tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : LALALOVER - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

LALALOVER

Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Concert
Funk/SoulPop 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

The Rijmrock festival celebrated its 5th anniversary on saturday august, 20th. The birthday edition had some great acts on the bill, such as King Dalton, The New Collective & Matt Bianco and headliner Meuris. But the festival also featured the come back of the soulpop band Lalalover from Mechelen, brainchild of guitarist, keyboardplayer and singer Tom Kestens. After almost eight years of radio silence Lalalover is back!

Rijmrock witnessed an überfunky swingin' Lalalover. I didn't check thoroughly but I clearly wasn't the only one who couldn't control those dancing feet. Shake that booty? We sure did! Lalalover 2.0 rocks!

The band was clearly having a ball and gave all they got and more. The presence of the young talented musician Jonna in the band line-up, on keys and backing vocals, was a good addition.

The band opened with two fine songs from the Heliotropic album (2005); You & I and Troubles & Fights. Then it was party and sing-along time with the terrific brain itch song A Woman Saves A Man (The Runner, 2008). Clap Your Hands, Clap You Hands! Between you and me: I'm still singing! Grand song!

When Tom Kestens wrote the Lalalover songs, soul and funk-giants Stevie Wonder, Steve Winwood, Prince and certainly Marvin Gaye must have been watching over Tom's shoulders, or maybe they secretly held his hand when composing? Anyways Lalalover's music breathes soul and funk with much respect to the masters. And Tom's voice perfectly fits soul and funk, fact!

In 2006 Lalalover recorded the single The Revelation, which is a wonderful tribute to Marvin Gaye. Tom told the Rijmenam-crowd how he got connected with Marvin Gaye's music. It's that famous album that was released after Marvin Gaye's residence in Oostende at the Belgian coast; 1982's Midnight Love, the album with the sublime Sexual Healing. That album!

And, oh yes: the band played a stunning The Revelation, good vibes included! Rijmenam was dancing again!

There's new material coming up from Lalalover, Tom told us. The audience got to taste two of the new songs; Weight off Your Shoulders and the new single In Our Hands. The new songs sounded good in their live versions, so that's promising.

Two more songs, from Lalalover 1.0, followed, Love at First Sight and Signs. When told that they had only room for one more song, Tom took the opportunity to gratulate the festival with it's 5th birthday and he also had a message for the young Rosa, daughter of drummer Koen Lieckens. It was Rosa's birthday too. Tom welcomed the young girl on stage and whilst Rosa was dancing the band played a funky happy birthday, for Rijmrock and Rosa!

If you ask me, it was a good call tot restart Lalalover! Luckily the band does more than just play some gigs performing the old stuff, no there's a new album coming out as well. The first single, In Our Hands is due for release begin september.

Lalalover 2.0, let's get it on, Tom!

Setlist:
You & I / Troubles & Fights / A Woman Saves A Man / The Revelation / Weight Off Your Shoulders / In Our Hands / Love At First Sight / Signs (Justin feat. Snoop)

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Het rockfestival Rijmrock mocht op zaterdag 20 augustus vijf kaarsjes uitblazen. Het Rijmenamse festival pakte uit met acts zoals King Dalton, de opmerkelijke synergie tussen het Nederlandse The New Cool Collective en Matt Bianco en met Meuris als hoofdact. Maar de vijfde verjaardag van Rijmrock ging ook gepaard met de opmerkelijke terugkeer van Lalalover, de soul-popband rond de Mechelse toesenist, zanger en gitarist Tom Kestens. Na bijna acht jaar radiostilte is zijn Lalalover terug, en hoe!

Rijmrock was die zaterdag getuige van een überfunky en bijzonder swingende Lalalover. Ik heb niet te ver achterom gekeken maar ik was duidelijk niet de enige die de dansbeentjes niet stil kon houden. Lalalover 2.0 staat als en huis. De band speelde vol overgave. Tom en co hadden er ongeloofelijk veel zin in en smeten zich volledig. Het was een aangename verrassing om de jonge muzikante Jonna (keyboards en vocals) te zien in de bandlineup op het Rijmrockpodium.

Lalalover opende met You & I, uit Heliotropic (2005) en bleef bij dat album met het knappe Troubles & Fights. Om dan met die alomgekende geniale oorwurm A Woman Saves A Man uit te pakken (The Runner, 2008), ik zit nog steeds Clap Your Hands, Clap You Hands te zingen, of het scheelt toch niet veel. Klasse!

Wanneer Tom Kestens zijn Lalalover-songs componeerde, hebben de soul- en funkgrootmeesters Stevie Wonder, Steve Winwood, Prince en zeker Marvin Gaye allicht trots over diens schouder meegekeken, of hielden ze stiekem mee de pen vast? Feit is dat de muziek van Lalalover hoogzwanger is van funk en soul, en dat die grootmeesters meer dan eer aan gedaan worden. En Toms stem leent zich ook perfect tot de genoemde genres.

De single die Kestens opnam in 2006, The Revelation, is dan ook een heel erg mooie ode aan Marvin Gaye. Tom vertelde in Rijmenam hoe hij met de muziek van Marvin Gaye kennismaakte. Die 'Oostende-plaat', weet je wel; Midnight Love, tot stand gekomen in de Koningin der Badsteden en uitgebracht in 1982, met het onsterfelijke Sexual Healing, dié plaat. Waarna , hoera, dat sublieme The Revelation over het plein werd geblazen, good vibes incluis! En dansen, dansen....

Er zit nieuw werk aan te komen van Lalalover en op Rijmrock kregen we al een paar voorsmaakjes. Het is voor ons binnenkort 1 september, we gaan terug naar school. In september komt onze nieuwe single uit!, aldus een enthousiaste Tom. Die nieuwe single luistert naar de naam In Our Hands en klonk alvast erg lekker in zijn live-jasje. Maar we werden ook vergast op Weight Off Your Shoulders.

Met Love at First Sight en Signs keerde Kestens terug naar Lalalover 1.0.

De band dacht duidelijk nog niet aan stoppen tot bleek dat ze nog maar één song te gaan hadden. Kestens maakte van het momentum gebruik om Rijmrock te feliciteren met hun vijfde verjaardag, maar ook een jongedame die hij het podium opriep; Rosa, de dochter van drummer Koen Lieckens. En een funky Happy Birthday weerklonk, voor Rosa en voor Rijmrock!.

Tom Kestens nam een wijs besluit om Lalalover terug leven in te blazen. En fijn dat het niet blijft met wat optredens hier en daar met het oude werk, nee er komt een nieuwe Lalalover, te beginnen met de single In Our Hands die verschijnt in september.

Lalalover 2.0, let's get it on, Tom!

Setlist:
You & I / Troubles & Fights / A Woman Saves A Man / The Revelation / Weight Off Your Shoulders / In Our Hands / Love At First Sight / Signs (Justin feat. Snoop)

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots