tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : PSY'AVIAH - Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars

PSY'AVIAH

Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopFuturepopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synth Pop / Electro PopSynthpop

[89/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Psy'Aviah's Yves Schelpe can’t be put in one genre only and shows with Seven Sorrows, Seven Tears another musical face. It is his 7th release and it sounds different than the dark and depressive earlier work: a cheerful and positive, at times magical and emotional atmosphere is created here, a mix of futuristic-sounding electro, some patches of trip hop and ambient sounds.

Yves collaborates with guest vocalists such as Kyoko Baertsoen (ex-Hooverphonic, Lunascape) in Alcubierre Drive, and with David Chamberlin (Entrzelle) in Looking Back. I hear more male vocals than in his previous work.

And musically? It is very wide, from darker electro to future pop (Face To Face with vocals by Roeland Van Der Velde of Model Deposé), or the addictive body-pop song From Another World with Bernard Feron (Combat Voice). Opia is even semi-acoustic with Pieter van Vaerenbergh (Metafuzz, Zelon) on vocals.

Peace Paradox is a step back to the more aggressive period of Psy'Aviah, with up tempo beats and a club hit sound, while on Wild Ride, Miss FD takes the microphone.

There is also a renewed version of Stronger, with the voice of Addie Nicole (Halocine). Not What I Expected (with Fallon Nieves) is again a song with hypnotic synth lines that remind us of Praga Khan. Liberosis sounds like a nice EBM/future pop (with vocals by Andrew Galucki).

This album offers a showcase of the already rich repertoire of Psy'Aviah, but especially of the diversity of style. Yves Schelpe did a good job. There are darker songs, catchy pop songs, future pop songs, some harder tracks that put us back to the early days, EBM and IDM.

The guest vocalists provide some value, it makes the album sound more complete and it offers something for everyone. This is music that puts Belgium back on the map.

The album was released on Alfa Matrix in two versions: a single CD and a double one (see tracklist in the Dutch section).

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Psy'Aviah's Yves Schelpe is niét te vatten in een genre en trekt met Seven Sorrows, Seven Tears alweer een andere lade in zijn muzikale kast open. Het is zijn 7de release en die neemt afstand van het meer donkere en bijna depressieve eerdere werk: een vrolijke en positieve, bij momenten sprookjesachtige en emotionele atmosfeer. Een mix van futuristisch klinkende electro, flarden trip hop, tot als ambient klinkende tonen.

Yves werkt samen met gastvocalisten zoals Kyoko Baertsoen (ex-Hooverphonic, Lunascape) in de song Alcubierre Drive, en met David Chamberlin (Entrzelle) in Looking Back. En dat we meer mannelijke vocalen horen dan in eerder werk, is duidelijk.

En muzikaal? Het gaat heel breed, van donkerdere electro tot futurepop (Face To Face, met vocale prestaties van Roeland Van Der Velde – Model Deposé), of de verslavende bodypopsong From Another World met Bernard Feron (Combat Voice). Yves gaat zelfs de semi-akoestische toer op met Opia, waarin Pieter van Vaerenbergh (Metafuzz, Zelon) de vocalen voor zijn rekening neemt.

Peace Paradox is dan weer een stap terug naar de meer agressieve periode van Psy'Aviah, met uptempo beats en een clubhitsound, de eerder chaotische en cyber-klinkende song Wild Ride krijgt Miss FD achter de microfoon.

Er is ook een herziene versie van Stronger met de stem van Addie Nicole (Halocine). Not What I Expected (vocals: Fallon Nieves) is dan weer een hypnotiserende song met synthlijnen die we ook bij artiesten zoals Praga Khan horen. Liberosis klinkt als heel lekkere EBM/futurepop (vocals: Andrew Galucki).

Dit album biedt een staalkaart van het al rijke repertoire van Psy'Aviah, maar vooral van de diversiteit aan stijlen die bezieler Yves Schelpe beheerst en de muzikale kwaliteiten om dit allemaal in goede banen te leiden. Er zijn meer donkere songs, catchy popsongs, futurepop, een paar hardere tracks die teruggaan naar de begindagen, EBM en IDM.

De gastvocalisten bieden zeker meerwaarde, waardoor het album nog completer is en voor elk wat wils biedt. Dit is muziek die België, waar voor velen de roots van de electro-scène ligggen, weer op de kaart zet.

Het album is uitgebracht op Alfa Matrix in twee versies: een enkele cd en een dubbelaar.

Tracklist:
CD 1
1 Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
2 Alcubierre Drive (feat. Kyoko Baertsoen)
3 Face to Face (feat. Roeland van der Velde)
4 Looking Back (feat. David Chamberlin)
5 Lessons From The Past (feat. Mari Kattman)
6 From Another World (feat. Bernard Feron)
7 Never Look Back (feat. Ellia Bisker)
8 Opia (feat. Pieter Van Vaerenbergh)
9 Frozen (feat. Andrew Galucki)
10 Liberosis (feat. Alvin River)
11 Peace Paradox
12 Not What I Expected (feat. Fallon Nieves)
13 Stronger (feat. Addie Nicole)
14 Starstruck (feat. Diana S.)

CD 2: "From A Different Perspective" bonus disc only available in the limited carton box edition
1 Peace Paradox (Etasonic remix)
2 Wild Ride (feat. Miss FD) (Alex Dalliance remix)
3 From Another World (feat. Bernard Feron) (Skyshifter remix)
4 Face To Face (feat. Roeland van der Velde) (People Theatre remix)
5 Opia (feat. Pieter Van Vaerenbergh) (Liquid Divine remix)
6 Stronger (feat. Addie Nicole) (Tim Iron remix)
7 Not What I Expected (feat. Fallon Nieves) (Cutoff:Sky remix)
8 Wild Ride (feat. Miss FD) (VV303 remix)
9 Face To Face (feat. Roeland van der Velde) (rool remix)
10 Alcubierre Drive (feat. Kyoko Baertsoen) (KONER remix)
11 From Another World (feat. Bernard Feron) (Cyborgdrive remix)
12 Wild Ride (feat. Miss FD) (Girlflesh remix)
13 Not What I Expected (Implant remix)
14 Wild Ride (feat. Miss FD) (Amarta Project remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
GIOUMOURTZINA • Blakk Metall
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
WIELORYB • Semantik
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen
MY OWN SORROW • Entity
SAVA.GEO • Zeitgeist
KEEP BREATHING • Call of Youth
SEED FROM THE GEISHA • Point Nemo
WAVE-GOTIK-TREFFEN 2016 • Leipzig (Germany)
INTENT:OUTTAKE • Neustart

 

Other reviews from PSY'AVIAH
PSY'AVIAH • The Xenogamous Endeavour
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
PSY'AVIAH • Introspection/Extrospection

 

Same genre: DARK POP
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City

 

Same genre: FUTUREPOP
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MR.KITTY • Fragments
ANGELS & AGONY • Monument
[:SITD:] • Dunkelziffer
ADVANCE • Deus Ex Machina
SLEEP PARTY PEOPLE • Floating

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
MALA HERBA • Demo
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
LUXVID • Trench

Music reviews

19
01
MESH
Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury