tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE

Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Concert
JazzSoul 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

When the name Matt Bianco was announced to the bill of the 5th edition of Rijmrock it was like: hey? Hey! Matt Bianco, yes. When you were a youngster in the eighties you surely remember those great jazzpop albums Whose Side Are You On (1984) and Matt Bianco (1986), and the hits of course such as Yeh Yeh and Get Out Of Your Lazy Bed.

If you look at the discography singer Mark Reilly never really stopped releasing albums under the Matt Bianco-flag. I totally missed out on that.

Recently Mark Reilly joined hands with the dutch jazz ensemble New Cool Collective and the gentlemen recorded an album together last year. And now New Cool Collective & Reilly are touring the album, performing both songs from this relase and Matt Bianco-songs. That couldn't go wrong, could it?

Much brass, more brass, a lot of rhythm, big band swing jazz and Mark Reilly as perfect band leader and crooner. No, that didn't go wrong at all!

New Cool Collective & Reilly began their set with a very festive We Should Be Dancing. Appropiate although everyone on the front row already was dancing of course.

With the swing jazz music of this ensemble there was no escape: dance, dance! Soon enough almost the whole square was dancing their socks off.

Combining the new songs with Bianco-hits was a good move and made out a really good setlist. Yeh Yeh sounded almost as fresh as in 1986. I had almost forget about Whose Side Are You On. Topsong!
No Get Out Of You Lazy Bed nor More Than I Can Bear in the setlist but we got a great Don't Blame It On That Girl.

Reilly's voice has aged very well and sounded really good. The band grooved!

After the gig I saw many happy faces on Rijmrock. It remains to be seen wether both band and Reilly will go seperate ways again after this, new Matt Bianco, new New Cool Collective. Or maybe a second coming for this project? Who knows? But I'lld say: bring it on!

Setlist:
We Should Be Dancing / Never Give Up / Whose Side Are You On / Bring It On / Yeh Yeh / Do The Right Thing / Breaking Out / Don't Blame It on That Girl

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Toen Matt Bianco werd aangekondigd als naam op het vijfde Rijmrockfestival deed dat vast een belletje rinkelen bij wie jong was in de jaren '80. Of net niet, of een beetje? Feit is dat we sinds de geweldige albums Whose Side Are You On (1984) en Matt Bianco (1986) niet zo heel veel meer vernamen van zanger Mark Reilly en de zijnen, al wijst de discografie uit dat het project Matt Bianco nooit echt gestopt is. Alleszins, erg benieuwd dus naar Reilly's doortocht op Rijmrock.

Mark Reilly sloeg recent de handen in elkaar met het vermaarde Nederlandse Jazzensemble New Cool Collective, de heren namen samen een plaat op vorig jaar. Met die songs en enkele Matt Bianco-hits toeren ze nu. Het resultaat was zoals verhoopt kon worden: veel blazers, veel ritme, veel swing en nog meer swing. En Reilly ontpopte zich als uitstekende crooner en band leader.

Er werd feestelijk ingezet met het erg toepasselijke We Should Be Dancing. Maar dat was zowat de hele eerste rij al volop aan het doen op dat moment. De feestelijke muziek van het swingende gezelschap mikte dan ook ongegeneerd regelrecht naar die dansbeentjes. Het zou ook niet bij die eerste rij blijven.

De setlist was een mooie mix van het gezamenlijke album en Matt Bianco-classics. Yeh Yeh klonk nog erg fris, dat Whose Side Are You On ook van Bianco was, goh het zat vér. Topnummer, dat wel! Géén Get Out Of Your Lazy Bed noch More Than I Can Bear maar dan weer wel een geweldig Don't Blame It On That Girl.

Tijdens de korte regenbui bleven de meesten vrolijk verder dansen, een aantal zocht drogere oorden op, en zodra de bui over was, stond het plein weer goed vol.

Reilly goed bij stem, de band die het tot een geweldig groovend dansfestijn maakte, a match made in heaven. En het zorgde voor veel blije gezichten op Rijmrock. Nu is het afwachten wat band en vocalist verder zullen doen, een hernieuwde samenwerking, of opnieuw elk hun weg gaand, Reilly solo, of weer onder naam Matt Bianco. De tijd zal het uitwijzen. Voor mijn part alle formules; New Cool Collective + Reilly mag van mij zeker een vervolg krijgen...

Setlist:
We Should Be Dancing / Never Give Up / Whose Side Are You On / Bring It On / Yeh Yeh / Do The Right Thing / Breaking Out / Don't Blame It on That Girl

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day