tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/05/2011 : SCHLEIMER K - Wounded Wood

SCHLEIMER K

Wounded Wood

MusicCD
New wavePost Rock

[81/100]   

Infrastition
15/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

To the never ending series of essential records being rereleased, you can now add Schleimer K as well.

Nowadays, this might seem quite impossible, but thirty years ago, it was only natural that music not only had a message but also contained some art. The 80s were perhaps dark and without hope, but people at least used their heads. The fact that we mention this in the introduction, is the best proof thereof.

A duo that fits this category perfectly is without any doubt Schleimer K, consisting of the Brit Michael Wolfen and the Frenchman Dominique Brethes. In those times, they liked to shock, by appearing on stage in bondage outfits, which led people to categorize them as Dadaistic and their music quickly got compared with the likes of Cabaret Voltaire.

Today, such sounds are described as minimal wave. What struck us the most, was that Schleimer K sometimes sound like Tuxedomoon at their most poppiest, although still with a nice new wave-edge. Simply put, this is an essential sound of the 80s.

 “Wounded wood” was Schleimer K's last record, after which they disappeared in the same unnoticed way they came.

Since you will only find this record in some E-Bay collections, thus most likely quite expensive, we dare to say that this release is indispensable!

Available, just like everything else on Infrastition, at your Wool-E-Shop.

Didier BECU
15/05/2011


NL

Aan het rijtje essentiële platen die heruitgebracht worden, mag je vanaf heden ook Schleimer K toevoegen.

Ook al lijkt dit vandaag onmogelijk, dertig jaar geleden was het de doodnormaalste zaak van de wereld dat muziek niet alleen een boodschap had, maar dat er ook wat kunst aan te pas kwam. De jaren ’80 waren misschien wel zwart en zonder hoop, maar men dacht destijds tenminste na. Dat we zoiets in een intro vermelden is daar trouwens het beste bewijs van.

Een duo dat in dit rijtje thuishoorde, is zonder meer Schleimer K, bestaande uit de Brit Michael Wolfen en de Fransman Dominique Brethes. In die tijd choqueerde men graag, door gehuld in bondagepakken het podium te beklimmen, waardoor ze al vlug onder de noemer van het Dadaïsme werden geplaatst en bestempeld werden als een new wave-act in de trant van Cabaret Voltaire.

Tegenwoordig noemt men zoiets minimal wave. Ons viel het vooral op dat Schleimer K bij momenten klonk als de meest poppy tracks die Tuxedomoon ooit gebracht heeft, weliswaar met een serieus new wave-kantje. Een uitgebreide omschrijving, waarmee we enkel maar willen zeggen dat dit een essentieel new wavegeluid uit de jaren ’80 is.

“Wounded wood” was de laatste plaat van Schleimer K en daarmee verdwenen ze even geruisloos als ze opkwamen.

Aangezien deze plaat hooguit kan teruggevonden worden bij één of andere E-Bay platenverzamelaar, en dus aan een onbetaalbare prijs, zouden we durven zeggen: een essentiele release!

Alles van Infrastition is verkrijgbaar bij Wool-E-Shop.

Didier BECU
15/05/2011


Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE