tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : FACTORY FLOOR - 25 25

FACTORY FLOOR

25 25

MusicCD
ElectronicsTechno

[80/100]   

DFA Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though the debut of Factory Floor was hailed which made them one of the best newcomers in the alternative dance scene, drummer Dominic Butler left. The trio became a duo, not that you can hear this on the new LP.

Just like on Factory Floor’s debut from 2013, Nik Void and Gabriel Gurnsey still make tight techno pop which takes its influences from the 80's. Not really surprising as the two are also involved in Cosey Fanni Tutti and Stephen Morris of New Order already remixed a few songs. The New Order drummer describes Factory Floor as disco that takes you out of balance.

On 25 25 which is produced by David Wrench (FKA Twigs and Caribou) you mostly hear very hard, repetitive basses and beats of modular synthesizers. Danceable, but also effective for home fun.

Eight great songs with unpredictable grooves, odd voices and icy synthetic sounds. This album almost makes Factory Floor the successors of Cabaret Voltaire. Indeed one of the electronic bands to follow.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Ook al werd het debuut van Factory Floor bejubeld waardoor ze de lievelingen van het alternatieve danspubliek werden, hield drummer Dominic Butler het voor bekeken. Het trio werd een duo, al hoor je dat op hun nieuwe langspeler niet.

Nik Void en Gabriel Gurnsey maken op de opvolger van hun debuut uit 2013 nog steeds strakke technopop dat zijn invloeden uit de jaren 80 haalt. Echt verwonderlijk is dat niet, de twee zijn ook betrokken bij Cosey Fanni Tutti en Stephen Morris van New Order remixte reeds een paar nummers. De New Order-drummer omschrijft Factory Floor als disco je uit balans brengt.

Op 25 25 die door David Wrench (FKA Twigs en Caribou) is geproducet hoor je overwegend loeiharde, repetitieve bassen en beats van modulaire synthesizers. Lekker dansbaar, maar minstens even effectief voor thuis met de koptelefoon op.

Acht heerlijke songs met onvoorspelbare grooves, vreemde stemgeluiden en ijskoude synthetische klanken die Factory Floor bijna de opvolgers van Cabaret Voltaire maakt. Factory Floor wordt terecht door de danswereld aangestipt als één van de te volgen bands.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
PULP
Babies
27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games