tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/07/2014 : OBSIDIAN FX - Illusions of Darkness

OBSIDIAN FX

Illusions of Darkness

MusicCD
Cold EBMElectroHarshHellelectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial Rock

[88/100]   

Xperiment XIII
12/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It starts with a soft electro minded track 'Sanctum', gets a higher tempo with 'Shadowgame', a harsher and more into Hellectro kind a sound in 'Where The Bloody Rivers Flow'. This last one is already getting people on the dance floor and keeps me moving: a great sign! Nice electronics and great studio work! 'Antithesis' is a bit softer and of the kind I would skip the startup of the track. The monster in it awakens pretty late, just as the spooky sound. 'Orbitoclast' goes back to the dance floor and has some nice guitars in it, heated up by electro shots and a monstrous voice! Followed by 'The Great Chasm', 'Sea of Sorrow' and 'Angel of Blackened Skies'

 

. 'Arsenic' sounds like a good version of Suicide Commando in a good remix version and with some extra vocals. It's a great track that will be a possible dance floor filler! From the same level: 'Cellout' and 'The Ghostsong'. 'Fill the void' starts with a nice piano, before the beats wake us up! 'This is my goodbye' is a bit too soft to stay for long enough inside my head, but it's not bad. Here ends the regular CD, but for me the story goes on... and for the lucky bastards who went for the extras too...

'In Atlantis' is a soundscape with a few beats, but the kind I skip. 'Shadowgame' gets the Nightmare of Cain Remix: finger licking good! The hits keep on coming with hard hitters like 'WTBRF (Drowned in Blood Remix by Nitronoise)' and 'Arsenic' (Studio-X Remix): party on! Hammering time! 'The Ghostsong (Subliminal Code Remix)' gets it going the way we all want the party to go! More and more it sounds like as if we are listening to a party playlist! That really rocks! 'Angel of Blackened Skies (VProject Remix)' kills the party, the tempo is way to slow and simply changes into a track you can sit back and relax, have a drink in the meantime of a better track.

 

'Recreation' is yet another original that could be the newest Suicide Commando or even C-Lekktor! I like it! 'WTBRF (2 Bullet Remix)' fires up the track pretty much from the starts and takes it to the dance floor! Here we go again! Shake it and crawl! Nice mix between the piano, the electronics, the guitar and the beats! 'Shadowgame (Sarcophagic Remix)' is not bad, but I wanted the party time, it's a bit too slow for my mood. 'Arsenic (The Luna Sequence Remix)' is a nice mix between IDM and Hellectro. Keep them coming!

 

'The Ghostsong (Angeltheory Remix)' is another good one; a great hard hitter with enough aggressive parts in it! 'Cellout (Ruinizer Remix)' is not bad, expected a bit more beats (because I know the remixer pretty good). 'Twins' is the last track of the extra's and really worth checking out! I'm really wandering why it didn't end on the regular one!

Once again I had my fun! I heard some highlights and some misfits.

Thumbs up and keep it going!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/07/2014


 

Next reviews
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
KERKOVIAN DEATH CYCLE • Distorted Religion
HELLWINNERS • HELLWINNERS
JURAJ JAKUBISKO • Birds, Orphans and Fools
RAMIN BAHRANI • At any Price
EXIT BLACK • The Sound EP
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
KITCHEN OF INSANITY • Live In Ghent 1991
• Series: REAL HUMANS SEASON 2
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: HARSH
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like
NEONSOL • Ecliptic

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
KMFDM • Paradise
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque