tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/07/2014 : OBSIDIAN FX - Illusions of Darkness

OBSIDIAN FX

Illusions of Darkness

MusicCD
Cold EBMElectroHarshHellelectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial Rock

[88/100]   

Xperiment XIII
12/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It starts with a soft electro minded track 'Sanctum', gets a higher tempo with 'Shadowgame', a harsher and more into Hellectro kind a sound in 'Where The Bloody Rivers Flow'. This last one is already getting people on the dance floor and keeps me moving: a great sign! Nice electronics and great studio work! 'Antithesis' is a bit softer and of the kind I would skip the startup of the track. The monster in it awakens pretty late, just as the spooky sound. 'Orbitoclast' goes back to the dance floor and has some nice guitars in it, heated up by electro shots and a monstrous voice! Followed by 'The Great Chasm', 'Sea of Sorrow' and 'Angel of Blackened Skies'

 

. 'Arsenic' sounds like a good version of Suicide Commando in a good remix version and with some extra vocals. It's a great track that will be a possible dance floor filler! From the same level: 'Cellout' and 'The Ghostsong'. 'Fill the void' starts with a nice piano, before the beats wake us up! 'This is my goodbye' is a bit too soft to stay for long enough inside my head, but it's not bad. Here ends the regular CD, but for me the story goes on... and for the lucky bastards who went for the extras too...

'In Atlantis' is a soundscape with a few beats, but the kind I skip. 'Shadowgame' gets the Nightmare of Cain Remix: finger licking good! The hits keep on coming with hard hitters like 'WTBRF (Drowned in Blood Remix by Nitronoise)' and 'Arsenic' (Studio-X Remix): party on! Hammering time! 'The Ghostsong (Subliminal Code Remix)' gets it going the way we all want the party to go! More and more it sounds like as if we are listening to a party playlist! That really rocks! 'Angel of Blackened Skies (VProject Remix)' kills the party, the tempo is way to slow and simply changes into a track you can sit back and relax, have a drink in the meantime of a better track.

 

'Recreation' is yet another original that could be the newest Suicide Commando or even C-Lekktor! I like it! 'WTBRF (2 Bullet Remix)' fires up the track pretty much from the starts and takes it to the dance floor! Here we go again! Shake it and crawl! Nice mix between the piano, the electronics, the guitar and the beats! 'Shadowgame (Sarcophagic Remix)' is not bad, but I wanted the party time, it's a bit too slow for my mood. 'Arsenic (The Luna Sequence Remix)' is a nice mix between IDM and Hellectro. Keep them coming!

 

'The Ghostsong (Angeltheory Remix)' is another good one; a great hard hitter with enough aggressive parts in it! 'Cellout (Ruinizer Remix)' is not bad, expected a bit more beats (because I know the remixer pretty good). 'Twins' is the last track of the extra's and really worth checking out! I'm really wandering why it didn't end on the regular one!

Once again I had my fun! I heard some highlights and some misfits.

Thumbs up and keep it going!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/07/2014


 

Next reviews
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
KERKOVIAN DEATH CYCLE • Distorted Religion
HELLWINNERS • HELLWINNERS
JURAJ JAKUBISKO • Birds, Orphans and Fools
RAMIN BAHRANI • At any Price
EXIT BLACK • The Sound EP
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
KITCHEN OF INSANITY • Live In Ghent 1991
• Series: REAL HUMANS SEASON 2
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets

 

Same genre: HARSH
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like
NEONSOL • Ecliptic
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
FILTER • Crazy Eyes
ONMENS • Witruimte
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
IRIS VON GUL • Iris Von Gul
3TEETH • 3TEETH

Music reviews

24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018
23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'
16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City

PHOTOS

26
05
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
AUTHOR & PUNISHER
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
TREPANERINGSRITUALEN
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
AMATORSKI
Hear Me
26
05
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem
25
05
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue