tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CRYSTAL CASTLES - Amnesty (I)

CRYSTAL CASTLES

Amnesty (I)

MusicCD
Electronics

[90/100]   

Fiction Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Bands that haunt you, Crystal Castles is one of them. Although two years ago, the Canadian electro band almost split up because of the departure of Alice Glass, Ethan Kath and Edith Frances strike back with Amnesty(I) which could well be one of this year’s best electronic CD’s.

Actually, you notice it on the cover. Four young girls on a swing, but there is something wrong with them. Their gaze pierces you, these are more the kind of kids you notice in horror films like The Omen. And so feels the music like: grim, compositions that make you uncomfortable, but so brilliant composed that they are addictive.

Amnesty (I) is one of the darkest albums of the year, you can hear that right away on the opener Femen on which a children's choir leads you the frightening dark world of Crystal Castles, a place in where every form of hope is strangled by lurid electronic sounds. The Canadians want respect, they want to carry their listeners to a dark place and they do not need a hit.

Sometimes you notice club sounds like on the sublime Frail or Char which comes close to Kavinsky, but it can also be dark ambient like Teach Her How To Unit. No hits on this album probably, even the single Sadist is one of the most experimental tracks from this album.

Crystal Castles sounds just like this new Crystal Castles always sounded (pounding beats and screaming vocals). Electronic sounds that storms your brain even if you do not know what to do with them. Concrete is danceable, but blessed with the Alec Empire sound, so it will be hysterical noise for most. That is also true, but of the sublime kind. Do no doubt, buy the new Crystal Castles.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Bands die je achtervolgen, Crystal Castles is er zo een. Hoewel twee jaar geleden door het vertrek van Alice Glass de Canadese elektroband ten dode bleek opgeschreven, slaan Ethan Kath en Edith Frances met Amnesty(I) loeihard terug: een cd die op elektronicavlak wel eens de beste van dit jaar zou kunnen zijn.

Eigenlijk merk je het al bij de hoes. Een viertal meisjes zitten op een schommel, maar er is iets mis met hun. Hun blik doorboort je, dit zijn eerder kinderen die je in griezelfilms als The Omen aantreft. En zo voelt ook de muziek aan: akelig, composities waarvan je niet goed wordt, maar zo briljant dat ze verslavend worden.

Dat Amnesty (I) één van de donkerste cd’s van het jaar is geworden, hoor je meteen op de opener Femen waarin een kinderkoor je in de beangstigende, inktzwarte wereld van Crystal Castles binnenleidt, een plek waar iedere vorm van hoop wordt gewurgd door lugubere elektronische klanken.

De Canadezen willen respect, hun luisteraars naar een donkere plaats voeren. Een hit hebben ze niet nodig.
Soms duiken er wel clubgeluiden op zoals in het sublieme Frail of Char dat dicht aanleunt bij Kavinsky, maar het kan eveneens dark ambient worden zoals op Teach Her How To Unit. Geen kant-en-klare hitjes, ook niet de single Sadist die één van de meest experimentele tracks van deze plaat is.

Crystal Castles klinkt op deze nieuwe gewoon zoals Crystal Castles altijd klonk (beukende beats met schreeuwerige vocalen) zonder dat ze in herhaling vallen. Elektronische geluiden die je brein bestormen, ook al weet je niet meteen wat je er moet mee doen. Concrete is dansbaar, maar gezegend met de Alec Empire-stempel waardoor sommigen het op hysterische noise zullen houden. Dat is het ook, weliswaar van de sublieme soort. Niet twijfelen, de nieuwe Crystal Castles gewoon in huis halen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED