tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West

MAIDAVALE

Tales of the Wicked West

MusicCD
PsychedelicRock

[85/100]   

The Sign Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the debut of the four-piece psychedelic rock band MaidaVale, solely consisting of women. That may not be spectacular news, but it must be said that they have made a strong debut.

They start with a delicious wah-wah guitar riff that keeps rocking through the rest of the song and in the chorus they use a fine oneliner: If You want the Smoke, be the Fire. We hear a genuine and pleasant rock vocalist. The statement is made and the bar is set at a pretty nice height, which they maintain during the entire album. Truth-Lies is nothing more than a stylish interlude of one minute and a half. But we hear eight valiant tracks and the ten-minute long closing ttrack Heaven and Earth, a great instrumental epic with a melancholic and long drawn out intro that takes you to the end of the album. Stunning.

Also recommended: The Greatest Story Ever Told (wonderfully pliant rocker), Restless Wanderer (soaked in a blues sauce) and Find What You Love And Let It Kill You (I can see it in front of me on a big festival stage).

If we can call Beth Hart as a reference for gospel/rock, then we can say the same of MaidaVale for tinged psychedelic rock. They sound authentic and organic, with a rhythm section that, without massive attack, rolls out the carpet for very fine guitar work. A strong debut that reverberates.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het debuut van de vierkoppige psychedelische rockband MaidaVale, die enkel uit vrouwelijke leden bestaat. Op zich natuurlijk geen wereldnieuws, maar het moet gezegd dat ze een sterk debuut hebben gemaakt.

Ze openen met een heerlijke wahwah-gitaarriff die doorrockt in de rest van de song en in het refrein gebruiken ze een fijne oneliner: If You want the Smoke, be the Fire. We horen hier een echte en aangename rockvocaliste. De toon is gezet en de lat ligt meteen op een vrij aardige hoogte, wat ze het gehele album lang weten aan te houden. Truth-Lies is eigenlijk niets meer dan een sfeerrijk tussenstukje van anderhalve minuut. Daarna horen we acht kloeke tracks en de tien minuten durende afsluiter Heaven and Earth, een geweldig instrumentale epos met een melancholisch intro dat lang uitgesponnen wordt en je meeneemt naar het einde van het album. Schitterend.

Aanraders zijn ook: The Greatest Story Ever Told (heerlijk meegaande rocker), Restless Wanderer (in een bluesrocksausje gedrenkt) en Find What You Love and Let it Kill You (zie ik zo voor me op een groot festivalpodium).

Als we Beth Hart als een referentie voor gospel en rock mogen noemen, dan noermen we MaidaVale voor psychedelisch getinte rock. Ze klinken authentiek en organisch,met een ritmesectie die, zonder enorm op te vallen, de loper uitrolt voor het heel fijne gitaarwerk. Een sterk debuut dat nog even blijft nazinderen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West 11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.