tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

16/01/2019 : EVI VINE - Black Light White Dark

EVI VINE

Black Light White Dark

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockIndie RockShoegaze 16/01/2019, Kevin BURKE

EVI VINE returns with what promises to be a soul-shattering new release in the highly-anticipated “Black Light White Dark”. Staring out from the abyss, EVI has a gift of weaving tracks together which tumble through the ether and collide gracefully under the spell of her delicate voice.

Ever since 2011 and EVI VINE’s self-released debut album ‘..And So The Morning Comes’ , there has been an expectation of greatness, after a route of slow-burning, the sound of the debut travelled from the underground to the alternative-hungry audiences. The second long-player in 2015 garnished even more attention, to‘Give Your Heart To The Hawks’ was co-produced by Richard Formby (Mogwai, Spacemen 3) and mixed by the legendary Phill Brown;(Talk Talk, Led Zeppelin, David Bowie, Throwing Muses). These credentials alone made the album a dark, eerie masterpiece and galvanized her following.


Though her motives behind the songwriting standout delve further into the spectrum of the human psyche, clearly evident with VINE as the latest track unfolds, the somber, haunted-orchestration of “Sabbath”. This track has been unleashed to build excitement for the upcoming long-player, it is a clever, otherworldly slice of divine magic which floats in an atmosphere of virtuosity for over nine-minutes. What may strike the average listener at first glance is an overlong, epic track, whilst it may in part epic it certainly is not overlong, as “Sabbath” is a track which you wish could continue on.
“I know a lot of people are being shaped by experiences in our lives, ghosts of childhood, self-destructive pain and sorrow, all our personal struggles, doubt, and change. I can feel the earth dying and it makes me so sad. We write reflective songs about the circular patterns of man, and reflecting beauty and violence in the world,”; says Evi Vine.


There is extra dimension which is given to the song, it comes from the inclusion of two heavyweights, The Cure’s Simon Gallup on bass and Peter Yates from Fields of the Nephilim providing guitar-sonics. This is a twisted approach to the shoe-gaze era, skillfully delivered with reflective lyrics which bite-deep at your senses;
“Loosen yourself
I don't mind
A little lie
Goes deeper still
We build a wall
Close in the pain
I shed my skin
It goes deeper”.


On February-nineteenth, the most anticipated album so far of 2019 will not disappoint, at EVI VINE’s most reflective she still holds drama and excitement. As her last two albums brought her into the world and established the band, this is the release which will place the name EVI VINE on a pedestal.

Track List;
1. I am the Waves
2. Afterlight
3. Sabbath
4. My Only Son
5. We Are Made of Stars
6. Sad Song No.9

The Players;
Evi Vine – Vox, Guitars
Steven Hill – Guitars, Keyboards
Matt Tye – Bass
David ‘GB’ Smith – Drums
Simon Gallup – Bass-guest
Peter Yates – Guitar-guest

Release Date: February 22nd, on CD, Download and Limited Edition Signed Vinyl.

Bandcamp

http://evivine.com

Evi Vine will perorm at Black Easter 2019 in Belgium (April 20 + 21)

Kevin BURKE
16/01/2019


 

Next reviews
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST • B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN • EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

 

Other reviews from EVI VINE
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Give Your Heart To The Hawks
EVI VINE • ...And So The Morning Comes

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete