tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : SCHEUBER - The Me I See

SCHEUBER

The Me I See

MusicCD
Electro PopElectronicsFuture Pop
Trisol
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

27 years ago, Dirk Scheuber founded Project Pitchfork with Peter Spilles. Much has been written and debated about the band, but there is no doubt that the Hamburgers belong to the absolute top of the EBM electro scene.

It had to happen. After Peter Spilles did all kinds of pretty things with Jinxy in Santa Hates You, Scheuber presents his first solo album. The cover makes it difficult for the fan as the black and white photograph makes you think that the German EBM star made a singer-songwriter album. Of course that is far from the truth, as from the first song (Everything) you hear electro rock.

People who want to criticize everything might say that this solo record makes little sense because you hear a lot of influences from Project Pitchfork. That is undoubtedly correct, but Out Of Time proofs that the German musician has no need to write another bunch of club hits. The song sounds a bit like the best of VNV Nation (that actually exists), but it's the melancholy on this song (and actually on the entire album) that gets the upper hand.

In Averell and Lovers Breath, Scheuber works with vocoders and you think of mind.in.a.box, but do not worry as Schueber has more than enough talent to find his own way. Chyta goes one step further, it is still melancholy, but Scheuber does what we normally expect from Gary Numan, and that creates musical fireworks.

Did we say Scheuber doesn’t want club hits on this album? Well, we lied, because Space is a dance anthem that we last heard in the heyday of Apoptygma Berzerk! Godshape is less succesful, because Schueber is not Trent Reznor. But that’s the sole weak track.

With The Me I See, Scheuber walks the electronic path that made him an icon. Innovative it is not, but from an artist who revolutionized the genre you don’t expect that!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

27 jaar geleden richtte Dirk Scheuber samen met Peter Spilles Project Pitchfork op. Er is al veel over de band geschreven, en al meer over gediscussieerd, toch staat het buiten kijf dat de groep uit Hamburg tot de absolute top van de EBM-elektroscène behoort.

Het moest ervan komen:nadat Peter Spilles met Jinxy allerlei leuke dingen in Santa Hates You deed, is Scheuber er nu met zijn allereerste soloplaat. De hoes zet de fan meteen op een dwaalspoor: een zwart-witfoto van een wat oudere muzikant. Je zou bijna denken dat de Duitse EBM-ster een singer-songwriterplaat heeft gemaakt. Niets is minder waar, vanaf de eerste song Everything hoor je synthetisch gebeuk: dit is elektrorock.

Mensen die op alles en nog wat kritiek hebben zullen je misschien wel vertellen dat dit solo-uitstapje weinig zin heeft omdat je er veel invloeden van Project Pitchfork in hoort. Dat laatste is ontegensprekelijk waar, maar vanaf Out Of Time wordt het duidelijk dat de Duitse muzikant geen behoefte heeft aan clubhits. De song klinkt wel een beetje als het beste van VNV Nation (zoiets bestaat), maar het is vooral de weemoed die op deze song (en eigenlijk op het volledige album) de bovenhand haalt.

In Averell en Lovers Breath goochelt Scheuber met vocoders en dan denk je ontegensprekelijk aan mind.in.a.box, maar geen nood: Schueber heeft meer dan genoeg schrijverstalent om zijn eigen weg te gaan. Chyta gaat nog een stapje verder, melancholie is nog altijd troef, maar Scheuber bevindt zich in contreien waar je normaal alleen maar Gary Numan aantreft, en dat zorgt voor vuurwerk.

Hebben we gezegd dat Scheuber niet naar clubhits zocht? Wel, we logen een klein beetje, want Space is een danskraker zoals we ze alleen maar in de hoogdagen van Apoptygma Berzerk hoorden! Op Godshape slaat Scheuber de bal mis, gewoon omdat hij niet Trent Reznor is.

Met The Me I See betreedt Scheuber het elektropad dat hem groot heeft gemaakt. Vernieuwend is het niet, maar van een artiest die voor een revolutie in het genre zorgde, hoef je dat ook niet te verwachten.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar
GROUP A • 70 + a =
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
O VEUX • O Veux
DINOSAUR JR • Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not
DEF NEON • Def Neon

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + ELECTRONICS + FUTURE POP
UNITED AND IDENTIFIED • At the border of the line

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
07
R.I.P. Rüdiger Frank (1967-2019) (Printed At Bismarck's Death, The Tors Of Dartmoor)
18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
07
STIN SCATZOR
Hellgium
22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart