tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : SCHEUBER - The Me I See

SCHEUBER

The Me I See

MusicCD
Electro PopElectronicsFuture Pop
Trisol
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

27 years ago, Dirk Scheuber founded Project Pitchfork with Peter Spilles. Much has been written and debated about the band, but there is no doubt that the Hamburgers belong to the absolute top of the EBM electro scene.

It had to happen. After Peter Spilles did all kinds of pretty things with Jinxy in Santa Hates You, Scheuber presents his first solo album. The cover makes it difficult for the fan as the black and white photograph makes you think that the German EBM star made a singer-songwriter album. Of course that is far from the truth, as from the first song (Everything) you hear electro rock.

People who want to criticize everything might say that this solo record makes little sense because you hear a lot of influences from Project Pitchfork. That is undoubtedly correct, but Out Of Time proofs that the German musician has no need to write another bunch of club hits. The song sounds a bit like the best of VNV Nation (that actually exists), but it's the melancholy on this song (and actually on the entire album) that gets the upper hand.

In Averell and Lovers Breath, Scheuber works with vocoders and you think of mind.in.a.box, but do not worry as Schueber has more than enough talent to find his own way. Chyta goes one step further, it is still melancholy, but Scheuber does what we normally expect from Gary Numan, and that creates musical fireworks.

Did we say Scheuber doesn’t want club hits on this album? Well, we lied, because Space is a dance anthem that we last heard in the heyday of Apoptygma Berzerk! Godshape is less succesful, because Schueber is not Trent Reznor. But that’s the sole weak track.

With The Me I See, Scheuber walks the electronic path that made him an icon. Innovative it is not, but from an artist who revolutionized the genre you don’t expect that!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

27 jaar geleden richtte Dirk Scheuber samen met Peter Spilles Project Pitchfork op. Er is al veel over de band geschreven, en al meer over gediscussieerd, toch staat het buiten kijf dat de groep uit Hamburg tot de absolute top van de EBM-elektroscène behoort.

Het moest ervan komen:nadat Peter Spilles met Jinxy allerlei leuke dingen in Santa Hates You deed, is Scheuber er nu met zijn allereerste soloplaat. De hoes zet de fan meteen op een dwaalspoor: een zwart-witfoto van een wat oudere muzikant. Je zou bijna denken dat de Duitse EBM-ster een singer-songwriterplaat heeft gemaakt. Niets is minder waar, vanaf de eerste song Everything hoor je synthetisch gebeuk: dit is elektrorock.

Mensen die op alles en nog wat kritiek hebben zullen je misschien wel vertellen dat dit solo-uitstapje weinig zin heeft omdat je er veel invloeden van Project Pitchfork in hoort. Dat laatste is ontegensprekelijk waar, maar vanaf Out Of Time wordt het duidelijk dat de Duitse muzikant geen behoefte heeft aan clubhits. De song klinkt wel een beetje als het beste van VNV Nation (zoiets bestaat), maar het is vooral de weemoed die op deze song (en eigenlijk op het volledige album) de bovenhand haalt.

In Averell en Lovers Breath goochelt Scheuber met vocoders en dan denk je ontegensprekelijk aan mind.in.a.box, maar geen nood: Schueber heeft meer dan genoeg schrijverstalent om zijn eigen weg te gaan. Chyta gaat nog een stapje verder, melancholie is nog altijd troef, maar Scheuber bevindt zich in contreien waar je normaal alleen maar Gary Numan aantreft, en dat zorgt voor vuurwerk.

Hebben we gezegd dat Scheuber niet naar clubhits zocht? Wel, we logen een klein beetje, want Space is een danskraker zoals we ze alleen maar in de hoogdagen van Apoptygma Berzerk hoorden! Op Godshape slaat Scheuber de bal mis, gewoon omdat hij niet Trent Reznor is.

Met The Me I See betreedt Scheuber het elektropad dat hem groot heeft gemaakt. Vernieuwend is het niet, maar van een artiest die voor een revolutie in het genre zorgde, hoef je dat ook niet te verwachten.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar
GROUP A • 70 + a =
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
O VEUX • O Veux
DINOSAUR JR • Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not
DEF NEON • Def Neon

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + ELECTRONICS + FUTURE POP
UNITED AND IDENTIFIED • At the border of the line

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man