tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE

Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Concert
JazzSoul 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

When the name Matt Bianco was announced to the bill of the 5th edition of Rijmrock it was like: hey? Hey! Matt Bianco, yes. When you were a youngster in the eighties you surely remember those great jazzpop albums Whose Side Are You On (1984) and Matt Bianco (1986), and the hits of course such as Yeh Yeh and Get Out Of Your Lazy Bed.

If you look at the discography singer Mark Reilly never really stopped releasing albums under the Matt Bianco-flag. I totally missed out on that.

Recently Mark Reilly joined hands with the dutch jazz ensemble New Cool Collective and the gentlemen recorded an album together last year. And now New Cool Collective & Reilly are touring the album, performing both songs from this relase and Matt Bianco-songs. That couldn't go wrong, could it?

Much brass, more brass, a lot of rhythm, big band swing jazz and Mark Reilly as perfect band leader and crooner. No, that didn't go wrong at all!

New Cool Collective & Reilly began their set with a very festive We Should Be Dancing. Appropiate although everyone on the front row already was dancing of course.

With the swing jazz music of this ensemble there was no escape: dance, dance! Soon enough almost the whole square was dancing their socks off.

Combining the new songs with Bianco-hits was a good move and made out a really good setlist. Yeh Yeh sounded almost as fresh as in 1986. I had almost forget about Whose Side Are You On. Topsong!
No Get Out Of You Lazy Bed nor More Than I Can Bear in the setlist but we got a great Don't Blame It On That Girl.

Reilly's voice has aged very well and sounded really good. The band grooved!

After the gig I saw many happy faces on Rijmrock. It remains to be seen wether both band and Reilly will go seperate ways again after this, new Matt Bianco, new New Cool Collective. Or maybe a second coming for this project? Who knows? But I'lld say: bring it on!

Setlist:
We Should Be Dancing / Never Give Up / Whose Side Are You On / Bring It On / Yeh Yeh / Do The Right Thing / Breaking Out / Don't Blame It on That Girl

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Toen Matt Bianco werd aangekondigd als naam op het vijfde Rijmrockfestival deed dat vast een belletje rinkelen bij wie jong was in de jaren '80. Of net niet, of een beetje? Feit is dat we sinds de geweldige albums Whose Side Are You On (1984) en Matt Bianco (1986) niet zo heel veel meer vernamen van zanger Mark Reilly en de zijnen, al wijst de discografie uit dat het project Matt Bianco nooit echt gestopt is. Alleszins, erg benieuwd dus naar Reilly's doortocht op Rijmrock.

Mark Reilly sloeg recent de handen in elkaar met het vermaarde Nederlandse Jazzensemble New Cool Collective, de heren namen samen een plaat op vorig jaar. Met die songs en enkele Matt Bianco-hits toeren ze nu. Het resultaat was zoals verhoopt kon worden: veel blazers, veel ritme, veel swing en nog meer swing. En Reilly ontpopte zich als uitstekende crooner en band leader.

Er werd feestelijk ingezet met het erg toepasselijke We Should Be Dancing. Maar dat was zowat de hele eerste rij al volop aan het doen op dat moment. De feestelijke muziek van het swingende gezelschap mikte dan ook ongegeneerd regelrecht naar die dansbeentjes. Het zou ook niet bij die eerste rij blijven.

De setlist was een mooie mix van het gezamenlijke album en Matt Bianco-classics. Yeh Yeh klonk nog erg fris, dat Whose Side Are You On ook van Bianco was, goh het zat vér. Topnummer, dat wel! Géén Get Out Of Your Lazy Bed noch More Than I Can Bear maar dan weer wel een geweldig Don't Blame It On That Girl.

Tijdens de korte regenbui bleven de meesten vrolijk verder dansen, een aantal zocht drogere oorden op, en zodra de bui over was, stond het plein weer goed vol.

Reilly goed bij stem, de band die het tot een geweldig groovend dansfestijn maakte, a match made in heaven. En het zorgde voor veel blije gezichten op Rijmrock. Nu is het afwachten wat band en vocalist verder zullen doen, een hernieuwde samenwerking, of opnieuw elk hun weg gaand, Reilly solo, of weer onder naam Matt Bianco. De tijd zal het uitwijzen. Voor mijn part alle formules; New Cool Collective + Reilly mag van mij zeker een vervolg krijgen...

Setlist:
We Should Be Dancing / Never Give Up / Whose Side Are You On / Bring It On / Yeh Yeh / Do The Right Thing / Breaking Out / Don't Blame It on That Girl

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
28
08
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge and Calgary Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden
14
09
HOLYGRAM
Signals