tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

VARIOUS ARTISTS

The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

MusicVinyl


[80/100]   

Minimal Maximal
01/07/2015, Fred GADGET

This 12” split release by Minimal-Maximal combines two hard, if not impossible, to find 12” cult releases of the 80’s. One side contains the 4 tracks of the one and only release by The Happy Hunting Ground (originally released as 12” on Anything But Records/Belgium in 1985) while the other side features 5 tracks of the sole release by Phantom Limb (originally released as 12” on Sublabel, Torso/Netherlands in 1982).

 

The sound of The Happy Hunting ground can best be compared with the early dark and gloomy Belgian Electro Wave sound in the tradition from the likes of The Neon Judgement and Aimless Device. On the other side, Phantom Limb takes us back to the more postpunk and coldwave sound of Joy Division and Echo & The Bunnymen if you like. Great stuff! I still can’t understand how I missed out on these releases back in the days… Shame on me! And most likely shame on you too! 

 

But here’s our chance to reduce the damage and be real cool vinyl hipsters! Even if you don’t own a record player because in the good Minimal-Maximal tradition this 180 grams 12” comes with a free CD and cool old school info sheet!

Fred GADGET
01/07/2015


01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty 01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid