tempobet yeni adresi

EN FR
like this vinyl review

22/05/2011 : RED ZEBRA | PORTRAIT BIZARRE - No Kitchen In The House | Jesus Fell Off My Wall

RED ZEBRA
PORTRAIT BIZARRE

No Kitchen In The House

Jesus Fell Off My Wall

MusicVinyl
Post Punk

[82/100]   
22/05/2011, Didier CZEPCZYK

EN

Red Zebra is back ! Enjoy it ! And the legendary post-punkers are on top form.

“No Kitchen In the House” is produced by Mauro Pawlowski (Evil Superstar, dEUS …), only available in vinyl single format, and delivers on all fronts.

Melodic guitars and binary bass well up front. Federal, heroic and completely irresistible chorus (I thought I was listening to The Lords Of The New Church!). After only two plays you find yourself stamping your foot while humming “Then I realize, then I realize … there is no kitchen in the house!”. Pure inspired Red Zebra.

The older fans won’t be disappointed. As for the younger ones, they’d better lend a sharp ear to this little gem. As retro as it is radically current, it tells about the continuing domestic misadventures of Peter Slabbynck’s band. If these guys were not able to live in a "Living Room", it won’t get any better if you take away the kitchen!

Peter decided to share the record with fellow comebackers - Portrait Bizarre from Limburg. Very active in the early eighties (with underground hits like “The Ballad Of The Grave”) the quintet centered on Guido Wampers (vocal) and Raymond Szostek (keyboards) had decided to reform the band in October 2010.

With this “Jesus Fell Off My Wall”, Portrait Bizarre deliver us a charming dark/cold wave composition. The piano introduction flows into electro ethnic percussions, the tension building and getting out of control very quickly. Screaming guitar and processed voices. Low down in the mix and not overly expressive, Guido Wampers uses his voice as a fully-fledged instrument devoted to the music. The subtle offbeat drumming from Marc Haerden gives an original touch and certain fragility to the whole. Romantic, sad, melancholic (in the same register of bands like A Split Second, Siglo XX …), this song (mastered by Jo Casters from Poésie Noire) is a perfect teaser for the forthcoming album which should be released (still on vinyl) very soon.

We are waiting impatiently.

Didier CZEPCZYK
22/05/2011


FR

Red Zebra est de retour ! Qu’on se le dise. Et le légendaire groupe post-punk est en grande forme. Produit par Mauro Pawlowski (Evil Superstar, dEUS …) et disponible uniquement au format 45 tours,

« No Kitchen In the House » tient toutes ses promesses. Guitares mélodiques et basse binaire bien mises en avant. Refrain fédérateur et héroïque totalement imparable (j’ai cru entendre The Lords Of The New Church !). Après deux écoutes on se surprend à taper du pied en fredonnant « Then I realize, then I realize … there is no kitchen in the house ! ». Du pur Red Zebra inspiré.

Les anciens fans ne seront pas déçus. Quant aux plus jeunes, ils ont tout intérêt à prêter une oreille attentive à cette petite perle. A la fois rétro et radicalement actuelle, elle relate une nouvelle fois les mésaventures domestiques de la bande à Peter Slabbynck. Car si nos gaillards ne savaient déjà pas vivre dans une « Living Room », ça ne risque pas de s’arranger si on leur enlève la cuisine ! N’ayant rien en magasin comme deuxième titre (un instrumental avait d’abord été envisagé),

Peter a décidé de partager la plaque avec d’autres revenants : les limbourgeois de Portrait Bizarre. Très actif au début des eighties (avec notamment quelques tubes underground comme « The Ballad Of The Grave ») le quintet articulé autours de Guido Wampers (chant) et Raymond Szostek (claviers) a décidé de se reformer en octobre 2010.

Avec ce « Jesus Fell Off My Wall », Portrait Bizarre nous propose une très jolie composition dark/cold wave. Après une introduction au piano et percussions électro-ethniques, la tension monte et tout s’emballe très vite. Guitare hurlante et chant retravaillé à l’aide de multiples effets. Très en retrait dans le mix et peu démonstratif, Guido Wampers pose sa voix comme un instrument à part entière au service de la musique. Le jeu de batterie de Marc Haerden en subtile contretemps apporte à la fois une touche d’originalité et une certaine fragilité à l’ensemble. Romantique, triste, mélancolique (dans le même registre que des groupes comme A Split Second, Siglo XX …), ce titre (masterisé par Jo Casters, bien connu en tant que membre actif de Poésie Noire) est une parfaite mise en bouche avant un album qui devrait sortir (toujours en version vinyle) très prochainement.

On l’attend avec impatience donc.

Didier CZEPCZYK
22/05/2011


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl