tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

13/11/2015 : SYD 31 - Drowning In Air EP

SYD 31

Drowning In Air EP

MusicDigital
EBMIndustrialPunk

[70/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
13/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Analogue Trash Records releases the new EP by Syd.31. The band already worked together with Nachtmahr, NOISUF-X, Kommand + Kontrol and Hated Til Proven. They refuse to keep their mouth shut and criticize the political system.

On the EP Drowning In Air Syd.31 offers five songs. They call their musical style punktanz which is a mixture of punk, industrial and hard dance. And yes, they really do know how to combine these influences in strong songs: Disorder, Revolution (featuring Kommand + Kontrol) and No Fear (feature Paresis & Beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand). Anger and rage can be heard in one song. The first three songs are hard dance with a touch of industrial. The voice is also full of rage: more punk than this would be impossible! Hate has a different style and goes in the EBM direction. A solid beat, cool synths and various other machines are added in the mix. Believe it or not, but the final song is a dance remix of Mr. Vain by Culture Beat from 1996. It has the support of NOISUF-X. In all fairness, it is not exactly the best track we heard.

Whether punktanz will be the new thing or not? I do not know. Are you curious? Then check them!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/11/2015


NL

Analogue Trash Records laat de nieuwe EP van Syd.31 los op de mensheid. De band werkte al eerder samen met Nachtmahr, NOISUF-X, Kommand+Kontrol en Hated Til Proven. Ze houden geen blad voor de mond en zetten zich heel graag af tegen het politieke systeem.

OP de EP Drowning In Air schenkt Syd.31ons 5 songs. Zelf dopen ze hun muziekstijl als punktanz wat voor een mengeling van punk, industrial en hard dance staat. En jawel, deze invloeden weten ze inderdaad in sterke songs te combineren: Disorder, Revolution (met Kommand+Kontrol) en No Fear (met Paresis & Beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand). Tegen de schenen schoppen, boosheid, razernij, allemaal wordt het in één song gegoten.... De eerste drie songs neigen naar hard dance met een vleugje industrial. De stem staat tevens bol van razernij: méér punk dan dit kunnen we niet vragen! In Hate verandert de stijl en gaat het de EBM-kant op. Stevige beat, leuke synths en allerlei andere machines komen in de mix. Als afsluiter krijgen we, geloof het of niet, een remix van het dansnummer Mr. Vain van Culture Beat uit 1996. Hierbij krijgt Syd.31 de steun van NOISUF-X. Eerlijkheidshalve is het niet meteen het beste wat we hoorden en de cover is geen meerwaarde voor deze EP.

Of punktanz nu het nieuwe ding zal worden of niet? Dat weet ik niet. Ben je er benieuwd naar? Uitchecken die handel!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/11/2015


 

Next reviews
ISLE OF MEN • Voluntary Blindness
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT • To Live Vicariously
BEST COAST • Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
ROVER • Let It Glow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Die Dark Disko Vol.2
ARBEID ADELT! • Brussels, Beursschouwburg 11/11/2015
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL + PUNK
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture

 

Same genre: EBM
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction

 

Same genre: PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'
07
10
20 years of Mindstrip by Suicide Commando!
06
10
New MOTOR!K album MOTOR!K - 2 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
LISA GERRARD(DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!
16
10
AKALOTZ
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... AKALOTZ!
26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods
15
10
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)
14
10
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
13
10
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons