tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : SCHEUBER - The Me I See

SCHEUBER

The Me I See

MusicCD
Electro PopElectronicsFuture Pop
Trisol
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

27 years ago, Dirk Scheuber founded Project Pitchfork with Peter Spilles. Much has been written and debated about the band, but there is no doubt that the Hamburgers belong to the absolute top of the EBM electro scene.

It had to happen. After Peter Spilles did all kinds of pretty things with Jinxy in Santa Hates You, Scheuber presents his first solo album. The cover makes it difficult for the fan as the black and white photograph makes you think that the German EBM star made a singer-songwriter album. Of course that is far from the truth, as from the first song (Everything) you hear electro rock.

People who want to criticize everything might say that this solo record makes little sense because you hear a lot of influences from Project Pitchfork. That is undoubtedly correct, but Out Of Time proofs that the German musician has no need to write another bunch of club hits. The song sounds a bit like the best of VNV Nation (that actually exists), but it's the melancholy on this song (and actually on the entire album) that gets the upper hand.

In Averell and Lovers Breath, Scheuber works with vocoders and you think of mind.in.a.box, but do not worry as Schueber has more than enough talent to find his own way. Chyta goes one step further, it is still melancholy, but Scheuber does what we normally expect from Gary Numan, and that creates musical fireworks.

Did we say Scheuber doesn’t want club hits on this album? Well, we lied, because Space is a dance anthem that we last heard in the heyday of Apoptygma Berzerk! Godshape is less succesful, because Schueber is not Trent Reznor. But that’s the sole weak track.

With The Me I See, Scheuber walks the electronic path that made him an icon. Innovative it is not, but from an artist who revolutionized the genre you don’t expect that!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

27 jaar geleden richtte Dirk Scheuber samen met Peter Spilles Project Pitchfork op. Er is al veel over de band geschreven, en al meer over gediscussieerd, toch staat het buiten kijf dat de groep uit Hamburg tot de absolute top van de EBM-elektroscène behoort.

Het moest ervan komen:nadat Peter Spilles met Jinxy allerlei leuke dingen in Santa Hates You deed, is Scheuber er nu met zijn allereerste soloplaat. De hoes zet de fan meteen op een dwaalspoor: een zwart-witfoto van een wat oudere muzikant. Je zou bijna denken dat de Duitse EBM-ster een singer-songwriterplaat heeft gemaakt. Niets is minder waar, vanaf de eerste song Everything hoor je synthetisch gebeuk: dit is elektrorock.

Mensen die op alles en nog wat kritiek hebben zullen je misschien wel vertellen dat dit solo-uitstapje weinig zin heeft omdat je er veel invloeden van Project Pitchfork in hoort. Dat laatste is ontegensprekelijk waar, maar vanaf Out Of Time wordt het duidelijk dat de Duitse muzikant geen behoefte heeft aan clubhits. De song klinkt wel een beetje als het beste van VNV Nation (zoiets bestaat), maar het is vooral de weemoed die op deze song (en eigenlijk op het volledige album) de bovenhand haalt.

In Averell en Lovers Breath goochelt Scheuber met vocoders en dan denk je ontegensprekelijk aan mind.in.a.box, maar geen nood: Schueber heeft meer dan genoeg schrijverstalent om zijn eigen weg te gaan. Chyta gaat nog een stapje verder, melancholie is nog altijd troef, maar Scheuber bevindt zich in contreien waar je normaal alleen maar Gary Numan aantreft, en dat zorgt voor vuurwerk.

Hebben we gezegd dat Scheuber niet naar clubhits zocht? Wel, we logen een klein beetje, want Space is een danskraker zoals we ze alleen maar in de hoogdagen van Apoptygma Berzerk hoorden! Op Godshape slaat Scheuber de bal mis, gewoon omdat hij niet Trent Reznor is.

Met The Me I See betreedt Scheuber het elektropad dat hem groot heeft gemaakt. Vernieuwend is het niet, maar van een artiest die voor een revolutie in het genre zorgde, hoef je dat ook niet te verwachten.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar
GROUP A • 70 + a =
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
O VEUX • O Veux
DINOSAUR JR • Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not
DEF NEON • Def Neon

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + ELECTRONICS + FUTURE POP
UNITED AND IDENTIFIED • At the border of the line

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

Music reviews

09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]