tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : SHIELD PATTERNS - Mirror Breathing

SHIELD PATTERNS

Mirror Breathing

MusicCD
ElectronicsJazzTrip Hop

[77/100]   

Gizeh Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Mixing pop with experiment, it surely can work. The Manchester duo Shield Patterns uses this great combination. Maybe an unknown name for some, but two years ago the band released its debut (Contour Lines) which got superb reviews. They shared stages with James Holden and played at Wave & Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Mirror Breathing is the new album. A stunner, even though it is difficult to put the music of Richard Knox and Claire Brentnall in a category. No, this is not a sentence which is taken from a promo text, you just hear on this dark and mysterious record a lot of things.

The main attraction is the enchanting voice of singer Claire who also plays the clarinet, piano and synth sounds. Along with Richard who is doing the other electronic equipment, they lead you to an idyllic world. The basic structure of these songs is almost pure pop. For a moment we had the first records of Sneaker Pimps in mind. So yes, it is a sort of trip hop, but because of the countless jazz, classical and experimental sounds, it's so much more than that.

Music for dreamers that has an extra value because of the cello Julia Kent who played on records by Antony & The Johnsons. Sometimes grim (the ominous background noises), then just beautiful. Great record!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Pop met experiment mengen, het is al lang bewezen dat dit kan. Ook het Manchester-duo Shield Patterns maakt gebruik van deze heerlijke combinatie.

Wie zeg je? Twee jaar geleden verscheen hun debuut (Countour Lines) en dat bracht hun niet alleen lovende recensies op, ook het delen van podia met de Britse elektronicakoning James Holden en Wave & Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Mirror Breathing is de opvolger. Een prachtplaat, al is het allesbehalve simpel om de muziek van Richard Knox en Claire Brentnall in één bepaalde categorie te duwen. Neen, het is geen zinnetje uit één of ander promotekst, je hoort gewoon ontzettend veel op deze donkere, mysterieuze plaat.

De leidraad in dit alles is de sprookjesachtige stem van zangeres Claire die tevens voor de klarinet-, piano- en synthgeluiden zorgt. Samen met Richard die het andere elektronische werk voor zijn rekening neemt, voeren ze je mee naar een idyllische wereld die je vol verbazing achterlaat. De basisstructuur van deze songs zijn bijna pure pop. Eventjes dachten we aan de eerste platen van Sneaker Pimps. Dus ja, het is trip hop, maar door de ontelbare jazzy, klassieke en soms experimentele geluiden is het zo veel meer dan dat.

Muziek voor mijmerende dromers dat nog sterker wordt door de cello van Julia Kent die meespeelde op platen van Antony & The Johnsons. Soms wat grimmig (de onheilspellende achtergrondgeluiden), dan weer verterend mooi. Knappe plaat!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
LANA JASTREVSKI (POPSIMONOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CRYSTAL CASTLES • Amnesty (I)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
WARHAUS • We Fucked A Flame Into Being
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
• An impression of Castle Party
ELYSIAN GATES • Crossroads

 

Other reviews from SHIELD PATTERNS
SHIELD PATTERNS • Contour Lines

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
YELLO • Toy
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix

 

Same genre: JAZZ
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
IOKOI • Liquefy
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015
VELVET ACID CHRIST • Subconscious Landscapes
CRAIG ARMSTRONG • It's Nearly Tomorrow

Music reviews

20
11
ELEZORIA
Astray
16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

24
11
THE SOUND
Sense Of Purpose
23
11
ECHO BEATTY
Hunger Hunger
22
11
SIRENIA
Once My Light
21
11
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
20
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan