tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ODONIS ODONIS - Post Plague

ODONIS ODONIS

Post Plague

MusicCD
IndieIndustrialPost Punk

[86/100]   

Felte
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

This is my first encounter with Odonis Odonis, a Toronto based trio. Post Plague is the third album. It kicks of with pulsating bass lines that make you want to move. Metallic drums follow and several layers of synths build up atmosphere. Fearless is a great opening track and the anthemic Needs retains momentum. Vocally and with an 80’s sound, Odonis Odonis in a way reminds of the energetic early Goose records. Other bands that come to mind are Depeche Mode, Gary Numan and especially Nine Inch Nails and Ministry (in the synth pop days).

These Canadians impress with a powerful blend of electronics and industrial, enhanced with elements of noise, sci-fi soundtrack and post-punk. The album doesn’t bore a second with its multiple shifts in tempo and tone, sometimes even in one track. Pencils, with its layback trip hop sound, suddenly surprises you with abrasive noise. Game is a dreamful song that somehow reminds me of Clan Of Xymox. It is a mellow layback track, but the percussion remains strong. After this mournful song, the thumping Vanta Black follows – very into your face! Betrayal sounds delightfully unsettling.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Hoewel deze Post Plague reeds het derde album is, is het mijn eerste ontmoeting met Odonis Odonis, een trio uit Toronto. Het album start met pulserende baslijnen die me aan het bewegen brengen. Metaalachtige drumklanken volgen en veelgelaagde synths zorgen voor atmosfeer. Fearless doet wat een openingsnummer hoort te doen: onvervaard met de deur in huis vallen. Met het aanstekelijke Needs gaat Odonis Odonis op zijn elan door. Wegens de vocalen en een sound die aan de 80s refereert, doet het trio me denken aan de energieke Goose zoals we die kennen van de eerste albums. Andere artiesten die mij te binnen schieten zijn Depeche Mode en Gary Numan, maar vooral Nine Inch Nails en Ministry (in de synthpopdagen).

De Canadezen maken indruk met hun stevige mix van elektronica en industrial, opgesmukt met noise-, scifi-, soundtrack- en postpunk-elementen. Het album verveelt geen seconde met veelvuldige tempo- en stemmingswisselingen. Soms zelfs binnen één song. Pencils bijvoorbeeld, waarin de downtempo triphopklanken ingeruild worden voor bitsige noise. Game is een dromerige song die me op de één of andere manier aan Clan Of Xymox doet denken. Het is een rustige song maar de percussie blijft stevig. Na deze treurige track komt het pompende Vanta Black – zeer in your face! Betrayal klinkt heerlijk onrustbarend.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On