tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : BRIAN ENO - The Ship

BRIAN ENO

The Ship

MusicCD
AmbientElectronics

[80/100]   

Warp Records
09/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Initially a commissioned piece for a Stockholm-based sound and art installation, The Ship marks something of a transition for the multi-faceted Brian Eno. Neither is it just another ambient epic or a well-trodden repeat of earlier vocal works, Eno's first full-length album in four years is an explorative odyssey into the human voice triggered by a happy accident. During rehearsals, his vocal chords hit an unexpected low 'c' and an idea was born.

Thus The Ship is halfway between folk-legend, shimmering electronica, blissful ambience, war poetry and, potentially, his Music for Dark Oceans. The epic title-track demonstrates this new baritone, a kind of elder growl that doesn't jar or dominate, giving way to a lengthy piece that features eddying found-sounds, echoes and spoken word that recalls Sylvian and Czukay's Plight and Premonition or Gavin Bryars' Sinking of the Titanic (much of The Ship is inspired by the Titanic and WW1).

Fickle Sun is split into three parts - the moniker-free first subsection wouldn't sound out of place on a Brendan Perry album such is its atmospheric candour and funereal, the second portion (The Air is Thin) is spoken prose with treated piano and the third and final section is quite something. Covering the Velvet Underground isn't a new concept but herding one of the iconic rock 'n' roll band's most joyous ballads into another dimension takes skill and judgement. I'm Set Free is string-drenched, uplifting, felicific even, as well as downright tear-duct tickling to boot. The final minute is Eno's most eye-watering musical culmination since The Roil, The Choke on 1992's Nerve Net or the last breaths of And Then So Clear on 2005's Another Day on Earth. I defy you to not press 'replay'.

A very cherishable chapter in the pioneering creator's vast and relatively taint-free catalogue.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SX • Brussels, AB (30/04/2016)
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY • Red Sleeping Beauty
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights

 

Other reviews from BRIAN ENO
BRIAN ENO • Reflection
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
BRIAN ENO • Nerve Net- The Shutov Assembly - Neroli - The Drop

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'
24
10
Industrial Metal Band RAZE THE ALTAR Brings Sacrifice And Perseverance To New Single
24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow