tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West

MAIDAVALE

Tales of the Wicked West

MusicCD
PsychedelicRock

[85/100]   

The Sign Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the debut of the four-piece psychedelic rock band MaidaVale, solely consisting of women. That may not be spectacular news, but it must be said that they have made a strong debut.

They start with a delicious wah-wah guitar riff that keeps rocking through the rest of the song and in the chorus they use a fine oneliner: If You want the Smoke, be the Fire. We hear a genuine and pleasant rock vocalist. The statement is made and the bar is set at a pretty nice height, which they maintain during the entire album. Truth-Lies is nothing more than a stylish interlude of one minute and a half. But we hear eight valiant tracks and the ten-minute long closing ttrack Heaven and Earth, a great instrumental epic with a melancholic and long drawn out intro that takes you to the end of the album. Stunning.

Also recommended: The Greatest Story Ever Told (wonderfully pliant rocker), Restless Wanderer (soaked in a blues sauce) and Find What You Love And Let It Kill You (I can see it in front of me on a big festival stage).

If we can call Beth Hart as a reference for gospel/rock, then we can say the same of MaidaVale for tinged psychedelic rock. They sound authentic and organic, with a rhythm section that, without massive attack, rolls out the carpet for very fine guitar work. A strong debut that reverberates.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het debuut van de vierkoppige psychedelische rockband MaidaVale, die enkel uit vrouwelijke leden bestaat. Op zich natuurlijk geen wereldnieuws, maar het moet gezegd dat ze een sterk debuut hebben gemaakt.

Ze openen met een heerlijke wahwah-gitaarriff die doorrockt in de rest van de song en in het refrein gebruiken ze een fijne oneliner: If You want the Smoke, be the Fire. We horen hier een echte en aangename rockvocaliste. De toon is gezet en de lat ligt meteen op een vrij aardige hoogte, wat ze het gehele album lang weten aan te houden. Truth-Lies is eigenlijk niets meer dan een sfeerrijk tussenstukje van anderhalve minuut. Daarna horen we acht kloeke tracks en de tien minuten durende afsluiter Heaven and Earth, een geweldig instrumentale epos met een melancholisch intro dat lang uitgesponnen wordt en je meeneemt naar het einde van het album. Schitterend.

Aanraders zijn ook: The Greatest Story Ever Told (heerlijk meegaande rocker), Restless Wanderer (in een bluesrocksausje gedrenkt) en Find What You Love and Let it Kill You (zie ik zo voor me op een groot festivalpodium).

Als we Beth Hart als een referentie voor gospel en rock mogen noemen, dan noermen we MaidaVale voor psychedelisch getinte rock. Ze klinken authentiek en organisch,met een ritmesectie die, zonder enorm op te vallen, de loper uitrolt voor het heel fijne gitaarwerk. Een sterk debuut dat nog even blijft nazinderen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West 11/12/2016 : MAIDAVALE - Tales of the Wicked West

 

Next reviews
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
IAN REVELL (DOUBLE EYELID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: PSYCHEDELIC + ROCK
(((S))) • Carcrash
(((S))) • Welcome to the Heartland
THE KINKS • Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
PROCOL HARUM • Procol Harum
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
KITCHEN OF INSANITY • Live In Ghent 1991

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day