tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : CHIRON - Breaking Point EP

CHIRON

Breaking Point EP

MusicCD
Dark ElectroFuturepop

[83/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

Over here, Chiron is still quite unknown, and that’s a true shame as this Australian band features the top musician Michael Aliani who used to be in the first line up of the famous dark wave band Ikon. From 1997 on, Michael searched his own way through the underground until he crossed the path of the DJ/producer Anthony with whom he started Chiron. The big difference with his former band is that Chiron can’t be tied to one style, as Chiron is in fact more like a mixture of everything that is dark.

Chiron released quite a lot last years, but let us start with Breaking Point, an EP that features four tracks.

The first song nearly lasts ten minutes. The intro has a sort of Pink Floyd feel, the band prepares you for what will come next, but you have no idea what it’ll be. Electronic drums are added, some beats are coming in and it quickly develops into a song that balances between rough industrial and danceable future pop. The kind of track that makes you dance, but it also puts you in a melancholy mood.

Deeper is dark electro and in some way reminiscent of what Dirk Ivens does with Dive. Harsh, melodic beats, combined with an addictive melody. The female vocals in the background give it a nasty touch, well that’s what you get when you compose a song with the main line I wanna get deep inside of you.

Breaking Point is another song that makes you swing. Well, it would fit perfectly on the dance floor, but you can enjoy it in your living room as well. So pump up the volume, annoy your neighbours and dance till you drop. A perfect way to leave this vale of tears.

The final track Free Spin is again future pop. The beats make us think of the good old VNV Nation, and yes that is actually a complement.

Oh, you want a conclusion? Just play it and you’ll get sucked in the synthetic magic of Chiron. We almost wrote essential, because we are addicted indeed!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets