tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2015 : EVI VINE - Give Your Heart To The Hawks

EVI VINE

Give Your Heart To The Hawks

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesPost RockSoundscape

[90/100]   

Self-released
04/07/2015, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A few months ago, Evi Vine has released her 2nd album. As on her debut "... And So The Morning Comes", this lady presents us slow and obscure compositions that drag you slowly but firmly in her own melancholy universe. In a brilliant way her fragile voice is supported by masterful compositions with guitar, synths, drums and cello to complete a unique atmosphere. While reviewing the first album I already spoke about the analogy with Cocteau Twins, and here I still find these same qualities (and sometimes even more).

The album begins with the single "Porcelain", directly the first highlight of the album and illustrating the growth of the compositions of Evi Vine. The perfect, but continuously changing balance between instruments and her fragile voice in a quietly murmuring composition. "Love Is Gone" and title track "Give Your Heart To The Hawks” continue and strengthen this magical universe.

A further highlight is "My Hands Are Tied", in which Evi's lament about the lack of a future places her voice so pure and almost solo before being engulfed in an intense swelling of instruments. Delicious!

The album continues on this high level, and one after another beautiful composition comes along.

The final song is "I'm Not Here", which Evi whispers and recounts at minimal accompaniment. And even though she whispers "It's Never Good Enough", with this album she proves the contrary. A brilliant record that absorbs you effortlessly in her universe, hearing and feeling all those emotions, and only releasing you at the end, briefly, with just enough strength to press the repeat button.

Ward DE PRINS
04/07/2015




NL

Evi Vine heeft sinds enkele maanden haar 2de album uit. Net zoals op haar debuut “…And So The Morning Comes” presenteert deze dame ons trage en duistere composities die je traag maar vastberaden meeslepen in haar eigen melancholisch universum. Op schitterende wijze wordt haar fragiele stem ondersteund door meesterlijke composities waarbij gitaar, synths, drum en cello de sfeer completeren. Bij het eerste album sprak ik al over de analogie met Cocteau Twins, en ook hier blijf ik die kwalitatieve vergelijking terugvinden.

Het album begint met de single “Porcelain”, dat ook ineens het eerste hoogtepunt is en de groei van Evi Vine illustreert. De perfecte doch continue wisselende balans tussen instrumenten in combinatie met haar stem in een rustig voortkabbelende compositie. Ook “Love Is Gone” en titletrack “Give Your Heart To The Hawks” tappen uit datzelfde vaatje en creëren zo dat magische universum.

Een volgend hoogtepunt is “My Hands Are Tied”, waarin Evi’s klaagzang over het ontbreken van een toekomst haar stem haast naakt op de voorgrond plaatst om vervolgens in een intens aanzwellend instrumentarium te worden verzwolgen. Heerlijk!

Het album gaat door op dit elan, en de ene na de andere prachtige compositie komt voorbij.

Eindigen doen we met “I’m Not Here”, waarop Evi fluistert en verhaalt tegen een minimale begeleiding. En ook al fluistert ze “It’s Never Good Enough”, met dit album bewijst ze het tegendeel. Een briljant plaatje dat je moeiteloos in haar universum opslokt, je alle emoties laat meevoelen, en je enkel even loslaat om weer op de “repeat” knop te drukken.

Ward DE PRINS
04/07/2015




 

Next reviews
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
METALTECH • Burn Your Planet
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
DRP • Peace Offensive
JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) • Ten albums that changed my life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015
UMANZUKI • Porta
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS

 

Other reviews from EVI VINE
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • ...And So The Morning Comes

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet

Music reviews

20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
19
11
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
First And Last And Always
18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
Dark Entity | In The Flat Field At Thirty-Eight
20
11
Artificial Adolescents | The X-Ray Spex Masterpiece Turns 40
19
11
New PALAIS IDEAL single and video clip with unique choreography by Burning Bridges!
19
11
'Write When You Get Work' in theaters this weekend!
18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
20
11
JO QUAIL
Gold
19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission