tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : MIRLAND - Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

MIRLAND

Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

MusicDigital
ElectroMinimalTechno

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

While working on the second Am Tierpark and his third solo album, John Mirland made some different tracks in his home studio. When he was told that Kurt Grunewald Hansen (husband of Claus Larsen of Leaether Strip), fought a disease with high doctor's and medication costs, he decided to put some tracks on an EP, sell them and donate the proceeds to pay the bills.

Mirland decided to release these tracks in their rough and minimalist version because they have sufficient maturity and content in their current form. On Greyscale Controller he presents minimalist dub techno with some house and ambient influences. Four tracks that sound quite rhythmic or downtempo with a pleasant vibe. Boiler floats on a fat recurring bass riff and a pleasant synth sound. Feel It has a techno beat and dub elements. It's a pretty rhythmic and almost danceable track. Be One is built on a theme about trains. Controller sounds very minimal.

If you like electro/techno in its primitive form (rough but containing the essential basic features), then you will love this EP. Those of you who are familiar with Mirland's solo work and his work with Am Tierpark, will find the necessary reference points on this EP. And you support people fighting against malignant diseases. Moreover, a new solo album, darker and harder than this EP, will soon be avaiable. Mirland is also working on an ambient album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens de werkzaamheden aan het tweede Am Tierpark-album en zijn derde solo-album, nam John Mirland in zijn thuisstudio een aantal tracks op. Toen hij vernam dat Kurt Grunewald Hansen (de echtgenoot van Claus Larsen van Leaether Strip) tegen een hardnekkige ziekte vocht met hoge dokters- en medicatiekosten, besloot hij de tracks op ep uit te brengen en de opbrengst ter beschikking te stellen.

Mirland besloot om z'n tracks in hun ruwe en minimalistische versie uit te brengen omdat ze voldoende maturiteit en inhoud hadden. Op Greyscale Controller presenteert hij minimalistische dubtechno met wat house en ambient invloeden. Vier tracks die soms vrij ritmisch of downtempo klinken en allemaal met een prettige vibe. Boiler drijft op een vette terugkerende bassriff en op prettige synthsounds. Feel It bevat een technobeat maar ook wat dubelementen. Het is een vrij ritmisch en bijna dansbare track. Be One gebruikt de trein als thema om de song op te bouwen. Controller klinkt heel minimal.

Als je van elektro/techno in zijn oervorm houdt (ruw maar met de essentiële basiskenmerken), dan wil je beslist ook deze ep in huis halen. Wie het solowerk van Mirland en het oeuvre van Am Tierpark kent, zal in deze ep herkenningspunten vinden. Bovendien steun je mensen die vechten tegen een kwaadaardige aandoening. Binnenkort mogen we ons trouwens verwachten aan een volgend solo-album dat donkerder en harder is dan de ep. Daarnaast werkt de artiest ook aan een ambient album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar

 

Other reviews from MIRLAND
MIRLAND • Depeche Mode Deconstructed
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: TECHNO
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever