tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/09/2013 : FLESH & FELL -

FLESH & FELL

MusicCD
Dark PopGothicMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[92/100]   

Out Of Line
11/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

With the return of Flesh & Fell, the '80's are really coming back to us at full throttle (a gap of 25 years!). The band had disbanded due to the original singer falling ill. But Pierre Goudesone felt that there still a big fan base wanting them to return. When he found a new singer everything clicked. Laurence Castelein is a great substitute! She reminds me of early Jo Lemaire (remember Flouze) and sometimes other talented voices from back then – a real magic touch!

A lot of people loved them at Rewind Fest and at BIMFEST, so a full cd, as 25 years ago they only managed to release 2 maxis, is long overdue.

First song to hit us is 'Hunger' (the 80's original follows at the end). Love the guitar, bass, drums and voices (ok, I admit - I love it all). The sound is a bit spooky, I sense a dangerous vibe and a bit inspired by Siouxie and the Banshees. With this it's very clear that it was time to release at least something! 'The Devil in Me' is a real classic retro hit made in 2013! The combination of both voices is great. Once again I felt the same great vibe as when I listened to Born For Bliss (another survivor of the 80's). This is the kind of song that haunts you and doubles up as a dance floor filler! There’s already a video out (see below). 'Love Machine' is a bit more introverted and has a reggae feel. The retro sound is great and takes me back in time. 'Suicide Hero' is another story, darker of course. It captivates you, you sink into the darkness, hypnotized. This dary beauty just oozes talent. 'Suspicious' is the first song where I hear French over clear English. Nice drive coming from the guitars and drums. Well balanceed. Love the little effects on the voice that pop up from time to time. It’s a great intro to the next one, entirely in French this time - 'Abracadabra E-rotica'. It's the kind of song that would fit in a Vive La Fête set (it's the story of chicken and egg for some, but you know the outcome if you’re old enough). Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin must have been an influencing factor here (but without the Gainsbourg vocal here). Some E-rotic quality, a real standard for a lot of bands who tried a similar thing. 'Something in Between' goes back to English with a French accent, right in place. The bass, guitar and drums gives it a more straightforward sound, more punkie and more aggressive. Love it. 'The wind' starts out like a Muse track ('Bliss'), but the French vocals soon take the bliss away. BUT if you know the band and if you listen to the original at the end of this cd, you'll see that 'Bliss' is the rip off. So, Muse ripped off Flesh & Fell to create worldwide hit 'Bliss'. Man, that's evil or should I say Mind-blowing? 'Tipsy' has nice roaring guitars, fat bass & cool up-tempo synth layers. Love the message in this song, discover it for yourself! Great song! Tongue-Tied' starts more of a pop song and then goes to an industrial hook. Love it when the voices blend in and start a riot. Again Bass and Drums are great, just like the guitar. This song could be another dance floor smash with a slightly different mix (I think the mastermind from Implant knows what to do). The last song that I didn't talk about so far is the cult classic 'Emma'. A lot of people will be glad to have it on a regular cd! This song wasn't a direct hit, but became a cult classic. Sometimes a song needs to take time to grow with the help of the fans... No other song is still so strong after all those years as this one and is certainly not outdated!

I really hope that a lot of fans will embrace this great CD! It stole my heart, for sure!

Track listing:
1. Hunger
2. The Devil In Me
3. Love Machine
4. Suicide Hero
5. Suspicious
6. Abracadabra E-rotica
7. Something In Between
8. The Wind
9. Tipsy
10. Tongue-Tied
11. Emma (Eighties Release)
12. Hunger (Eighties Release)
13. The Wind (Eighties Release)

more info:

Album trailer:

http://youtu.be/7u7zf7dsaBM

www.fleshandfell.com

www.reverbnation.com/fleshfell

www.facebook.com/fleshandfell

www.youtube.com/FLESHandFEL

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/09/2013


 

Next reviews
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
LUDOVICO TECHNIQUE • We Came to Wreck Everything
DJ LORDBONE • The DJ-files
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013
ORDO EQUITUM SOLIS • Killing Time Killing Love
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
VON MAGNET • Archipielagos
FIRST AID 4 SOULS • Beyond The Galaxy
CHELSEA WOLFE • Pain is Beauty

 

Other reviews from FLESH & FELL
FLESH & FELL • Eernegem, B52 (20/12/2015)

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money