tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : XENO & OAKLANDER - Topiary

XENO & OAKLANDER

Topiary

MusicCD
MinimalNew wave
Ghostly International
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Hopefully we do not have to introduce Xeno & Oaklander on our pages. Ten years ago, the duo from Brooklyn played an important role in the minimal revival and the success story of Wierd Records. The label was a fresh wave in a sometimes too gray music landscape, although at the end of the day other record companies got the honor.

The same happened with Liz Wendelbo and Sean McBride. After the milestone Sentinelle, copycats were everywhere while the focus on the original was lost. It almost lasted five years before the duo came up with a new album (Par Avion on Ghostly International). Two years later they are back on the same label with Topiary. Remarkable for this fifth album is that all vocals are sung by Liz, not that we mourn one second for that.

This album which was recorded in the Clubhouse Studio (the studio of Tom Tom Club) is another amazing piece of analogue synths and beats in all its variants. Marble is irresistible Euro Disco, Baroque beats you with his powerful beats back to the 80's, Palms comes close to techno, while the title track Topiary is almost pure Klaus Schulze.

Not many people will think Topiary is the best Liz and Sean made. It’s not, but they remain one of the best in their style. Perhaps nine tracks aren’t that much, eventually Xeno & Oaklander still impress.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hopelijk hoeven we je Xeno & Oaklander niet meer voor te stellen. Zo’n dikke tien jaar geleden stond het duo uit Brooklyn aan de wieg van de minimal revival, en speelde een belangrijke rol in het succesverhaal van Wierd Records. Het label bracht een frisse golf in het soms te grijze muzieklandschap, ofschoon het uiteindelijk andere platenmaatschappijen waren die met de eer gingen lopen.

Hetzelfde overkwam ook Liz Wendelbo en Sean McBride. Na de mijlpaal die Sentinelle toch was, rezen nadien de copycats als paddenstoelen uit de grond waardoor de aandacht voor het origineel verloren ging. Het duurde bijna vijf jaar vooraleer het duo met een nieuwe plaat kwam (Par Avion op Ghostly International). Twee jaar later zijn ze er op datzelfde label met Topiary. Opmerkelijk voor dit vijfde album is dat deze keer alle vocals door Liz worden gezongen, niet dat we daar ook maar één seconde over treuren.

Deze plaat die in de Clubhouse Studio (de studio van Tom Tom Club) werd opgenomen is alweer een fraai werkje van analoge beats en synths in al zijn varianten. Marble is onweerstaanbare Eurodisco, Baroque slaat je met zijn loeiharde beats terug de jaren 80 in, Palms neigt zelfs naar techno, de titeltrack Topiary is dan weer Klaus Schulze.

Niet veel mensen zullen Topiary als de beste van Liz en Sean beschouwen. Dat is hij ook niet, wel blijven ze één van de beste in hun stijl. Het mocht misschien best wat meer geweest zijn dan deze negen tracks, uiteindelijk maakt Xeno & Oaklander nog steeds indruk.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TORQUE ORDER • Metal Machines
BRODKA • Clashes
MONICA JEFFRIES • Into Temptation
BABETH LETTER (TROUBLE FAIT') • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
THYX • Headless
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
BLACK MOUNTAIN • IV
AUTOGEN • Antigen

 

Other reviews from XENO & OAKLANDER
XENO & OAKLANDER • Par Avion
XENO & OAKLANDER • Sets And Lights

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp