tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : FACTORY FLOOR - 25 25

FACTORY FLOOR

25 25

MusicCD
ElectronicsTechno

[80/100]   

DFA Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though the debut of Factory Floor was hailed which made them one of the best newcomers in the alternative dance scene, drummer Dominic Butler left. The trio became a duo, not that you can hear this on the new LP.

Just like on Factory Floor’s debut from 2013, Nik Void and Gabriel Gurnsey still make tight techno pop which takes its influences from the 80's. Not really surprising as the two are also involved in Cosey Fanni Tutti and Stephen Morris of New Order already remixed a few songs. The New Order drummer describes Factory Floor as disco that takes you out of balance.

On 25 25 which is produced by David Wrench (FKA Twigs and Caribou) you mostly hear very hard, repetitive basses and beats of modular synthesizers. Danceable, but also effective for home fun.

Eight great songs with unpredictable grooves, odd voices and icy synthetic sounds. This album almost makes Factory Floor the successors of Cabaret Voltaire. Indeed one of the electronic bands to follow.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Ook al werd het debuut van Factory Floor bejubeld waardoor ze de lievelingen van het alternatieve danspubliek werden, hield drummer Dominic Butler het voor bekeken. Het trio werd een duo, al hoor je dat op hun nieuwe langspeler niet.

Nik Void en Gabriel Gurnsey maken op de opvolger van hun debuut uit 2013 nog steeds strakke technopop dat zijn invloeden uit de jaren 80 haalt. Echt verwonderlijk is dat niet, de twee zijn ook betrokken bij Cosey Fanni Tutti en Stephen Morris van New Order remixte reeds een paar nummers. De New Order-drummer omschrijft Factory Floor als disco je uit balans brengt.

Op 25 25 die door David Wrench (FKA Twigs en Caribou) is geproducet hoor je overwegend loeiharde, repetitieve bassen en beats van modulaire synthesizers. Lekker dansbaar, maar minstens even effectief voor thuis met de koptelefoon op.

Acht heerlijke songs met onvoorspelbare grooves, vreemde stemgeluiden en ijskoude synthetische klanken die Factory Floor bijna de opvolgers van Cabaret Voltaire maakt. Factory Floor wordt terecht door de danswereld aangestipt als één van de te volgen bands.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls