tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/07/2014 : OBSIDIAN FX - Illusions of Darkness

OBSIDIAN FX

Illusions of Darkness

MusicCD
Cold EBMElectroHarshHellelectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial Rock

[88/100]   

Xperiment XIII
12/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It starts with a soft electro minded track 'Sanctum', gets a higher tempo with 'Shadowgame', a harsher and more into Hellectro kind a sound in 'Where The Bloody Rivers Flow'. This last one is already getting people on the dance floor and keeps me moving: a great sign! Nice electronics and great studio work! 'Antithesis' is a bit softer and of the kind I would skip the startup of the track. The monster in it awakens pretty late, just as the spooky sound. 'Orbitoclast' goes back to the dance floor and has some nice guitars in it, heated up by electro shots and a monstrous voice! Followed by 'The Great Chasm', 'Sea of Sorrow' and 'Angel of Blackened Skies'

 

. 'Arsenic' sounds like a good version of Suicide Commando in a good remix version and with some extra vocals. It's a great track that will be a possible dance floor filler! From the same level: 'Cellout' and 'The Ghostsong'. 'Fill the void' starts with a nice piano, before the beats wake us up! 'This is my goodbye' is a bit too soft to stay for long enough inside my head, but it's not bad. Here ends the regular CD, but for me the story goes on... and for the lucky bastards who went for the extras too...

'In Atlantis' is a soundscape with a few beats, but the kind I skip. 'Shadowgame' gets the Nightmare of Cain Remix: finger licking good! The hits keep on coming with hard hitters like 'WTBRF (Drowned in Blood Remix by Nitronoise)' and 'Arsenic' (Studio-X Remix): party on! Hammering time! 'The Ghostsong (Subliminal Code Remix)' gets it going the way we all want the party to go! More and more it sounds like as if we are listening to a party playlist! That really rocks! 'Angel of Blackened Skies (VProject Remix)' kills the party, the tempo is way to slow and simply changes into a track you can sit back and relax, have a drink in the meantime of a better track.

 

'Recreation' is yet another original that could be the newest Suicide Commando or even C-Lekktor! I like it! 'WTBRF (2 Bullet Remix)' fires up the track pretty much from the starts and takes it to the dance floor! Here we go again! Shake it and crawl! Nice mix between the piano, the electronics, the guitar and the beats! 'Shadowgame (Sarcophagic Remix)' is not bad, but I wanted the party time, it's a bit too slow for my mood. 'Arsenic (The Luna Sequence Remix)' is a nice mix between IDM and Hellectro. Keep them coming!

 

'The Ghostsong (Angeltheory Remix)' is another good one; a great hard hitter with enough aggressive parts in it! 'Cellout (Ruinizer Remix)' is not bad, expected a bit more beats (because I know the remixer pretty good). 'Twins' is the last track of the extra's and really worth checking out! I'm really wandering why it didn't end on the regular one!

Once again I had my fun! I heard some highlights and some misfits.

Thumbs up and keep it going!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/07/2014


 

Next reviews
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
KERKOVIAN DEATH CYCLE • Distorted Religion
HELLWINNERS • HELLWINNERS
JURAJ JAKUBISKO • Birds, Orphans and Fools
RAMIN BAHRANI • At any Price
EXIT BLACK • The Sound EP
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
KITCHEN OF INSANITY • Live In Ghent 1991
• Series: REAL HUMANS SEASON 2
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
JIHAD • Retrospekt
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld

 

Same genre: HARSH
HOCICO • HyperViolent
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
KMFDM • Hyena
RAMMSTEIN • Zeit
PIG • Pain Is God
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
KMFDM • Paradise
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles