tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ODONIS ODONIS - Post Plague

ODONIS ODONIS

Post Plague

MusicCD
IndieIndustrialPost Punk

[86/100]   

Felte
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

This is my first encounter with Odonis Odonis, a Toronto based trio. Post Plague is the third album. It kicks of with pulsating bass lines that make you want to move. Metallic drums follow and several layers of synths build up atmosphere. Fearless is a great opening track and the anthemic Needs retains momentum. Vocally and with an 80’s sound, Odonis Odonis in a way reminds of the energetic early Goose records. Other bands that come to mind are Depeche Mode, Gary Numan and especially Nine Inch Nails and Ministry (in the synth pop days).

These Canadians impress with a powerful blend of electronics and industrial, enhanced with elements of noise, sci-fi soundtrack and post-punk. The album doesn’t bore a second with its multiple shifts in tempo and tone, sometimes even in one track. Pencils, with its layback trip hop sound, suddenly surprises you with abrasive noise. Game is a dreamful song that somehow reminds me of Clan Of Xymox. It is a mellow layback track, but the percussion remains strong. After this mournful song, the thumping Vanta Black follows – very into your face! Betrayal sounds delightfully unsettling.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Hoewel deze Post Plague reeds het derde album is, is het mijn eerste ontmoeting met Odonis Odonis, een trio uit Toronto. Het album start met pulserende baslijnen die me aan het bewegen brengen. Metaalachtige drumklanken volgen en veelgelaagde synths zorgen voor atmosfeer. Fearless doet wat een openingsnummer hoort te doen: onvervaard met de deur in huis vallen. Met het aanstekelijke Needs gaat Odonis Odonis op zijn elan door. Wegens de vocalen en een sound die aan de 80s refereert, doet het trio me denken aan de energieke Goose zoals we die kennen van de eerste albums. Andere artiesten die mij te binnen schieten zijn Depeche Mode en Gary Numan, maar vooral Nine Inch Nails en Ministry (in de synthpopdagen).

De Canadezen maken indruk met hun stevige mix van elektronica en industrial, opgesmukt met noise-, scifi-, soundtrack- en postpunk-elementen. Het album verveelt geen seconde met veelvuldige tempo- en stemmingswisselingen. Soms zelfs binnen één song. Pencils bijvoorbeeld, waarin de downtempo triphopklanken ingeruild worden voor bitsige noise. Game is een dromerige song die me op de één of andere manier aan Clan Of Xymox doet denken. Het is een rustige song maar de percussie blijft stevig. Na deze treurige track komt het pompende Vanta Black – zeer in your face! Betrayal klinkt heerlijk onrustbarend.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + INDUSTRIAL + POST PUNK
THE SOFT MOON • Deeper

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel