tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

10/07/2014 : KITCHEN OF INSANITY - Live In Ghent 1991

KITCHEN OF INSANITY

Live In Ghent 1991

MusicVinyl
PsychedelicRock

[80/100]   

Starman Records
10/07/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Kitchen of Insanity, Live in Ghent 1991

Kitchen of Insanity was once described as one of the most promising bands from Belgium. In 1990 they played the final of Humo’s Rock Rally, perhaps the most important contest for young bands in Belgium. After finishing second place, they were ready to kick ass, and many gigs in Belgium, Holland and Germany followed.

This live recording is previously unreleased, and is made by Belgian radio in February 1991. The tapes were found in dusty archives, and sound surprisingly good. ‘Live in Ghent’ gives us a nice impression of what this band was capable of in those days, and offers an excellent anthology, including two never recorded covers from The Doors and John Cale.

This band’s style is a mixture of dark-blues, psychedelic and sixties pop, and can be compared with Nick Cave or Scott Walker. The intensive guitar is fitted with the emotional singing, and piano, bass and drum make the most songs to a perfect harmony.

Most tracks have a very big influence from The Doors, tracks like ‘ I m In Trouble’ or ‘Time’ show us why they were called once the country’s most promising band in the early 90’s. Upon hearing these tracks, they are often linked to Jim Morrison, with as highlight the Doors cover ‘Soul Kitchen’. Personal favorites are ‘Ghosts Of Feeling’, a kind of bluesy track with big John Cale influences, and ‘Memories’, a track that reminds me at the early Echo And The Bunnymen sound.

Sadly musical differences, harsh opinions, and a chaotic management made an end to this band. But thanks to Starman Records we now can enjoy one of Belgium’s greatest lost bands again on vinyl

Peter HESELMANS
10/07/2014


Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017