tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CRYSTAL CASTLES - Amnesty (I)

CRYSTAL CASTLES

Amnesty (I)

MusicCD
Electronics

[90/100]   

Fiction Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Bands that haunt you, Crystal Castles is one of them. Although two years ago, the Canadian electro band almost split up because of the departure of Alice Glass, Ethan Kath and Edith Frances strike back with Amnesty(I) which could well be one of this year’s best electronic CD’s.

Actually, you notice it on the cover. Four young girls on a swing, but there is something wrong with them. Their gaze pierces you, these are more the kind of kids you notice in horror films like The Omen. And so feels the music like: grim, compositions that make you uncomfortable, but so brilliant composed that they are addictive.

Amnesty (I) is one of the darkest albums of the year, you can hear that right away on the opener Femen on which a children's choir leads you the frightening dark world of Crystal Castles, a place in where every form of hope is strangled by lurid electronic sounds. The Canadians want respect, they want to carry their listeners to a dark place and they do not need a hit.

Sometimes you notice club sounds like on the sublime Frail or Char which comes close to Kavinsky, but it can also be dark ambient like Teach Her How To Unit. No hits on this album probably, even the single Sadist is one of the most experimental tracks from this album.

Crystal Castles sounds just like this new Crystal Castles always sounded (pounding beats and screaming vocals). Electronic sounds that storms your brain even if you do not know what to do with them. Concrete is danceable, but blessed with the Alec Empire sound, so it will be hysterical noise for most. That is also true, but of the sublime kind. Do no doubt, buy the new Crystal Castles.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Bands die je achtervolgen, Crystal Castles is er zo een. Hoewel twee jaar geleden door het vertrek van Alice Glass de Canadese elektroband ten dode bleek opgeschreven, slaan Ethan Kath en Edith Frances met Amnesty(I) loeihard terug: een cd die op elektronicavlak wel eens de beste van dit jaar zou kunnen zijn.

Eigenlijk merk je het al bij de hoes. Een viertal meisjes zitten op een schommel, maar er is iets mis met hun. Hun blik doorboort je, dit zijn eerder kinderen die je in griezelfilms als The Omen aantreft. En zo voelt ook de muziek aan: akelig, composities waarvan je niet goed wordt, maar zo briljant dat ze verslavend worden.

Dat Amnesty (I) één van de donkerste cd’s van het jaar is geworden, hoor je meteen op de opener Femen waarin een kinderkoor je in de beangstigende, inktzwarte wereld van Crystal Castles binnenleidt, een plek waar iedere vorm van hoop wordt gewurgd door lugubere elektronische klanken.

De Canadezen willen respect, hun luisteraars naar een donkere plaats voeren. Een hit hebben ze niet nodig.
Soms duiken er wel clubgeluiden op zoals in het sublieme Frail of Char dat dicht aanleunt bij Kavinsky, maar het kan eveneens dark ambient worden zoals op Teach Her How To Unit. Geen kant-en-klare hitjes, ook niet de single Sadist die één van de meest experimentele tracks van deze plaat is.

Crystal Castles klinkt op deze nieuwe gewoon zoals Crystal Castles altijd klonk (beukende beats met schreeuwerige vocalen) zonder dat ze in herhaling vallen. Elektronische geluiden die je brein bestormen, ook al weet je niet meteen wat je er moet mee doen. Concrete is dansbaar, maar gezegend met de Alec Empire-stempel waardoor sommigen het op hysterische noise zullen houden. Dat is het ook, weliswaar van de sublieme soort. Niet twijfelen, de nieuwe Crystal Castles gewoon in huis halen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO