tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/05/2011 : GAVIN FRIDAY - Catholic

GAVIN FRIDAY

Catholic

MusicCD
New wavePopUnclassifiable

[74/100]   
10/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A new Gavin Friday, not an everyday happening. Mr. Friday has done almost 16 years to donate us his latest creation. In the late seventies an (at that moment) illustrious Bono, Gavin Friday and Guggi's were the founders of Lypton Village, a group that did not exist long, but was the breeding soil for the later U2 and The Virgin Prunes. Bono's band never could impress me, even though their mark on pop music is impressive. The Virgin Prunes however, they created a new musical form, a new cross-over between theater and music, delivering a total performance, and that was one that made a major impression on me and this had, in my view, a lesser known but far greater impact on music history.

In 1986, the Virgin Prunes finally split, after which we only could follow its founders solo. Since then, Gavin Friday has released four full studio albums. After the sublime melancholic "Each Man Kills the Thing He Loves" his music became more and more polished, at least on CD since live he was (and hopefully is) always a great entertainer, a tremendous experience.

Unfortunately his latest creation, Catholic, is suffering the same problem. The album sounds much too polished so that the emotions and often brilliant lyrics get insufficient support to be really impressive. But luckily the CD has a well built structure and the songs are gradually getting stronger and better.

Gavin has a fantastically beautiful timbre in his voice, lifting the songs from moderate to good, but his ferocity of a bygone era is sadly missing. Perfume however is the exception for me: a catchy and fierce riff on which Gavin's lyrics get really beautifully reflected (by the look in her eyes, You Could see the surprise. The intent is not cruel, me a-bendin 'the rule...... the sin is hell, the kiss and tell, the sweet smell of perfume....) Even Lord I'm Comin ' is such a gem, wherein his desperation gets oh so beautifully interwoven with his beautiful lyrics, supported by melancholic violins. Fantastic! (I think i fell in love, your smile alone like a drunken drug has gone and left me. Lord, I'm comin ')

But unfortunately all these gems can not lift the full album to a superior level. I hope that we may see him soon back as a live performer and hope that his words may be true, according to his own song: 'the best is yet to come'.

 

www.gavinfriday.com

Ward DE PRINS
10/05/2011


NL

Een nieuwe Gavin Friday, niet direct een alledaags gebeuren daar Mr. Friday er haast 16 jaar over heeft gedaan om ons zijn nieuwste creatie te schenken. Eind jaren zeventig waren een (toen nog) illustere Bono, Gavin Friday en Guggi de oprichters van Lypton Village, een groep die niet lang heeft bestaan maar wel de voedingsbodem was voor het latere U2 alsook The Virgin Prunes. Bono’s band heeft me nooit echt kunnen bekoren, ook al is hun stempel op popmuziek indrukwekkend. The Virgin Prunes daarentegen creëerden een nieuwe muziekvorm, een nieuwe cross-over tussen theater en muziek, steeds een totaal performance, en dat was er eentje dat me steeds heeft kunnen bekoren en die, mijn inziens, een minder bekende doch veel grotere impact op de muziekgeschiedenis heeft gehad.

In 1986 hebben deze Virgin Prunes er echter de brui aan gegeven, waarna we de oprichters enkel solo nog konden volgen. Gavin Friday heeft sindsdien 4 volwaardige studio albums uitgebracht. Na het sublieme en zwaar melancholische ‘Each Man Kills the Thing He Loves’ verviel hij echter in zwaar gepolijste muziek, althans toch op CD want live was (en hopelijk, is) hij steeds een ware belevenis.

Ook zijn laatste creatie, Catholic, is ziek in hetzelfde bedje. Het geheel klinkt me veel te gepolijst waardoor de emoties en vaak briljante teksten onvoldoende tot hun recht komen. Gelukkig heeft de CD een goed opgebouwde structuur, zodat de nummers wel geleidelijk aan sterker en beter worden.

Gavin heeft een fantastisch mooi timbre in zijn stem, waardoor de songs toch van middelmatig naar mooi worden gelift, maar zijn vinnigheid van weleer is helaas zoek. Perfume is voor mij dé uitzondering waar op een aanstekelijke en vinnige riff Gavin’s zalige teksten fantastisch mooi tot uiting komen (by the look in her eyes, you could see the surprise. The intent is not cruel, me a-bendin’ the rule … …the sin is hell, the kiss and tell, the sweet smell of…perfume.) Ook Lord I’m Comin’ is zo een pareltje, waarbij hij zijn wanhoop o zo mooi in songteksten verweven krijgt, en dat geheel dan nog eens ondersteunt met sombere violen, heerlijk. (I think I fell in love, your smile alone like a drunken drug has gone and left me. Lord, I’m comin’)

Maar helaas kunnen deze pareltjes het geheel niet optillen en is het volledige album voor mij geen topper. Ik hoop dan ook dat we deze performer snel terug live mogen aanschouwen en hoop dat zijn woorden waarheid mogen worden, toch volgens zijn eigen song: ‘the best is yet to come’.

 

www.gavinfriday.com

Ward DE PRINS
10/05/2011


 

Next reviews
MATT HOWDEN • Robot World
JESUS & THE GURUS • Wut + Zorn = Revolution
IN THE NURSERY • Blind Sound
COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA • Vernes-Monde
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Have You Seen This Ghost?
SUZERAIN • Midnight In The Drawn City
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside
KRYSTAL SYSTEM • Nuclear
MEDICATION • Judgement Day

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice