best that is!

Didier BECU
06/06/2011


 

Next reviews
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason
COMBAT VOICE • The last flow
SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER • It means nothing so it means nothing
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Umsturz Jetzt!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Das Bunker, choice of a new generation
GIFTS FROM ENOLA • Gifts from Enola
VENDEMMIAN • One in a million
CUBS • The Whispering Woods
ESCALATOR • Out of my ego

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury