tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

14/03/2020 : REALITY'S DESPAIR - Melancholic Disposition

REALITY'S DESPAIR

Melancholic Disposition

MusicCD / Digital
Dark ElectroEBM

[91/100]   

Self-released
14/03/2020, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Reality’s Despair is one of those bands that keep the Belgian EBM tradition alive. With yet another gem, called Melancholic Disposition, this Antwerp Dark-Electro / EBM project is launching once again some very danceable, black-lacquered beats.

After their previous album, released in the spring of 2019, this Melancholic Disposition flashes us back to the old 90s dark electro echoes in all its glory. Opener ‘Bootes Void’, for example, is a top notch stomper track. Deep dark beats with a melody nicely woven through and vocals like being ripped apart by barbed wire.

In fact, the same could be said about all song on this release. They all have immensely strong foundations, while very tense beats and firm bass lines hit you in the face time and time again. And yet this album still sounds extremely varied and this variety can also be very entertaining. Take ‘Kodokushi’ which sounds a lot more moderate in terms of pace and yet still is a deep dark, towards the end even psychedelic, track. ‘Catoptromancy’ fits nicely behind it too.

Never To Return’ sounds very recognizable and is reminiscent of one of today's greats in the genre. I’m referring to that band that features a small Mexican bouncing frontman who, along with his cousin, has wrecked stages all over the world.

Belgium has a strong EBM tradition and Reality's Despair goes back to more old school sounding, pounding EBM with for instance ‘Starlike Lights’. Although it is more Dark-Electro-ish, you still notice the very characteristic old school rhythms.

On this full-length release we also get a number of demo versions. For instance ‘Enfield’, a track recorded in1999. Sounding somehow more distorted than the 2020 version on this album. The song clearly ripened very well. Great rhythms, great bass lines and robustly aggressive. The new version does not harm the original demo version, It remains Dark-Electro in its purest form.

Choosing a favorite from these eleven songs and three demo track that this Melancholic Disposition carries is not an easy task. But ok, I’ll go for ‘This Day’. A song which really resonates through every fiber of you body. Aggravatingly slow but still so deep. In terms of structure very diverse, with an infinite range of synth parts. Although they seem to be entangled in an inextricable tangle and yet they still sound as one.

We know that EBM is not dead. We also know that Belgium still delivers when speaking of this genre. And know it’s als clear Reality’s Despair is back to claim their place out there. Another powerful, Dark-Electro / EBM release to be remembered! Sturdy, catchy, with an unmistakably ominous edge to feast and party on!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/03/2020


NL

Reality’s Despair houdt de Belgische EBM-traditie hoog. Met de parel genaamd Melancholic Disposition laat het in Antwerpen gelocaliseerde dark electro/EBM project alweer heel dansbare, zwart gelakte beats op ons los.

Na het vorige full album in het voorjaar van 2019 is er nu dus Melancholic Disposition. De aloude dark electro van de jaren ’90 weergalmt in al zijn glorie. Like Bootes Void is bijvoorbeeld een meestamper van niveau. Ontzaglijk diepe darkbeats met een fijne, daar doorheen geweven melodie en vocalen die door prikkeldraad uiteen zijn gereten.

In feite zou over elke song hetzelfde kunnen worden gezegd. Ze hebben immens stevige fundamenten, slaan je om de oren met regelmatig heel overspannen beats en stevige baslijnen. En toch is ook dit album weer uitermate gevarieerd. Heel onderhoudend is toch ook weer de afwisseling. Neem nu Kodokushi. Een stuk gematigder qua tempo en toch diep donker, zelfs bij wijlen naar het psychedelische toe. Catoptromancy schuift mooi aan in dezelfde rij.
Never To Return klinkt heel herkenbaar als je denkt aan één van de hedendaagse grootheden in het genre. Het is een kleine Mexicaan, die samen met zijn neef al menige keer zalen muzikaal heeft afgebroken. Juist …

België heeft een traditie in het EBM-gebeuren en ook Reality’s Despair grijpt even terug naar wat meer old school klinkende, stampende EBM met Starlike Lights. Hoewel het dark electro is, ontwaar je toch de zeer karakteristieke old school-ritmes.

Op deze langspeler krijgen we ook een aantal demo-versies cadeau. Zoals die van Enfield uit 1999. Die klinkt bij wijlen meer overstuurd dan de versie die nu dik 20 jaar later op deze LP staat. De song is duidelijk goed gerijpt. Zalige ritmes, een geweldige baslijn en robuust agressief. Wat geen afbreuk doet aan de demo-versie, maar dit is dark electro van de meest zuivere soort.

Een favoriet aanduiden op deze 11 songs + 3 demo’s tellende Melancholic Disposition is geen makkelijke opgave. Maar dan toch maar This Day. Deze songt dreunt werkelijk door elke vezel. Tergend langzaam maar diep. En qua opbouw heel divers, met een oneindig palet aan synthpartijen. Ze lijken verstrengeld in een onontwarbare kluwen en toch klinken ze één.

Dat EBM niet dood is weten we. Dat België nog steeds geweldige producten in dit genre aflevert weten we ook. Dat Reality’s Despair daar een meer prominentere plaats mag innemen is nu duidelijk. Alweer een krachtig, dark electro/EBM werk om ‘U’ tegen te zeggen. Stevig, pakkend, met een onmiskenbaar onheilspellend randje om van te smullen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/03/2020


14/03/2020 : REALITY'S DESPAIR - Melancholic Disposition 14/03/2020 : REALITY'S DESPAIR - Melancholic Disposition

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown