tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/09/2013 : FLESH & FELL -

FLESH & FELL

MusicCD
Dark PopGothicMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[92/100]   

Out Of Line
11/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

With the return of Flesh & Fell, the '80's are really coming back to us at full throttle (a gap of 25 years!). The band had disbanded due to the original singer falling ill. But Pierre Goudesone felt that there still a big fan base wanting them to return. When he found a new singer everything clicked. Laurence Castelein is a great substitute! She reminds me of early Jo Lemaire (remember Flouze) and sometimes other talented voices from back then – a real magic touch!

A lot of people loved them at Rewind Fest and at BIMFEST, so a full cd, as 25 years ago they only managed to release 2 maxis, is long overdue.

First song to hit us is 'Hunger' (the 80's original follows at the end). Love the guitar, bass, drums and voices (ok, I admit - I love it all). The sound is a bit spooky, I sense a dangerous vibe and a bit inspired by Siouxie and the Banshees. With this it's very clear that it was time to release at least something! 'The Devil in Me' is a real classic retro hit made in 2013! The combination of both voices is great. Once again I felt the same great vibe as when I listened to Born For Bliss (another survivor of the 80's). This is the kind of song that haunts you and doubles up as a dance floor filler! There’s already a video out (see below). 'Love Machine' is a bit more introverted and has a reggae feel. The retro sound is great and takes me back in time. 'Suicide Hero' is another story, darker of course. It captivates you, you sink into the darkness, hypnotized. This dary beauty just oozes talent. 'Suspicious' is the first song where I hear French over clear English. Nice drive coming from the guitars and drums. Well balanceed. Love the little effects on the voice that pop up from time to time. It’s a great intro to the next one, entirely in French this time - 'Abracadabra E-rotica'. It's the kind of song that would fit in a Vive La Fête set (it's the story of chicken and egg for some, but you know the outcome if you’re old enough). Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin must have been an influencing factor here (but without the Gainsbourg vocal here). Some E-rotic quality, a real standard for a lot of bands who tried a similar thing. 'Something in Between' goes back to English with a French accent, right in place. The bass, guitar and drums gives it a more straightforward sound, more punkie and more aggressive. Love it. 'The wind' starts out like a Muse track ('Bliss'), but the French vocals soon take the bliss away. BUT if you know the band and if you listen to the original at the end of this cd, you'll see that 'Bliss' is the rip off. So, Muse ripped off Flesh & Fell to create worldwide hit 'Bliss'. Man, that's evil or should I say Mind-blowing? 'Tipsy' has nice roaring guitars, fat bass & cool up-tempo synth layers. Love the message in this song, discover it for yourself! Great song! Tongue-Tied' starts more of a pop song and then goes to an industrial hook. Love it when the voices blend in and start a riot. Again Bass and Drums are great, just like the guitar. This song could be another dance floor smash with a slightly different mix (I think the mastermind from Implant knows what to do). The last song that I didn't talk about so far is the cult classic 'Emma'. A lot of people will be glad to have it on a regular cd! This song wasn't a direct hit, but became a cult classic. Sometimes a song needs to take time to grow with the help of the fans... No other song is still so strong after all those years as this one and is certainly not outdated!

I really hope that a lot of fans will embrace this great CD! It stole my heart, for sure!

Track listing:
1. Hunger
2. The Devil In Me
3. Love Machine
4. Suicide Hero
5. Suspicious
6. Abracadabra E-rotica
7. Something In Between
8. The Wind
9. Tipsy
10. Tongue-Tied
11. Emma (Eighties Release)
12. Hunger (Eighties Release)
13. The Wind (Eighties Release)

more info:

Album trailer:

http://youtu.be/7u7zf7dsaBM

www.fleshandfell.com

www.reverbnation.com/fleshfell

www.facebook.com/fleshandfell

www.youtube.com/FLESHandFEL

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/09/2013


 

Next reviews
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
LUDOVICO TECHNIQUE • We Came to Wreck Everything
DJ LORDBONE • The DJ-files
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013
ORDO EQUITUM SOLIS • Killing Time Killing Love
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
VON MAGNET • Archipielagos
FIRST AID 4 SOULS • Beyond The Galaxy
CHELSEA WOLFE • Pain is Beauty

 

Other reviews from FLESH & FELL
FLESH & FELL • Eernegem, B52 (20/12/2015)

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat