tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2015 : EVI VINE - Give Your Heart To The Hawks

EVI VINE

Give Your Heart To The Hawks

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesPost RockSoundscape

[90/100]   

Self-released
04/07/2015, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A few months ago, Evi Vine has released her 2nd album. As on her debut "... And So The Morning Comes", this lady presents us slow and obscure compositions that drag you slowly but firmly in her own melancholy universe. In a brilliant way her fragile voice is supported by masterful compositions with guitar, synths, drums and cello to complete a unique atmosphere. While reviewing the first album I already spoke about the analogy with Cocteau Twins, and here I still find these same qualities (and sometimes even more).

The album begins with the single "Porcelain", directly the first highlight of the album and illustrating the growth of the compositions of Evi Vine. The perfect, but continuously changing balance between instruments and her fragile voice in a quietly murmuring composition. "Love Is Gone" and title track "Give Your Heart To The Hawks” continue and strengthen this magical universe.

A further highlight is "My Hands Are Tied", in which Evi's lament about the lack of a future places her voice so pure and almost solo before being engulfed in an intense swelling of instruments. Delicious!

The album continues on this high level, and one after another beautiful composition comes along.

The final song is "I'm Not Here", which Evi whispers and recounts at minimal accompaniment. And even though she whispers "It's Never Good Enough", with this album she proves the contrary. A brilliant record that absorbs you effortlessly in her universe, hearing and feeling all those emotions, and only releasing you at the end, briefly, with just enough strength to press the repeat button.

Ward DE PRINS
04/07/2015




NL

Evi Vine heeft sinds enkele maanden haar 2de album uit. Net zoals op haar debuut “…And So The Morning Comes” presenteert deze dame ons trage en duistere composities die je traag maar vastberaden meeslepen in haar eigen melancholisch universum. Op schitterende wijze wordt haar fragiele stem ondersteund door meesterlijke composities waarbij gitaar, synths, drum en cello de sfeer completeren. Bij het eerste album sprak ik al over de analogie met Cocteau Twins, en ook hier blijf ik die kwalitatieve vergelijking terugvinden.

Het album begint met de single “Porcelain”, dat ook ineens het eerste hoogtepunt is en de groei van Evi Vine illustreert. De perfecte doch continue wisselende balans tussen instrumenten in combinatie met haar stem in een rustig voortkabbelende compositie. Ook “Love Is Gone” en titletrack “Give Your Heart To The Hawks” tappen uit datzelfde vaatje en creëren zo dat magische universum.

Een volgend hoogtepunt is “My Hands Are Tied”, waarin Evi’s klaagzang over het ontbreken van een toekomst haar stem haast naakt op de voorgrond plaatst om vervolgens in een intens aanzwellend instrumentarium te worden verzwolgen. Heerlijk!

Het album gaat door op dit elan, en de ene na de andere prachtige compositie komt voorbij.

Eindigen doen we met “I’m Not Here”, waarop Evi fluistert en verhaalt tegen een minimale begeleiding. En ook al fluistert ze “It’s Never Good Enough”, met dit album bewijst ze het tegendeel. Een briljant plaatje dat je moeiteloos in haar universum opslokt, je alle emoties laat meevoelen, en je enkel even loslaat om weer op de “repeat” knop te drukken.

Ward DE PRINS
04/07/2015




 

Next reviews
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
METALTECH • Burn Your Planet
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
DRP • Peace Offensive
JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) • Ten albums that changed my life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015
UMANZUKI • Porta
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS

 

Other reviews from EVI VINE
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • ...And So The Morning Comes

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis