tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/07/2014 : DEVIL-M - Revenge of the Antichrist

DEVIL-M

Revenge of the Antichrist

MusicCD
Electro RockElectropunkHellelectroHorror PunkIndustrial MetalIndustrial RockRhythmic Industrial

[35/100]   

Meth Media / Dark Dimensions
10/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

16 tracks for this unknown one. It is their debut album! A fast listening to the first tracks made me start to review it...

"Devil-M" is from Germany: four young people who toured with Centhron, Nachtblut, Grausame Töchter, Schock and many more. This year they will tour with Centhron through Europe and on festivals like the Wave Gothik Treffen (WGT).

It starts with a mix of the old school Das Ich versus Funker Vogt and Marilyn Manson: the voice, the guitars, the electronics, the sound as if Gods are participating. So far 'Rising'. More into war terms is 'Apokrypha', the typical screaming for blood voice from the old school Funker Vogt, the holy gods who are whispering for more, the firing up electronics, the beats, the guitars... They listened to a lot of our common heroes. The artwork is all very inspired by Marilyn Manson. 'Astharat' goes on the same way. Nice beats, a bit inspired by Nine Inch Nails 'Closer'! 'Scabbed Angel' uses nice rhythmic industrial and dubstep elements; it could be a real clubber if fired up to the maximum level! More beats versus guitars comes with 'Rebirth', but I don't know what happened to the first vocals, they sounded a bit out of tune.

Luckily they get better, but it doesn't sound very original. Could the old school Project Picthfork be remixed by Funker Vogt? The addition of the female voice is nice. More into Marilyn Manson is 'From Birth to Death'. The second voice keeps me thinking of Funker Vogt. The screaming is a nice adding, so is the angel with scabbed wings... Could his royal darkness listen to this one and give it a note? Does our dark angel care if one tried to copy and kill him? Well, there was a day on which Trent Reznor started teaching him things, before he tried to kill him in an unfair fight... It isn't a 'Good way of Dying'. This song start to bore me pretty fast. Where is this track going to? Nice guitars, but why this lame start and the bad vocals? They fuck up this song. I think the antichrist laughs with this one! I must admit his first one was much about cake and sodomy and his second CD made him almost become an immortal... so I keep on working myself through this one... '

Revenge of the Anthichrist Pt.1' has some real death metal drums in it. The sacred sound from the synths try to fight against them. The vocals fight with each other and in between I discover a great electro minded feel. I also hear that they try to put some pathos into the game... Question is: do I believe in it? Somehow I prefer what Herrschaft did. Part 2 was a bit better, but still. Into slow break beats is 'Love is not available'. There is even a piano in it. Working on the same vibe is 'Garden of Eden', but I heard better bands on this one like for example the French band April. 'I am God' is an insult to fans of April and co! The women who sings this needed some electronic (it's called 'Auto-Tune' and even the richest stars use it, so no shame if you have almost no vocal talent genre Britney Spears) help to make her voice sound better, the sound of the music is simply stolen from my French heroes! In an arena fight it would be very clear who would lose! One hit is enough to crush them. Give this track to the right band and the outcome would be really divine instead of a bad copy. 'Harmful Scab' is another copy, back to Marilyn Manson mixed with some beats. It feels like a filler as the song doesn't get further than the warming up. Yes, this was the last track of the regular CD!

3 remixes follow. First one by Centhron 'Apokrypha'. It feels already a bit better than the original, maybe that should point them out how to do it for the next one? I barely hear the vocals on 'Siddharta Gautama (Blackes Ligh Remix)'. It doesn't sound very original and is not fired up as it should be! Where is the passion of evil doing in this one? 'Rebirth (Grausame Töchter Remix)' is clearly the proof that it is really hard to remodel something without a strong base, but at least this one is better than the original. After that I can stop the music with the feeling that it's finally done!

Well: I give zero points for the cd. The remixes get the score up to 35. I hope they learn and deliver their own sound on their next release!

To be very straight with you all: this is an insult to my heroes, a bad copycat! Kids, don't do this: Find your own path or get killed in the arena! Il doctore has spoken!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
10/07/2014


 

Next reviews
ADAN & ILSE • Birds fall from heaven
NOAM MURRO • 300-Rise Of An Empire
RICHARD LESTER • A Hard Day's Night
FRANCK KHALFOUN • Maniac
THE GRAPHIC UK • Nothing's Wrong EP
JEAN-PIERRE MELVILLE • Le samouraï
JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD • Arretêz-moi
TOM GORMICAN • That Akward Moment
VOLKER SCHLONDORFF • Diplomatie
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
HATCHLING • Alpha
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
APHEX TWIN • Syro

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition

 

Same genre: HORROR PUNK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BRIAN JAMES • The Guitar That Dripped Blood
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
ALIASING • Spell Rising
MOVIE STAR JUNKIES • Evil Moods
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
BLITZKID • Apparitional
KITTY IN A CASKET • Back To Thrill
MADAME B • Psalm 37.29

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
OST+FRONT • Adrenalin
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
TORQUE ORDER • Metal Machines
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
3TEETH • 3TEETH

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
FILTER • Crazy Eyes

 

Same genre: RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
DISTEL • Puur
CERVELLO ELETTRONICO • Dance Meccanica
SYNTECH • Only Ruins Remain / Decade
WINTERKÄLTE • Maschinenfest Tracks 1999-2014
TOTAKEKE • Me.Tem.Psy.Cho.Sis

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

21
11
NITZER EBB
De Casino St Niklaas
21
11
LIEBKNECHT
De Casino St Niklaas
21
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
De Casino St Niklaas
17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
11
EDITORS
All The Kings
21
11
FILTER
Hey Man, Nice Shot
20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin