tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TUXEDOMOON - Half-Mute

TUXEDOMOON

Half-Mute

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazzNew wave
Crammed Discs
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

To be honest, I loathe the thought that many music lovers are convinced that today no original music is made. But it will be difficult to find a band that sounds as original as Tuxedomoon. This American band was formed by Blaine L. Reininger and Steven Brown at the end of the 70 (later joined by Peter Principle and Luc Van Lieshout). Their style?Almost impossible to describe, but let's keep it to a quirky hybrid of post-punk , American new wave, avant garde, jazz and lots of experiment.

After the release of two EPs (No Tears and Scream With A View), the first album Half-Mute was released on Ralph Records (the label of The Residents). The album was a huge success and for many fans it ist one of their best (although Holy Wars is just as good). Nowadays, almost all classics are re-recorded, and fortunately that’s also the case with Half-Mute. Tuxedomoon not only plays the whole album on stage, it also was re-released and fully mastered.

Actually, it does not make much sense to analyze the record as everyone is indeed convinced that Half-Mute is one of the most important post-punk records ever. The instrumental Nazca sucks you straight away in the foreign (often frightening) Tuxedomoon atmosphere. Steven Brown's saxophone and Blaine L. Reininger's violin not only sound very special, but also very threatening. 59 To 1 is nervous post-punk. You hear that it comes from the eighties, but it doesn’t sound dated for a second. Dadaism and free jazz in a new wave zeitgeist.

On Fifth Column, melancholy comes around. The violins sound like laments. Loneliness barely lasts three minutes, but it has a very deep impact... here comes loneliness... ii is a song that immediately grabs you by the neck.

James Whale is quite experimental, but immediately after you hear the big hit What Use? In Volvo Vivace you clearly recognize some krautrock influences. Seven Years is perhaps the easiest song on Half-Mute. KM/Seeding The Clouds is the perfect ending for this masterpiece. You feel like you're listening to a street musician, in the background you hear passing cars... the feeling of being lost in a big city.

The reissue not only has a superb sound, it also includes a superb bonus CD: Half-Mute Reflected, for which a whole range of artists (Simon Fisher Turner, Foetus, Georgio 'The Dove' Valentino or Aksak Maboul) rework the old songs. Not those bloody unnecessary remixes, but entirely new versions that give the tracks a whole new dimension.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Eerlijk is eerlijk. Ik walg van de gedachte dat heel wat muziekfanaten ervan overtuigd zijn dat er vandaag geen originele muziek meer wordt gemaakt. Foei aan degenen die dat denken, toch zal het moeilijk zijn om een groep te vinden die even gedurfd uit de hoek komt als Tuxedomoon. Deze Amerikaanse band werd op het einde van de jaren 70 door Blaine L. Reininger en Steven Brown opgericht (later kwamen daar ook Peter Principle en Luc Van Lieshout bij). Hun stijl? Die is zo goed als onmogelijk te omschrijven, maar laten we het op een eigenzinnige hybride van postpunk, Amerikaanse new wave, avant garde, jazz en een flinke vleug experiment houden.

Na het verschijnen van de twee ep’s No Tears en Scream With A View, verscheen de eerste lp Half-Mute op Ralph Records (het label van The Residents). De plaat werd een enorm succes en heel wat fans vinden het één van hun beste (hoewel Holy Wars even goed is).

Tegenwoordig worden bijna alle klassiekers opnieuw opgenomen en gelukkig ontsnapt ook Half-Mute daar niet aan. Niet alleen gaat Tuxedomoon weer het podium op om deze plaat integraal te spelen, ze is ook opnieuw uitgebracht en gemasterd.

Eigenlijk heeft het niet veel zin om de plaat te analyseren, iedereen is er immers terecht van overtuigd dat Half-Mute één van de belangrijkste postpunkplaten is. De instrumental Nazca zuigt je meteen mee in de vreemde (vaak beangstigende) Tuxedomoonsfeer. De saxofoon van Steven Brown en de viool van Blaine L. Reininger klinken niet alleen zeer apart, ook uiterst dreigend. 59 To 1 is eerder nerveuze postpunk. Je hoort wel dat het uit de eighties komt, maar het klinkt geen seconde gedateerd. Dadaïsme met wat free jazz in een een newwave-tijdsgeest.

Bij Fifth Column komt meteen de melancholie om de hoek loeren. De violen klinken als klaagzangen. Loneliness duurt amper 3 minuten, maar het maakt als geen ander een impact... here comes loneliness... het is een song die je door zijn directheid meteen bij de nek grijpt.

James Whale is nogal experimenteel, maar dat wordt meteen gecompenseerd door die grote hit What Use? In Volvo Vivace hoor je duidelijk krautrockinvloeden.

Seven years is misschien de gemakkelijkste song op Half-Mute. KM/Seeding The Clouds is de perfecte afsluiter voor dit meesterwerk, je hebt het gevoel alsof je naar een straatmuzikant luistert,. Op de achtergrond hoor je de voorbijrijdende auto’s... het gevoel van verloren te zijn in een grootstad.

De heruitgave heeft niet alleen een subliem geluid, er is ook een onmisbare bonus- cd bijgevoegd: Halfe-Mute Reflected, waarop een hele resem artiesten (Simon Fisher Turner, Foetus, Georgio ‘The Dove’ Valentino of Aksak Maboul) de oude nummers herwerken. Het zijn geen onnodige remixen, wel compleet nieuwe versies die de tracks een heel andere dimensie geven.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SX • Brussels, AB (30/04/2016)
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY • Red Sleeping Beauty
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)

 

Other reviews from TUXEDOMOON
TUXEDOMOON • Brussels, Les Ateliers Claus (10/05/2016)
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?