tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

13/11/2015 : SYD 31 - Drowning In Air EP

SYD 31

Drowning In Air EP

MusicDigital
EBMIndustrialPunk

[70/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
13/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Analogue Trash Records releases the new EP by Syd.31. The band already worked together with Nachtmahr, NOISUF-X, Kommand + Kontrol and Hated Til Proven. They refuse to keep their mouth shut and criticize the political system.

On the EP Drowning In Air Syd.31 offers five songs. They call their musical style punktanz which is a mixture of punk, industrial and hard dance. And yes, they really do know how to combine these influences in strong songs: Disorder, Revolution (featuring Kommand + Kontrol) and No Fear (feature Paresis & Beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand). Anger and rage can be heard in one song. The first three songs are hard dance with a touch of industrial. The voice is also full of rage: more punk than this would be impossible! Hate has a different style and goes in the EBM direction. A solid beat, cool synths and various other machines are added in the mix. Believe it or not, but the final song is a dance remix of Mr. Vain by Culture Beat from 1996. It has the support of NOISUF-X. In all fairness, it is not exactly the best track we heard.

Whether punktanz will be the new thing or not? I do not know. Are you curious? Then check them!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/11/2015


NL

Analogue Trash Records laat de nieuwe EP van Syd.31 los op de mensheid. De band werkte al eerder samen met Nachtmahr, NOISUF-X, Kommand+Kontrol en Hated Til Proven. Ze houden geen blad voor de mond en zetten zich heel graag af tegen het politieke systeem.

OP de EP Drowning In Air schenkt Syd.31ons 5 songs. Zelf dopen ze hun muziekstijl als punktanz wat voor een mengeling van punk, industrial en hard dance staat. En jawel, deze invloeden weten ze inderdaad in sterke songs te combineren: Disorder, Revolution (met Kommand+Kontrol) en No Fear (met Paresis & Beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand). Tegen de schenen schoppen, boosheid, razernij, allemaal wordt het in één song gegoten.... De eerste drie songs neigen naar hard dance met een vleugje industrial. De stem staat tevens bol van razernij: méér punk dan dit kunnen we niet vragen! In Hate verandert de stijl en gaat het de EBM-kant op. Stevige beat, leuke synths en allerlei andere machines komen in de mix. Als afsluiter krijgen we, geloof het of niet, een remix van het dansnummer Mr. Vain van Culture Beat uit 1996. Hierbij krijgt Syd.31 de steun van NOISUF-X. Eerlijkheidshalve is het niet meteen het beste wat we hoorden en de cover is geen meerwaarde voor deze EP.

Of punktanz nu het nieuwe ding zal worden of niet? Dat weet ik niet. Ben je er benieuwd naar? Uitchecken die handel!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/11/2015


 

Next reviews
ISLE OF MEN • Voluntary Blindness
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT • To Live Vicariously
BEST COAST • Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
ROVER • Let It Glow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Die Dark Disko Vol.2
ARBEID ADELT! • Brussels, Beursschouwburg 11/11/2015
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL + PUNK
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?