tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

VARIOUS ARTISTS

The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

MusicVinyl


[80/100]   

Minimal Maximal
01/07/2015, Fred GADGET

This 12” split release by Minimal-Maximal combines two hard, if not impossible, to find 12” cult releases of the 80’s. One side contains the 4 tracks of the one and only release by The Happy Hunting Ground (originally released as 12” on Anything But Records/Belgium in 1985) while the other side features 5 tracks of the sole release by Phantom Limb (originally released as 12” on Sublabel, Torso/Netherlands in 1982).

 

The sound of The Happy Hunting ground can best be compared with the early dark and gloomy Belgian Electro Wave sound in the tradition from the likes of The Neon Judgement and Aimless Device. On the other side, Phantom Limb takes us back to the more postpunk and coldwave sound of Joy Division and Echo & The Bunnymen if you like. Great stuff! I still can’t understand how I missed out on these releases back in the days… Shame on me! And most likely shame on you too! 

 

But here’s our chance to reduce the damage and be real cool vinyl hipsters! Even if you don’t own a record player because in the good Minimal-Maximal tradition this 180 grams 12” comes with a free CD and cool old school info sheet!

Fred GADGET
01/07/2015


01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty 01/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

Music reviews

12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha
07
11
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL
Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!
08
11
Last chance to watch 'Locating Silver Lake': Eric Bilitch's movie celebrates Texas premiere at the Lone Star Film Festival this weekend!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start
05
11
GERTRUD STEIN
'La coriandre et le persil ont beau se ressembler, dans le papet Vaudois, la coriandre ça le fait moyen.'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.
08
11
BUZZ KULL
Avoiding The Light (official video)
07
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
Control Freak