tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : MIRLAND - Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

MIRLAND

Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

MusicDigital
ElectroMinimalTechno

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

While working on the second Am Tierpark and his third solo album, John Mirland made some different tracks in his home studio. When he was told that Kurt Grunewald Hansen (husband of Claus Larsen of Leaether Strip), fought a disease with high doctor's and medication costs, he decided to put some tracks on an EP, sell them and donate the proceeds to pay the bills.

Mirland decided to release these tracks in their rough and minimalist version because they have sufficient maturity and content in their current form. On Greyscale Controller he presents minimalist dub techno with some house and ambient influences. Four tracks that sound quite rhythmic or downtempo with a pleasant vibe. Boiler floats on a fat recurring bass riff and a pleasant synth sound. Feel It has a techno beat and dub elements. It's a pretty rhythmic and almost danceable track. Be One is built on a theme about trains. Controller sounds very minimal.

If you like electro/techno in its primitive form (rough but containing the essential basic features), then you will love this EP. Those of you who are familiar with Mirland's solo work and his work with Am Tierpark, will find the necessary reference points on this EP. And you support people fighting against malignant diseases. Moreover, a new solo album, darker and harder than this EP, will soon be avaiable. Mirland is also working on an ambient album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens de werkzaamheden aan het tweede Am Tierpark-album en zijn derde solo-album, nam John Mirland in zijn thuisstudio een aantal tracks op. Toen hij vernam dat Kurt Grunewald Hansen (de echtgenoot van Claus Larsen van Leaether Strip) tegen een hardnekkige ziekte vocht met hoge dokters- en medicatiekosten, besloot hij de tracks op ep uit te brengen en de opbrengst ter beschikking te stellen.

Mirland besloot om z'n tracks in hun ruwe en minimalistische versie uit te brengen omdat ze voldoende maturiteit en inhoud hadden. Op Greyscale Controller presenteert hij minimalistische dubtechno met wat house en ambient invloeden. Vier tracks die soms vrij ritmisch of downtempo klinken en allemaal met een prettige vibe. Boiler drijft op een vette terugkerende bassriff en op prettige synthsounds. Feel It bevat een technobeat maar ook wat dubelementen. Het is een vrij ritmisch en bijna dansbare track. Be One gebruikt de trein als thema om de song op te bouwen. Controller klinkt heel minimal.

Als je van elektro/techno in zijn oervorm houdt (ruw maar met de essentiële basiskenmerken), dan wil je beslist ook deze ep in huis halen. Wie het solowerk van Mirland en het oeuvre van Am Tierpark kent, zal in deze ep herkenningspunten vinden. Bovendien steun je mensen die vechten tegen een kwaadaardige aandoening. Binnenkort mogen we ons trouwens verwachten aan een volgend solo-album dat donkerder en harder is dan de ep. Daarnaast werkt de artiest ook aan een ambient album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar

 

Other reviews from MIRLAND
MIRLAND • Depeche Mode Deconstructed
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen

Music reviews

15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO