tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : XENO & OAKLANDER - Topiary

XENO & OAKLANDER

Topiary

MusicCD
MinimalNew wave
Ghostly International
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Hopefully we do not have to introduce Xeno & Oaklander on our pages. Ten years ago, the duo from Brooklyn played an important role in the minimal revival and the success story of Wierd Records. The label was a fresh wave in a sometimes too gray music landscape, although at the end of the day other record companies got the honor.

The same happened with Liz Wendelbo and Sean McBride. After the milestone Sentinelle, copycats were everywhere while the focus on the original was lost. It almost lasted five years before the duo came up with a new album (Par Avion on Ghostly International). Two years later they are back on the same label with Topiary. Remarkable for this fifth album is that all vocals are sung by Liz, not that we mourn one second for that.

This album which was recorded in the Clubhouse Studio (the studio of Tom Tom Club) is another amazing piece of analogue synths and beats in all its variants. Marble is irresistible Euro Disco, Baroque beats you with his powerful beats back to the 80's, Palms comes close to techno, while the title track Topiary is almost pure Klaus Schulze.

Not many people will think Topiary is the best Liz and Sean made. It’s not, but they remain one of the best in their style. Perhaps nine tracks aren’t that much, eventually Xeno & Oaklander still impress.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hopelijk hoeven we je Xeno & Oaklander niet meer voor te stellen. Zo’n dikke tien jaar geleden stond het duo uit Brooklyn aan de wieg van de minimal revival, en speelde een belangrijke rol in het succesverhaal van Wierd Records. Het label bracht een frisse golf in het soms te grijze muzieklandschap, ofschoon het uiteindelijk andere platenmaatschappijen waren die met de eer gingen lopen.

Hetzelfde overkwam ook Liz Wendelbo en Sean McBride. Na de mijlpaal die Sentinelle toch was, rezen nadien de copycats als paddenstoelen uit de grond waardoor de aandacht voor het origineel verloren ging. Het duurde bijna vijf jaar vooraleer het duo met een nieuwe plaat kwam (Par Avion op Ghostly International). Twee jaar later zijn ze er op datzelfde label met Topiary. Opmerkelijk voor dit vijfde album is dat deze keer alle vocals door Liz worden gezongen, niet dat we daar ook maar één seconde over treuren.

Deze plaat die in de Clubhouse Studio (de studio van Tom Tom Club) werd opgenomen is alweer een fraai werkje van analoge beats en synths in al zijn varianten. Marble is onweerstaanbare Eurodisco, Baroque slaat je met zijn loeiharde beats terug de jaren 80 in, Palms neigt zelfs naar techno, de titeltrack Topiary is dan weer Klaus Schulze.

Niet veel mensen zullen Topiary als de beste van Liz en Sean beschouwen. Dat is hij ook niet, wel blijven ze één van de beste in hun stijl. Het mocht misschien best wat meer geweest zijn dan deze negen tracks, uiteindelijk maakt Xeno & Oaklander nog steeds indruk.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TORQUE ORDER • Metal Machines
BRODKA • Clashes
MONICA JEFFRIES • Into Temptation
BABETH LETTER (TROUBLE FAIT') • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
THYX • Headless
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
BLACK MOUNTAIN • IV
AUTOGEN • Antigen

 

Other reviews from XENO & OAKLANDER
XENO & OAKLANDER • Par Avion
XENO & OAKLANDER • Sets And Lights

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love