tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West

MAIDAVALE

Tales of the Wicked West

MusicCD
PsychedelicRock

[85/100]   

The Sign Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the debut of the four-piece psychedelic rock band MaidaVale, solely consisting of women. That may not be spectacular news, but it must be said that they have made a strong debut.

They start with a delicious wah-wah guitar riff that keeps rocking through the rest of the song and in the chorus they use a fine oneliner: If You want the Smoke, be the Fire. We hear a genuine and pleasant rock vocalist. The statement is made and the bar is set at a pretty nice height, which they maintain during the entire album. Truth-Lies is nothing more than a stylish interlude of one minute and a half. But we hear eight valiant tracks and the ten-minute long closing ttrack Heaven and Earth, a great instrumental epic with a melancholic and long drawn out intro that takes you to the end of the album. Stunning.

Also recommended: The Greatest Story Ever Told (wonderfully pliant rocker), Restless Wanderer (soaked in a blues sauce) and Find What You Love And Let It Kill You (I can see it in front of me on a big festival stage).

If we can call Beth Hart as a reference for gospel/rock, then we can say the same of MaidaVale for tinged psychedelic rock. They sound authentic and organic, with a rhythm section that, without massive attack, rolls out the carpet for very fine guitar work. A strong debut that reverberates.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het debuut van de vierkoppige psychedelische rockband MaidaVale, die enkel uit vrouwelijke leden bestaat. Op zich natuurlijk geen wereldnieuws, maar het moet gezegd dat ze een sterk debuut hebben gemaakt.

Ze openen met een heerlijke wahwah-gitaarriff die doorrockt in de rest van de song en in het refrein gebruiken ze een fijne oneliner: If You want the Smoke, be the Fire. We horen hier een echte en aangename rockvocaliste. De toon is gezet en de lat ligt meteen op een vrij aardige hoogte, wat ze het gehele album lang weten aan te houden. Truth-Lies is eigenlijk niets meer dan een sfeerrijk tussenstukje van anderhalve minuut. Daarna horen we acht kloeke tracks en de tien minuten durende afsluiter Heaven and Earth, een geweldig instrumentale epos met een melancholisch intro dat lang uitgesponnen wordt en je meeneemt naar het einde van het album. Schitterend.

Aanraders zijn ook: The Greatest Story Ever Told (heerlijk meegaande rocker), Restless Wanderer (in een bluesrocksausje gedrenkt) en Find What You Love and Let it Kill You (zie ik zo voor me op een groot festivalpodium).

Als we Beth Hart als een referentie voor gospel en rock mogen noemen, dan noermen we MaidaVale voor psychedelisch getinte rock. Ze klinken authentiek en organisch,met een ritmesectie die, zonder enorm op te vallen, de loper uitrolt voor het heel fijne gitaarwerk. Een sterk debuut dat nog even blijft nazinderen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West 11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!
10
04
THRILLSVILLE Releases Dark Electronic Single, 'Second Sleep'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday
15
04
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)