tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

05/05/2011 : MEDICATION - Judgement Day

MEDICATION

Judgement Day

MusicVinyl
IndiePsychedelic

[61/100]   
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

With releases from bands like Naked On The Vague or Zola Jesus, the American label Sacred Bones Records can claim to be one of the hippest underground labels that are specialized in lo-fi psychedelic sound with a touch of music that we like to describe as something dark.

Not all bands on the labels are picked up by the public yet and Medication is one of the lesser known projects that grace the label. Behind Medication goes the person of Mike Hyde who likes to hide himself in his room and using all kind of tape loops (and a sick spirit) , he comes up with what men can be describe as lo-fi bedroom pop that has a Xiu Xiu-feel.

The six (rather short) songs you can find on here are the fruit of two years work. Having said that, we have to tell that the songs are way too short to get a grip on you as from the moment you’re sucked into Mike’s atmosphere, it suddenly comes to an end and you can start all over.

Floating between rather good and acceptable.

Anyway for those who want to be introduced to the world of Sacred Bones Records we won't recommend you to take this as a first acquaintance, the debut from Cult Of Youth can be a good one though.

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

Het Amerikaanse Sacred Bones Records is met releases van groepen als Naked On The Vague of Zola Jesus al een tijdje één van de toonaangevende labels die er in slagen om een lo-fi psychedelica geluid te koppelen aan muziek dat wij graag bestempelen als eentje met een donker tintje.

Het ene is al wat bekender dan het andere en deze Medication behoort zeker tot één van de mindere goden van het label. Achter Medication gaat de persoon van Mike Hyde schuil en hij is één van de vele artiesten die zich graag op zijn kamer verschanst en met allerlei tape loops (en een zieke geest) het soort van lo-fi bedroomrecordings weet te maken die aanleunen bij wat Xiu Xiu wel eens durrven te doen.

De zes (zeer korte) nummertjes die je hier terug vindt, vertegenwoordigen het materiaal dat Mike de laatste twee jaar heeft uitgebracht en de nummertjes zijn allemaal een beetje van hetzelfde bedje ziek: zo kort dat op het moment dat je in de sfeer raakt, er zich prompt een ander nummer aanbiedt.

Zwevend tussen verdienstelijk en een leuke poging zouden we je dit niet echt aanraden als kennismaking met Sacred Bones Records, het debuut van Cult Of Youth zou dat daarentegen wel kunnen zijn.

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


 

Next reviews
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked
ANTAL SZERB • The Pendragon Legend | De Pendragonlegende
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay
PAUL CHAMBERS • Stations/Absorptions

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down