tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : XENO & OAKLANDER - Topiary

XENO & OAKLANDER

Topiary

MusicCD
MinimalNew wave
Ghostly International
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Hopefully we do not have to introduce Xeno & Oaklander on our pages. Ten years ago, the duo from Brooklyn played an important role in the minimal revival and the success story of Wierd Records. The label was a fresh wave in a sometimes too gray music landscape, although at the end of the day other record companies got the honor.

The same happened with Liz Wendelbo and Sean McBride. After the milestone Sentinelle, copycats were everywhere while the focus on the original was lost. It almost lasted five years before the duo came up with a new album (Par Avion on Ghostly International). Two years later they are back on the same label with Topiary. Remarkable for this fifth album is that all vocals are sung by Liz, not that we mourn one second for that.

This album which was recorded in the Clubhouse Studio (the studio of Tom Tom Club) is another amazing piece of analogue synths and beats in all its variants. Marble is irresistible Euro Disco, Baroque beats you with his powerful beats back to the 80's, Palms comes close to techno, while the title track Topiary is almost pure Klaus Schulze.

Not many people will think Topiary is the best Liz and Sean made. It’s not, but they remain one of the best in their style. Perhaps nine tracks aren’t that much, eventually Xeno & Oaklander still impress.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hopelijk hoeven we je Xeno & Oaklander niet meer voor te stellen. Zo’n dikke tien jaar geleden stond het duo uit Brooklyn aan de wieg van de minimal revival, en speelde een belangrijke rol in het succesverhaal van Wierd Records. Het label bracht een frisse golf in het soms te grijze muzieklandschap, ofschoon het uiteindelijk andere platenmaatschappijen waren die met de eer gingen lopen.

Hetzelfde overkwam ook Liz Wendelbo en Sean McBride. Na de mijlpaal die Sentinelle toch was, rezen nadien de copycats als paddenstoelen uit de grond waardoor de aandacht voor het origineel verloren ging. Het duurde bijna vijf jaar vooraleer het duo met een nieuwe plaat kwam (Par Avion op Ghostly International). Twee jaar later zijn ze er op datzelfde label met Topiary. Opmerkelijk voor dit vijfde album is dat deze keer alle vocals door Liz worden gezongen, niet dat we daar ook maar één seconde over treuren.

Deze plaat die in de Clubhouse Studio (de studio van Tom Tom Club) werd opgenomen is alweer een fraai werkje van analoge beats en synths in al zijn varianten. Marble is onweerstaanbare Eurodisco, Baroque slaat je met zijn loeiharde beats terug de jaren 80 in, Palms neigt zelfs naar techno, de titeltrack Topiary is dan weer Klaus Schulze.

Niet veel mensen zullen Topiary als de beste van Liz en Sean beschouwen. Dat is hij ook niet, wel blijven ze één van de beste in hun stijl. Het mocht misschien best wat meer geweest zijn dan deze negen tracks, uiteindelijk maakt Xeno & Oaklander nog steeds indruk.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TORQUE ORDER • Metal Machines
BRODKA • Clashes
MONICA JEFFRIES • Into Temptation
BABETH LETTER (TROUBLE FAIT') • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
THYX • Headless
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
BLACK MOUNTAIN • IV
AUTOGEN • Antigen

 

Other reviews from XENO & OAKLANDER
XENO & OAKLANDER • Par Avion
XENO & OAKLANDER • Sets And Lights

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice