tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ODONIS ODONIS - Post Plague

ODONIS ODONIS

Post Plague

MusicCD
IndieIndustrialPost Punk

[86/100]   

Felte
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

This is my first encounter with Odonis Odonis, a Toronto based trio. Post Plague is the third album. It kicks of with pulsating bass lines that make you want to move. Metallic drums follow and several layers of synths build up atmosphere. Fearless is a great opening track and the anthemic Needs retains momentum. Vocally and with an 80’s sound, Odonis Odonis in a way reminds of the energetic early Goose records. Other bands that come to mind are Depeche Mode, Gary Numan and especially Nine Inch Nails and Ministry (in the synth pop days).

These Canadians impress with a powerful blend of electronics and industrial, enhanced with elements of noise, sci-fi soundtrack and post-punk. The album doesn’t bore a second with its multiple shifts in tempo and tone, sometimes even in one track. Pencils, with its layback trip hop sound, suddenly surprises you with abrasive noise. Game is a dreamful song that somehow reminds me of Clan Of Xymox. It is a mellow layback track, but the percussion remains strong. After this mournful song, the thumping Vanta Black follows – very into your face! Betrayal sounds delightfully unsettling.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Hoewel deze Post Plague reeds het derde album is, is het mijn eerste ontmoeting met Odonis Odonis, een trio uit Toronto. Het album start met pulserende baslijnen die me aan het bewegen brengen. Metaalachtige drumklanken volgen en veelgelaagde synths zorgen voor atmosfeer. Fearless doet wat een openingsnummer hoort te doen: onvervaard met de deur in huis vallen. Met het aanstekelijke Needs gaat Odonis Odonis op zijn elan door. Wegens de vocalen en een sound die aan de 80s refereert, doet het trio me denken aan de energieke Goose zoals we die kennen van de eerste albums. Andere artiesten die mij te binnen schieten zijn Depeche Mode en Gary Numan, maar vooral Nine Inch Nails en Ministry (in de synthpopdagen).

De Canadezen maken indruk met hun stevige mix van elektronica en industrial, opgesmukt met noise-, scifi-, soundtrack- en postpunk-elementen. Het album verveelt geen seconde met veelvuldige tempo- en stemmingswisselingen. Soms zelfs binnen één song. Pencils bijvoorbeeld, waarin de downtempo triphopklanken ingeruild worden voor bitsige noise. Game is een dromerige song die me op de één of andere manier aan Clan Of Xymox doet denken. Het is een rustige song maar de percussie blijft stevig. Na deze treurige track komt het pompende Vanta Black – zeer in your face! Betrayal klinkt heerlijk onrustbarend.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + INDUSTRIAL + POST PUNK
THE SOFT MOON • Deeper

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots