tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ODONIS ODONIS - Post Plague

ODONIS ODONIS

Post Plague

MusicCD
IndieIndustrialPost Punk

[86/100]   

Felte
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

This is my first encounter with Odonis Odonis, a Toronto based trio. Post Plague is the third album. It kicks of with pulsating bass lines that make you want to move. Metallic drums follow and several layers of synths build up atmosphere. Fearless is a great opening track and the anthemic Needs retains momentum. Vocally and with an 80’s sound, Odonis Odonis in a way reminds of the energetic early Goose records. Other bands that come to mind are Depeche Mode, Gary Numan and especially Nine Inch Nails and Ministry (in the synth pop days).

These Canadians impress with a powerful blend of electronics and industrial, enhanced with elements of noise, sci-fi soundtrack and post-punk. The album doesn’t bore a second with its multiple shifts in tempo and tone, sometimes even in one track. Pencils, with its layback trip hop sound, suddenly surprises you with abrasive noise. Game is a dreamful song that somehow reminds me of Clan Of Xymox. It is a mellow layback track, but the percussion remains strong. After this mournful song, the thumping Vanta Black follows – very into your face! Betrayal sounds delightfully unsettling.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Hoewel deze Post Plague reeds het derde album is, is het mijn eerste ontmoeting met Odonis Odonis, een trio uit Toronto. Het album start met pulserende baslijnen die me aan het bewegen brengen. Metaalachtige drumklanken volgen en veelgelaagde synths zorgen voor atmosfeer. Fearless doet wat een openingsnummer hoort te doen: onvervaard met de deur in huis vallen. Met het aanstekelijke Needs gaat Odonis Odonis op zijn elan door. Wegens de vocalen en een sound die aan de 80s refereert, doet het trio me denken aan de energieke Goose zoals we die kennen van de eerste albums. Andere artiesten die mij te binnen schieten zijn Depeche Mode en Gary Numan, maar vooral Nine Inch Nails en Ministry (in de synthpopdagen).

De Canadezen maken indruk met hun stevige mix van elektronica en industrial, opgesmukt met noise-, scifi-, soundtrack- en postpunk-elementen. Het album verveelt geen seconde met veelvuldige tempo- en stemmingswisselingen. Soms zelfs binnen één song. Pencils bijvoorbeeld, waarin de downtempo triphopklanken ingeruild worden voor bitsige noise. Game is een dromerige song die me op de één of andere manier aan Clan Of Xymox doet denken. Het is een rustige song maar de percussie blijft stevig. Na deze treurige track komt het pompende Vanta Black – zeer in your face! Betrayal klinkt heerlijk onrustbarend.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)