tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/05/2011 : OHGR - Undeveloped

OHGR

Undeveloped

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[82/100]   

SPV
16/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

ohGR might not be the most well known name there is, but electro fans will be aware that this is the sideproject from Nivek Ogre. The frontman from Skinny Puppy formed this band with producer Mark Walk in 2001 and together they released three albums already: "Welt", "SunnyPsyOp" and "Devils in my Details".

The most remarkable thing about this project is that it sounds more like Skinny Puppy than the "motherband" does lately. Whereas Skinny Puppy is going for a more experimental and harsh approach these days, it seems like Nivek has chosen for a quite poppy sound that found its influences in the 80s.

This already becomes clear in a song like "101", which will automatically remind you of "Smothered Hope" or "Assimilate". You're surprised at our mentioning the word pop? Well, it is true indeed that this legendary electro icon comes up with very melodic electro songs, even if they are wrapped in provocative titles like "Screw me". However, this is something you can expect from Nivek (who, by the way, appeared on the big screen recently, acting in the horrorcomedy "2001 Maniacs: Field of screams”).

This fourth album of ohGR is without a doubt, along with the latest 16 Volt, one of the highlights in the industrial-rock genre of 2011 so far.

Didier BECU
16/05/2011


NL

ohGR is misschien niet bepaald een naam waar je van achterover valt, maar het is wel een project van niemand minder dan Nivek Ogre. Deze frontman van Skinny Puppy richtte deze band samen met producer Mark Walk op in 2001 en sindsdien zijn er al drie albums van hen verschenen: "Welt", "SunnyPsyOp" en "Devils in my Details".

Het rare aan dit project is dat, terwijl Skinny Puppy meer en meer de experimentele toer op gaat (lees: harsher), Nivek zich met ohGR meer lijkt vast te klampen aan de jaren '80, waardoor deze "Undeveloped" meer zoals Skinny Puppy klinkt dan alles wat de groep zelf de laatste jaren heeft uitgebracht.

Dat merk je eigenlijk meteen al bij een nummer als "101", dat even poppy klinkt als pakweg "Smothered Hope" of "Assimilate". U kijkt raar op bij het lezen van het woord poppy? Inderdaad, de legendarische electrofiguur komt hier met uiterst melodieuze electrosongs op de proppen, ook al worden deze omhuld door "provocerende" titels als "Screw me". We hadden echter van Nivek nu eenmaal niet anders verwacht. (Hij was trouwens onlangs als acteur in de horrorkomedie "2001 Maniacs: Field of screams" te zien.)

Deze vierde plaat van ohGR is zonder twijfel samen met 16 Volt één van de hoogtepunten van 2011 in het industrial-rockgenre.

Didier BECU
16/05/2011


 

Next reviews
SPECTRA*PARIS • FRIDAY THE 13TH | KORTRIJK | DE KREUN | 13/05/2011 | When indus meets beauty
DER PLAN • Normalette Surprise
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Early Tapes
PAIL • Faith in the void
SIXTH JUNE • Back for a day EP
//TENSE// • No escape 12'inch
TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN • To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions
CHARLES BAUDELAIRE • Les fleurs du mal
SCHLEIMER K • Wounded Wood
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic Pop Deux

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
KMFDM • Kunst
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
ALTER RED • Mind-forged manacles
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
INERTIA • Deworlded

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel