tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

VARIOUS ARTISTS

The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

MusicVinyl


[80/100]   

Minimal Maximal
01/07/2015, Fred GADGET

This 12” split release by Minimal-Maximal combines two hard, if not impossible, to find 12” cult releases of the 80’s. One side contains the 4 tracks of the one and only release by The Happy Hunting Ground (originally released as 12” on Anything But Records/Belgium in 1985) while the other side features 5 tracks of the sole release by Phantom Limb (originally released as 12” on Sublabel, Torso/Netherlands in 1982).

 

The sound of The Happy Hunting ground can best be compared with the early dark and gloomy Belgian Electro Wave sound in the tradition from the likes of The Neon Judgement and Aimless Device. On the other side, Phantom Limb takes us back to the more postpunk and coldwave sound of Joy Division and Echo & The Bunnymen if you like. Great stuff! I still can’t understand how I missed out on these releases back in the days… Shame on me! And most likely shame on you too! 

 

But here’s our chance to reduce the damage and be real cool vinyl hipsters! Even if you don’t own a record player because in the good Minimal-Maximal tradition this 180 grams 12” comes with a free CD and cool old school info sheet!

Fred GADGET
01/07/2015


01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty 01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless