tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ODONIS ODONIS - Post Plague

ODONIS ODONIS

Post Plague

MusicCD
IndieIndustrialPost Punk

[86/100]   

Felte
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

This is my first encounter with Odonis Odonis, a Toronto based trio. Post Plague is the third album. It kicks of with pulsating bass lines that make you want to move. Metallic drums follow and several layers of synths build up atmosphere. Fearless is a great opening track and the anthemic Needs retains momentum. Vocally and with an 80’s sound, Odonis Odonis in a way reminds of the energetic early Goose records. Other bands that come to mind are Depeche Mode, Gary Numan and especially Nine Inch Nails and Ministry (in the synth pop days).

These Canadians impress with a powerful blend of electronics and industrial, enhanced with elements of noise, sci-fi soundtrack and post-punk. The album doesn’t bore a second with its multiple shifts in tempo and tone, sometimes even in one track. Pencils, with its layback trip hop sound, suddenly surprises you with abrasive noise. Game is a dreamful song that somehow reminds me of Clan Of Xymox. It is a mellow layback track, but the percussion remains strong. After this mournful song, the thumping Vanta Black follows – very into your face! Betrayal sounds delightfully unsettling.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Hoewel deze Post Plague reeds het derde album is, is het mijn eerste ontmoeting met Odonis Odonis, een trio uit Toronto. Het album start met pulserende baslijnen die me aan het bewegen brengen. Metaalachtige drumklanken volgen en veelgelaagde synths zorgen voor atmosfeer. Fearless doet wat een openingsnummer hoort te doen: onvervaard met de deur in huis vallen. Met het aanstekelijke Needs gaat Odonis Odonis op zijn elan door. Wegens de vocalen en een sound die aan de 80s refereert, doet het trio me denken aan de energieke Goose zoals we die kennen van de eerste albums. Andere artiesten die mij te binnen schieten zijn Depeche Mode en Gary Numan, maar vooral Nine Inch Nails en Ministry (in de synthpopdagen).

De Canadezen maken indruk met hun stevige mix van elektronica en industrial, opgesmukt met noise-, scifi-, soundtrack- en postpunk-elementen. Het album verveelt geen seconde met veelvuldige tempo- en stemmingswisselingen. Soms zelfs binnen één song. Pencils bijvoorbeeld, waarin de downtempo triphopklanken ingeruild worden voor bitsige noise. Game is een dromerige song die me op de één of andere manier aan Clan Of Xymox doet denken. Het is een rustige song maar de percussie blijft stevig. Na deze treurige track komt het pompende Vanta Black – zeer in your face! Betrayal klinkt heerlijk onrustbarend.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + INDUSTRIAL + POST PUNK
THE SOFT MOON • Deeper

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16