tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : EGRETS ON EGROT - Serve Us Tender

EGRETS ON EGROT

Serve Us Tender

MusicCD (EP)
Post Punk

[79/100]   

Ad Nauseam Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Egrets on Egrot is a post-punk band from L.A. Think of The Birthday Party, Virgin Prunes and The Gun Club to get an idea of the energy and the music. Guitar, sax, bass and drums are the instruments.

The EP Serve Us Tender contains six songs and sound anything but tender, but rather punky and unruly. Everything sounds DIY and basic with the right spirit. Sometimes the music is referring to the early 80s when everyone made music with limited resources. A song like Joke On Round Eye contains fine transitions and rhythm changes. Skin To Soul sounds pretty catchy and mesmerizing. Iris Seen is a haunting cry.

Serve Us Tender contains post-punk as it should/may sound. Also available on vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Egrets on Egrot is postpunkband uit L.A. Denk aan The Birthday Party, The Virgin Prunes en The Gun Club om een beetje een idee te krijgen van de energie en de muziek van deze band. Gitaar, sax, bas en drum zijn het instrumentarium.
Op de ep Serve Us Tender klinken de zes songs allesbehalve tender, maar tegendraads, als punk, DIY en basic met de juiste spirit. Soms verwijst de muziek naar de jaren 80, toen iedereen met beperkte middelen muziek maakte. Zeggen dat deze band zo maar wat doet zou hem onrecht aandoen want een song zoals Joke On Round Eye bevat fijne overgangen en ritmewisselingen. Skin To Soul klinkt vrij catchy en bezwerend. Iris Seen is een beklijvende noodkreet.

Post-punk zoals het moet/mag klinken hoor je in Serve Us Tender. Meer moet dat voor mij soms niet zijn. Ook beschikbaar op vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed