tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

16/11/2015 : KINEX KINEX - Polytheistic Christmas

KINEX KINEX

Polytheistic Christmas

MusicCassette
ExperimentalMinimalNew waveSynth WaveSynthpop

[75/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
16/11/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

I love Porn Movies. It’s the best song on Kinex Kinex’s 2015 release Polytheistic Christmas. There is a terrific fat synth line coupled with lyrics offering a critique about modern porn habbits. It’s a bit like if DAF making minimal synth. Mostly, Belgian Raphaël Haubourdin sticks to this slightly experimental and dark minimal synth formula driven by deep male vocals. It works great for him.

There is a Cure cover (10:15 Saturday Night) and a couple of more experimental tracks. They break the flow of a super EP without adding much for me. As a cassette release this is a bit more complicated than just moving the needle on a track. However, as the tape is a snip at 7 Euro, I won’t complain too much at having to get to rediscover the fast forward button. I hope to hear his slightly avant-garde title track in my local Marks and Spencers this Christmas too. 

Luki PUKI
16/11/2015


NL

Porn Movies. Het is zonder twijfel het beste nummer op Polytheistic Christmas, de taperelease van Kinex Kinex op Wool-E Tapes. Het nummer heeft een lekker vet synthgeluid en het bekritiseert de huidige pornogewoontes. Denk gewoon hoe DAF zou klinken mocht het minimal synth maken.

De donkere minimal synth-formule van Raphaël Haubourdin werkt trouwens meer dan prima, ook al is ze soms wat experimenteel. Je vindt tevens een cover van The Cure (10:15 Saturday Night) op deze tape, alsook wat experimentele nummers, en dat is een beetje jammer, want het breekt een beetje de sfeer van deze geweldige ep, en voor mij hebben ze geen echte meerwaarde.

En tja, je mag zeggen wat je wil, maar een tape vooruit spoelen is nog altijd moeilijker dan de naald van je platendraaier in een andere groef leggen! Maar wat zit ik te klagen? Deze tape kost amper 7 euro, en dus mag je voor zo weinig geld wel eens uit je luie zetel komen, wie weet herontdek ik wel de vooruitspoeltoets! 

Luki PUKI
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
THE KINKS • Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
THE OBSCURE • Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015
AWMA • AWMA (EP)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
FLY GOLDEN EAGLE • Quartz Bijou
LEAETHER STRIP • Nothing's Impossible

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)