tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

VARIOUS ARTISTS

The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

MusicVinyl


[80/100]   

Minimal Maximal
01/07/2015, Fred GADGET

This 12” split release by Minimal-Maximal combines two hard, if not impossible, to find 12” cult releases of the 80’s. One side contains the 4 tracks of the one and only release by The Happy Hunting Ground (originally released as 12” on Anything But Records/Belgium in 1985) while the other side features 5 tracks of the sole release by Phantom Limb (originally released as 12” on Sublabel, Torso/Netherlands in 1982).

 

The sound of The Happy Hunting ground can best be compared with the early dark and gloomy Belgian Electro Wave sound in the tradition from the likes of The Neon Judgement and Aimless Device. On the other side, Phantom Limb takes us back to the more postpunk and coldwave sound of Joy Division and Echo & The Bunnymen if you like. Great stuff! I still can’t understand how I missed out on these releases back in the days… Shame on me! And most likely shame on you too! 

 

But here’s our chance to reduce the damage and be real cool vinyl hipsters! Even if you don’t own a record player because in the good Minimal-Maximal tradition this 180 grams 12” comes with a free CD and cool old school info sheet!

Fred GADGET
01/07/2015


01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty 01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights