tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/06/2011 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Surrender No Resistance EP

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Surrender No Resistance EP

MusicCD
MinimalNew wave

[90/100]   
06/06/2011, Didier BECU

Some persons are schizophrenic in a sane sense which often results in so-called side projects but in the case of Dirk Ivens it’s an individuality that’s been splitting in four.

There’s his solo EBM-esque project Dive, along with Marc Verhaeghen and Peter Mastbooms he forms the institute named The Klinik and with his other buddy Eric Van Wonterghem, he’s involved in both Sonar (harsh noise) and Absolute Body Control.

I recently asked Dirk to come up with his favourite baby but he couldn’t as a good father loves all his children in an equal way.

Having said that, there’s no doubt about that Absolute Body Control is the project that sounds most like the 80’s. I guess it’s no wonder that last year’s “Shattered Illusion” was my favourite album.

Some hear Fad Gadget (I do), others might hear John Foxx but after being so many years in the biz and so many good releases, I guess they can only be compared to themselves and that is the highest compliment an artist can get.

All quite normal after 30 years’ ABC and to celebrate this event, there’s not only a worldwide tour (including Shadowplay) and the release of this EP.

Described as a collection of remixes and unreleased material, this EP offers you 6 tracks.

“Surrender no resistance” has been remixed by Crash Course In Science (and as expected, it gives it even a more minimal synth-feel), Covenant (and no, it hasn’t turned out in being a futurepop thing) and Millimetric.

You don’t like remixes? Neither do I, but in the case of ABC it’s different just because the versions are different and apart from the same choruses it feels like you’re listening to songs that haven’t that much in common.

Also “Talking to the men” has been remixed and it still stays a track that could have been made by The Neon Judgement in 1984.

“Tears” is an instrumental song in where you can hear how much these guys love Kraftwerk and “Feels like love” is indeed a cover and so the perfect homage to Luc Van Acker.

Which brings us to the conclusion that not one fan can live without this (therefore you’re a fan, ha!) and for all the others, it’s not too late to discover the best band from Belgium. Okay, one of the best that is!

Didier BECU
06/06/2011


 

Next reviews
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason
COMBAT VOICE • The last flow
SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER • It means nothing so it means nothing
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Umsturz Jetzt!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Das Bunker, choice of a new generation
GIFTS FROM ENOLA • Gifts from Enola
VENDEMMIAN • One in a million
CUBS • The Whispering Woods
ESCALATOR • Out of my ego

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life