tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

16/01/2019 : EVI VINE - Black Light White Dark

EVI VINE

Black Light White Dark

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockIndie RockShoegaze 16/01/2019, Kevin BURKE

EVI VINE returns with what promises to be a soul-shattering new release in the highly-anticipated “Black Light White Dark”. Staring out from the abyss, EVI has a gift of weaving tracks together which tumble through the ether and collide gracefully under the spell of her delicate voice.

Ever since 2011 and EVI VINE’s self-released debut album ‘..And So The Morning Comes’ , there has been an expectation of greatness, after a route of slow-burning, the sound of the debut travelled from the underground to the alternative-hungry audiences. The second long-player in 2015 garnished even more attention, to‘Give Your Heart To The Hawks’ was co-produced by Richard Formby (Mogwai, Spacemen 3) and mixed by the legendary Phill Brown;(Talk Talk, Led Zeppelin, David Bowie, Throwing Muses). These credentials alone made the album a dark, eerie masterpiece and galvanized her following.


Though her motives behind the songwriting standout delve further into the spectrum of the human psyche, clearly evident with VINE as the latest track unfolds, the somber, haunted-orchestration of “Sabbath”. This track has been unleashed to build excitement for the upcoming long-player, it is a clever, otherworldly slice of divine magic which floats in an atmosphere of virtuosity for over nine-minutes. What may strike the average listener at first glance is an overlong, epic track, whilst it may in part epic it certainly is not overlong, as “Sabbath” is a track which you wish could continue on.
“I know a lot of people are being shaped by experiences in our lives, ghosts of childhood, self-destructive pain and sorrow, all our personal struggles, doubt, and change. I can feel the earth dying and it makes me so sad. We write reflective songs about the circular patterns of man, and reflecting beauty and violence in the world,”; says Evi Vine.


There is extra dimension which is given to the song, it comes from the inclusion of two heavyweights, The Cure’s Simon Gallup on bass and Peter Yates from Fields of the Nephilim providing guitar-sonics. This is a twisted approach to the shoe-gaze era, skillfully delivered with reflective lyrics which bite-deep at your senses;
“Loosen yourself
I don't mind
A little lie
Goes deeper still
We build a wall
Close in the pain
I shed my skin
It goes deeper”.


On February-nineteenth, the most anticipated album so far of 2019 will not disappoint, at EVI VINE’s most reflective she still holds drama and excitement. As her last two albums brought her into the world and established the band, this is the release which will place the name EVI VINE on a pedestal.

Track List;
1. I am the Waves
2. Afterlight
3. Sabbath
4. My Only Son
5. We Are Made of Stars
6. Sad Song No.9

The Players;
Evi Vine – Vox, Guitars
Steven Hill – Guitars, Keyboards
Matt Tye – Bass
David ‘GB’ Smith – Drums
Simon Gallup – Bass-guest
Peter Yates – Guitar-guest

Release Date: February 22nd, on CD, Download and Limited Edition Signed Vinyl.

Bandcamp

http://evivine.com

Evi Vine will perorm at Black Easter 2019 in Belgium (April 20 + 21)

Kevin BURKE
16/01/2019


 

Next reviews
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST • B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN • EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

 

Other reviews from EVI VINE
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Give Your Heart To The Hawks
EVI VINE • ...And So The Morning Comes

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion