tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/06/2011 : THE PAIN MACHINERY - Surveillance culture

THE PAIN MACHINERY

Surveillance culture

MusicCD
EBMIndustrialPunk

[82/100]   

CCP
29/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Not only was Sweden the country which won every bloody issue of the Eurovision Songcontest in the past but apart from being the home of pop and extreme metal, it’s also the haven for some mighty EBM.

One of the bands that are already around since the late 80’s are The Pain Machinery and yet, it always has been the goal of founder Anders Karlsson to sound different as he wanted to mix UK street punk with the possibilities that electro and industrial music can offer. As soon as vocalist Jonas Hedberg joined those needed layers were found and with this “Surveillance culture” they came up with their sixth studio-album.

Not only is this album their debut on CCP but according to the band this record is another chapter in their history as the assertive vocals are more upfront than ever before.

For a band who claim to be as much influenced by acid music as Killing Joke, it’s no wonder “Surveillance Culture” is an musical journey that has an enchanting effect from the very first track “Shine” in where our sick society is criticized, the unseen forces that guides our hands as they say!

All fourteen tracks are danceable EBM-anthems in where you hear nice electronic weirdness mixed with the sort of anger we know from Portion Control-records.

Straight electropop with a punkattitude.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


NL

Zweden duikt altijd wel weer op in de muziekgeschiedenis. Niet alleen wonnen ze enkele decennia terug bijna elk jaar het Eurovisiesongfestival, ook was dit land de thuishaven van heerlijke pop, extreme metal en natuurlijk ook EBM.

Een van de groepen die aldaar sinds de late jarten ’80 actief zijn is The Pain Machinery. Toch was het steeds de bedoeling geweest van oprichter Anders Karlsson om het anders te doen, en dan wel het liefst om Britse straatpunk te gaan mengen met de verdiensten uit het electro- en indus verleden. Eens dat zanger Jonas Hedberg aan boord kwam, hadden ze alle troeven in handen om die droom waar te maken en is ondertussen deze “Surveillance culture” hun zesde studioplaat.

Niet alleen is deze plaat meteen hun debuut op CCP geworden maar ook is volgens de groep, “Surveillance culture” wederom een hoofdstuk in The Pain Machine-geschiedenis die een nieuwe wending aanduidt en dit doordat de assertieve stemmen meer dan ooit op de voorgrond komen te staan.

Voor een groep die het van de daken schreeuwt dat ze zowel door acid muziek als door Killing Joke beïnvloed zijn, is het dan ook geen wonder dat deze plaat een elektronische trip geworden is waar je de vingers van aflikt. Deze overheerlijke reis begint meteen al met opener “Shine” die de maatschappij aan het kruis nagelt en wie zijn wij om te zeggen dat dit ten onrechte zou zijn?

Alle veertien nummers zijn te omschrijven als dansbare EBM die gezegend zijn met electronische gekdoenerij en een woede die we normaal enkel van de goede oude Portion Control-platen kennen.

Strakke electropop met een punk attitude! Wederom verliefd!

 

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


 

Next reviews
BLANCMANGE • Blanc Burn
AUSTRA • Feel It Break
THE GODFATHERS • Support De Brassers | Gent, Vooruit | 24/06/2011
THIS MORN' OMINA • L'unification Des Forces Opposantes
DREAM AFFAIR • Endless Days
TECH NOMADER • Domotica
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
ATTRITION • demonstro 1981 - 1986
GIRLS NAMES • Dead to me
FINK • Perfect Darkness

 

Other reviews from THE PAIN MACHINERY
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Restart

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL + PUNK
SYD 31 • Drowning In Air EP

 

Same genre: EBM
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back