tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

16/11/2015 : KINEX KINEX - Polytheistic Christmas

KINEX KINEX

Polytheistic Christmas

MusicCassette
ExperimentalMinimalNew waveSynth WaveSynthpop

[75/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
16/11/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

I love Porn Movies. It’s the best song on Kinex Kinex’s 2015 release Polytheistic Christmas. There is a terrific fat synth line coupled with lyrics offering a critique about modern porn habbits. It’s a bit like if DAF making minimal synth. Mostly, Belgian Raphaël Haubourdin sticks to this slightly experimental and dark minimal synth formula driven by deep male vocals. It works great for him.

There is a Cure cover (10:15 Saturday Night) and a couple of more experimental tracks. They break the flow of a super EP without adding much for me. As a cassette release this is a bit more complicated than just moving the needle on a track. However, as the tape is a snip at 7 Euro, I won’t complain too much at having to get to rediscover the fast forward button. I hope to hear his slightly avant-garde title track in my local Marks and Spencers this Christmas too. 

Luki PUKI
16/11/2015


NL

Porn Movies. Het is zonder twijfel het beste nummer op Polytheistic Christmas, de taperelease van Kinex Kinex op Wool-E Tapes. Het nummer heeft een lekker vet synthgeluid en het bekritiseert de huidige pornogewoontes. Denk gewoon hoe DAF zou klinken mocht het minimal synth maken.

De donkere minimal synth-formule van Raphaël Haubourdin werkt trouwens meer dan prima, ook al is ze soms wat experimenteel. Je vindt tevens een cover van The Cure (10:15 Saturday Night) op deze tape, alsook wat experimentele nummers, en dat is een beetje jammer, want het breekt een beetje de sfeer van deze geweldige ep, en voor mij hebben ze geen echte meerwaarde.

En tja, je mag zeggen wat je wil, maar een tape vooruit spoelen is nog altijd moeilijker dan de naald van je platendraaier in een andere groef leggen! Maar wat zit ik te klagen? Deze tape kost amper 7 euro, en dus mag je voor zo weinig geld wel eens uit je luie zetel komen, wie weet herontdek ik wel de vooruitspoeltoets! 

Luki PUKI
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
THE KINKS • Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
THE OBSCURE • Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015
AWMA • AWMA (EP)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
FLY GOLDEN EAGLE • Quartz Bijou
LEAETHER STRIP • Nothing's Impossible

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS