tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

11/12/2016 : SOL INVICTUS - The Last Man

SOL INVICTUS

The Last Man

Music7 inch
Dark FolkDark PopNeofolk

[87/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Last Man is the new single from the upcoming album Necropolis by neofolk band Sol Invictus.

The song begins with many bells and a lovely choir within an almost simplistic children's tune. However, its complex layering builds up an intriguing tune that keeps haunting my head, even for hours afterwards. And I have not even mentioned the wonderful lyrics. Like no other, Tony Wakeford knows to put his black and cynical thoughts on music. Chop Chop Chop, Here Comes The Chopper, To chop or Your Head, Chop Chop Chop, The Last Man Is Dead: there is only one man who remains credible with such lyrics in an almost cheerful sounding chorus. Absolute class!

The second song on this single is also intriguing. In Your Master's Voice Tony's acoustic guitar and vocals are very prominently supported by bass and flute (as in older Sol Invictus songs). The melody is perhaps slightly less catchy than that of The Last Man, but Tony's lovely timbre and ditto lyrics make this second song a real gem.

If The Last Man is the harbinger for the new album Necropolis, I'll be The First Man on the list for that new album!

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


NL

The Last Man is de nieuwe single van de neofolkgroep Sol Invictus en de voorbode van het nieuwe album Necropolis.

Met veel klokgelui en een lieflijk koortje start de track, die door zijn complexe gelaagdheid en tegelijkertijd haast simplistisch kinderdeuntje een intrigerend riedeltje opbouwt dat uren nadien nog door je hoofd spookt. En dan zwijg ik nog over de heerlijke lyrics. Als geen ander weet Tony Wakeford zijn gitzwarte en cynische gedachten op muziek te zetten. Chop Chop Chop, Here Comes The Chopper, To Chop of Your Head, Chop Chop Chop, The Last Man Is Dead: er is maar één man die weggeraakt met een haast vrolijk klinkend refrein met een dergelijke tekst. Absolute klasse!

Ook de tweede track op deze single is de moeite waard. In Your Master’s Voice worden Tony’s akoestische gitaar en zang zeer prominent aangevuld met bas en dwarsfluit, zoals dat in oudere tracks ook vaker het geval was. De melodie is misschien iets minder catchy dan die van The Last Man, maar Tony’s heerlijk timbre en dito lyrics maken ook van deze 2de track een echte parel.

Als The Last Man de voorbode is voor het nieuwe album Necropolis, dan ben ik The First Man die dat album wil hebben!

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore

 

Other reviews from SOL INVICTUS
SOL INVICTUS • Once Upon A Time
SOL INVICTUS • Mr. Cruel
SOL INVICTUS • The Cruellest Month

 

Same combination of genres: DARK FOLK + DARK POP + NEOFOLK
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

 

Same genre: DARK FOLK
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DARKHER • Realms
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus