tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : LALALOVER - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

LALALOVER

Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Concert
Funk/SoulPop 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

The Rijmrock festival celebrated its 5th anniversary on saturday august, 20th. The birthday edition had some great acts on the bill, such as King Dalton, The New Collective & Matt Bianco and headliner Meuris. But the festival also featured the come back of the soulpop band Lalalover from Mechelen, brainchild of guitarist, keyboardplayer and singer Tom Kestens. After almost eight years of radio silence Lalalover is back!

Rijmrock witnessed an überfunky swingin' Lalalover. I didn't check thoroughly but I clearly wasn't the only one who couldn't control those dancing feet. Shake that booty? We sure did! Lalalover 2.0 rocks!

The band was clearly having a ball and gave all they got and more. The presence of the young talented musician Jonna in the band line-up, on keys and backing vocals, was a good addition.

The band opened with two fine songs from the Heliotropic album (2005); You & I and Troubles & Fights. Then it was party and sing-along time with the terrific brain itch song A Woman Saves A Man (The Runner, 2008). Clap Your Hands, Clap You Hands! Between you and me: I'm still singing! Grand song!

When Tom Kestens wrote the Lalalover songs, soul and funk-giants Stevie Wonder, Steve Winwood, Prince and certainly Marvin Gaye must have been watching over Tom's shoulders, or maybe they secretly held his hand when composing? Anyways Lalalover's music breathes soul and funk with much respect to the masters. And Tom's voice perfectly fits soul and funk, fact!

In 2006 Lalalover recorded the single The Revelation, which is a wonderful tribute to Marvin Gaye. Tom told the Rijmenam-crowd how he got connected with Marvin Gaye's music. It's that famous album that was released after Marvin Gaye's residence in Oostende at the Belgian coast; 1982's Midnight Love, the album with the sublime Sexual Healing. That album!

And, oh yes: the band played a stunning The Revelation, good vibes included! Rijmenam was dancing again!

There's new material coming up from Lalalover, Tom told us. The audience got to taste two of the new songs; Weight off Your Shoulders and the new single In Our Hands. The new songs sounded good in their live versions, so that's promising.

Two more songs, from Lalalover 1.0, followed, Love at First Sight and Signs. When told that they had only room for one more song, Tom took the opportunity to gratulate the festival with it's 5th birthday and he also had a message for the young Rosa, daughter of drummer Koen Lieckens. It was Rosa's birthday too. Tom welcomed the young girl on stage and whilst Rosa was dancing the band played a funky happy birthday, for Rijmrock and Rosa!

If you ask me, it was a good call tot restart Lalalover! Luckily the band does more than just play some gigs performing the old stuff, no there's a new album coming out as well. The first single, In Our Hands is due for release begin september.

Lalalover 2.0, let's get it on, Tom!

Setlist:
You & I / Troubles & Fights / A Woman Saves A Man / The Revelation / Weight Off Your Shoulders / In Our Hands / Love At First Sight / Signs (Justin feat. Snoop)

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Het rockfestival Rijmrock mocht op zaterdag 20 augustus vijf kaarsjes uitblazen. Het Rijmenamse festival pakte uit met acts zoals King Dalton, de opmerkelijke synergie tussen het Nederlandse The New Cool Collective en Matt Bianco en met Meuris als hoofdact. Maar de vijfde verjaardag van Rijmrock ging ook gepaard met de opmerkelijke terugkeer van Lalalover, de soul-popband rond de Mechelse toesenist, zanger en gitarist Tom Kestens. Na bijna acht jaar radiostilte is zijn Lalalover terug, en hoe!

Rijmrock was die zaterdag getuige van een überfunky en bijzonder swingende Lalalover. Ik heb niet te ver achterom gekeken maar ik was duidelijk niet de enige die de dansbeentjes niet stil kon houden. Lalalover 2.0 staat als en huis. De band speelde vol overgave. Tom en co hadden er ongeloofelijk veel zin in en smeten zich volledig. Het was een aangename verrassing om de jonge muzikante Jonna (keyboards en vocals) te zien in de bandlineup op het Rijmrockpodium.

Lalalover opende met You & I, uit Heliotropic (2005) en bleef bij dat album met het knappe Troubles & Fights. Om dan met die alomgekende geniale oorwurm A Woman Saves A Man uit te pakken (The Runner, 2008), ik zit nog steeds Clap Your Hands, Clap You Hands te zingen, of het scheelt toch niet veel. Klasse!

Wanneer Tom Kestens zijn Lalalover-songs componeerde, hebben de soul- en funkgrootmeesters Stevie Wonder, Steve Winwood, Prince en zeker Marvin Gaye allicht trots over diens schouder meegekeken, of hielden ze stiekem mee de pen vast? Feit is dat de muziek van Lalalover hoogzwanger is van funk en soul, en dat die grootmeesters meer dan eer aan gedaan worden. En Toms stem leent zich ook perfect tot de genoemde genres.

De single die Kestens opnam in 2006, The Revelation, is dan ook een heel erg mooie ode aan Marvin Gaye. Tom vertelde in Rijmenam hoe hij met de muziek van Marvin Gaye kennismaakte. Die 'Oostende-plaat', weet je wel; Midnight Love, tot stand gekomen in de Koningin der Badsteden en uitgebracht in 1982, met het onsterfelijke Sexual Healing, dié plaat. Waarna , hoera, dat sublieme The Revelation over het plein werd geblazen, good vibes incluis! En dansen, dansen....

Er zit nieuw werk aan te komen van Lalalover en op Rijmrock kregen we al een paar voorsmaakjes. Het is voor ons binnenkort 1 september, we gaan terug naar school. In september komt onze nieuwe single uit!, aldus een enthousiaste Tom. Die nieuwe single luistert naar de naam In Our Hands en klonk alvast erg lekker in zijn live-jasje. Maar we werden ook vergast op Weight Off Your Shoulders.

Met Love at First Sight en Signs keerde Kestens terug naar Lalalover 1.0.

De band dacht duidelijk nog niet aan stoppen tot bleek dat ze nog maar één song te gaan hadden. Kestens maakte van het momentum gebruik om Rijmrock te feliciteren met hun vijfde verjaardag, maar ook een jongedame die hij het podium opriep; Rosa, de dochter van drummer Koen Lieckens. En een funky Happy Birthday weerklonk, voor Rosa en voor Rijmrock!.

Tom Kestens nam een wijs besluit om Lalalover terug leven in te blazen. En fijn dat het niet blijft met wat optredens hier en daar met het oude werk, nee er komt een nieuwe Lalalover, te beginnen met de single In Our Hands die verschijnt in september.

Lalalover 2.0, let's get it on, Tom!

Setlist:
You & I / Troubles & Fights / A Woman Saves A Man / The Revelation / Weight Off Your Shoulders / In Our Hands / Love At First Sight / Signs (Justin feat. Snoop)

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles