tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Dependence 2015

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Dependence 2015

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[78/100]   

Dependent
02/07/2015, Benny CALUWE

Dependent Records is one of the leading alternative electronic music labels. The label released some fantastic compilations in the past. Remember the infectious Septic compilations and the first Dependence (Next Level Electronics)! With this new Dependence, the 7th in the series, they take again a step in the good direction, after some less convincing editions.

As usual there is a balanced mix of established bands and new names. The necessary mixes, exclusive and previously unreleased tracks are present as well. Some tracks offer us a taste of upcoming albums such as the new Beborn Beton. Other tracks are taken from recently released albums from acts such as Encephalon, Covenant and Iris. The latter 2 bands released their album already in 2014. Their catchy tracks both got a dance floor treatment with an upbeat club remix.

Mainly the tracks of the established names lift this compilation to a higher level, what makes me worry once again about the future of our beloved genre. (Relative) Newcomers like Ginger Snap5, Chrysalide and Clicks don’t succeed in convincing me, Fïx8:Sëd8 forms the exception. While Mesh’s contribution sounds kind of cheesy. Mesh often sounded poppy in the past, but the sharp edges they used to have are missing here. Luckily the other big names deliver some quality. Especially the veterans of Click Click stand out with dark atmospheric track. Pride And Fall combines the best of old school VNV Nation and [SITD]. And the Belgian This Morn’Omina’s trancy track is also very uplifting with some nice tribal percussion. Frank M. Spinath confirms in being a topper in the synthpop genre with strong contributions with Edge Of Dawn and Seabound.

Dependence 2015 is an interesting and varied compilation, but I can’t help looking back nostalgic to those first few overwhelming Septic compilations.

Tracklist:

COVENANT: Prime Movers (Club Version)

ENCEPHALON: Illuminate

GINGER SNAP5: Distant Star (Club Version)

CHRYSALIDE: Substance Over Style (Remix 2.0 by SONIC AREA)

CLICKS: You’re Here To Stay

IRIS: Phenom (Club Mix)

BEBORN BETON: 24/7 Mystery

EDGE OF DAWN: Love Lost

MESH: Adjust Your Set (MaBose Extended Version)

PRIDE AND FALL: Norden On Fire

SEABOUND: When She’s Hungry (IRIS Mix)

THIS MORN’OMINA: Kachina Red (End Of The World)

DECODED FEEDBACK: Heart Of Stone (Duet)

FIX8:SED8: Hiob

CLICK CLICK: Keep Us Out Of The Way (The Devil’s Politician)

Benny CALUWE
02/07/2015


02/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Dependence 2015 02/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Dependence 2015

 

Next reviews
UMANZUKI • Porta
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty
RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten albums that changed my life!
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
ADAM ROBITEL • The Taking Of Deborah Logan
BLANCK MASS • Dumb Flesh
BENNETT MILLER • Foxcatcher

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'
24
10
Industrial Metal Band RAZE THE ALTAR Brings Sacrifice And Perseverance To New Single
24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow