tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

05/05/2011 : MEDICATION - Judgement Day

MEDICATION

Judgement Day

MusicVinyl
IndiePsychedelic

[61/100]   
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

With releases from bands like Naked On The Vague or Zola Jesus, the American label Sacred Bones Records can claim to be one of the hippest underground labels that are specialized in lo-fi psychedelic sound with a touch of music that we like to describe as something dark.

Not all bands on the labels are picked up by the public yet and Medication is one of the lesser known projects that grace the label. Behind Medication goes the person of Mike Hyde who likes to hide himself in his room and using all kind of tape loops (and a sick spirit) , he comes up with what men can be describe as lo-fi bedroom pop that has a Xiu Xiu-feel.

The six (rather short) songs you can find on here are the fruit of two years work. Having said that, we have to tell that the songs are way too short to get a grip on you as from the moment you’re sucked into Mike’s atmosphere, it suddenly comes to an end and you can start all over.

Floating between rather good and acceptable.

Anyway for those who want to be introduced to the world of Sacred Bones Records we won't recommend you to take this as a first acquaintance, the debut from Cult Of Youth can be a good one though.

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

Het Amerikaanse Sacred Bones Records is met releases van groepen als Naked On The Vague of Zola Jesus al een tijdje één van de toonaangevende labels die er in slagen om een lo-fi psychedelica geluid te koppelen aan muziek dat wij graag bestempelen als eentje met een donker tintje.

Het ene is al wat bekender dan het andere en deze Medication behoort zeker tot één van de mindere goden van het label. Achter Medication gaat de persoon van Mike Hyde schuil en hij is één van de vele artiesten die zich graag op zijn kamer verschanst en met allerlei tape loops (en een zieke geest) het soort van lo-fi bedroomrecordings weet te maken die aanleunen bij wat Xiu Xiu wel eens durrven te doen.

De zes (zeer korte) nummertjes die je hier terug vindt, vertegenwoordigen het materiaal dat Mike de laatste twee jaar heeft uitgebracht en de nummertjes zijn allemaal een beetje van hetzelfde bedje ziek: zo kort dat op het moment dat je in de sfeer raakt, er zich prompt een ander nummer aanbiedt.

Zwevend tussen verdienstelijk en een leuke poging zouden we je dit niet echt aanraden als kennismaking met Sacred Bones Records, het debuut van Cult Of Youth zou dat daarentegen wel kunnen zijn.

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


 

Next reviews
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked
ANTAL SZERB • The Pendragon Legend | De Pendragonlegende
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay
PAUL CHAMBERS • Stations/Absorptions

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine