tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : SCHEUBER - The Me I See

SCHEUBER

The Me I See

MusicCD
Electro PopElectronicsFuture Pop
Trisol
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

27 years ago, Dirk Scheuber founded Project Pitchfork with Peter Spilles. Much has been written and debated about the band, but there is no doubt that the Hamburgers belong to the absolute top of the EBM electro scene.

It had to happen. After Peter Spilles did all kinds of pretty things with Jinxy in Santa Hates You, Scheuber presents his first solo album. The cover makes it difficult for the fan as the black and white photograph makes you think that the German EBM star made a singer-songwriter album. Of course that is far from the truth, as from the first song (Everything) you hear electro rock.

People who want to criticize everything might say that this solo record makes little sense because you hear a lot of influences from Project Pitchfork. That is undoubtedly correct, but Out Of Time proofs that the German musician has no need to write another bunch of club hits. The song sounds a bit like the best of VNV Nation (that actually exists), but it's the melancholy on this song (and actually on the entire album) that gets the upper hand.

In Averell and Lovers Breath, Scheuber works with vocoders and you think of mind.in.a.box, but do not worry as Schueber has more than enough talent to find his own way. Chyta goes one step further, it is still melancholy, but Scheuber does what we normally expect from Gary Numan, and that creates musical fireworks.

Did we say Scheuber doesn’t want club hits on this album? Well, we lied, because Space is a dance anthem that we last heard in the heyday of Apoptygma Berzerk! Godshape is less succesful, because Schueber is not Trent Reznor. But that’s the sole weak track.

With The Me I See, Scheuber walks the electronic path that made him an icon. Innovative it is not, but from an artist who revolutionized the genre you don’t expect that!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

27 jaar geleden richtte Dirk Scheuber samen met Peter Spilles Project Pitchfork op. Er is al veel over de band geschreven, en al meer over gediscussieerd, toch staat het buiten kijf dat de groep uit Hamburg tot de absolute top van de EBM-elektroscène behoort.

Het moest ervan komen:nadat Peter Spilles met Jinxy allerlei leuke dingen in Santa Hates You deed, is Scheuber er nu met zijn allereerste soloplaat. De hoes zet de fan meteen op een dwaalspoor: een zwart-witfoto van een wat oudere muzikant. Je zou bijna denken dat de Duitse EBM-ster een singer-songwriterplaat heeft gemaakt. Niets is minder waar, vanaf de eerste song Everything hoor je synthetisch gebeuk: dit is elektrorock.

Mensen die op alles en nog wat kritiek hebben zullen je misschien wel vertellen dat dit solo-uitstapje weinig zin heeft omdat je er veel invloeden van Project Pitchfork in hoort. Dat laatste is ontegensprekelijk waar, maar vanaf Out Of Time wordt het duidelijk dat de Duitse muzikant geen behoefte heeft aan clubhits. De song klinkt wel een beetje als het beste van VNV Nation (zoiets bestaat), maar het is vooral de weemoed die op deze song (en eigenlijk op het volledige album) de bovenhand haalt.

In Averell en Lovers Breath goochelt Scheuber met vocoders en dan denk je ontegensprekelijk aan mind.in.a.box, maar geen nood: Schueber heeft meer dan genoeg schrijverstalent om zijn eigen weg te gaan. Chyta gaat nog een stapje verder, melancholie is nog altijd troef, maar Scheuber bevindt zich in contreien waar je normaal alleen maar Gary Numan aantreft, en dat zorgt voor vuurwerk.

Hebben we gezegd dat Scheuber niet naar clubhits zocht? Wel, we logen een klein beetje, want Space is een danskraker zoals we ze alleen maar in de hoogdagen van Apoptygma Berzerk hoorden! Op Godshape slaat Scheuber de bal mis, gewoon omdat hij niet Trent Reznor is.

Met The Me I See betreedt Scheuber het elektropad dat hem groot heeft gemaakt. Vernieuwend is het niet, maar van een artiest die voor een revolutie in het genre zorgde, hoef je dat ook niet te verwachten.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar
GROUP A • 70 + a =
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
O VEUX • O Veux
DINOSAUR JR • Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not
DEF NEON • Def Neon

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + ELECTRONICS + FUTURE POP
UNITED AND IDENTIFIED • At the border of the line

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl