tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : A VIOLET PINE - Turtles

A VIOLET PINE

Turtles

MusicCD
Alternative RockElectro RockPost Rock

[85/100]   

T.a. Rock Records
16/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

If you compare it with their debut, then Turtles is a great leap forward for these three Italians. The album is coherent and well-built. It does not happen that often, but actually the music description that is given by the band is quite right: a dense guitar sound, dark and romantic vocals that are garnished with electronic sounds and governed by the raw drums. Not only the words, the cover also illustrates the mood of the album.

The structure of their songs sometimes tends to progressive rock, albeit without the unpredictable alternations. And yet, these elements are in one way or another present, a lot of small changes drive the songs in a different direction. The guitars sometimes have a Pink Floyd sound, just as some shoegaze, new wave, electro and alternative rock influences. All with their own unique sound.

The vocals sound warm and at first hearing they are perhaps a little monotonous, but just as in the music, there are different nuances in the voice.

The album starts with The Game: a great post-rock song in the style of Motek. Bright could have been a track by Gilmour. The title track Turtles has a lot of interesting features: a bass line, a wonderful guitar, nice vocals, atmospheric synths in the intro and an appropriate percussion. The final track Why? is a very charming song that perfectly connects the piano with the echoing guitar. It sounds more poppy than the rest.

Sometimes they tend to post-rock and then to rock, topped with some synths. Give this warm and atmospheric album a chance and give it the necessary time, it undoubtedly crawls under your skin.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/11/2015


NL

Deze drie Italianen hebben met Turtles, zeker als je rekening houdt met hun debuut, een grote sprong voorwaarts gemaakt. Het album is coherent en goed opgebouwd. Het gebeurt niet altijd, maar eigenlijk is de muziekbeschrijving die de band geeft heel treffend: dichte gitaren, een donkere en romantische zang die versierd wordt met elektronische klanken en geregeerd wordt door de ruwe drums. Niet alleen de woorden, ook de hoesfoto vat de sfeer van deze plaat mooi samen.

De opbouw van hun songs neigt soms naar progressieve rock, weliswaar zonder de onvoorspelbare afwisselingen. Toch zijn deze elementen op de één of andere manier wel aanwezig, zo heb je een heleboel kleine veranderingen die de songs in een andere richting drijven. De gitaren hebben soms een Pink Floyd-geluid en voor de rest bevatten ze elementen uit shoegaze, new wave, electro en alternatieve rock. Dit allemaal met een eigen, uniek geluid.

De zang klinkt warm en op het eerste gehoor misschien wat eentonig of te eenvormig, maar net als in de muziek zijn er in de stem verschillende nuances waardoor de muziek volop kan openbloeien.

Het album start met The Game: een sterk postrocknummer in de stijl van Motek. Bright kon een nummer van Gilmour zijn. Vooral de zang doet me sterk aan hem denken. Het titelnummer Turtles heeft een heleboel interessante elementen: een baslijn, een lekkere gitaar, leuke zang, sfeerrijke synths in de intro en een gepaste percussie. De afsluiter Why? is een heel charmant nummer dat mooi de piano en de galmende gitaar met elkaar verbindt. Het klinkt eerder poppy en luchtig. We krijgen hier negen tracks die stuk voor stuk goed opgebouwd zijn.

Soms neigen ze wat naar postrock en dan weer naar rock, overgoten met wat synths. Geef dit warme en sfeerrijke album een kans en vooral ook de nodige tijd, het zal ongetwijfeld onder je huid kruipen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/11/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked