tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/07/2014 : DEVIL-M - Revenge of the Antichrist

DEVIL-M

Revenge of the Antichrist

MusicCD
Electro RockElectropunkHellelectroHorror PunkIndustrial MetalIndustrial RockRhythmic Industrial

[35/100]   

Meth Media / Dark Dimensions
10/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

16 tracks for this unknown one. It is their debut album! A fast listening to the first tracks made me start to review it...

"Devil-M" is from Germany: four young people who toured with Centhron, Nachtblut, Grausame Töchter, Schock and many more. This year they will tour with Centhron through Europe and on festivals like the Wave Gothik Treffen (WGT).

It starts with a mix of the old school Das Ich versus Funker Vogt and Marilyn Manson: the voice, the guitars, the electronics, the sound as if Gods are participating. So far 'Rising'. More into war terms is 'Apokrypha', the typical screaming for blood voice from the old school Funker Vogt, the holy gods who are whispering for more, the firing up electronics, the beats, the guitars... They listened to a lot of our common heroes. The artwork is all very inspired by Marilyn Manson. 'Astharat' goes on the same way. Nice beats, a bit inspired by Nine Inch Nails 'Closer'! 'Scabbed Angel' uses nice rhythmic industrial and dubstep elements; it could be a real clubber if fired up to the maximum level! More beats versus guitars comes with 'Rebirth', but I don't know what happened to the first vocals, they sounded a bit out of tune.

Luckily they get better, but it doesn't sound very original. Could the old school Project Picthfork be remixed by Funker Vogt? The addition of the female voice is nice. More into Marilyn Manson is 'From Birth to Death'. The second voice keeps me thinking of Funker Vogt. The screaming is a nice adding, so is the angel with scabbed wings... Could his royal darkness listen to this one and give it a note? Does our dark angel care if one tried to copy and kill him? Well, there was a day on which Trent Reznor started teaching him things, before he tried to kill him in an unfair fight... It isn't a 'Good way of Dying'. This song start to bore me pretty fast. Where is this track going to? Nice guitars, but why this lame start and the bad vocals? They fuck up this song. I think the antichrist laughs with this one! I must admit his first one was much about cake and sodomy and his second CD made him almost become an immortal... so I keep on working myself through this one... '

Revenge of the Anthichrist Pt.1' has some real death metal drums in it. The sacred sound from the synths try to fight against them. The vocals fight with each other and in between I discover a great electro minded feel. I also hear that they try to put some pathos into the game... Question is: do I believe in it? Somehow I prefer what Herrschaft did. Part 2 was a bit better, but still. Into slow break beats is 'Love is not available'. There is even a piano in it. Working on the same vibe is 'Garden of Eden', but I heard better bands on this one like for example the French band April. 'I am God' is an insult to fans of April and co! The women who sings this needed some electronic (it's called 'Auto-Tune' and even the richest stars use it, so no shame if you have almost no vocal talent genre Britney Spears) help to make her voice sound better, the sound of the music is simply stolen from my French heroes! In an arena fight it would be very clear who would lose! One hit is enough to crush them. Give this track to the right band and the outcome would be really divine instead of a bad copy. 'Harmful Scab' is another copy, back to Marilyn Manson mixed with some beats. It feels like a filler as the song doesn't get further than the warming up. Yes, this was the last track of the regular CD!

3 remixes follow. First one by Centhron 'Apokrypha'. It feels already a bit better than the original, maybe that should point them out how to do it for the next one? I barely hear the vocals on 'Siddharta Gautama (Blackes Ligh Remix)'. It doesn't sound very original and is not fired up as it should be! Where is the passion of evil doing in this one? 'Rebirth (Grausame Töchter Remix)' is clearly the proof that it is really hard to remodel something without a strong base, but at least this one is better than the original. After that I can stop the music with the feeling that it's finally done!

Well: I give zero points for the cd. The remixes get the score up to 35. I hope they learn and deliver their own sound on their next release!

To be very straight with you all: this is an insult to my heroes, a bad copycat! Kids, don't do this: Find your own path or get killed in the arena! Il doctore has spoken!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
10/07/2014


 

Next reviews
ADAN & ILSE • Birds fall from heaven
NOAM MURRO • 300-Rise Of An Empire
RICHARD LESTER • A Hard Day's Night
FRANCK KHALFOUN • Maniac
THE GRAPHIC UK • Nothing's Wrong EP
JEAN-PIERRE MELVILLE • Le samouraï
JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD • Arretêz-moi
TOM GORMICAN • That Akward Moment
VOLKER SCHLONDORFF • Diplomatie
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
APHEX TWIN • Syro
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
COCKSURE • KKEP

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition

 

Same genre: HORROR PUNK
BRIAN JAMES • The Guitar That Dripped Blood
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
ALIASING • Spell Rising
MOVIE STAR JUNKIES • Evil Moods
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
BLITZKID • Apparitional
KITTY IN A CASKET • Back To Thrill
MADAME B • Psalm 37.29

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL METAL
OST+FRONT • Adrenalin
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
TORQUE ORDER • Metal Machines
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
3TEETH • 3TEETH
HEARTLAY • Remedy (EP)
HACKING THE WAVE • Circuit Breakers

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
FILTER • Crazy Eyes
ONMENS • Witruimte
IRIS VON GUL • Iris Von Gul
SEPTEMBER MOURNING • Volume 1
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP

 

Same genre: RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
DISTEL • Puur
CERVELLO ELETTRONICO • Dance Meccanica
SYNTECH • Only Ruins Remain / Decade
WINTERKÄLTE • Maschinenfest Tracks 1999-2014
TOTAKEKE • Me.Tem.Psy.Cho.Sis

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void