tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West

MAIDAVALE

Tales of the Wicked West

MusicCD
PsychedelicRock

[85/100]   

The Sign Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the debut of the four-piece psychedelic rock band MaidaVale, solely consisting of women. That may not be spectacular news, but it must be said that they have made a strong debut.

They start with a delicious wah-wah guitar riff that keeps rocking through the rest of the song and in the chorus they use a fine oneliner: If You want the Smoke, be the Fire. We hear a genuine and pleasant rock vocalist. The statement is made and the bar is set at a pretty nice height, which they maintain during the entire album. Truth-Lies is nothing more than a stylish interlude of one minute and a half. But we hear eight valiant tracks and the ten-minute long closing ttrack Heaven and Earth, a great instrumental epic with a melancholic and long drawn out intro that takes you to the end of the album. Stunning.

Also recommended: The Greatest Story Ever Told (wonderfully pliant rocker), Restless Wanderer (soaked in a blues sauce) and Find What You Love And Let It Kill You (I can see it in front of me on a big festival stage).

If we can call Beth Hart as a reference for gospel/rock, then we can say the same of MaidaVale for tinged psychedelic rock. They sound authentic and organic, with a rhythm section that, without massive attack, rolls out the carpet for very fine guitar work. A strong debut that reverberates.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het debuut van de vierkoppige psychedelische rockband MaidaVale, die enkel uit vrouwelijke leden bestaat. Op zich natuurlijk geen wereldnieuws, maar het moet gezegd dat ze een sterk debuut hebben gemaakt.

Ze openen met een heerlijke wahwah-gitaarriff die doorrockt in de rest van de song en in het refrein gebruiken ze een fijne oneliner: If You want the Smoke, be the Fire. We horen hier een echte en aangename rockvocaliste. De toon is gezet en de lat ligt meteen op een vrij aardige hoogte, wat ze het gehele album lang weten aan te houden. Truth-Lies is eigenlijk niets meer dan een sfeerrijk tussenstukje van anderhalve minuut. Daarna horen we acht kloeke tracks en de tien minuten durende afsluiter Heaven and Earth, een geweldig instrumentale epos met een melancholisch intro dat lang uitgesponnen wordt en je meeneemt naar het einde van het album. Schitterend.

Aanraders zijn ook: The Greatest Story Ever Told (heerlijk meegaande rocker), Restless Wanderer (in een bluesrocksausje gedrenkt) en Find What You Love and Let it Kill You (zie ik zo voor me op een groot festivalpodium).

Als we Beth Hart als een referentie voor gospel en rock mogen noemen, dan noermen we MaidaVale voor psychedelisch getinte rock. Ze klinken authentiek en organisch,met een ritmesectie die, zonder enorm op te vallen, de loper uitrolt voor het heel fijne gitaarwerk. Een sterk debuut dat nog even blijft nazinderen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West 11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life