tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

15/04/2020 : SHE HATES EMOTIONS - See The Light (Single)

SHE HATES EMOTIONS

See The Light (Single)

MusicDigital
MinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop
Out Of Line
15/04/2020, Ash MCAULIFFE

Back in 2018, I read an article online about the 80’s and how it has a reputation for being the most maligned decade for musical output. OK, there was a fair bit of mindless trash put out especially in terms of mainstream radio (Stock, Aitken and Waterman I am waving my finger at you!) But credit where it is due! New sounds were created! Innovation in technology allowing the creation of much-loved musical equipment we fawn over today. The styles! The fashion! Crazy times.

The birth of Synthpop especially and all the subgenres that came out of this decade have given us a shitload of exciting and innovative bands over the years and a never-ending source of inspiration to the point where the 2020’s 1980’s-inspired birthing’s are as exciting as anything that came out of that decade for the first time.

She Hates Emotions (SHE) is the surprise new side project by BlutEngel legend, Chris Pohl. This guy must have a drip firmly planted into the veins of a muse with how prolific a songwriter he is and each and every time he strikes gold. His propensity towards writing melodic masterpieces is nothing short of awe-inspiring and here he presents his first release “See the Light” with its mesmeric, oscillating synth riff enchanting and its seductively ariose chorus enthralling, all married together beautifully by Pohls dazzling vocals.

His influences on this track are evident (Depeche Mode, Erasure, Human League) and this song is a genuine pleasure to listen to especially in the context of the 80’s legends he clearly loves because the song, I must stress, is not merely a pastiche. It sounds incredibly modern in its respectful retrospection. I thoroughly enjoyed this cracking song. It has been expertly crafted and whets the appetite of the listener in anticipation of the release of the debut album "Melancholic Maniac" on May 15th 2020.

Ash MCAULIFFE
15/04/2020


 

Next reviews
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DDDJMX • Oceaned
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • La Fore
JIMMY SWEENEY • Without You
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition

 

Other reviews from SHE HATES EMOTIONS
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Temptations Tapes Volume II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Der Eisenberg Sampler Vol 4
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities
FLESH & FELL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • _ever Alive: A Tribute to Snowy Red
PARADE GROUND • The Golden Years
THE SHORTWAVE MYSTERY • Signals from Afar
ARBEID ADELT! • live@AB2011
SIXTH JUNE • Back for a day EP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection