tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

05/05/2011 : MEDICATION - Judgement Day

MEDICATION

Judgement Day

MusicVinyl
IndiePsychedelic

[61/100]   
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

With releases from bands like Naked On The Vague or Zola Jesus, the American label Sacred Bones Records can claim to be one of the hippest underground labels that are specialized in lo-fi psychedelic sound with a touch of music that we like to describe as something dark.

Not all bands on the labels are picked up by the public yet and Medication is one of the lesser known projects that grace the label. Behind Medication goes the person of Mike Hyde who likes to hide himself in his room and using all kind of tape loops (and a sick spirit) , he comes up with what men can be describe as lo-fi bedroom pop that has a Xiu Xiu-feel.

The six (rather short) songs you can find on here are the fruit of two years work. Having said that, we have to tell that the songs are way too short to get a grip on you as from the moment you’re sucked into Mike’s atmosphere, it suddenly comes to an end and you can start all over.

Floating between rather good and acceptable.

Anyway for those who want to be introduced to the world of Sacred Bones Records we won't recommend you to take this as a first acquaintance, the debut from Cult Of Youth can be a good one though.

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

Het Amerikaanse Sacred Bones Records is met releases van groepen als Naked On The Vague of Zola Jesus al een tijdje één van de toonaangevende labels die er in slagen om een lo-fi psychedelica geluid te koppelen aan muziek dat wij graag bestempelen als eentje met een donker tintje.

Het ene is al wat bekender dan het andere en deze Medication behoort zeker tot één van de mindere goden van het label. Achter Medication gaat de persoon van Mike Hyde schuil en hij is één van de vele artiesten die zich graag op zijn kamer verschanst en met allerlei tape loops (en een zieke geest) het soort van lo-fi bedroomrecordings weet te maken die aanleunen bij wat Xiu Xiu wel eens durrven te doen.

De zes (zeer korte) nummertjes die je hier terug vindt, vertegenwoordigen het materiaal dat Mike de laatste twee jaar heeft uitgebracht en de nummertjes zijn allemaal een beetje van hetzelfde bedje ziek: zo kort dat op het moment dat je in de sfeer raakt, er zich prompt een ander nummer aanbiedt.

Zwevend tussen verdienstelijk en een leuke poging zouden we je dit niet echt aanraden als kennismaking met Sacred Bones Records, het debuut van Cult Of Youth zou dat daarentegen wel kunnen zijn.

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


 

Next reviews
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked
ANTAL SZERB • The Pendragon Legend | De Pendragonlegende
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay
PAUL CHAMBERS • Stations/Absorptions

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism

 

Same genre: INDIE
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
41 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 41 years ago!
26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask