tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

11/12/2016 : SOL INVICTUS - The Last Man

SOL INVICTUS

The Last Man

Music7 inch
Dark FolkDark PopNeofolk

[87/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Last Man is the new single from the upcoming album Necropolis by neofolk band Sol Invictus.

The song begins with many bells and a lovely choir within an almost simplistic children's tune. However, its complex layering builds up an intriguing tune that keeps haunting my head, even for hours afterwards. And I have not even mentioned the wonderful lyrics. Like no other, Tony Wakeford knows to put his black and cynical thoughts on music. Chop Chop Chop, Here Comes The Chopper, To chop or Your Head, Chop Chop Chop, The Last Man Is Dead: there is only one man who remains credible with such lyrics in an almost cheerful sounding chorus. Absolute class!

The second song on this single is also intriguing. In Your Master's Voice Tony's acoustic guitar and vocals are very prominently supported by bass and flute (as in older Sol Invictus songs). The melody is perhaps slightly less catchy than that of The Last Man, but Tony's lovely timbre and ditto lyrics make this second song a real gem.

If The Last Man is the harbinger for the new album Necropolis, I'll be The First Man on the list for that new album!

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


NL

The Last Man is de nieuwe single van de neofolkgroep Sol Invictus en de voorbode van het nieuwe album Necropolis.

Met veel klokgelui en een lieflijk koortje start de track, die door zijn complexe gelaagdheid en tegelijkertijd haast simplistisch kinderdeuntje een intrigerend riedeltje opbouwt dat uren nadien nog door je hoofd spookt. En dan zwijg ik nog over de heerlijke lyrics. Als geen ander weet Tony Wakeford zijn gitzwarte en cynische gedachten op muziek te zetten. Chop Chop Chop, Here Comes The Chopper, To Chop of Your Head, Chop Chop Chop, The Last Man Is Dead: er is maar één man die weggeraakt met een haast vrolijk klinkend refrein met een dergelijke tekst. Absolute klasse!

Ook de tweede track op deze single is de moeite waard. In Your Master’s Voice worden Tony’s akoestische gitaar en zang zeer prominent aangevuld met bas en dwarsfluit, zoals dat in oudere tracks ook vaker het geval was. De melodie is misschien iets minder catchy dan die van The Last Man, maar Tony’s heerlijk timbre en dito lyrics maken ook van deze 2de track een echte parel.

Als The Last Man de voorbode is voor het nieuwe album Necropolis, dan ben ik The First Man die dat album wil hebben!

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway