tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : SHIELD PATTERNS - Mirror Breathing

SHIELD PATTERNS

Mirror Breathing

MusicCD
ElectronicsJazzTrip Hop

[77/100]   

Gizeh Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Mixing pop with experiment, it surely can work. The Manchester duo Shield Patterns uses this great combination. Maybe an unknown name for some, but two years ago the band released its debut (Contour Lines) which got superb reviews. They shared stages with James Holden and played at Wave & Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Mirror Breathing is the new album. A stunner, even though it is difficult to put the music of Richard Knox and Claire Brentnall in a category. No, this is not a sentence which is taken from a promo text, you just hear on this dark and mysterious record a lot of things.

The main attraction is the enchanting voice of singer Claire who also plays the clarinet, piano and synth sounds. Along with Richard who is doing the other electronic equipment, they lead you to an idyllic world. The basic structure of these songs is almost pure pop. For a moment we had the first records of Sneaker Pimps in mind. So yes, it is a sort of trip hop, but because of the countless jazz, classical and experimental sounds, it's so much more than that.

Music for dreamers that has an extra value because of the cello Julia Kent who played on records by Antony & The Johnsons. Sometimes grim (the ominous background noises), then just beautiful. Great record!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Pop met experiment mengen, het is al lang bewezen dat dit kan. Ook het Manchester-duo Shield Patterns maakt gebruik van deze heerlijke combinatie.

Wie zeg je? Twee jaar geleden verscheen hun debuut (Countour Lines) en dat bracht hun niet alleen lovende recensies op, ook het delen van podia met de Britse elektronicakoning James Holden en Wave & Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Mirror Breathing is de opvolger. Een prachtplaat, al is het allesbehalve simpel om de muziek van Richard Knox en Claire Brentnall in één bepaalde categorie te duwen. Neen, het is geen zinnetje uit één of ander promotekst, je hoort gewoon ontzettend veel op deze donkere, mysterieuze plaat.

De leidraad in dit alles is de sprookjesachtige stem van zangeres Claire die tevens voor de klarinet-, piano- en synthgeluiden zorgt. Samen met Richard die het andere elektronische werk voor zijn rekening neemt, voeren ze je mee naar een idyllische wereld die je vol verbazing achterlaat. De basisstructuur van deze songs zijn bijna pure pop. Eventjes dachten we aan de eerste platen van Sneaker Pimps. Dus ja, het is trip hop, maar door de ontelbare jazzy, klassieke en soms experimentele geluiden is het zo veel meer dan dat.

Muziek voor mijmerende dromers dat nog sterker wordt door de cello van Julia Kent die meespeelde op platen van Antony & The Johnsons. Soms wat grimmig (de onheilspellende achtergrondgeluiden), dan weer verterend mooi. Knappe plaat!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
LANA JASTREVSKI (POPSIMONOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CRYSTAL CASTLES • Amnesty (I)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
WARHAUS • We Fucked A Flame Into Being
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
• An impression of Castle Party
ELYSIAN GATES • Crossroads

 

Other reviews from SHIELD PATTERNS
SHIELD PATTERNS • Contour Lines

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
1LUM3 • Antinomia
IOKOI • Liquefy
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015
VELVET ACID CHRIST • Subconscious Landscapes

Music reviews

17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man