tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

11/12/2016 : SOL INVICTUS - The Last Man

SOL INVICTUS

The Last Man

Music7 inch
Dark FolkDark PopNeofolk

[87/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Last Man is the new single from the upcoming album Necropolis by neofolk band Sol Invictus.

The song begins with many bells and a lovely choir within an almost simplistic children's tune. However, its complex layering builds up an intriguing tune that keeps haunting my head, even for hours afterwards. And I have not even mentioned the wonderful lyrics. Like no other, Tony Wakeford knows to put his black and cynical thoughts on music. Chop Chop Chop, Here Comes The Chopper, To chop or Your Head, Chop Chop Chop, The Last Man Is Dead: there is only one man who remains credible with such lyrics in an almost cheerful sounding chorus. Absolute class!

The second song on this single is also intriguing. In Your Master's Voice Tony's acoustic guitar and vocals are very prominently supported by bass and flute (as in older Sol Invictus songs). The melody is perhaps slightly less catchy than that of The Last Man, but Tony's lovely timbre and ditto lyrics make this second song a real gem.

If The Last Man is the harbinger for the new album Necropolis, I'll be The First Man on the list for that new album!

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


NL

The Last Man is de nieuwe single van de neofolkgroep Sol Invictus en de voorbode van het nieuwe album Necropolis.

Met veel klokgelui en een lieflijk koortje start de track, die door zijn complexe gelaagdheid en tegelijkertijd haast simplistisch kinderdeuntje een intrigerend riedeltje opbouwt dat uren nadien nog door je hoofd spookt. En dan zwijg ik nog over de heerlijke lyrics. Als geen ander weet Tony Wakeford zijn gitzwarte en cynische gedachten op muziek te zetten. Chop Chop Chop, Here Comes The Chopper, To Chop of Your Head, Chop Chop Chop, The Last Man Is Dead: er is maar één man die weggeraakt met een haast vrolijk klinkend refrein met een dergelijke tekst. Absolute klasse!

Ook de tweede track op deze single is de moeite waard. In Your Master’s Voice worden Tony’s akoestische gitaar en zang zeer prominent aangevuld met bas en dwarsfluit, zoals dat in oudere tracks ook vaker het geval was. De melodie is misschien iets minder catchy dan die van The Last Man, maar Tony’s heerlijk timbre en dito lyrics maken ook van deze 2de track een echte parel.

Als The Last Man de voorbode is voor het nieuwe album Necropolis, dan ben ik The First Man die dat album wil hebben!

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore

 

Other reviews from SOL INVICTUS
SOL INVICTUS • Once Upon A Time
SOL INVICTUS • Mr. Cruel
SOL INVICTUS • The Cruellest Month

 

Same combination of genres: DARK FOLK + DARK POP + NEOFOLK
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

 

Same genre: DARK FOLK
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DARKHER • Realms
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
CARNERA • Strategia Della Tensione

Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever