tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CRYSTAL CASTLES - Amnesty (I)

CRYSTAL CASTLES

Amnesty (I)

MusicCD
Electronics

[90/100]   

Fiction Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Bands that haunt you, Crystal Castles is one of them. Although two years ago, the Canadian electro band almost split up because of the departure of Alice Glass, Ethan Kath and Edith Frances strike back with Amnesty(I) which could well be one of this year’s best electronic CD’s.

Actually, you notice it on the cover. Four young girls on a swing, but there is something wrong with them. Their gaze pierces you, these are more the kind of kids you notice in horror films like The Omen. And so feels the music like: grim, compositions that make you uncomfortable, but so brilliant composed that they are addictive.

Amnesty (I) is one of the darkest albums of the year, you can hear that right away on the opener Femen on which a children's choir leads you the frightening dark world of Crystal Castles, a place in where every form of hope is strangled by lurid electronic sounds. The Canadians want respect, they want to carry their listeners to a dark place and they do not need a hit.

Sometimes you notice club sounds like on the sublime Frail or Char which comes close to Kavinsky, but it can also be dark ambient like Teach Her How To Unit. No hits on this album probably, even the single Sadist is one of the most experimental tracks from this album.

Crystal Castles sounds just like this new Crystal Castles always sounded (pounding beats and screaming vocals). Electronic sounds that storms your brain even if you do not know what to do with them. Concrete is danceable, but blessed with the Alec Empire sound, so it will be hysterical noise for most. That is also true, but of the sublime kind. Do no doubt, buy the new Crystal Castles.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Bands die je achtervolgen, Crystal Castles is er zo een. Hoewel twee jaar geleden door het vertrek van Alice Glass de Canadese elektroband ten dode bleek opgeschreven, slaan Ethan Kath en Edith Frances met Amnesty(I) loeihard terug: een cd die op elektronicavlak wel eens de beste van dit jaar zou kunnen zijn.

Eigenlijk merk je het al bij de hoes. Een viertal meisjes zitten op een schommel, maar er is iets mis met hun. Hun blik doorboort je, dit zijn eerder kinderen die je in griezelfilms als The Omen aantreft. En zo voelt ook de muziek aan: akelig, composities waarvan je niet goed wordt, maar zo briljant dat ze verslavend worden.

Dat Amnesty (I) één van de donkerste cd’s van het jaar is geworden, hoor je meteen op de opener Femen waarin een kinderkoor je in de beangstigende, inktzwarte wereld van Crystal Castles binnenleidt, een plek waar iedere vorm van hoop wordt gewurgd door lugubere elektronische klanken.

De Canadezen willen respect, hun luisteraars naar een donkere plaats voeren. Een hit hebben ze niet nodig.
Soms duiken er wel clubgeluiden op zoals in het sublieme Frail of Char dat dicht aanleunt bij Kavinsky, maar het kan eveneens dark ambient worden zoals op Teach Her How To Unit. Geen kant-en-klare hitjes, ook niet de single Sadist die één van de meest experimentele tracks van deze plaat is.

Crystal Castles klinkt op deze nieuwe gewoon zoals Crystal Castles altijd klonk (beukende beats met schreeuwerige vocalen) zonder dat ze in herhaling vallen. Elektronische geluiden die je brein bestormen, ook al weet je niet meteen wat je er moet mee doen. Concrete is dansbaar, maar gezegend met de Alec Empire-stempel waardoor sommigen het op hysterische noise zullen houden. Dat is het ook, weliswaar van de sublieme soort. Niet twijfelen, de nieuwe Crystal Castles gewoon in huis halen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)