tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/05/2011 : GRIMES - Halfaxa

GRIMES

Halfaxa

MusicCD
Dark WaveIndieShoegaze

[81/100]   
13/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

In the music history, there has always been a place for women who were gifted with extraordinary voices. Usually, you'd find such talents behind a piano, with Kate Bush being a prime example.

This has brought us lots of good records but at the end of the day we just shrug our shoulders when someone turns up with the next Tori Amos-clone as we've heard it all before.

But we should know better than to underestimate the power of the fairer sex, as they always seem to be a bit smarter.

It seems that women are still the cleverest people on the planet. These days they are leaving the piano and are seeking their musical support in the inexhaustible supply of electronica that emerged in the 80’s.

The figurehead of this scene is undoubtedly Zola Jesus and 23 year old Canadian singer Claire Boucher has also understood this.

Armed with an excellent voice, Claire knows how to evoke the kind of atmosphere with electronic sounds that could be heard on old 4-AD records.

The result is that “Halfaxa” (originally released on the Canadian Arbutus-label) is the kind of cd that gets stuck to your trousers.

Absolutely wonderful, even if we’re quite sure that in the future we will hear more acts like this…but remember that these women are smart - they keep coming back.

Didier BECU
13/05/2011


NL

Vrouwen met een aparte stem zijn steeds een constante factor geweest in de muziekgeschiedenis, alleen was het vaak zo dat ze in opvolging van het grote voorbeeld dat Kate Bush ooit was, zich vaak achter een piano gingen nestelen.

Het bracht de wereld tal van mooie platen op, ook al haalde je vaak de schouders op toen je voor de zoveelste keer een Tori Amos-achtige diva onder de kniezen kreeg geschoven.

Maar blijkbaar blijven de vrouwen toch de slimste wezens van deze planeet. Tegenwoordig laten dit soort vrouwen de piano voor wat het is en wordt de muzikale ondersteuning gezocht in minimale elektronica dat uit de onuitputtelijke voorraadkast van de jaren '80 blijkt te komen.

Boegbeeld van deze scene is zonder twijfel Zola Jesus en dat heeft ook de 23-jarige Canadese zangeres Claire Boucher meer dan goed begrepen.

Gewapend met een stem om u tegen te zeggen, voorzag Claire haar stem van de nodige elektronica en weet ze mooi een sfeer op te roepen die als het ware de geest van een oude 4-AD plaat terug brengt.

Het resultaat is dan ook dat deze "Halfaxa" (origineel uitgebracht op het Canadese Arbutus-label) een cd is die aan je broek blijft plakken.

Wondermooi, ook al zegt ons iets in dat we in de toekomst nog meer van zulke acts zullen krijgen...maar tja, toch onthouden dat die vrouwen slimmer zijn: ze komen steeds terug!

Didier BECU
13/05/2011


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)