tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West

MAIDAVALE

Tales of the Wicked West

MusicCD
PsychedelicRock

[85/100]   

The Sign Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the debut of the four-piece psychedelic rock band MaidaVale, solely consisting of women. That may not be spectacular news, but it must be said that they have made a strong debut.

They start with a delicious wah-wah guitar riff that keeps rocking through the rest of the song and in the chorus they use a fine oneliner: If You want the Smoke, be the Fire. We hear a genuine and pleasant rock vocalist. The statement is made and the bar is set at a pretty nice height, which they maintain during the entire album. Truth-Lies is nothing more than a stylish interlude of one minute and a half. But we hear eight valiant tracks and the ten-minute long closing ttrack Heaven and Earth, a great instrumental epic with a melancholic and long drawn out intro that takes you to the end of the album. Stunning.

Also recommended: The Greatest Story Ever Told (wonderfully pliant rocker), Restless Wanderer (soaked in a blues sauce) and Find What You Love And Let It Kill You (I can see it in front of me on a big festival stage).

If we can call Beth Hart as a reference for gospel/rock, then we can say the same of MaidaVale for tinged psychedelic rock. They sound authentic and organic, with a rhythm section that, without massive attack, rolls out the carpet for very fine guitar work. A strong debut that reverberates.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het debuut van de vierkoppige psychedelische rockband MaidaVale, die enkel uit vrouwelijke leden bestaat. Op zich natuurlijk geen wereldnieuws, maar het moet gezegd dat ze een sterk debuut hebben gemaakt.

Ze openen met een heerlijke wahwah-gitaarriff die doorrockt in de rest van de song en in het refrein gebruiken ze een fijne oneliner: If You want the Smoke, be the Fire. We horen hier een echte en aangename rockvocaliste. De toon is gezet en de lat ligt meteen op een vrij aardige hoogte, wat ze het gehele album lang weten aan te houden. Truth-Lies is eigenlijk niets meer dan een sfeerrijk tussenstukje van anderhalve minuut. Daarna horen we acht kloeke tracks en de tien minuten durende afsluiter Heaven and Earth, een geweldig instrumentale epos met een melancholisch intro dat lang uitgesponnen wordt en je meeneemt naar het einde van het album. Schitterend.

Aanraders zijn ook: The Greatest Story Ever Told (heerlijk meegaande rocker), Restless Wanderer (in een bluesrocksausje gedrenkt) en Find What You Love and Let it Kill You (zie ik zo voor me op een groot festivalpodium).

Als we Beth Hart als een referentie voor gospel en rock mogen noemen, dan noermen we MaidaVale voor psychedelisch getinte rock. Ze klinken authentiek en organisch,met een ritmesectie die, zonder enorm op te vallen, de loper uitrolt voor het heel fijne gitaarwerk. Een sterk debuut dat nog even blijft nazinderen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West 11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall