tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

15/04/2020 : SHE HATES EMOTIONS - See The Light (Single)

SHE HATES EMOTIONS

See The Light (Single)

MusicDigital
MinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop
Out Of Line
15/04/2020, Ash MCAULIFFE

Back in 2018, I read an article online about the 80’s and how it has a reputation for being the most maligned decade for musical output. OK, there was a fair bit of mindless trash put out especially in terms of mainstream radio (Stock, Aitken and Waterman I am waving my finger at you!) But credit where it is due! New sounds were created! Innovation in technology allowing the creation of much-loved musical equipment we fawn over today. The styles! The fashion! Crazy times.

The birth of Synthpop especially and all the subgenres that came out of this decade have given us a shitload of exciting and innovative bands over the years and a never-ending source of inspiration to the point where the 2020’s 1980’s-inspired birthing’s are as exciting as anything that came out of that decade for the first time.

She Hates Emotions (SHE) is the surprise new side project by BlutEngel legend, Chris Pohl. This guy must have a drip firmly planted into the veins of a muse with how prolific a songwriter he is and each and every time he strikes gold. His propensity towards writing melodic masterpieces is nothing short of awe-inspiring and here he presents his first release “See the Light” with its mesmeric, oscillating synth riff enchanting and its seductively ariose chorus enthralling, all married together beautifully by Pohls dazzling vocals.

His influences on this track are evident (Depeche Mode, Erasure, Human League) and this song is a genuine pleasure to listen to especially in the context of the 80’s legends he clearly loves because the song, I must stress, is not merely a pastiche. It sounds incredibly modern in its respectful retrospection. I thoroughly enjoyed this cracking song. It has been expertly crafted and whets the appetite of the listener in anticipation of the release of the debut album "Melancholic Maniac" on May 15th 2020.

Ash MCAULIFFE
15/04/2020


 

Next reviews
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DDDJMX • Oceaned
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • La Fore
JIMMY SWEENEY • Without You
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition

 

Other reviews from SHE HATES EMOTIONS
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Temptations Tapes Volume II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Der Eisenberg Sampler Vol 4
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities
FLESH & FELL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • _ever Alive: A Tribute to Snowy Red
PARADE GROUND • The Golden Years
THE SHORTWAVE MYSTERY • Signals from Afar
ARBEID ADELT! • live@AB2011
SIXTH JUNE • Back for a day EP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete