tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : SCHEUBER - The Me I See

SCHEUBER

The Me I See

MusicCD
Electro PopElectronicsFuture Pop
Trisol
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

27 years ago, Dirk Scheuber founded Project Pitchfork with Peter Spilles. Much has been written and debated about the band, but there is no doubt that the Hamburgers belong to the absolute top of the EBM electro scene.

It had to happen. After Peter Spilles did all kinds of pretty things with Jinxy in Santa Hates You, Scheuber presents his first solo album. The cover makes it difficult for the fan as the black and white photograph makes you think that the German EBM star made a singer-songwriter album. Of course that is far from the truth, as from the first song (Everything) you hear electro rock.

People who want to criticize everything might say that this solo record makes little sense because you hear a lot of influences from Project Pitchfork. That is undoubtedly correct, but Out Of Time proofs that the German musician has no need to write another bunch of club hits. The song sounds a bit like the best of VNV Nation (that actually exists), but it's the melancholy on this song (and actually on the entire album) that gets the upper hand.

In Averell and Lovers Breath, Scheuber works with vocoders and you think of mind.in.a.box, but do not worry as Schueber has more than enough talent to find his own way. Chyta goes one step further, it is still melancholy, but Scheuber does what we normally expect from Gary Numan, and that creates musical fireworks.

Did we say Scheuber doesn’t want club hits on this album? Well, we lied, because Space is a dance anthem that we last heard in the heyday of Apoptygma Berzerk! Godshape is less succesful, because Schueber is not Trent Reznor. But that’s the sole weak track.

With The Me I See, Scheuber walks the electronic path that made him an icon. Innovative it is not, but from an artist who revolutionized the genre you don’t expect that!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

27 jaar geleden richtte Dirk Scheuber samen met Peter Spilles Project Pitchfork op. Er is al veel over de band geschreven, en al meer over gediscussieerd, toch staat het buiten kijf dat de groep uit Hamburg tot de absolute top van de EBM-elektroscène behoort.

Het moest ervan komen:nadat Peter Spilles met Jinxy allerlei leuke dingen in Santa Hates You deed, is Scheuber er nu met zijn allereerste soloplaat. De hoes zet de fan meteen op een dwaalspoor: een zwart-witfoto van een wat oudere muzikant. Je zou bijna denken dat de Duitse EBM-ster een singer-songwriterplaat heeft gemaakt. Niets is minder waar, vanaf de eerste song Everything hoor je synthetisch gebeuk: dit is elektrorock.

Mensen die op alles en nog wat kritiek hebben zullen je misschien wel vertellen dat dit solo-uitstapje weinig zin heeft omdat je er veel invloeden van Project Pitchfork in hoort. Dat laatste is ontegensprekelijk waar, maar vanaf Out Of Time wordt het duidelijk dat de Duitse muzikant geen behoefte heeft aan clubhits. De song klinkt wel een beetje als het beste van VNV Nation (zoiets bestaat), maar het is vooral de weemoed die op deze song (en eigenlijk op het volledige album) de bovenhand haalt.

In Averell en Lovers Breath goochelt Scheuber met vocoders en dan denk je ontegensprekelijk aan mind.in.a.box, maar geen nood: Schueber heeft meer dan genoeg schrijverstalent om zijn eigen weg te gaan. Chyta gaat nog een stapje verder, melancholie is nog altijd troef, maar Scheuber bevindt zich in contreien waar je normaal alleen maar Gary Numan aantreft, en dat zorgt voor vuurwerk.

Hebben we gezegd dat Scheuber niet naar clubhits zocht? Wel, we logen een klein beetje, want Space is een danskraker zoals we ze alleen maar in de hoogdagen van Apoptygma Berzerk hoorden! Op Godshape slaat Scheuber de bal mis, gewoon omdat hij niet Trent Reznor is.

Met The Me I See betreedt Scheuber het elektropad dat hem groot heeft gemaakt. Vernieuwend is het niet, maar van een artiest die voor een revolutie in het genre zorgde, hoef je dat ook niet te verwachten.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar
GROUP A • 70 + a =
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
O VEUX • O Veux
DINOSAUR JR • Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not
DEF NEON • Def Neon

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + ELECTRONICS + FUTURE POP
UNITED AND IDENTIFIED • At the border of the line

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem