tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : GROUP A - 70 + a =

GROUP A

70 + a =

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrialPost Industrial

[95/100]   

Mecanica
11/12/2016, Luki PUKI

Group A is a Japanese group, currently based in Berlin. The LP is a collection of previous releases with one new track (Deadly 16) out on Mecanica Records.

Group A’s work crosses a boundary between live performance art and ambient industrial. The LP feels like the early UK industrial scene, pioneered by Throbbing Gristle and carried on in the USA by acts like Sleep Chamber.

You won’t find repetitive club drum beats and pretty choruses. Instead your sound senses will be assailed with tape samples, jarring violins, spoken word and gritty shouted vocals, synth layers on layers and random rhythm samples. It’s a dense wall of music that takes time to hear and appreciate. The reward for the patience is possibly the most unique creative industrial music that you will hear this side of the 2000s.

It’s hard to rate a music only release by a group tha t is part performance art, please check out the video links if you haven’t already. The visual is an integral part of the bands persona. I wish this was a VR or DVD release, compete with the immersive looping visuals the band is famous for. The LP is wrapped in fine black paper, with a silk-screened jacket and an exclusive insert with some graphics and notes. It can’t compare to Group A’s live musical theatre cabaret, but it does the job.

Luki PUKI
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
O VEUX • O Veux
DINOSAUR JR • Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not
DEF NEON • Def Neon
EGRETS ON EGROT • Serve Us Tender
ORGANIC • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

 

Same genre: POST INDUSTRIAL
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
POTERNA • Fate
NUN • Self Titled
BODYKOMPLEX • Karma

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You