tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/11/2015 : FLY GOLDEN EAGLE - Quartz Bijou

FLY GOLDEN EAGLE

Quartz Bijou

MusicCD
Psych RockRock

[65/100]   

ATO Records
14/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

On the album Quartz Bijou, we hear the psych-rockers of Fly Golden Eagle in a mixture of soul, glam rock, psychedelia, blues, funk and jazz. They found their inspiration in the avant-garde film The Holy Mountain (1973), co-funded by John Lennon and George Harrison at the time, and a trip to the Texan city of Tehuacana. Previously, Fly Golden Eagle collaborated with Benjamin Booker and Alabama Shakes and even shared the stage with Arctic Monkeys. Quartz Bijou contains 12 compositions in which we hear T.Rex, Doors, punk rock and gospel, because that is the music singer Ben Trimble grew up with.

You Look Away rolls out of the speakers like a heavy rock song with drums, a strong bass, layered guitar sounds and a large portion of acid jazz from the 90s. Horse's Mouth begins with atmospheric guitars and an attractive choir. The composition has a slightly psychedelic tone, again with a tight bass sound and Trimble's voice effortlessly on top. Stepping Stone has Led Zeppelin influences, but the song gets heavy riffs, a pulsating bass and an organ that could be borrowed from the sixties band Electric Prunes. It’s music in the style of Cheap Trick and consorts. in Magic Seven we hear the drums and a The Band-like organ in the foreground, while the echoing voice of Trimble is kept in the background. Maybe not the most original composition, but the fine electric guitar licks and the beautiful bass create an appealing atmosphere and a pleasant track to listen to.

We can be brief about Monolith and Tangible Intangible: two simple, but gorgeous ballads, full of longing and melancholy. By far the best tracks. The tempo is increased in Slider, with a beautiful atmospheric guitar sound and stunning vocals. It is a good sounding pop song for which the traditional instruments are put aside, but it is rather a lightweight. While listening to Heady Ways you wonder: where have I heard this before? Medicine Hat can only partly charm us despite the beautiful organ playing and Boyhood Ghost does not get much further than good intentions. We hear The Blues Brothers in the more than five-minute Tehuacana, a hectic composition in which soul, funk, gospel, and all the other influences seamlessly flow together. Not only the most original, but definitely the best track of the album, complemented in the second half with a hallucinatory soundscape of noise, reverberating guitars and bell-like sounds. Finally, Death Myth is a quiet instrumental finale.

A lot of influences and consequently a lot of variety on this album, but not always sufficient originality. We think the gentlemen of Fly Golden Eagle have to make choices.

Tracklist:
1 You Look Good To Me
2 Horse's Mouth
3 Stepping Stone
4 Magic Steven
5 Monolith
6 Tangible Intangible
7 The Slider
8 Heady Ways
9 Medicine Hat
10 Boychild Ghost
11 Tehuacana
12 Death Myth

'Stepping Stone'
'Horse's Mouth'
http://www.flygoldeneagle.net/

William LIÉNARD
14/11/2015


NL

Op het album Quartz Bijou brengen de psych-rockers van Fly Golden Eagle een mengeling van soul, glamrock, psychedelica, blues, funk en jazz. Hun inspiratie vonden ze in de avant-gardefilm The Holy Mountain (1973), destijds medegefinancierd door John Lennon en George Harrison, en een trip naar de Texaanse stad Tehuacana. Fly Golden Eagle werkte eerder samen met Benjamin Booker en Alabama Shakes en deelde zelfs het podium met Arctic Monkeys. Op Quartz Bijou staan 12 composities waarin we soms T.Rex en de Doors horen, maar ook punkrock en gospel, want daarmee groeide zanger Ben Trimble in z’n jeugd op.

You Look Away rolt uit de speakers als een stevige rocksong met slagwerk, een stevige bas, gelaagd gitaargeluid en een flinke portie acid jazz uit de jaren 90. Horse’s Mouth begint met atmosferische gitaren en krijgt een aantrekkelijk koortje. De compositie is lichtjes psychedelisch van toon met opnieuw stevig basgitaargeluid waarboven Trimble’s stem zich moeiteloos handhaaft. Stepping Stone heeft iets van Led Zeppelin, maar de song krijgt vervolgens loodzware riffs, een pulserende basgitaar en een orgel dat lijkt geleend van de sixtiesband Electric Prunes. Muziek in de stijl van Cheap trick en konsoorten. In Magic Seven horen we vooral slagwerk en eenThe Band-achtig orgel op de voorgrond, terwijl de galmende stem van Trimble veel meer op de achtergrond wordt gehouden. Misschien niet de meest originele compositie, maar de fijne likjes elektrische gitaar en de prachtige bastonen creëren een aantrekkelijke atmosfeer en een aangename track om naar te luisteren.

Over Monolith en Tangible Intangible kunnen we kort zijn: twee eenvoudige en bloedmooie ballades, vol verlangen en melancholie. Veruit de beste tracks. Voor The Slider wordt het tempo weer opgevoerd met mooi atmosferisch gitaargeluid en prachtige vocalen. Het is een goed in het oor liggende popsong waarvoor het traditionele instrumentarium is opgeborgen, maar toch eerder een lichtgewicht. Tijdens het beluisteren van Heady Ways denk je: waar heb ik dit al een keer eerder gehoord?, en Medicine Hat kan ons ondanks mooi orgelspel niet meer dan matig bekoren, terwijl ook Boyhood Ghost een beetje blijft steken in goede bedoelingen. De Blues Brothers steken de kop op in de meer dan vijf minuten durende track Tehuacana, een jachtige compositie waarin soul, funk, gospel en al die andere invloeden naadloos in elkaar overvloeien. Niet alleen de origineelste, maar wellicht ook de beste track van het album, met in de tweede helft een hallucinant soundscape van noise, galmende gitaren en belachtige geluiden. Death Myth ten slotte, is een rustige instrumentale finale.

Heel veel invloeden en bijgevolg ook veel variatie op dit album, maar niet altijd voldoende originaliteit. Misschien moeten de heren toch maar eens een keuze maken.

William LIÉNARD
14/11/2015


14/11/2015 : FLY GOLDEN EAGLE - Quartz Bijou 14/11/2015 : FLY GOLDEN EAGLE - Quartz Bijou

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom