tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE

Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Concert
JazzSoul 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

When the name Matt Bianco was announced to the bill of the 5th edition of Rijmrock it was like: hey? Hey! Matt Bianco, yes. When you were a youngster in the eighties you surely remember those great jazzpop albums Whose Side Are You On (1984) and Matt Bianco (1986), and the hits of course such as Yeh Yeh and Get Out Of Your Lazy Bed.

If you look at the discography singer Mark Reilly never really stopped releasing albums under the Matt Bianco-flag. I totally missed out on that.

Recently Mark Reilly joined hands with the dutch jazz ensemble New Cool Collective and the gentlemen recorded an album together last year. And now New Cool Collective & Reilly are touring the album, performing both songs from this relase and Matt Bianco-songs. That couldn't go wrong, could it?

Much brass, more brass, a lot of rhythm, big band swing jazz and Mark Reilly as perfect band leader and crooner. No, that didn't go wrong at all!

New Cool Collective & Reilly began their set with a very festive We Should Be Dancing. Appropiate although everyone on the front row already was dancing of course.

With the swing jazz music of this ensemble there was no escape: dance, dance! Soon enough almost the whole square was dancing their socks off.

Combining the new songs with Bianco-hits was a good move and made out a really good setlist. Yeh Yeh sounded almost as fresh as in 1986. I had almost forget about Whose Side Are You On. Topsong!
No Get Out Of You Lazy Bed nor More Than I Can Bear in the setlist but we got a great Don't Blame It On That Girl.

Reilly's voice has aged very well and sounded really good. The band grooved!

After the gig I saw many happy faces on Rijmrock. It remains to be seen wether both band and Reilly will go seperate ways again after this, new Matt Bianco, new New Cool Collective. Or maybe a second coming for this project? Who knows? But I'lld say: bring it on!

Setlist:
We Should Be Dancing / Never Give Up / Whose Side Are You On / Bring It On / Yeh Yeh / Do The Right Thing / Breaking Out / Don't Blame It on That Girl

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Toen Matt Bianco werd aangekondigd als naam op het vijfde Rijmrockfestival deed dat vast een belletje rinkelen bij wie jong was in de jaren '80. Of net niet, of een beetje? Feit is dat we sinds de geweldige albums Whose Side Are You On (1984) en Matt Bianco (1986) niet zo heel veel meer vernamen van zanger Mark Reilly en de zijnen, al wijst de discografie uit dat het project Matt Bianco nooit echt gestopt is. Alleszins, erg benieuwd dus naar Reilly's doortocht op Rijmrock.

Mark Reilly sloeg recent de handen in elkaar met het vermaarde Nederlandse Jazzensemble New Cool Collective, de heren namen samen een plaat op vorig jaar. Met die songs en enkele Matt Bianco-hits toeren ze nu. Het resultaat was zoals verhoopt kon worden: veel blazers, veel ritme, veel swing en nog meer swing. En Reilly ontpopte zich als uitstekende crooner en band leader.

Er werd feestelijk ingezet met het erg toepasselijke We Should Be Dancing. Maar dat was zowat de hele eerste rij al volop aan het doen op dat moment. De feestelijke muziek van het swingende gezelschap mikte dan ook ongegeneerd regelrecht naar die dansbeentjes. Het zou ook niet bij die eerste rij blijven.

De setlist was een mooie mix van het gezamenlijke album en Matt Bianco-classics. Yeh Yeh klonk nog erg fris, dat Whose Side Are You On ook van Bianco was, goh het zat vér. Topnummer, dat wel! Géén Get Out Of Your Lazy Bed noch More Than I Can Bear maar dan weer wel een geweldig Don't Blame It On That Girl.

Tijdens de korte regenbui bleven de meesten vrolijk verder dansen, een aantal zocht drogere oorden op, en zodra de bui over was, stond het plein weer goed vol.

Reilly goed bij stem, de band die het tot een geweldig groovend dansfestijn maakte, a match made in heaven. En het zorgde voor veel blije gezichten op Rijmrock. Nu is het afwachten wat band en vocalist verder zullen doen, een hernieuwde samenwerking, of opnieuw elk hun weg gaand, Reilly solo, of weer onder naam Matt Bianco. De tijd zal het uitwijzen. Voor mijn part alle formules; New Cool Collective + Reilly mag van mij zeker een vervolg krijgen...

Setlist:
We Should Be Dancing / Never Give Up / Whose Side Are You On / Bring It On / Yeh Yeh / Do The Right Thing / Breaking Out / Don't Blame It on That Girl

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies