tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : EGRETS ON EGROT - Serve Us Tender

EGRETS ON EGROT

Serve Us Tender

MusicCD (EP)
Post Punk

[79/100]   

Ad Nauseam Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Egrets on Egrot is a post-punk band from L.A. Think of The Birthday Party, Virgin Prunes and The Gun Club to get an idea of the energy and the music. Guitar, sax, bass and drums are the instruments.

The EP Serve Us Tender contains six songs and sound anything but tender, but rather punky and unruly. Everything sounds DIY and basic with the right spirit. Sometimes the music is referring to the early 80s when everyone made music with limited resources. A song like Joke On Round Eye contains fine transitions and rhythm changes. Skin To Soul sounds pretty catchy and mesmerizing. Iris Seen is a haunting cry.

Serve Us Tender contains post-punk as it should/may sound. Also available on vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Egrets on Egrot is postpunkband uit L.A. Denk aan The Birthday Party, The Virgin Prunes en The Gun Club om een beetje een idee te krijgen van de energie en de muziek van deze band. Gitaar, sax, bas en drum zijn het instrumentarium.
Op de ep Serve Us Tender klinken de zes songs allesbehalve tender, maar tegendraads, als punk, DIY en basic met de juiste spirit. Soms verwijst de muziek naar de jaren 80, toen iedereen met beperkte middelen muziek maakte. Zeggen dat deze band zo maar wat doet zou hem onrecht aandoen want een song zoals Joke On Round Eye bevat fijne overgangen en ritmewisselingen. Skin To Soul klinkt vrij catchy en bezwerend. Iris Seen is een beklijvende noodkreet.

Post-punk zoals het moet/mag klinken hoor je in Serve Us Tender. Meer moet dat voor mij soms niet zijn. Ook beschikbaar op vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection