tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

10/07/2014 : KITCHEN OF INSANITY - Live In Ghent 1991

KITCHEN OF INSANITY

Live In Ghent 1991

MusicVinyl
PsychedelicRock

[80/100]   

Starman Records
10/07/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Kitchen of Insanity, Live in Ghent 1991

Kitchen of Insanity was once described as one of the most promising bands from Belgium. In 1990 they played the final of Humo’s Rock Rally, perhaps the most important contest for young bands in Belgium. After finishing second place, they were ready to kick ass, and many gigs in Belgium, Holland and Germany followed.

This live recording is previously unreleased, and is made by Belgian radio in February 1991. The tapes were found in dusty archives, and sound surprisingly good. ‘Live in Ghent’ gives us a nice impression of what this band was capable of in those days, and offers an excellent anthology, including two never recorded covers from The Doors and John Cale.

This band’s style is a mixture of dark-blues, psychedelic and sixties pop, and can be compared with Nick Cave or Scott Walker. The intensive guitar is fitted with the emotional singing, and piano, bass and drum make the most songs to a perfect harmony.

Most tracks have a very big influence from The Doors, tracks like ‘ I m In Trouble’ or ‘Time’ show us why they were called once the country’s most promising band in the early 90’s. Upon hearing these tracks, they are often linked to Jim Morrison, with as highlight the Doors cover ‘Soul Kitchen’. Personal favorites are ‘Ghosts Of Feeling’, a kind of bluesy track with big John Cale influences, and ‘Memories’, a track that reminds me at the early Echo And The Bunnymen sound.

Sadly musical differences, harsh opinions, and a chaotic management made an end to this band. But thanks to Starman Records we now can enjoy one of Belgium’s greatest lost bands again on vinyl

Peter HESELMANS
10/07/2014


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu