tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/07/2014 : OBSIDIAN FX - Illusions of Darkness

OBSIDIAN FX

Illusions of Darkness

MusicCD
Cold EBMElectroHarshHellelectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial Rock

[88/100]   

Xperiment XIII
12/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It starts with a soft electro minded track 'Sanctum', gets a higher tempo with 'Shadowgame', a harsher and more into Hellectro kind a sound in 'Where The Bloody Rivers Flow'. This last one is already getting people on the dance floor and keeps me moving: a great sign! Nice electronics and great studio work! 'Antithesis' is a bit softer and of the kind I would skip the startup of the track. The monster in it awakens pretty late, just as the spooky sound. 'Orbitoclast' goes back to the dance floor and has some nice guitars in it, heated up by electro shots and a monstrous voice! Followed by 'The Great Chasm', 'Sea of Sorrow' and 'Angel of Blackened Skies'

 

. 'Arsenic' sounds like a good version of Suicide Commando in a good remix version and with some extra vocals. It's a great track that will be a possible dance floor filler! From the same level: 'Cellout' and 'The Ghostsong'. 'Fill the void' starts with a nice piano, before the beats wake us up! 'This is my goodbye' is a bit too soft to stay for long enough inside my head, but it's not bad. Here ends the regular CD, but for me the story goes on... and for the lucky bastards who went for the extras too...

'In Atlantis' is a soundscape with a few beats, but the kind I skip. 'Shadowgame' gets the Nightmare of Cain Remix: finger licking good! The hits keep on coming with hard hitters like 'WTBRF (Drowned in Blood Remix by Nitronoise)' and 'Arsenic' (Studio-X Remix): party on! Hammering time! 'The Ghostsong (Subliminal Code Remix)' gets it going the way we all want the party to go! More and more it sounds like as if we are listening to a party playlist! That really rocks! 'Angel of Blackened Skies (VProject Remix)' kills the party, the tempo is way to slow and simply changes into a track you can sit back and relax, have a drink in the meantime of a better track.

 

'Recreation' is yet another original that could be the newest Suicide Commando or even C-Lekktor! I like it! 'WTBRF (2 Bullet Remix)' fires up the track pretty much from the starts and takes it to the dance floor! Here we go again! Shake it and crawl! Nice mix between the piano, the electronics, the guitar and the beats! 'Shadowgame (Sarcophagic Remix)' is not bad, but I wanted the party time, it's a bit too slow for my mood. 'Arsenic (The Luna Sequence Remix)' is a nice mix between IDM and Hellectro. Keep them coming!

 

'The Ghostsong (Angeltheory Remix)' is another good one; a great hard hitter with enough aggressive parts in it! 'Cellout (Ruinizer Remix)' is not bad, expected a bit more beats (because I know the remixer pretty good). 'Twins' is the last track of the extra's and really worth checking out! I'm really wandering why it didn't end on the regular one!

Once again I had my fun! I heard some highlights and some misfits.

Thumbs up and keep it going!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/07/2014


 

Next reviews
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
KERKOVIAN DEATH CYCLE • Distorted Religion
HELLWINNERS • HELLWINNERS
JURAJ JAKUBISKO • Birds, Orphans and Fools
RAMIN BAHRANI • At any Price
EXIT BLACK • The Sound EP
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
KITCHEN OF INSANITY • Live In Ghent 1991
• Series: REAL HUMANS SEASON 2
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

 

Same genre: HARSH
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like
NEONSOL • Ecliptic

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
KMFDM • Paradise
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall