tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

13/11/2015 : SYD 31 - Drowning In Air EP

SYD 31

Drowning In Air EP

MusicDigital
EBMIndustrialPunk

[70/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
13/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Analogue Trash Records releases the new EP by Syd.31. The band already worked together with Nachtmahr, NOISUF-X, Kommand + Kontrol and Hated Til Proven. They refuse to keep their mouth shut and criticize the political system.

On the EP Drowning In Air Syd.31 offers five songs. They call their musical style punktanz which is a mixture of punk, industrial and hard dance. And yes, they really do know how to combine these influences in strong songs: Disorder, Revolution (featuring Kommand + Kontrol) and No Fear (feature Paresis & Beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand). Anger and rage can be heard in one song. The first three songs are hard dance with a touch of industrial. The voice is also full of rage: more punk than this would be impossible! Hate has a different style and goes in the EBM direction. A solid beat, cool synths and various other machines are added in the mix. Believe it or not, but the final song is a dance remix of Mr. Vain by Culture Beat from 1996. It has the support of NOISUF-X. In all fairness, it is not exactly the best track we heard.

Whether punktanz will be the new thing or not? I do not know. Are you curious? Then check them!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/11/2015


NL

Analogue Trash Records laat de nieuwe EP van Syd.31 los op de mensheid. De band werkte al eerder samen met Nachtmahr, NOISUF-X, Kommand+Kontrol en Hated Til Proven. Ze houden geen blad voor de mond en zetten zich heel graag af tegen het politieke systeem.

OP de EP Drowning In Air schenkt Syd.31ons 5 songs. Zelf dopen ze hun muziekstijl als punktanz wat voor een mengeling van punk, industrial en hard dance staat. En jawel, deze invloeden weten ze inderdaad in sterke songs te combineren: Disorder, Revolution (met Kommand+Kontrol) en No Fear (met Paresis & Beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand). Tegen de schenen schoppen, boosheid, razernij, allemaal wordt het in één song gegoten.... De eerste drie songs neigen naar hard dance met een vleugje industrial. De stem staat tevens bol van razernij: méér punk dan dit kunnen we niet vragen! In Hate verandert de stijl en gaat het de EBM-kant op. Stevige beat, leuke synths en allerlei andere machines komen in de mix. Als afsluiter krijgen we, geloof het of niet, een remix van het dansnummer Mr. Vain van Culture Beat uit 1996. Hierbij krijgt Syd.31 de steun van NOISUF-X. Eerlijkheidshalve is het niet meteen het beste wat we hoorden en de cover is geen meerwaarde voor deze EP.

Of punktanz nu het nieuwe ding zal worden of niet? Dat weet ik niet. Ben je er benieuwd naar? Uitchecken die handel!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/11/2015


 

Next reviews
ISLE OF MEN • Voluntary Blindness
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT • To Live Vicariously
BEST COAST • Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
ROVER • Let It Glow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Die Dark Disko Vol.2
ARBEID ADELT! • Brussels, Beursschouwburg 11/11/2015
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL + PUNK
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture

 

Same genre: EBM
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16