tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this mp3/download review

11/12/2016 : MIRLAND - Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

MIRLAND

Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

MusicMP3/Download
ElectroMinimalTechno

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

While working on the second Am Tierpark and his third solo album, John Mirland made some different tracks in his home studio. When he was told that Kurt Grunewald Hansen (husband of Claus Larsen of Leaether Strip), fought a disease with high doctor's and medication costs, he decided to put some tracks on an EP, sell them and donate the proceeds to pay the bills.

Mirland decided to release these tracks in their rough and minimalist version because they have sufficient maturity and content in their current form. On Greyscale Controller he presents minimalist dub techno with some house and ambient influences. Four tracks that sound quite rhythmic or downtempo with a pleasant vibe. Boiler floats on a fat recurring bass riff and a pleasant synth sound. Feel It has a techno beat and dub elements. It's a pretty rhythmic and almost danceable track. Be One is built on a theme about trains. Controller sounds very minimal.

If you like electro/techno in its primitive form (rough but containing the essential basic features), then you will love this EP. Those of you who are familiar with Mirland's solo work and his work with Am Tierpark, will find the necessary reference points on this EP. And you support people fighting against malignant diseases. Moreover, a new solo album, darker and harder than this EP, will soon be avaiable. Mirland is also working on an ambient album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens de werkzaamheden aan het tweede Am Tierpark-album en zijn derde solo-album, nam John Mirland in zijn thuisstudio een aantal tracks op. Toen hij vernam dat Kurt Grunewald Hansen (de echtgenoot van Claus Larsen van Leaether Strip) tegen een hardnekkige ziekte vocht met hoge dokters- en medicatiekosten, besloot hij de tracks op ep uit te brengen en de opbrengst ter beschikking te stellen.

Mirland besloot om z'n tracks in hun ruwe en minimalistische versie uit te brengen omdat ze voldoende maturiteit en inhoud hadden. Op Greyscale Controller presenteert hij minimalistische dubtechno met wat house en ambient invloeden. Vier tracks die soms vrij ritmisch of downtempo klinken en allemaal met een prettige vibe. Boiler drijft op een vette terugkerende bassriff en op prettige synthsounds. Feel It bevat een technobeat maar ook wat dubelementen. Het is een vrij ritmisch en bijna dansbare track. Be One gebruikt de trein als thema om de song op te bouwen. Controller klinkt heel minimal.

Als je van elektro/techno in zijn oervorm houdt (ruw maar met de essentiële basiskenmerken), dan wil je beslist ook deze ep in huis halen. Wie het solowerk van Mirland en het oeuvre van Am Tierpark kent, zal in deze ep herkenningspunten vinden. Bovendien steun je mensen die vechten tegen een kwaadaardige aandoening. Binnenkort mogen we ons trouwens verwachten aan een volgend solo-album dat donkerder en harder is dan de ep. Daarnaast werkt de artiest ook aan een ambient album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
04
LADYTRON
Destroy Everything You Touch
26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only