tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : M IS WE - Feels Like Five Days

M IS WE

Feels Like Five Days

MusicCD (EP)
Indie RockPost Punk

[80/100]   

Silber Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Silber Records still clings to its 5x5 ep promos: an EP with five minutes music of one band for familiarization. Sometimes this leads to nice EP that grabs our attention and curiosity, which is the intent of these promos off course.

M is We is a band led by the American Michael Wood. The music is a kind of lo-fi post-punk and indie rock in the style of bands like The Pixies, Ride, The Fall... You understand that something like that will sound like... well... music to our ears. And indeed we hear five Impressions that make us yearn for more. From the experimental and weird opener Three Hour Wait, 30 Second Ride to the more Pixies-rocker Tired and you would swear that Kim Deal is playing the bass.

Princess Frown is an unadulterated punk scream trying to kick stand. Okay, it's all lo-fi, but it has a heart and a soul. And is that not the foundation for good music?

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Silber Records houdt nog steeds vast aan zijn 5x5 ep-promo’s: een ep met vijf maal een minuut muziek van één band ter kennismaking. Soms levert dat een leuke ep op die de nieuwsgierigheid naar meer aanwakkert. Wat tevens het opzet is van die promo’s natuurlijk.

Zo ook bij M is We, een gezelschap dat geleid wordt door de Amerikaan Michael Wood. De muziek is een soort van lo-fi post-punk of indierock in de stijl van bands zoals The Pixies, Ride, The Fall... U begrijpt dat zoiets als… nou ja… muziek in onze oren klinkt. En inderdaad vijf maal krijgen we hier impressies dat ons doen verlangen naar meer. Van de experimentele en weirde opener Three Hour Wait, 30 Second Ride tot de meer Pixiaanse rocker Tired, waarvan je zou zweren dat Kim Deal aan de bass staat.

Princess Frown is een onvervalste punkkreet die probeert keet te schoppen. OK, het is allemaal lo-fi opgenomen, maar het bezit een hart en een ziel. En is dat niet het fundament van goeie muziek?

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT • Adcbep1
CHROM • Peak And Decay
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
TWO GALLANTS • We Are Undone
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
THE PUSSYBATS • Pussypussybangbang

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat
KEEP BREATHING • Call of Youth

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning