tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/06/2011 : FINK - Perfect Darkness

FINK

Perfect Darkness

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalIndieShoegaze

[85/100]   

PIAS
22/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Fin Greenhall, aka Fink, started out as a DJ half way through the nineties. He was also producer for Amy Winehouse, although no one had heard of her back then. These days he gets around as a singer-songwriter and released a new album: ‘Perfect Darkness’ and it has to be said, never before did an album title fit an album quite so well. Beware though, those expecting electro beats are getting a run for their money. This is a whole other kind of darkness. The kind that crawls beneath your skin from the very start.

It all starts out rather quietly. A blues-like voice, an acoustic guitar,… And you start wondering exactly where the darkness is supposed to be coming from, but you find out the answer soon enough once you start paying attention to the lyrics. You quickly realize this album won’t exactly leave you feeling warm and fuzzy inside… Or, will it?

‘Honesty’ for example is bound to leave you with goose bumps. ‘It’s taken long enough to see your true colors baby, you’ve got so many, you’re like a fucking rainbow’. Now if that isn’t poetry I don’t know what is and just when you start to feel like you might get pulled under, ‘Warm Shadow’ proves to be lifesaver. Personal favorite is ‘Who Says’, that together with ‘Warm Shadow’ provides a welcome ray of hope and sunshine through all that darkness.

‘Perfect Darkness’ seems to possess some kind of healing powers. As soon as you hit play it's extremely difficult to press stop again until the last note of the album. It’s a little bit like a stream train. Starts rather slowly but once it hits full speed, it’s nearly impossible to stop.

In support of the new album, Fink also announced a European tour, which brings him to the Orangerie in Brussels on October 6th, 2011. All dates can be found at http://www.finkworld.co.uk/allgigs/

Melissa BAUWENS
22/06/2011


NL

Fin Greenall, beter bekend als Fink, begon eigenlijk eind jaren ’90 als DJ. Hij was ondermeer ook producer voor Amy Winehouse, waar op dat moment nog niemand van gehoord had.

Tegenwoordig komt hij vooral aan de bak als singer-songwriter en heeft hij een nieuw album ‘Perfect Darkness’ uit. En het moet gezegd, nog nooit omvatte een titel een album zo mooi. Wie zich verwacht aan Electro-achtige beats, is er aan voor de moeite. Dit is een heel andere soort ‘darkness’. Eentje die al van bij de eerste luisterbeurt onder je huid kruipt.

Nochtans begint het allemaal heel rustig. Een blues-achtige stem, een acoustische gitaar,... En je vraagt je af vanwaar die donkerheid dan moet komen. Tot je aandachtig naar de teksten begint te luisteren. Al van bij de title track ‘Perfect Darkness’ heb je door dat je niet bepaald vrolijk zult worden van dit album. En toch...

Een echt kippenvelmoment is het nummer ‘Honesty’: ‘It’s taken long enough to see your true colors baby, you’ve got so many, you’re like a fucking rainbow’. Als dat geen poezie is... En net als je dreigt verzwolgen te worden door al die donkere perfectheid, is ‘Warm Shadow’ een welgekomen lichtpuntje. Persoonlijke favoriet is ‘Who Says’. Samen met ‘Warm Shadow’ een van de zeldzame sprankeltjes hoop in de duisternis vormt.

‘Perfect Darkness’ heeft een soort magisch helend effect. Eens je op de ‘play’ drukt is het heel moeilijk om heb album weer op stop te zetten tot je de laatste noten gehoord hebt. Het is een beetje als een stoomtrein die traag op gang komt maar eens op topsnelheid, met geen mogelijkheid meer te stoppen valt.

In ondersteuning van het nieuwe album maakte Fink ook een Europese tour bekend. Op 6 oktober staat hij in de Orangerie te Brussel. Ik heb alvast mijn ticket. Dit is zonder meer een niet te missen concert.

Alle tourdata zijn te vinden op http://www.finkworld.co.uk/allgigs/

Melissa BAUWENS
22/06/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines