tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : A VIOLET PINE - Turtles

A VIOLET PINE

Turtles

MusicCD
Alternative RockElectro RockPost Rock

[85/100]   

T.a. Rock Records
16/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

If you compare it with their debut, then Turtles is a great leap forward for these three Italians. The album is coherent and well-built. It does not happen that often, but actually the music description that is given by the band is quite right: a dense guitar sound, dark and romantic vocals that are garnished with electronic sounds and governed by the raw drums. Not only the words, the cover also illustrates the mood of the album.

The structure of their songs sometimes tends to progressive rock, albeit without the unpredictable alternations. And yet, these elements are in one way or another present, a lot of small changes drive the songs in a different direction. The guitars sometimes have a Pink Floyd sound, just as some shoegaze, new wave, electro and alternative rock influences. All with their own unique sound.

The vocals sound warm and at first hearing they are perhaps a little monotonous, but just as in the music, there are different nuances in the voice.

The album starts with The Game: a great post-rock song in the style of Motek. Bright could have been a track by Gilmour. The title track Turtles has a lot of interesting features: a bass line, a wonderful guitar, nice vocals, atmospheric synths in the intro and an appropriate percussion. The final track Why? is a very charming song that perfectly connects the piano with the echoing guitar. It sounds more poppy than the rest.

Sometimes they tend to post-rock and then to rock, topped with some synths. Give this warm and atmospheric album a chance and give it the necessary time, it undoubtedly crawls under your skin.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/11/2015


NL

Deze drie Italianen hebben met Turtles, zeker als je rekening houdt met hun debuut, een grote sprong voorwaarts gemaakt. Het album is coherent en goed opgebouwd. Het gebeurt niet altijd, maar eigenlijk is de muziekbeschrijving die de band geeft heel treffend: dichte gitaren, een donkere en romantische zang die versierd wordt met elektronische klanken en geregeerd wordt door de ruwe drums. Niet alleen de woorden, ook de hoesfoto vat de sfeer van deze plaat mooi samen.

De opbouw van hun songs neigt soms naar progressieve rock, weliswaar zonder de onvoorspelbare afwisselingen. Toch zijn deze elementen op de één of andere manier wel aanwezig, zo heb je een heleboel kleine veranderingen die de songs in een andere richting drijven. De gitaren hebben soms een Pink Floyd-geluid en voor de rest bevatten ze elementen uit shoegaze, new wave, electro en alternatieve rock. Dit allemaal met een eigen, uniek geluid.

De zang klinkt warm en op het eerste gehoor misschien wat eentonig of te eenvormig, maar net als in de muziek zijn er in de stem verschillende nuances waardoor de muziek volop kan openbloeien.

Het album start met The Game: een sterk postrocknummer in de stijl van Motek. Bright kon een nummer van Gilmour zijn. Vooral de zang doet me sterk aan hem denken. Het titelnummer Turtles heeft een heleboel interessante elementen: een baslijn, een lekkere gitaar, leuke zang, sfeerrijke synths in de intro en een gepaste percussie. De afsluiter Why? is een heel charmant nummer dat mooi de piano en de galmende gitaar met elkaar verbindt. Het klinkt eerder poppy en luchtig. We krijgen hier negen tracks die stuk voor stuk goed opgebouwd zijn.

Soms neigen ze wat naar postrock en dan weer naar rock, overgoten met wat synths. Geef dit warme en sfeerrijke album een kans en vooral ook de nodige tijd, het zal ongetwijfeld onder je huid kruipen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
THE KINKS • Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
THE OBSCURE • Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015
AWMA • AWMA (EP)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
FLY GOLDEN EAGLE • Quartz Bijou

 

Other reviews from A VIOLET PINE
A VIOLET PINE • Turtles remixes

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
PAUL MCCANN • Here Comes The Rapture
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND • White Light/White Heat
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid