tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/06/2011 : FINK - Perfect Darkness

FINK

Perfect Darkness

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalIndieShoegaze

[85/100]   

PIAS
22/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Fin Greenhall, aka Fink, started out as a DJ half way through the nineties. He was also producer for Amy Winehouse, although no one had heard of her back then. These days he gets around as a singer-songwriter and released a new album: ‘Perfect Darkness’ and it has to be said, never before did an album title fit an album quite so well. Beware though, those expecting electro beats are getting a run for their money. This is a whole other kind of darkness. The kind that crawls beneath your skin from the very start.

It all starts out rather quietly. A blues-like voice, an acoustic guitar,… And you start wondering exactly where the darkness is supposed to be coming from, but you find out the answer soon enough once you start paying attention to the lyrics. You quickly realize this album won’t exactly leave you feeling warm and fuzzy inside… Or, will it?

‘Honesty’ for example is bound to leave you with goose bumps. ‘It’s taken long enough to see your true colors baby, you’ve got so many, you’re like a fucking rainbow’. Now if that isn’t poetry I don’t know what is and just when you start to feel like you might get pulled under, ‘Warm Shadow’ proves to be lifesaver. Personal favorite is ‘Who Says’, that together with ‘Warm Shadow’ provides a welcome ray of hope and sunshine through all that darkness.

‘Perfect Darkness’ seems to possess some kind of healing powers. As soon as you hit play it's extremely difficult to press stop again until the last note of the album. It’s a little bit like a stream train. Starts rather slowly but once it hits full speed, it’s nearly impossible to stop.

In support of the new album, Fink also announced a European tour, which brings him to the Orangerie in Brussels on October 6th, 2011. All dates can be found at http://www.finkworld.co.uk/allgigs/

Melissa BAUWENS
22/06/2011


NL

Fin Greenall, beter bekend als Fink, begon eigenlijk eind jaren ’90 als DJ. Hij was ondermeer ook producer voor Amy Winehouse, waar op dat moment nog niemand van gehoord had.

Tegenwoordig komt hij vooral aan de bak als singer-songwriter en heeft hij een nieuw album ‘Perfect Darkness’ uit. En het moet gezegd, nog nooit omvatte een titel een album zo mooi. Wie zich verwacht aan Electro-achtige beats, is er aan voor de moeite. Dit is een heel andere soort ‘darkness’. Eentje die al van bij de eerste luisterbeurt onder je huid kruipt.

Nochtans begint het allemaal heel rustig. Een blues-achtige stem, een acoustische gitaar,... En je vraagt je af vanwaar die donkerheid dan moet komen. Tot je aandachtig naar de teksten begint te luisteren. Al van bij de title track ‘Perfect Darkness’ heb je door dat je niet bepaald vrolijk zult worden van dit album. En toch...

Een echt kippenvelmoment is het nummer ‘Honesty’: ‘It’s taken long enough to see your true colors baby, you’ve got so many, you’re like a fucking rainbow’. Als dat geen poezie is... En net als je dreigt verzwolgen te worden door al die donkere perfectheid, is ‘Warm Shadow’ een welgekomen lichtpuntje. Persoonlijke favoriet is ‘Who Says’. Samen met ‘Warm Shadow’ een van de zeldzame sprankeltjes hoop in de duisternis vormt.

‘Perfect Darkness’ heeft een soort magisch helend effect. Eens je op de ‘play’ drukt is het heel moeilijk om heb album weer op stop te zetten tot je de laatste noten gehoord hebt. Het is een beetje als een stoomtrein die traag op gang komt maar eens op topsnelheid, met geen mogelijkheid meer te stoppen valt.

In ondersteuning van het nieuwe album maakte Fink ook een Europese tour bekend. Op 6 oktober staat hij in de Orangerie te Brussel. Ik heb alvast mijn ticket. Dit is zonder meer een niet te missen concert.

Alle tourdata zijn te vinden op http://www.finkworld.co.uk/allgigs/

Melissa BAUWENS
22/06/2011


Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes