tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/06/2011 : THE PAIN MACHINERY - Surveillance culture

THE PAIN MACHINERY

Surveillance culture

MusicCD
EBMIndustrialPunk

[82/100]   

CCP
29/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Not only was Sweden the country which won every bloody issue of the Eurovision Songcontest in the past but apart from being the home of pop and extreme metal, it’s also the haven for some mighty EBM.

One of the bands that are already around since the late 80’s are The Pain Machinery and yet, it always has been the goal of founder Anders Karlsson to sound different as he wanted to mix UK street punk with the possibilities that electro and industrial music can offer. As soon as vocalist Jonas Hedberg joined those needed layers were found and with this “Surveillance culture” they came up with their sixth studio-album.

Not only is this album their debut on CCP but according to the band this record is another chapter in their history as the assertive vocals are more upfront than ever before.

For a band who claim to be as much influenced by acid music as Killing Joke, it’s no wonder “Surveillance Culture” is an musical journey that has an enchanting effect from the very first track “Shine” in where our sick society is criticized, the unseen forces that guides our hands as they say!

All fourteen tracks are danceable EBM-anthems in where you hear nice electronic weirdness mixed with the sort of anger we know from Portion Control-records.

Straight electropop with a punkattitude.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


NL

Zweden duikt altijd wel weer op in de muziekgeschiedenis. Niet alleen wonnen ze enkele decennia terug bijna elk jaar het Eurovisiesongfestival, ook was dit land de thuishaven van heerlijke pop, extreme metal en natuurlijk ook EBM.

Een van de groepen die aldaar sinds de late jarten ’80 actief zijn is The Pain Machinery. Toch was het steeds de bedoeling geweest van oprichter Anders Karlsson om het anders te doen, en dan wel het liefst om Britse straatpunk te gaan mengen met de verdiensten uit het electro- en indus verleden. Eens dat zanger Jonas Hedberg aan boord kwam, hadden ze alle troeven in handen om die droom waar te maken en is ondertussen deze “Surveillance culture” hun zesde studioplaat.

Niet alleen is deze plaat meteen hun debuut op CCP geworden maar ook is volgens de groep, “Surveillance culture” wederom een hoofdstuk in The Pain Machine-geschiedenis die een nieuwe wending aanduidt en dit doordat de assertieve stemmen meer dan ooit op de voorgrond komen te staan.

Voor een groep die het van de daken schreeuwt dat ze zowel door acid muziek als door Killing Joke beïnvloed zijn, is het dan ook geen wonder dat deze plaat een elektronische trip geworden is waar je de vingers van aflikt. Deze overheerlijke reis begint meteen al met opener “Shine” die de maatschappij aan het kruis nagelt en wie zijn wij om te zeggen dat dit ten onrechte zou zijn?

Alle veertien nummers zijn te omschrijven als dansbare EBM die gezegend zijn met electronische gekdoenerij en een woede die we normaal enkel van de goede oude Portion Control-platen kennen.

Strakke electropop met een punk attitude! Wederom verliefd!

 

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


 

Next reviews
BLANCMANGE • Blanc Burn
AUSTRA • Feel It Break
THE GODFATHERS • Support De Brassers | Gent, Vooruit | 24/06/2011
THIS MORN' OMINA • L'unification Des Forces Opposantes
DREAM AFFAIR • Endless Days
TECH NOMADER • Domotica
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
ATTRITION • demonstro 1981 - 1986
GIRLS NAMES • Dead to me
FINK • Perfect Darkness

 

Other reviews from THE PAIN MACHINERY
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Restart

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL + PUNK
SYD 31 • Drowning In Air EP

 

Same genre: EBM
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi