tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : M IS WE - Feels Like Five Days

M IS WE

Feels Like Five Days

MusicCD (EP)
Indie RockPost Punk

[80/100]   

Silber Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Silber Records still clings to its 5x5 ep promos: an EP with five minutes music of one band for familiarization. Sometimes this leads to nice EP that grabs our attention and curiosity, which is the intent of these promos off course.

M is We is a band led by the American Michael Wood. The music is a kind of lo-fi post-punk and indie rock in the style of bands like The Pixies, Ride, The Fall... You understand that something like that will sound like... well... music to our ears. And indeed we hear five Impressions that make us yearn for more. From the experimental and weird opener Three Hour Wait, 30 Second Ride to the more Pixies-rocker Tired and you would swear that Kim Deal is playing the bass.

Princess Frown is an unadulterated punk scream trying to kick stand. Okay, it's all lo-fi, but it has a heart and a soul. And is that not the foundation for good music?

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Silber Records houdt nog steeds vast aan zijn 5x5 ep-promo’s: een ep met vijf maal een minuut muziek van één band ter kennismaking. Soms levert dat een leuke ep op die de nieuwsgierigheid naar meer aanwakkert. Wat tevens het opzet is van die promo’s natuurlijk.

Zo ook bij M is We, een gezelschap dat geleid wordt door de Amerikaan Michael Wood. De muziek is een soort van lo-fi post-punk of indierock in de stijl van bands zoals The Pixies, Ride, The Fall... U begrijpt dat zoiets als… nou ja… muziek in onze oren klinkt. En inderdaad vijf maal krijgen we hier impressies dat ons doen verlangen naar meer. Van de experimentele en weirde opener Three Hour Wait, 30 Second Ride tot de meer Pixiaanse rocker Tired, waarvan je zou zweren dat Kim Deal aan de bass staat.

Princess Frown is een onvervalste punkkreet die probeert keet te schoppen. OK, het is allemaal lo-fi opgenomen, maar het bezit een hart en een ziel. En is dat niet het fundament van goeie muziek?

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT • Adcbep1
CHROM • Peak And Decay
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
TWO GALLANTS • We Are Undone
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
ASTRASONIC • Passengers

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams