tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

16/01/2019 : EVI VINE - Black Light White Dark

EVI VINE

Black Light White Dark

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockIndie RockShoegaze 16/01/2019, Kevin BURKE

EVI VINE returns with what promises to be a soul-shattering new release in the highly-anticipated “Black Light White Dark”. Staring out from the abyss, EVI has a gift of weaving tracks together which tumble through the ether and collide gracefully under the spell of her delicate voice.

Ever since 2011 and EVI VINE’s self-released debut album ‘..And So The Morning Comes’ , there has been an expectation of greatness, after a route of slow-burning, the sound of the debut travelled from the underground to the alternative-hungry audiences. The second long-player in 2015 garnished even more attention, to‘Give Your Heart To The Hawks’ was co-produced by Richard Formby (Mogwai, Spacemen 3) and mixed by the legendary Phill Brown;(Talk Talk, Led Zeppelin, David Bowie, Throwing Muses). These credentials alone made the album a dark, eerie masterpiece and galvanized her following.


Though her motives behind the songwriting standout delve further into the spectrum of the human psyche, clearly evident with VINE as the latest track unfolds, the somber, haunted-orchestration of “Sabbath”. This track has been unleashed to build excitement for the upcoming long-player, it is a clever, otherworldly slice of divine magic which floats in an atmosphere of virtuosity for over nine-minutes. What may strike the average listener at first glance is an overlong, epic track, whilst it may in part epic it certainly is not overlong, as “Sabbath” is a track which you wish could continue on.
“I know a lot of people are being shaped by experiences in our lives, ghosts of childhood, self-destructive pain and sorrow, all our personal struggles, doubt, and change. I can feel the earth dying and it makes me so sad. We write reflective songs about the circular patterns of man, and reflecting beauty and violence in the world,”; says Evi Vine.


There is extra dimension which is given to the song, it comes from the inclusion of two heavyweights, The Cure’s Simon Gallup on bass and Peter Yates from Fields of the Nephilim providing guitar-sonics. This is a twisted approach to the shoe-gaze era, skillfully delivered with reflective lyrics which bite-deep at your senses;
“Loosen yourself
I don't mind
A little lie
Goes deeper still
We build a wall
Close in the pain
I shed my skin
It goes deeper”.


On February-nineteenth, the most anticipated album so far of 2019 will not disappoint, at EVI VINE’s most reflective she still holds drama and excitement. As her last two albums brought her into the world and established the band, this is the release which will place the name EVI VINE on a pedestal.

Track List;
1. I am the Waves
2. Afterlight
3. Sabbath
4. My Only Son
5. We Are Made of Stars
6. Sad Song No.9

The Players;
Evi Vine – Vox, Guitars
Steven Hill – Guitars, Keyboards
Matt Tye – Bass
David ‘GB’ Smith – Drums
Simon Gallup – Bass-guest
Peter Yates – Guitar-guest

Release Date: February 22nd, on CD, Download and Limited Edition Signed Vinyl.

Bandcamp

http://evivine.com

Evi Vine will perorm at Black Easter 2019 in Belgium (April 20 + 21)

Kevin BURKE
16/01/2019


 

Next reviews
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST • B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN • EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

 

Other reviews from EVI VINE
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Give Your Heart To The Hawks
EVI VINE • ...And So The Morning Comes

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS