tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/06/2011 : FINK - Perfect Darkness

FINK

Perfect Darkness

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalIndieShoegaze

[85/100]   

PIAS
22/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Fin Greenhall, aka Fink, started out as a DJ half way through the nineties. He was also producer for Amy Winehouse, although no one had heard of her back then. These days he gets around as a singer-songwriter and released a new album: ‘Perfect Darkness’ and it has to be said, never before did an album title fit an album quite so well. Beware though, those expecting electro beats are getting a run for their money. This is a whole other kind of darkness. The kind that crawls beneath your skin from the very start.

It all starts out rather quietly. A blues-like voice, an acoustic guitar,… And you start wondering exactly where the darkness is supposed to be coming from, but you find out the answer soon enough once you start paying attention to the lyrics. You quickly realize this album won’t exactly leave you feeling warm and fuzzy inside… Or, will it?

‘Honesty’ for example is bound to leave you with goose bumps. ‘It’s taken long enough to see your true colors baby, you’ve got so many, you’re like a fucking rainbow’. Now if that isn’t poetry I don’t know what is and just when you start to feel like you might get pulled under, ‘Warm Shadow’ proves to be lifesaver. Personal favorite is ‘Who Says’, that together with ‘Warm Shadow’ provides a welcome ray of hope and sunshine through all that darkness.

‘Perfect Darkness’ seems to possess some kind of healing powers. As soon as you hit play it's extremely difficult to press stop again until the last note of the album. It’s a little bit like a stream train. Starts rather slowly but once it hits full speed, it’s nearly impossible to stop.

In support of the new album, Fink also announced a European tour, which brings him to the Orangerie in Brussels on October 6th, 2011. All dates can be found at http://www.finkworld.co.uk/allgigs/

Melissa BAUWENS
22/06/2011


NL

Fin Greenall, beter bekend als Fink, begon eigenlijk eind jaren ’90 als DJ. Hij was ondermeer ook producer voor Amy Winehouse, waar op dat moment nog niemand van gehoord had.

Tegenwoordig komt hij vooral aan de bak als singer-songwriter en heeft hij een nieuw album ‘Perfect Darkness’ uit. En het moet gezegd, nog nooit omvatte een titel een album zo mooi. Wie zich verwacht aan Electro-achtige beats, is er aan voor de moeite. Dit is een heel andere soort ‘darkness’. Eentje die al van bij de eerste luisterbeurt onder je huid kruipt.

Nochtans begint het allemaal heel rustig. Een blues-achtige stem, een acoustische gitaar,... En je vraagt je af vanwaar die donkerheid dan moet komen. Tot je aandachtig naar de teksten begint te luisteren. Al van bij de title track ‘Perfect Darkness’ heb je door dat je niet bepaald vrolijk zult worden van dit album. En toch...

Een echt kippenvelmoment is het nummer ‘Honesty’: ‘It’s taken long enough to see your true colors baby, you’ve got so many, you’re like a fucking rainbow’. Als dat geen poezie is... En net als je dreigt verzwolgen te worden door al die donkere perfectheid, is ‘Warm Shadow’ een welgekomen lichtpuntje. Persoonlijke favoriet is ‘Who Says’. Samen met ‘Warm Shadow’ een van de zeldzame sprankeltjes hoop in de duisternis vormt.

‘Perfect Darkness’ heeft een soort magisch helend effect. Eens je op de ‘play’ drukt is het heel moeilijk om heb album weer op stop te zetten tot je de laatste noten gehoord hebt. Het is een beetje als een stoomtrein die traag op gang komt maar eens op topsnelheid, met geen mogelijkheid meer te stoppen valt.

In ondersteuning van het nieuwe album maakte Fink ook een Europese tour bekend. Op 6 oktober staat hij in de Orangerie te Brussel. Ik heb alvast mijn ticket. Dit is zonder meer een niet te missen concert.

Alle tourdata zijn te vinden op http://www.finkworld.co.uk/allgigs/

Melissa BAUWENS
22/06/2011


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'
07
10
20 years of Mindstrip by Suicide Commando!
06
10
New MOTOR!K album MOTOR!K - 2 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
LISA GERRARD(DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!
16
10
AKALOTZ
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... AKALOTZ!
26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods
15
10
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)
14
10
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)