tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/05/2011 : GRIMES - Halfaxa

GRIMES

Halfaxa

MusicCD
Dark WaveIndieShoegaze

[81/100]   
13/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

In the music history, there has always been a place for women who were gifted with extraordinary voices. Usually, you'd find such talents behind a piano, with Kate Bush being a prime example.

This has brought us lots of good records but at the end of the day we just shrug our shoulders when someone turns up with the next Tori Amos-clone as we've heard it all before.

But we should know better than to underestimate the power of the fairer sex, as they always seem to be a bit smarter.

It seems that women are still the cleverest people on the planet. These days they are leaving the piano and are seeking their musical support in the inexhaustible supply of electronica that emerged in the 80’s.

The figurehead of this scene is undoubtedly Zola Jesus and 23 year old Canadian singer Claire Boucher has also understood this.

Armed with an excellent voice, Claire knows how to evoke the kind of atmosphere with electronic sounds that could be heard on old 4-AD records.

The result is that “Halfaxa” (originally released on the Canadian Arbutus-label) is the kind of cd that gets stuck to your trousers.

Absolutely wonderful, even if we’re quite sure that in the future we will hear more acts like this…but remember that these women are smart - they keep coming back.

Didier BECU
13/05/2011


NL

Vrouwen met een aparte stem zijn steeds een constante factor geweest in de muziekgeschiedenis, alleen was het vaak zo dat ze in opvolging van het grote voorbeeld dat Kate Bush ooit was, zich vaak achter een piano gingen nestelen.

Het bracht de wereld tal van mooie platen op, ook al haalde je vaak de schouders op toen je voor de zoveelste keer een Tori Amos-achtige diva onder de kniezen kreeg geschoven.

Maar blijkbaar blijven de vrouwen toch de slimste wezens van deze planeet. Tegenwoordig laten dit soort vrouwen de piano voor wat het is en wordt de muzikale ondersteuning gezocht in minimale elektronica dat uit de onuitputtelijke voorraadkast van de jaren '80 blijkt te komen.

Boegbeeld van deze scene is zonder twijfel Zola Jesus en dat heeft ook de 23-jarige Canadese zangeres Claire Boucher meer dan goed begrepen.

Gewapend met een stem om u tegen te zeggen, voorzag Claire haar stem van de nodige elektronica en weet ze mooi een sfeer op te roepen die als het ware de geest van een oude 4-AD plaat terug brengt.

Het resultaat is dan ook dat deze "Halfaxa" (origineel uitgebracht op het Canadese Arbutus-label) een cd is die aan je broek blijft plakken.

Wondermooi, ook al zegt ons iets in dat we in de toekomst nog meer van zulke acts zullen krijgen...maar tja, toch onthouden dat die vrouwen slimmer zijn: ze komen steeds terug!

Didier BECU
13/05/2011


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness