tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TUXEDOMOON - Half-Mute

TUXEDOMOON

Half-Mute

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazzNew wave
Crammed Discs
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

To be honest, I loathe the thought that many music lovers are convinced that today no original music is made. But it will be difficult to find a band that sounds as original as Tuxedomoon. This American band was formed by Blaine L. Reininger and Steven Brown at the end of the 70 (later joined by Peter Principle and Luc Van Lieshout). Their style?Almost impossible to describe, but let's keep it to a quirky hybrid of post-punk , American new wave, avant garde, jazz and lots of experiment.

After the release of two EPs (No Tears and Scream With A View), the first album Half-Mute was released on Ralph Records (the label of The Residents). The album was a huge success and for many fans it ist one of their best (although Holy Wars is just as good). Nowadays, almost all classics are re-recorded, and fortunately that’s also the case with Half-Mute. Tuxedomoon not only plays the whole album on stage, it also was re-released and fully mastered.

Actually, it does not make much sense to analyze the record as everyone is indeed convinced that Half-Mute is one of the most important post-punk records ever. The instrumental Nazca sucks you straight away in the foreign (often frightening) Tuxedomoon atmosphere. Steven Brown's saxophone and Blaine L. Reininger's violin not only sound very special, but also very threatening. 59 To 1 is nervous post-punk. You hear that it comes from the eighties, but it doesn’t sound dated for a second. Dadaism and free jazz in a new wave zeitgeist.

On Fifth Column, melancholy comes around. The violins sound like laments. Loneliness barely lasts three minutes, but it has a very deep impact... here comes loneliness... ii is a song that immediately grabs you by the neck.

James Whale is quite experimental, but immediately after you hear the big hit What Use? In Volvo Vivace you clearly recognize some krautrock influences. Seven Years is perhaps the easiest song on Half-Mute. KM/Seeding The Clouds is the perfect ending for this masterpiece. You feel like you're listening to a street musician, in the background you hear passing cars... the feeling of being lost in a big city.

The reissue not only has a superb sound, it also includes a superb bonus CD: Half-Mute Reflected, for which a whole range of artists (Simon Fisher Turner, Foetus, Georgio 'The Dove' Valentino or Aksak Maboul) rework the old songs. Not those bloody unnecessary remixes, but entirely new versions that give the tracks a whole new dimension.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Eerlijk is eerlijk. Ik walg van de gedachte dat heel wat muziekfanaten ervan overtuigd zijn dat er vandaag geen originele muziek meer wordt gemaakt. Foei aan degenen die dat denken, toch zal het moeilijk zijn om een groep te vinden die even gedurfd uit de hoek komt als Tuxedomoon. Deze Amerikaanse band werd op het einde van de jaren 70 door Blaine L. Reininger en Steven Brown opgericht (later kwamen daar ook Peter Principle en Luc Van Lieshout bij). Hun stijl? Die is zo goed als onmogelijk te omschrijven, maar laten we het op een eigenzinnige hybride van postpunk, Amerikaanse new wave, avant garde, jazz en een flinke vleug experiment houden.

Na het verschijnen van de twee ep’s No Tears en Scream With A View, verscheen de eerste lp Half-Mute op Ralph Records (het label van The Residents). De plaat werd een enorm succes en heel wat fans vinden het één van hun beste (hoewel Holy Wars even goed is).

Tegenwoordig worden bijna alle klassiekers opnieuw opgenomen en gelukkig ontsnapt ook Half-Mute daar niet aan. Niet alleen gaat Tuxedomoon weer het podium op om deze plaat integraal te spelen, ze is ook opnieuw uitgebracht en gemasterd.

Eigenlijk heeft het niet veel zin om de plaat te analyseren, iedereen is er immers terecht van overtuigd dat Half-Mute één van de belangrijkste postpunkplaten is. De instrumental Nazca zuigt je meteen mee in de vreemde (vaak beangstigende) Tuxedomoonsfeer. De saxofoon van Steven Brown en de viool van Blaine L. Reininger klinken niet alleen zeer apart, ook uiterst dreigend. 59 To 1 is eerder nerveuze postpunk. Je hoort wel dat het uit de eighties komt, maar het klinkt geen seconde gedateerd. Dadaïsme met wat free jazz in een een newwave-tijdsgeest.

Bij Fifth Column komt meteen de melancholie om de hoek loeren. De violen klinken als klaagzangen. Loneliness duurt amper 3 minuten, maar het maakt als geen ander een impact... here comes loneliness... het is een song die je door zijn directheid meteen bij de nek grijpt.

James Whale is nogal experimenteel, maar dat wordt meteen gecompenseerd door die grote hit What Use? In Volvo Vivace hoor je duidelijk krautrockinvloeden.

Seven years is misschien de gemakkelijkste song op Half-Mute. KM/Seeding The Clouds is de perfecte afsluiter voor dit meesterwerk, je hebt het gevoel alsof je naar een straatmuzikant luistert,. Op de achtergrond hoor je de voorbijrijdende auto’s... het gevoel van verloren te zijn in een grootstad.

De heruitgave heeft niet alleen een subliem geluid, er is ook een onmisbare bonus- cd bijgevoegd: Halfe-Mute Reflected, waarop een hele resem artiesten (Simon Fisher Turner, Foetus, Georgio ‘The Dove’ Valentino of Aksak Maboul) de oude nummers herwerken. Het zijn geen onnodige remixen, wel compleet nieuwe versies die de tracks een heel andere dimensie geven.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SX • Brussels, AB (30/04/2016)
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY • Red Sleeping Beauty
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)

 

Other reviews from TUXEDOMOON
TUXEDOMOON • Brussels, Les Ateliers Claus (10/05/2016)
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis