tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : MIRLAND - Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

MIRLAND

Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

MusicDigital
ElectroMinimalTechno

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

While working on the second Am Tierpark and his third solo album, John Mirland made some different tracks in his home studio. When he was told that Kurt Grunewald Hansen (husband of Claus Larsen of Leaether Strip), fought a disease with high doctor's and medication costs, he decided to put some tracks on an EP, sell them and donate the proceeds to pay the bills.

Mirland decided to release these tracks in their rough and minimalist version because they have sufficient maturity and content in their current form. On Greyscale Controller he presents minimalist dub techno with some house and ambient influences. Four tracks that sound quite rhythmic or downtempo with a pleasant vibe. Boiler floats on a fat recurring bass riff and a pleasant synth sound. Feel It has a techno beat and dub elements. It's a pretty rhythmic and almost danceable track. Be One is built on a theme about trains. Controller sounds very minimal.

If you like electro/techno in its primitive form (rough but containing the essential basic features), then you will love this EP. Those of you who are familiar with Mirland's solo work and his work with Am Tierpark, will find the necessary reference points on this EP. And you support people fighting against malignant diseases. Moreover, a new solo album, darker and harder than this EP, will soon be avaiable. Mirland is also working on an ambient album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens de werkzaamheden aan het tweede Am Tierpark-album en zijn derde solo-album, nam John Mirland in zijn thuisstudio een aantal tracks op. Toen hij vernam dat Kurt Grunewald Hansen (de echtgenoot van Claus Larsen van Leaether Strip) tegen een hardnekkige ziekte vocht met hoge dokters- en medicatiekosten, besloot hij de tracks op ep uit te brengen en de opbrengst ter beschikking te stellen.

Mirland besloot om z'n tracks in hun ruwe en minimalistische versie uit te brengen omdat ze voldoende maturiteit en inhoud hadden. Op Greyscale Controller presenteert hij minimalistische dubtechno met wat house en ambient invloeden. Vier tracks die soms vrij ritmisch of downtempo klinken en allemaal met een prettige vibe. Boiler drijft op een vette terugkerende bassriff en op prettige synthsounds. Feel It bevat een technobeat maar ook wat dubelementen. Het is een vrij ritmisch en bijna dansbare track. Be One gebruikt de trein als thema om de song op te bouwen. Controller klinkt heel minimal.

Als je van elektro/techno in zijn oervorm houdt (ruw maar met de essentiële basiskenmerken), dan wil je beslist ook deze ep in huis halen. Wie het solowerk van Mirland en het oeuvre van Am Tierpark kent, zal in deze ep herkenningspunten vinden. Bovendien steun je mensen die vechten tegen een kwaadaardige aandoening. Binnenkort mogen we ons trouwens verwachten aan een volgend solo-album dat donkerder en harder is dan de ep. Daarnaast werkt de artiest ook aan een ambient album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar

 

Other reviews from MIRLAND
MIRLAND • Depeche Mode Deconstructed
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures