tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

11/12/2016 : SOL INVICTUS - The Last Man

SOL INVICTUS

The Last Man

Music7 inch
Dark FolkDark PopNeofolk

[87/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Last Man is the new single from the upcoming album Necropolis by neofolk band Sol Invictus.

The song begins with many bells and a lovely choir within an almost simplistic children's tune. However, its complex layering builds up an intriguing tune that keeps haunting my head, even for hours afterwards. And I have not even mentioned the wonderful lyrics. Like no other, Tony Wakeford knows to put his black and cynical thoughts on music. Chop Chop Chop, Here Comes The Chopper, To chop or Your Head, Chop Chop Chop, The Last Man Is Dead: there is only one man who remains credible with such lyrics in an almost cheerful sounding chorus. Absolute class!

The second song on this single is also intriguing. In Your Master's Voice Tony's acoustic guitar and vocals are very prominently supported by bass and flute (as in older Sol Invictus songs). The melody is perhaps slightly less catchy than that of The Last Man, but Tony's lovely timbre and ditto lyrics make this second song a real gem.

If The Last Man is the harbinger for the new album Necropolis, I'll be The First Man on the list for that new album!

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


NL

The Last Man is de nieuwe single van de neofolkgroep Sol Invictus en de voorbode van het nieuwe album Necropolis.

Met veel klokgelui en een lieflijk koortje start de track, die door zijn complexe gelaagdheid en tegelijkertijd haast simplistisch kinderdeuntje een intrigerend riedeltje opbouwt dat uren nadien nog door je hoofd spookt. En dan zwijg ik nog over de heerlijke lyrics. Als geen ander weet Tony Wakeford zijn gitzwarte en cynische gedachten op muziek te zetten. Chop Chop Chop, Here Comes The Chopper, To Chop of Your Head, Chop Chop Chop, The Last Man Is Dead: er is maar één man die weggeraakt met een haast vrolijk klinkend refrein met een dergelijke tekst. Absolute klasse!

Ook de tweede track op deze single is de moeite waard. In Your Master’s Voice worden Tony’s akoestische gitaar en zang zeer prominent aangevuld met bas en dwarsfluit, zoals dat in oudere tracks ook vaker het geval was. De melodie is misschien iets minder catchy dan die van The Last Man, maar Tony’s heerlijk timbre en dito lyrics maken ook van deze 2de track een echte parel.

Als The Last Man de voorbode is voor het nieuwe album Necropolis, dan ben ik The First Man die dat album wil hebben!

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore

 

Other reviews from SOL INVICTUS
SOL INVICTUS • Once Upon A Time
SOL INVICTUS • Mr. Cruel
SOL INVICTUS • The Cruellest Month

 

Same combination of genres: DARK FOLK + DARK POP + NEOFOLK
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

 

Same genre: DARK FOLK
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DARKHER • Realms
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper