tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

16/01/2019 : EVI VINE - Black Light White Dark

EVI VINE

Black Light White Dark

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockIndie RockShoegaze 16/01/2019, Kevin BURKE

EVI VINE returns with what promises to be a soul-shattering new release in the highly-anticipated “Black Light White Dark”. Staring out from the abyss, EVI has a gift of weaving tracks together which tumble through the ether and collide gracefully under the spell of her delicate voice.

Ever since 2011 and EVI VINE’s self-released debut album ‘..And So The Morning Comes’ , there has been an expectation of greatness, after a route of slow-burning, the sound of the debut travelled from the underground to the alternative-hungry audiences. The second long-player in 2015 garnished even more attention, to‘Give Your Heart To The Hawks’ was co-produced by Richard Formby (Mogwai, Spacemen 3) and mixed by the legendary Phill Brown;(Talk Talk, Led Zeppelin, David Bowie, Throwing Muses). These credentials alone made the album a dark, eerie masterpiece and galvanized her following.


Though her motives behind the songwriting standout delve further into the spectrum of the human psyche, clearly evident with VINE as the latest track unfolds, the somber, haunted-orchestration of “Sabbath”. This track has been unleashed to build excitement for the upcoming long-player, it is a clever, otherworldly slice of divine magic which floats in an atmosphere of virtuosity for over nine-minutes. What may strike the average listener at first glance is an overlong, epic track, whilst it may in part epic it certainly is not overlong, as “Sabbath” is a track which you wish could continue on.
“I know a lot of people are being shaped by experiences in our lives, ghosts of childhood, self-destructive pain and sorrow, all our personal struggles, doubt, and change. I can feel the earth dying and it makes me so sad. We write reflective songs about the circular patterns of man, and reflecting beauty and violence in the world,”; says Evi Vine.


There is extra dimension which is given to the song, it comes from the inclusion of two heavyweights, The Cure’s Simon Gallup on bass and Peter Yates from Fields of the Nephilim providing guitar-sonics. This is a twisted approach to the shoe-gaze era, skillfully delivered with reflective lyrics which bite-deep at your senses;
“Loosen yourself
I don't mind
A little lie
Goes deeper still
We build a wall
Close in the pain
I shed my skin
It goes deeper”.


On February-nineteenth, the most anticipated album so far of 2019 will not disappoint, at EVI VINE’s most reflective she still holds drama and excitement. As her last two albums brought her into the world and established the band, this is the release which will place the name EVI VINE on a pedestal.

Track List;
1. I am the Waves
2. Afterlight
3. Sabbath
4. My Only Son
5. We Are Made of Stars
6. Sad Song No.9

The Players;
Evi Vine – Vox, Guitars
Steven Hill – Guitars, Keyboards
Matt Tye – Bass
David ‘GB’ Smith – Drums
Simon Gallup – Bass-guest
Peter Yates – Guitar-guest

Release Date: February 22nd, on CD, Download and Limited Edition Signed Vinyl.

Bandcamp

http://evivine.com

Evi Vine will perorm at Black Easter 2019 in Belgium (April 20 + 21)

Kevin BURKE
16/01/2019


 

Next reviews
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST • B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN • EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

 

Other reviews from EVI VINE
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Give Your Heart To The Hawks
EVI VINE • ...And So The Morning Comes

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
IN DEED • Everest - Expanded Edition
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing