tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : SOL INVICTUS - The Cruellest Month

SOL INVICTUS

The Cruellest Month

MusicCD
Neofolk

[91/100]   

Prophecy Productions
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Sol Invictus surprised me in 2005 with a strong album, "The Devil's Steed". The last time I have seen this ensemble live was at the 15th anniversary of The Black Cave in 2009. Too short due to technical problems, but enough to see again their intense and dark neofolk, and to wish for a new album.

With "The Cruellest Month", the ensemble is back; blacker, cynical, vicious and more melancholic than ever. The album opens beautifully with "Raining in April”, where the typical violin quickly is replenished by the acrimonious, accusatory voice of Tony Wakeford. The oh so familiar heavy drums, percussion and the acoustic guitar complete the instruments and suddenly there's that typical Sol Invictus sound that penetrates to the bone.

Andrew King, our dear bard, may follow rapidly with its lovely soft voice. He brings us "The Sailor's Aria" , a brief trifle, but so beautiful. The intro is a beautiful adaptation of a song by Henry Purcell.

The aria and accompanying seagulls can seamlessly turn into "Fool's Ship" which accentuates another typical Sol Invictus sound, the flute, which makes me melancholy muse, forces me back into melancholy. The assertive and accusing voice of Tony pushes me further into my corner, psychologically tormented and in a virtual protective fetal position, but painfully intense enjoying this song.

"Edward" brings us the beautiful collusion of Tony & Andrew, set against an incredibly beautiful melody, driven by atonality. The two gentlemen narrate/sing intense. "What did you kill your dear little brother for?
O my boy, come now tell it unto me ...... O and that will never, never be "

During "April Rain", an instrumental, intensity and originality keeps surprising us, an ethnically tinged song building a compelling character based on a varying synthesizer melody where violin, flute, percussion, cello and a dreamy guitar may weave a complex sound carpet through.

The album is a succession of intriguing tunes, including Andrews fantastic interpretation of the mass murder ballad "Cruel Lincoln" which grows upto an intense aggressiveness I actually only know of their live performances.

Finally, über-cynist Tony may present to us the last track: his interpretation of war song "The Blackleg Miner". It is the thirteenth track of the CD and thus he delivers us the thirteenth gem.

Needless to say again how brilliant "The Cruellest Month" is, but other artists will have to work damn hard to get it out of my top 10 for 2011.

 

 

This indeed is the cruellest month
With barbed days to tear and hunt

This indeed is the cruellest month
Birth days, death days, boom and slump

This indeed is the cruellest month
Woodland mist and farewell waves

This indeed is the cruellest month
With hollow laughs and shallow graves

This indeed is the cruellest month
We swap young limbs for bloody stumps

This indeed is the cruellest month
The hiss of snakes and governments

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

In 2005 verraste Sol Invictus mij met een ijzersterk album, “The Devil’s Steed”. De laatste keer dat ik het gezelschap aan het werk mocht zien was op de 15de verjaardag van The Black Cave in 2009. Veel te kort, door de technische problemen, maar voldoende om me terug te doordringen en te laten bevangen door hun intense en donkere neofolk.

Met “The Cruellest Month” is het gezelschap weer terug; zwarter, cynischer, venijniger en meer melancholisch dan ooit. Het album opent mooi met “Raining in April”, waarop het typische vioolspel snel aangevuld wordt met de bitse, beschuldigende stem van Tony Wakeford. Het o zo vertrouwde zware slagwerk en de percussie alsook de akoestische gitaar vervolledigen al snel het instrumentarium en jawel, daar heb je dan al ogenblikkelijk die typische Sol Invictus sound die door merg en been dringt.

Andrew King, onze lieve bard, mag reeds snel met zijn mooie zachte stem “The Sailor’s Aria” brengen, een kort niemendalletje, maar o zo mooi. De intro is dan ook gebaseerd op een compositie van Henry Purcell, in een nieuw arrangement van Tony Wakeford.

De aria en begeleidende zeemeeuwen mogen naadloos overgaan in “Fool’s Ship” waarop een ander typisch Sol Invictus geluid, dat van de dwarsfluit mij doet mijmeren, in melancholie teruggedwongen. De bezwerende en beschuldigende stem van Tony duwt me verder in mijn hoekje, psychisch getormenteerd en in virtuele, beschermende foetus houding, maar wel intens genietend van dit pijnvol lied.

“Edward” brengt ons de mooie collusie van Tony & Andrew, afgezet tegen een waanzinnig mooie op atonaliteit gedreven melodie. De twee heershappen verhalen zo lieflijk brutaal “What did you kill your dear little brother for? O my boy, come now tell it unto me...... O and that will never, never be.”

Tijdens “April Rain” mogen de instrumentale registers dan weer eens volledig opengegooid worden, in originaliteit dan toch. Een etnisch getint nummer mag zijn meeslepende karakter opbouwen op een wisselende synthesizermelodie waar viool, dwarsfluit, percussie, cello en gitaar een dromerig klanktapijt doorheen weven.

Het plaatje is een opeenvolging van schitterende nummers, waaronder ook nog Andrews fantastische interpretatie van de massa-moord-ballade "Cruel Lincoln" waarop zijn tonaliteit en instrumentale begeiding tot een intense aggressiviteit kunnen uitgroeien die ik eigenlijk enkel live van hen ken.

Über-cynist Tony mag als laatste nummer zijn versie van oorlogslied “The Blackleg Miner” brengen, het dertiende nummer van de CD en daarmee ook het dertiende hoogstandje afleveren.

Onnodig nogmaals te zeggen hoe briljant “The Cruellest Month” wel is, maar overige artiesten zullen het verdorie moeilijk krijgen om deze uit mijn top 10 van 2011 te krijgen.

 

 

This indeed is the cruellest month
With barbed days to tear and hunt

This indeed is the cruellest month
Birth days, death days, boom and slump

This indeed is the cruellest month
Woodland mist and farewell waves

This indeed is the cruellest month
With hollow laughs and shallow graves

This indeed is the cruellest month
We swap young limbs for bloody stumps

This indeed is the cruellest month
The hiss of snakes and governments

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane