tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

13/11/2015 : SYD 31 - Drowning In Air EP

SYD 31

Drowning In Air EP

MusicDigital
EBMIndustrialPunk

[70/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
13/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Analogue Trash Records releases the new EP by Syd.31. The band already worked together with Nachtmahr, NOISUF-X, Kommand + Kontrol and Hated Til Proven. They refuse to keep their mouth shut and criticize the political system.

On the EP Drowning In Air Syd.31 offers five songs. They call their musical style punktanz which is a mixture of punk, industrial and hard dance. And yes, they really do know how to combine these influences in strong songs: Disorder, Revolution (featuring Kommand + Kontrol) and No Fear (feature Paresis & Beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand). Anger and rage can be heard in one song. The first three songs are hard dance with a touch of industrial. The voice is also full of rage: more punk than this would be impossible! Hate has a different style and goes in the EBM direction. A solid beat, cool synths and various other machines are added in the mix. Believe it or not, but the final song is a dance remix of Mr. Vain by Culture Beat from 1996. It has the support of NOISUF-X. In all fairness, it is not exactly the best track we heard.

Whether punktanz will be the new thing or not? I do not know. Are you curious? Then check them!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/11/2015


NL

Analogue Trash Records laat de nieuwe EP van Syd.31 los op de mensheid. De band werkte al eerder samen met Nachtmahr, NOISUF-X, Kommand+Kontrol en Hated Til Proven. Ze houden geen blad voor de mond en zetten zich heel graag af tegen het politieke systeem.

OP de EP Drowning In Air schenkt Syd.31ons 5 songs. Zelf dopen ze hun muziekstijl als punktanz wat voor een mengeling van punk, industrial en hard dance staat. En jawel, deze invloeden weten ze inderdaad in sterke songs te combineren: Disorder, Revolution (met Kommand+Kontrol) en No Fear (met Paresis & Beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand). Tegen de schenen schoppen, boosheid, razernij, allemaal wordt het in één song gegoten.... De eerste drie songs neigen naar hard dance met een vleugje industrial. De stem staat tevens bol van razernij: méér punk dan dit kunnen we niet vragen! In Hate verandert de stijl en gaat het de EBM-kant op. Stevige beat, leuke synths en allerlei andere machines komen in de mix. Als afsluiter krijgen we, geloof het of niet, een remix van het dansnummer Mr. Vain van Culture Beat uit 1996. Hierbij krijgt Syd.31 de steun van NOISUF-X. Eerlijkheidshalve is het niet meteen het beste wat we hoorden en de cover is geen meerwaarde voor deze EP.

Of punktanz nu het nieuwe ding zal worden of niet? Dat weet ik niet. Ben je er benieuwd naar? Uitchecken die handel!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/11/2015


 

Next reviews
ISLE OF MEN • Voluntary Blindness
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT • To Live Vicariously
BEST COAST • Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
ROVER • Let It Glow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Die Dark Disko Vol.2
ARBEID ADELT! • Brussels, Beursschouwburg 11/11/2015
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL + PUNK
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture

 

Same genre: EBM
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem