tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE

Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Concert
JazzSoul 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

When the name Matt Bianco was announced to the bill of the 5th edition of Rijmrock it was like: hey? Hey! Matt Bianco, yes. When you were a youngster in the eighties you surely remember those great jazzpop albums Whose Side Are You On (1984) and Matt Bianco (1986), and the hits of course such as Yeh Yeh and Get Out Of Your Lazy Bed.

If you look at the discography singer Mark Reilly never really stopped releasing albums under the Matt Bianco-flag. I totally missed out on that.

Recently Mark Reilly joined hands with the dutch jazz ensemble New Cool Collective and the gentlemen recorded an album together last year. And now New Cool Collective & Reilly are touring the album, performing both songs from this relase and Matt Bianco-songs. That couldn't go wrong, could it?

Much brass, more brass, a lot of rhythm, big band swing jazz and Mark Reilly as perfect band leader and crooner. No, that didn't go wrong at all!

New Cool Collective & Reilly began their set with a very festive We Should Be Dancing. Appropiate although everyone on the front row already was dancing of course.

With the swing jazz music of this ensemble there was no escape: dance, dance! Soon enough almost the whole square was dancing their socks off.

Combining the new songs with Bianco-hits was a good move and made out a really good setlist. Yeh Yeh sounded almost as fresh as in 1986. I had almost forget about Whose Side Are You On. Topsong!
No Get Out Of You Lazy Bed nor More Than I Can Bear in the setlist but we got a great Don't Blame It On That Girl.

Reilly's voice has aged very well and sounded really good. The band grooved!

After the gig I saw many happy faces on Rijmrock. It remains to be seen wether both band and Reilly will go seperate ways again after this, new Matt Bianco, new New Cool Collective. Or maybe a second coming for this project? Who knows? But I'lld say: bring it on!

Setlist:
We Should Be Dancing / Never Give Up / Whose Side Are You On / Bring It On / Yeh Yeh / Do The Right Thing / Breaking Out / Don't Blame It on That Girl

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Toen Matt Bianco werd aangekondigd als naam op het vijfde Rijmrockfestival deed dat vast een belletje rinkelen bij wie jong was in de jaren '80. Of net niet, of een beetje? Feit is dat we sinds de geweldige albums Whose Side Are You On (1984) en Matt Bianco (1986) niet zo heel veel meer vernamen van zanger Mark Reilly en de zijnen, al wijst de discografie uit dat het project Matt Bianco nooit echt gestopt is. Alleszins, erg benieuwd dus naar Reilly's doortocht op Rijmrock.

Mark Reilly sloeg recent de handen in elkaar met het vermaarde Nederlandse Jazzensemble New Cool Collective, de heren namen samen een plaat op vorig jaar. Met die songs en enkele Matt Bianco-hits toeren ze nu. Het resultaat was zoals verhoopt kon worden: veel blazers, veel ritme, veel swing en nog meer swing. En Reilly ontpopte zich als uitstekende crooner en band leader.

Er werd feestelijk ingezet met het erg toepasselijke We Should Be Dancing. Maar dat was zowat de hele eerste rij al volop aan het doen op dat moment. De feestelijke muziek van het swingende gezelschap mikte dan ook ongegeneerd regelrecht naar die dansbeentjes. Het zou ook niet bij die eerste rij blijven.

De setlist was een mooie mix van het gezamenlijke album en Matt Bianco-classics. Yeh Yeh klonk nog erg fris, dat Whose Side Are You On ook van Bianco was, goh het zat vér. Topnummer, dat wel! Géén Get Out Of Your Lazy Bed noch More Than I Can Bear maar dan weer wel een geweldig Don't Blame It On That Girl.

Tijdens de korte regenbui bleven de meesten vrolijk verder dansen, een aantal zocht drogere oorden op, en zodra de bui over was, stond het plein weer goed vol.

Reilly goed bij stem, de band die het tot een geweldig groovend dansfestijn maakte, a match made in heaven. En het zorgde voor veel blije gezichten op Rijmrock. Nu is het afwachten wat band en vocalist verder zullen doen, een hernieuwde samenwerking, of opnieuw elk hun weg gaand, Reilly solo, of weer onder naam Matt Bianco. De tijd zal het uitwijzen. Voor mijn part alle formules; New Cool Collective + Reilly mag van mij zeker een vervolg krijgen...

Setlist:
We Should Be Dancing / Never Give Up / Whose Side Are You On / Bring It On / Yeh Yeh / Do The Right Thing / Breaking Out / Don't Blame It on That Girl

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless