tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/09/2013 : FLESH & FELL -

FLESH & FELL

MusicCD
Dark PopGothicMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[92/100]   

Out Of Line
11/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

With the return of Flesh & Fell, the '80's are really coming back to us at full throttle (a gap of 25 years!). The band had disbanded due to the original singer falling ill. But Pierre Goudesone felt that there still a big fan base wanting them to return. When he found a new singer everything clicked. Laurence Castelein is a great substitute! She reminds me of early Jo Lemaire (remember Flouze) and sometimes other talented voices from back then – a real magic touch!

A lot of people loved them at Rewind Fest and at BIMFEST, so a full cd, as 25 years ago they only managed to release 2 maxis, is long overdue.

First song to hit us is 'Hunger' (the 80's original follows at the end). Love the guitar, bass, drums and voices (ok, I admit - I love it all). The sound is a bit spooky, I sense a dangerous vibe and a bit inspired by Siouxie and the Banshees. With this it's very clear that it was time to release at least something! 'The Devil in Me' is a real classic retro hit made in 2013! The combination of both voices is great. Once again I felt the same great vibe as when I listened to Born For Bliss (another survivor of the 80's). This is the kind of song that haunts you and doubles up as a dance floor filler! There’s already a video out (see below). 'Love Machine' is a bit more introverted and has a reggae feel. The retro sound is great and takes me back in time. 'Suicide Hero' is another story, darker of course. It captivates you, you sink into the darkness, hypnotized. This dary beauty just oozes talent. 'Suspicious' is the first song where I hear French over clear English. Nice drive coming from the guitars and drums. Well balanceed. Love the little effects on the voice that pop up from time to time. It’s a great intro to the next one, entirely in French this time - 'Abracadabra E-rotica'. It's the kind of song that would fit in a Vive La Fête set (it's the story of chicken and egg for some, but you know the outcome if you’re old enough). Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin must have been an influencing factor here (but without the Gainsbourg vocal here). Some E-rotic quality, a real standard for a lot of bands who tried a similar thing. 'Something in Between' goes back to English with a French accent, right in place. The bass, guitar and drums gives it a more straightforward sound, more punkie and more aggressive. Love it. 'The wind' starts out like a Muse track ('Bliss'), but the French vocals soon take the bliss away. BUT if you know the band and if you listen to the original at the end of this cd, you'll see that 'Bliss' is the rip off. So, Muse ripped off Flesh & Fell to create worldwide hit 'Bliss'. Man, that's evil or should I say Mind-blowing? 'Tipsy' has nice roaring guitars, fat bass & cool up-tempo synth layers. Love the message in this song, discover it for yourself! Great song! Tongue-Tied' starts more of a pop song and then goes to an industrial hook. Love it when the voices blend in and start a riot. Again Bass and Drums are great, just like the guitar. This song could be another dance floor smash with a slightly different mix (I think the mastermind from Implant knows what to do). The last song that I didn't talk about so far is the cult classic 'Emma'. A lot of people will be glad to have it on a regular cd! This song wasn't a direct hit, but became a cult classic. Sometimes a song needs to take time to grow with the help of the fans... No other song is still so strong after all those years as this one and is certainly not outdated!

I really hope that a lot of fans will embrace this great CD! It stole my heart, for sure!

Track listing:
1. Hunger
2. The Devil In Me
3. Love Machine
4. Suicide Hero
5. Suspicious
6. Abracadabra E-rotica
7. Something In Between
8. The Wind
9. Tipsy
10. Tongue-Tied
11. Emma (Eighties Release)
12. Hunger (Eighties Release)
13. The Wind (Eighties Release)

more info:

Album trailer:

http://youtu.be/7u7zf7dsaBM

www.fleshandfell.com

www.reverbnation.com/fleshfell

www.facebook.com/fleshandfell

www.youtube.com/FLESHandFEL

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/09/2013


 

Next reviews
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
LUDOVICO TECHNIQUE • We Came to Wreck Everything
DJ LORDBONE • The DJ-files
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013
ORDO EQUITUM SOLIS • Killing Time Killing Love
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
VON MAGNET • Archipielagos
FIRST AID 4 SOULS • Beyond The Galaxy
CHELSEA WOLFE • Pain is Beauty

 

Other reviews from FLESH & FELL
FLESH & FELL • Eernegem, B52 (20/12/2015)

 

Same genre: DARK POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots