tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : SHIELD PATTERNS - Mirror Breathing

SHIELD PATTERNS

Mirror Breathing

MusicCD
ElectronicsJazzTrip Hop

[77/100]   

Gizeh Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Mixing pop with experiment, it surely can work. The Manchester duo Shield Patterns uses this great combination. Maybe an unknown name for some, but two years ago the band released its debut (Contour Lines) which got superb reviews. They shared stages with James Holden and played at Wave & Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Mirror Breathing is the new album. A stunner, even though it is difficult to put the music of Richard Knox and Claire Brentnall in a category. No, this is not a sentence which is taken from a promo text, you just hear on this dark and mysterious record a lot of things.

The main attraction is the enchanting voice of singer Claire who also plays the clarinet, piano and synth sounds. Along with Richard who is doing the other electronic equipment, they lead you to an idyllic world. The basic structure of these songs is almost pure pop. For a moment we had the first records of Sneaker Pimps in mind. So yes, it is a sort of trip hop, but because of the countless jazz, classical and experimental sounds, it's so much more than that.

Music for dreamers that has an extra value because of the cello Julia Kent who played on records by Antony & The Johnsons. Sometimes grim (the ominous background noises), then just beautiful. Great record!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Pop met experiment mengen, het is al lang bewezen dat dit kan. Ook het Manchester-duo Shield Patterns maakt gebruik van deze heerlijke combinatie.

Wie zeg je? Twee jaar geleden verscheen hun debuut (Countour Lines) en dat bracht hun niet alleen lovende recensies op, ook het delen van podia met de Britse elektronicakoning James Holden en Wave & Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Mirror Breathing is de opvolger. Een prachtplaat, al is het allesbehalve simpel om de muziek van Richard Knox en Claire Brentnall in één bepaalde categorie te duwen. Neen, het is geen zinnetje uit één of ander promotekst, je hoort gewoon ontzettend veel op deze donkere, mysterieuze plaat.

De leidraad in dit alles is de sprookjesachtige stem van zangeres Claire die tevens voor de klarinet-, piano- en synthgeluiden zorgt. Samen met Richard die het andere elektronische werk voor zijn rekening neemt, voeren ze je mee naar een idyllische wereld die je vol verbazing achterlaat. De basisstructuur van deze songs zijn bijna pure pop. Eventjes dachten we aan de eerste platen van Sneaker Pimps. Dus ja, het is trip hop, maar door de ontelbare jazzy, klassieke en soms experimentele geluiden is het zo veel meer dan dat.

Muziek voor mijmerende dromers dat nog sterker wordt door de cello van Julia Kent die meespeelde op platen van Antony & The Johnsons. Soms wat grimmig (de onheilspellende achtergrondgeluiden), dan weer verterend mooi. Knappe plaat!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
LANA JASTREVSKI (POPSIMONOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CRYSTAL CASTLES • Amnesty (I)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
WARHAUS • We Fucked A Flame Into Being
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
• An impression of Castle Party
ELYSIAN GATES • Crossroads

 

Other reviews from SHIELD PATTERNS
SHIELD PATTERNS • Contour Lines

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
1LUM3 • Antinomia
IOKOI • Liquefy
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015
VELVET ACID CHRIST • Subconscious Landscapes

Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection