tempobet yeni adresi

EN FR
like this vinyl review

22/05/2011 : RED ZEBRA | PORTRAIT BIZARRE - No Kitchen In The House | Jesus Fell Off My Wall

RED ZEBRA
PORTRAIT BIZARRE

No Kitchen In The House

Jesus Fell Off My Wall

MusicVinyl
Post Punk

[82/100]   
22/05/2011, Didier CZEPCZYK

EN

Red Zebra is back ! Enjoy it ! And the legendary post-punkers are on top form.

“No Kitchen In the House” is produced by Mauro Pawlowski (Evil Superstar, dEUS …), only available in vinyl single format, and delivers on all fronts.

Melodic guitars and binary bass well up front. Federal, heroic and completely irresistible chorus (I thought I was listening to The Lords Of The New Church!). After only two plays you find yourself stamping your foot while humming “Then I realize, then I realize … there is no kitchen in the house!”. Pure inspired Red Zebra.

The older fans won’t be disappointed. As for the younger ones, they’d better lend a sharp ear to this little gem. As retro as it is radically current, it tells about the continuing domestic misadventures of Peter Slabbynck’s band. If these guys were not able to live in a "Living Room", it won’t get any better if you take away the kitchen!

Peter decided to share the record with fellow comebackers - Portrait Bizarre from Limburg. Very active in the early eighties (with underground hits like “The Ballad Of The Grave”) the quintet centered on Guido Wampers (vocal) and Raymond Szostek (keyboards) had decided to reform the band in October 2010.

With this “Jesus Fell Off My Wall”, Portrait Bizarre deliver us a charming dark/cold wave composition. The piano introduction flows into electro ethnic percussions, the tension building and getting out of control very quickly. Screaming guitar and processed voices. Low down in the mix and not overly expressive, Guido Wampers uses his voice as a fully-fledged instrument devoted to the music. The subtle offbeat drumming from Marc Haerden gives an original touch and certain fragility to the whole. Romantic, sad, melancholic (in the same register of bands like A Split Second, Siglo XX …), this song (mastered by Jo Casters from Poésie Noire) is a perfect teaser for the forthcoming album which should be released (still on vinyl) very soon.

We are waiting impatiently.

Didier CZEPCZYK
22/05/2011


FR

Red Zebra est de retour ! Qu’on se le dise. Et le légendaire groupe post-punk est en grande forme. Produit par Mauro Pawlowski (Evil Superstar, dEUS …) et disponible uniquement au format 45 tours,

« No Kitchen In the House » tient toutes ses promesses. Guitares mélodiques et basse binaire bien mises en avant. Refrain fédérateur et héroïque totalement imparable (j’ai cru entendre The Lords Of The New Church !). Après deux écoutes on se surprend à taper du pied en fredonnant « Then I realize, then I realize … there is no kitchen in the house ! ». Du pur Red Zebra inspiré.

Les anciens fans ne seront pas déçus. Quant aux plus jeunes, ils ont tout intérêt à prêter une oreille attentive à cette petite perle. A la fois rétro et radicalement actuelle, elle relate une nouvelle fois les mésaventures domestiques de la bande à Peter Slabbynck. Car si nos gaillards ne savaient déjà pas vivre dans une « Living Room », ça ne risque pas de s’arranger si on leur enlève la cuisine ! N’ayant rien en magasin comme deuxième titre (un instrumental avait d’abord été envisagé),

Peter a décidé de partager la plaque avec d’autres revenants : les limbourgeois de Portrait Bizarre. Très actif au début des eighties (avec notamment quelques tubes underground comme « The Ballad Of The Grave ») le quintet articulé autours de Guido Wampers (chant) et Raymond Szostek (claviers) a décidé de se reformer en octobre 2010.

Avec ce « Jesus Fell Off My Wall », Portrait Bizarre nous propose une très jolie composition dark/cold wave. Après une introduction au piano et percussions électro-ethniques, la tension monte et tout s’emballe très vite. Guitare hurlante et chant retravaillé à l’aide de multiples effets. Très en retrait dans le mix et peu démonstratif, Guido Wampers pose sa voix comme un instrument à part entière au service de la musique. Le jeu de batterie de Marc Haerden en subtile contretemps apporte à la fois une touche d’originalité et une certaine fragilité à l’ensemble. Romantique, triste, mélancolique (dans le même registre que des groupes comme A Split Second, Siglo XX …), ce titre (masterisé par Jo Casters, bien connu en tant que membre actif de Poésie Noire) est une parfaite mise en bouche avant un album qui devrait sortir (toujours en version vinyle) très prochainement.

On l’attend avec impatience donc.

Didier CZEPCZYK
22/05/2011


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked