tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/05/2011 : GRIMES - Halfaxa

GRIMES

Halfaxa

MusicCD
Dark WaveIndieShoegaze

[81/100]   
13/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

In the music history, there has always been a place for women who were gifted with extraordinary voices. Usually, you'd find such talents behind a piano, with Kate Bush being a prime example.

This has brought us lots of good records but at the end of the day we just shrug our shoulders when someone turns up with the next Tori Amos-clone as we've heard it all before.

But we should know better than to underestimate the power of the fairer sex, as they always seem to be a bit smarter.

It seems that women are still the cleverest people on the planet. These days they are leaving the piano and are seeking their musical support in the inexhaustible supply of electronica that emerged in the 80’s.

The figurehead of this scene is undoubtedly Zola Jesus and 23 year old Canadian singer Claire Boucher has also understood this.

Armed with an excellent voice, Claire knows how to evoke the kind of atmosphere with electronic sounds that could be heard on old 4-AD records.

The result is that “Halfaxa” (originally released on the Canadian Arbutus-label) is the kind of cd that gets stuck to your trousers.

Absolutely wonderful, even if we’re quite sure that in the future we will hear more acts like this…but remember that these women are smart - they keep coming back.

Didier BECU
13/05/2011


NL

Vrouwen met een aparte stem zijn steeds een constante factor geweest in de muziekgeschiedenis, alleen was het vaak zo dat ze in opvolging van het grote voorbeeld dat Kate Bush ooit was, zich vaak achter een piano gingen nestelen.

Het bracht de wereld tal van mooie platen op, ook al haalde je vaak de schouders op toen je voor de zoveelste keer een Tori Amos-achtige diva onder de kniezen kreeg geschoven.

Maar blijkbaar blijven de vrouwen toch de slimste wezens van deze planeet. Tegenwoordig laten dit soort vrouwen de piano voor wat het is en wordt de muzikale ondersteuning gezocht in minimale elektronica dat uit de onuitputtelijke voorraadkast van de jaren '80 blijkt te komen.

Boegbeeld van deze scene is zonder twijfel Zola Jesus en dat heeft ook de 23-jarige Canadese zangeres Claire Boucher meer dan goed begrepen.

Gewapend met een stem om u tegen te zeggen, voorzag Claire haar stem van de nodige elektronica en weet ze mooi een sfeer op te roepen die als het ware de geest van een oude 4-AD plaat terug brengt.

Het resultaat is dan ook dat deze "Halfaxa" (origineel uitgebracht op het Canadese Arbutus-label) een cd is die aan je broek blijft plakken.

Wondermooi, ook al zegt ons iets in dat we in de toekomst nog meer van zulke acts zullen krijgen...maar tja, toch onthouden dat die vrouwen slimmer zijn: ze komen steeds terug!

Didier BECU
13/05/2011


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
10
36 years ago Ministry released (Every Day Is) Halloween!
30
10
In time for Halloween Heaven and Hell Records resurrect the MORTICIA catalogue.
29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
10
DIVE
Far Away
30
10
THE MISSION
Tower Of Strength 2020
29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World