tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TUXEDOMOON - Half-Mute

TUXEDOMOON

Half-Mute

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazzNew wave
Crammed Discs
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

To be honest, I loathe the thought that many music lovers are convinced that today no original music is made. But it will be difficult to find a band that sounds as original as Tuxedomoon. This American band was formed by Blaine L. Reininger and Steven Brown at the end of the 70 (later joined by Peter Principle and Luc Van Lieshout). Their style?Almost impossible to describe, but let's keep it to a quirky hybrid of post-punk , American new wave, avant garde, jazz and lots of experiment.

After the release of two EPs (No Tears and Scream With A View), the first album Half-Mute was released on Ralph Records (the label of The Residents). The album was a huge success and for many fans it ist one of their best (although Holy Wars is just as good). Nowadays, almost all classics are re-recorded, and fortunately that’s also the case with Half-Mute. Tuxedomoon not only plays the whole album on stage, it also was re-released and fully mastered.

Actually, it does not make much sense to analyze the record as everyone is indeed convinced that Half-Mute is one of the most important post-punk records ever. The instrumental Nazca sucks you straight away in the foreign (often frightening) Tuxedomoon atmosphere. Steven Brown's saxophone and Blaine L. Reininger's violin not only sound very special, but also very threatening. 59 To 1 is nervous post-punk. You hear that it comes from the eighties, but it doesn’t sound dated for a second. Dadaism and free jazz in a new wave zeitgeist.

On Fifth Column, melancholy comes around. The violins sound like laments. Loneliness barely lasts three minutes, but it has a very deep impact... here comes loneliness... ii is a song that immediately grabs you by the neck.

James Whale is quite experimental, but immediately after you hear the big hit What Use? In Volvo Vivace you clearly recognize some krautrock influences. Seven Years is perhaps the easiest song on Half-Mute. KM/Seeding The Clouds is the perfect ending for this masterpiece. You feel like you're listening to a street musician, in the background you hear passing cars... the feeling of being lost in a big city.

The reissue not only has a superb sound, it also includes a superb bonus CD: Half-Mute Reflected, for which a whole range of artists (Simon Fisher Turner, Foetus, Georgio 'The Dove' Valentino or Aksak Maboul) rework the old songs. Not those bloody unnecessary remixes, but entirely new versions that give the tracks a whole new dimension.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Eerlijk is eerlijk. Ik walg van de gedachte dat heel wat muziekfanaten ervan overtuigd zijn dat er vandaag geen originele muziek meer wordt gemaakt. Foei aan degenen die dat denken, toch zal het moeilijk zijn om een groep te vinden die even gedurfd uit de hoek komt als Tuxedomoon. Deze Amerikaanse band werd op het einde van de jaren 70 door Blaine L. Reininger en Steven Brown opgericht (later kwamen daar ook Peter Principle en Luc Van Lieshout bij). Hun stijl? Die is zo goed als onmogelijk te omschrijven, maar laten we het op een eigenzinnige hybride van postpunk, Amerikaanse new wave, avant garde, jazz en een flinke vleug experiment houden.

Na het verschijnen van de twee ep’s No Tears en Scream With A View, verscheen de eerste lp Half-Mute op Ralph Records (het label van The Residents). De plaat werd een enorm succes en heel wat fans vinden het één van hun beste (hoewel Holy Wars even goed is).

Tegenwoordig worden bijna alle klassiekers opnieuw opgenomen en gelukkig ontsnapt ook Half-Mute daar niet aan. Niet alleen gaat Tuxedomoon weer het podium op om deze plaat integraal te spelen, ze is ook opnieuw uitgebracht en gemasterd.

Eigenlijk heeft het niet veel zin om de plaat te analyseren, iedereen is er immers terecht van overtuigd dat Half-Mute één van de belangrijkste postpunkplaten is. De instrumental Nazca zuigt je meteen mee in de vreemde (vaak beangstigende) Tuxedomoonsfeer. De saxofoon van Steven Brown en de viool van Blaine L. Reininger klinken niet alleen zeer apart, ook uiterst dreigend. 59 To 1 is eerder nerveuze postpunk. Je hoort wel dat het uit de eighties komt, maar het klinkt geen seconde gedateerd. Dadaïsme met wat free jazz in een een newwave-tijdsgeest.

Bij Fifth Column komt meteen de melancholie om de hoek loeren. De violen klinken als klaagzangen. Loneliness duurt amper 3 minuten, maar het maakt als geen ander een impact... here comes loneliness... het is een song die je door zijn directheid meteen bij de nek grijpt.

James Whale is nogal experimenteel, maar dat wordt meteen gecompenseerd door die grote hit What Use? In Volvo Vivace hoor je duidelijk krautrockinvloeden.

Seven years is misschien de gemakkelijkste song op Half-Mute. KM/Seeding The Clouds is de perfecte afsluiter voor dit meesterwerk, je hebt het gevoel alsof je naar een straatmuzikant luistert,. Op de achtergrond hoor je de voorbijrijdende auto’s... het gevoel van verloren te zijn in een grootstad.

De heruitgave heeft niet alleen een subliem geluid, er is ook een onmisbare bonus- cd bijgevoegd: Halfe-Mute Reflected, waarop een hele resem artiesten (Simon Fisher Turner, Foetus, Georgio ‘The Dove’ Valentino of Aksak Maboul) de oude nummers herwerken. Het zijn geen onnodige remixen, wel compleet nieuwe versies die de tracks een heel andere dimensie geven.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SX • Brussels, AB (30/04/2016)
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY • Red Sleeping Beauty
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)

 

Other reviews from TUXEDOMOON
TUXEDOMOON • Brussels, Les Ateliers Claus (10/05/2016)
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut