tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

11/12/2016 : SOL INVICTUS - The Last Man

SOL INVICTUS

The Last Man

Music7 inch
Dark FolkDark PopNeofolk

[87/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Last Man is the new single from the upcoming album Necropolis by neofolk band Sol Invictus.

The song begins with many bells and a lovely choir within an almost simplistic children's tune. However, its complex layering builds up an intriguing tune that keeps haunting my head, even for hours afterwards. And I have not even mentioned the wonderful lyrics. Like no other, Tony Wakeford knows to put his black and cynical thoughts on music. Chop Chop Chop, Here Comes The Chopper, To chop or Your Head, Chop Chop Chop, The Last Man Is Dead: there is only one man who remains credible with such lyrics in an almost cheerful sounding chorus. Absolute class!

The second song on this single is also intriguing. In Your Master's Voice Tony's acoustic guitar and vocals are very prominently supported by bass and flute (as in older Sol Invictus songs). The melody is perhaps slightly less catchy than that of The Last Man, but Tony's lovely timbre and ditto lyrics make this second song a real gem.

If The Last Man is the harbinger for the new album Necropolis, I'll be The First Man on the list for that new album!

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


NL

The Last Man is de nieuwe single van de neofolkgroep Sol Invictus en de voorbode van het nieuwe album Necropolis.

Met veel klokgelui en een lieflijk koortje start de track, die door zijn complexe gelaagdheid en tegelijkertijd haast simplistisch kinderdeuntje een intrigerend riedeltje opbouwt dat uren nadien nog door je hoofd spookt. En dan zwijg ik nog over de heerlijke lyrics. Als geen ander weet Tony Wakeford zijn gitzwarte en cynische gedachten op muziek te zetten. Chop Chop Chop, Here Comes The Chopper, To Chop of Your Head, Chop Chop Chop, The Last Man Is Dead: er is maar één man die weggeraakt met een haast vrolijk klinkend refrein met een dergelijke tekst. Absolute klasse!

Ook de tweede track op deze single is de moeite waard. In Your Master’s Voice worden Tony’s akoestische gitaar en zang zeer prominent aangevuld met bas en dwarsfluit, zoals dat in oudere tracks ook vaker het geval was. De melodie is misschien iets minder catchy dan die van The Last Man, maar Tony’s heerlijk timbre en dito lyrics maken ook van deze 2de track een echte parel.

Als The Last Man de voorbode is voor het nieuwe album Necropolis, dan ben ik The First Man die dat album wil hebben!

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore

 

Other reviews from SOL INVICTUS
SOL INVICTUS • Once Upon A Time
SOL INVICTUS • Mr. Cruel
SOL INVICTUS • The Cruellest Month

 

Same combination of genres: DARK FOLK + DARK POP + NEOFOLK
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

 

Same genre: DARK FOLK
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DARKHER • Realms
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
WULF 7
Porta Nigra
21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom