tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : SHIELD PATTERNS - Mirror Breathing

SHIELD PATTERNS

Mirror Breathing

MusicCD
ElectronicsJazzTrip Hop

[77/100]   

Gizeh Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Mixing pop with experiment, it surely can work. The Manchester duo Shield Patterns uses this great combination. Maybe an unknown name for some, but two years ago the band released its debut (Contour Lines) which got superb reviews. They shared stages with James Holden and played at Wave & Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Mirror Breathing is the new album. A stunner, even though it is difficult to put the music of Richard Knox and Claire Brentnall in a category. No, this is not a sentence which is taken from a promo text, you just hear on this dark and mysterious record a lot of things.

The main attraction is the enchanting voice of singer Claire who also plays the clarinet, piano and synth sounds. Along with Richard who is doing the other electronic equipment, they lead you to an idyllic world. The basic structure of these songs is almost pure pop. For a moment we had the first records of Sneaker Pimps in mind. So yes, it is a sort of trip hop, but because of the countless jazz, classical and experimental sounds, it's so much more than that.

Music for dreamers that has an extra value because of the cello Julia Kent who played on records by Antony & The Johnsons. Sometimes grim (the ominous background noises), then just beautiful. Great record!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Pop met experiment mengen, het is al lang bewezen dat dit kan. Ook het Manchester-duo Shield Patterns maakt gebruik van deze heerlijke combinatie.

Wie zeg je? Twee jaar geleden verscheen hun debuut (Countour Lines) en dat bracht hun niet alleen lovende recensies op, ook het delen van podia met de Britse elektronicakoning James Holden en Wave & Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Mirror Breathing is de opvolger. Een prachtplaat, al is het allesbehalve simpel om de muziek van Richard Knox en Claire Brentnall in één bepaalde categorie te duwen. Neen, het is geen zinnetje uit één of ander promotekst, je hoort gewoon ontzettend veel op deze donkere, mysterieuze plaat.

De leidraad in dit alles is de sprookjesachtige stem van zangeres Claire die tevens voor de klarinet-, piano- en synthgeluiden zorgt. Samen met Richard die het andere elektronische werk voor zijn rekening neemt, voeren ze je mee naar een idyllische wereld die je vol verbazing achterlaat. De basisstructuur van deze songs zijn bijna pure pop. Eventjes dachten we aan de eerste platen van Sneaker Pimps. Dus ja, het is trip hop, maar door de ontelbare jazzy, klassieke en soms experimentele geluiden is het zo veel meer dan dat.

Muziek voor mijmerende dromers dat nog sterker wordt door de cello van Julia Kent die meespeelde op platen van Antony & The Johnsons. Soms wat grimmig (de onheilspellende achtergrondgeluiden), dan weer verterend mooi. Knappe plaat!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
LANA JASTREVSKI (POPSIMONOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CRYSTAL CASTLES • Amnesty (I)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
WARHAUS • We Fucked A Flame Into Being
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
• An impression of Castle Party
ELYSIAN GATES • Crossroads

 

Other reviews from SHIELD PATTERNS
SHIELD PATTERNS • Contour Lines

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
YELLO • Toy
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix

 

Same genre: JAZZ
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
IOKOI • Liquefy
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015
VELVET ACID CHRIST • Subconscious Landscapes
CRAIG ARMSTRONG • It's Nearly Tomorrow

Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo
12
02
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace