tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/09/2013 : FLESH & FELL -

FLESH & FELL

MusicCD
Dark PopGothicMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[92/100]   

Out Of Line
11/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

With the return of Flesh & Fell, the '80's are really coming back to us at full throttle (a gap of 25 years!). The band had disbanded due to the original singer falling ill. But Pierre Goudesone felt that there still a big fan base wanting them to return. When he found a new singer everything clicked. Laurence Castelein is a great substitute! She reminds me of early Jo Lemaire (remember Flouze) and sometimes other talented voices from back then – a real magic touch!

A lot of people loved them at Rewind Fest and at BIMFEST, so a full cd, as 25 years ago they only managed to release 2 maxis, is long overdue.

First song to hit us is 'Hunger' (the 80's original follows at the end). Love the guitar, bass, drums and voices (ok, I admit - I love it all). The sound is a bit spooky, I sense a dangerous vibe and a bit inspired by Siouxie and the Banshees. With this it's very clear that it was time to release at least something! 'The Devil in Me' is a real classic retro hit made in 2013! The combination of both voices is great. Once again I felt the same great vibe as when I listened to Born For Bliss (another survivor of the 80's). This is the kind of song that haunts you and doubles up as a dance floor filler! There’s already a video out (see below). 'Love Machine' is a bit more introverted and has a reggae feel. The retro sound is great and takes me back in time. 'Suicide Hero' is another story, darker of course. It captivates you, you sink into the darkness, hypnotized. This dary beauty just oozes talent. 'Suspicious' is the first song where I hear French over clear English. Nice drive coming from the guitars and drums. Well balanceed. Love the little effects on the voice that pop up from time to time. It’s a great intro to the next one, entirely in French this time - 'Abracadabra E-rotica'. It's the kind of song that would fit in a Vive La Fête set (it's the story of chicken and egg for some, but you know the outcome if you’re old enough). Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin must have been an influencing factor here (but without the Gainsbourg vocal here). Some E-rotic quality, a real standard for a lot of bands who tried a similar thing. 'Something in Between' goes back to English with a French accent, right in place. The bass, guitar and drums gives it a more straightforward sound, more punkie and more aggressive. Love it. 'The wind' starts out like a Muse track ('Bliss'), but the French vocals soon take the bliss away. BUT if you know the band and if you listen to the original at the end of this cd, you'll see that 'Bliss' is the rip off. So, Muse ripped off Flesh & Fell to create worldwide hit 'Bliss'. Man, that's evil or should I say Mind-blowing? 'Tipsy' has nice roaring guitars, fat bass & cool up-tempo synth layers. Love the message in this song, discover it for yourself! Great song! Tongue-Tied' starts more of a pop song and then goes to an industrial hook. Love it when the voices blend in and start a riot. Again Bass and Drums are great, just like the guitar. This song could be another dance floor smash with a slightly different mix (I think the mastermind from Implant knows what to do). The last song that I didn't talk about so far is the cult classic 'Emma'. A lot of people will be glad to have it on a regular cd! This song wasn't a direct hit, but became a cult classic. Sometimes a song needs to take time to grow with the help of the fans... No other song is still so strong after all those years as this one and is certainly not outdated!

I really hope that a lot of fans will embrace this great CD! It stole my heart, for sure!

Track listing:
1. Hunger
2. The Devil In Me
3. Love Machine
4. Suicide Hero
5. Suspicious
6. Abracadabra E-rotica
7. Something In Between
8. The Wind
9. Tipsy
10. Tongue-Tied
11. Emma (Eighties Release)
12. Hunger (Eighties Release)
13. The Wind (Eighties Release)

more info:

Album trailer:

http://youtu.be/7u7zf7dsaBM

www.fleshandfell.com

www.reverbnation.com/fleshfell

www.facebook.com/fleshandfell

www.youtube.com/FLESHandFEL

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/09/2013


 

Next reviews
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
LUDOVICO TECHNIQUE • We Came to Wreck Everything
DJ LORDBONE • The DJ-files
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013
ORDO EQUITUM SOLIS • Killing Time Killing Love
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
VON MAGNET • Archipielagos
FIRST AID 4 SOULS • Beyond The Galaxy
CHELSEA WOLFE • Pain is Beauty

 

Other reviews from FLESH & FELL
FLESH & FELL • Eernegem, B52 (20/12/2015)

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love