tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : MIRLAND - Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

MIRLAND

Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

MusicDigital
ElectroMinimalTechno

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

While working on the second Am Tierpark and his third solo album, John Mirland made some different tracks in his home studio. When he was told that Kurt Grunewald Hansen (husband of Claus Larsen of Leaether Strip), fought a disease with high doctor's and medication costs, he decided to put some tracks on an EP, sell them and donate the proceeds to pay the bills.

Mirland decided to release these tracks in their rough and minimalist version because they have sufficient maturity and content in their current form. On Greyscale Controller he presents minimalist dub techno with some house and ambient influences. Four tracks that sound quite rhythmic or downtempo with a pleasant vibe. Boiler floats on a fat recurring bass riff and a pleasant synth sound. Feel It has a techno beat and dub elements. It's a pretty rhythmic and almost danceable track. Be One is built on a theme about trains. Controller sounds very minimal.

If you like electro/techno in its primitive form (rough but containing the essential basic features), then you will love this EP. Those of you who are familiar with Mirland's solo work and his work with Am Tierpark, will find the necessary reference points on this EP. And you support people fighting against malignant diseases. Moreover, a new solo album, darker and harder than this EP, will soon be avaiable. Mirland is also working on an ambient album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens de werkzaamheden aan het tweede Am Tierpark-album en zijn derde solo-album, nam John Mirland in zijn thuisstudio een aantal tracks op. Toen hij vernam dat Kurt Grunewald Hansen (de echtgenoot van Claus Larsen van Leaether Strip) tegen een hardnekkige ziekte vocht met hoge dokters- en medicatiekosten, besloot hij de tracks op ep uit te brengen en de opbrengst ter beschikking te stellen.

Mirland besloot om z'n tracks in hun ruwe en minimalistische versie uit te brengen omdat ze voldoende maturiteit en inhoud hadden. Op Greyscale Controller presenteert hij minimalistische dubtechno met wat house en ambient invloeden. Vier tracks die soms vrij ritmisch of downtempo klinken en allemaal met een prettige vibe. Boiler drijft op een vette terugkerende bassriff en op prettige synthsounds. Feel It bevat een technobeat maar ook wat dubelementen. Het is een vrij ritmisch en bijna dansbare track. Be One gebruikt de trein als thema om de song op te bouwen. Controller klinkt heel minimal.

Als je van elektro/techno in zijn oervorm houdt (ruw maar met de essentiële basiskenmerken), dan wil je beslist ook deze ep in huis halen. Wie het solowerk van Mirland en het oeuvre van Am Tierpark kent, zal in deze ep herkenningspunten vinden. Bovendien steun je mensen die vechten tegen een kwaadaardige aandoening. Binnenkort mogen we ons trouwens verwachten aan een volgend solo-album dat donkerder en harder is dan de ep. Daarnaast werkt de artiest ook aan een ambient album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar

 

Other reviews from MIRLAND
MIRLAND • Depeche Mode Deconstructed
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper