tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : FACTORY FLOOR - 25 25

FACTORY FLOOR

25 25

MusicCD
ElectronicsTechno

[80/100]   

DFA Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though the debut of Factory Floor was hailed which made them one of the best newcomers in the alternative dance scene, drummer Dominic Butler left. The trio became a duo, not that you can hear this on the new LP.

Just like on Factory Floor’s debut from 2013, Nik Void and Gabriel Gurnsey still make tight techno pop which takes its influences from the 80's. Not really surprising as the two are also involved in Cosey Fanni Tutti and Stephen Morris of New Order already remixed a few songs. The New Order drummer describes Factory Floor as disco that takes you out of balance.

On 25 25 which is produced by David Wrench (FKA Twigs and Caribou) you mostly hear very hard, repetitive basses and beats of modular synthesizers. Danceable, but also effective for home fun.

Eight great songs with unpredictable grooves, odd voices and icy synthetic sounds. This album almost makes Factory Floor the successors of Cabaret Voltaire. Indeed one of the electronic bands to follow.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Ook al werd het debuut van Factory Floor bejubeld waardoor ze de lievelingen van het alternatieve danspubliek werden, hield drummer Dominic Butler het voor bekeken. Het trio werd een duo, al hoor je dat op hun nieuwe langspeler niet.

Nik Void en Gabriel Gurnsey maken op de opvolger van hun debuut uit 2013 nog steeds strakke technopop dat zijn invloeden uit de jaren 80 haalt. Echt verwonderlijk is dat niet, de twee zijn ook betrokken bij Cosey Fanni Tutti en Stephen Morris van New Order remixte reeds een paar nummers. De New Order-drummer omschrijft Factory Floor als disco je uit balans brengt.

Op 25 25 die door David Wrench (FKA Twigs en Caribou) is geproducet hoor je overwegend loeiharde, repetitieve bassen en beats van modulaire synthesizers. Lekker dansbaar, maar minstens even effectief voor thuis met de koptelefoon op.

Acht heerlijke songs met onvoorspelbare grooves, vreemde stemgeluiden en ijskoude synthetische klanken die Factory Floor bijna de opvolgers van Cabaret Voltaire maakt. Factory Floor wordt terecht door de danswereld aangestipt als één van de te volgen bands.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection