tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MASS GOTHIC - Mass Gothic

MASS GOTHIC

Mass Gothic

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicShoegaze
SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A white-black drawing of a man who’s wearing a T-shirt with the inscription Italian Girls are The Best In The World. It is probably true (sorry for the non-Italian ladies), but this cover doesn't tell you what to expect musically. Don’t be fooled by the band’s name either, as Mass Gothic is not gothic, although it sounds darker and heavier than many gothic we hear.

The core of Mass Gothic is the New Yorker Noel Heroux, the founder of Hooray For Earth. Despite the fact that Noel had a lot of success with that band, he disbanded Hooray For Earth at its peak because he was bored. Heroux eventually had a deep depression and apparently he is okay now as along with Jessica Zambri he returns with this brand new project. The style? A mishmash of different (good) things, resulting in indie with psychedelic influences.

The first highlight is Want To, Bad, a synth pop track that makes you weep and dance. Beautiful. The high level is maintained in Pier Pressure. The backbone of the song is just a melodic pop song, but a bizarre synth makes it mysteriously dark.

Nice Night was our first encounter with the band, because it was the first single. You can’t score a hit with such a composition, but you can impress people with it.

Every Night You've Got To Save Me is a bit of a bummer. It's a good track, but the Phil Spector-like melodies don’t really fit here. At least that is what we think...

Territory begins with contemporary electronics (think M83), but after a minute it evolves into a lovely psychedelic cacophony.

Mass Gothic won’t make Noel Heroux rich or famous, but art it is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een wit-zwarttekening van een man in een T-shirt met het opschrift Italian Girls are The Best In The World. Het is wellicht waar (sorry voor de niet-Italiaanse dames), maar voor de rest vertelt dit beeld maar weinig over wat je van deze muziek kan verwachten. Staar je ook niet al te blind op de naam van de band, want Mass Gothic speelt geen gothic, alhoewel het donkerder en zwaarder is dan heel wat gothic die we tegenwoordig horen.

De hoofdrol in Mass Gothic wordt vertolkt door de New Yorker Noel Heroux, ooit de bezieler van Hooray For Earth. Ondanks het feit dat Noel heel wat succes met deze band had, raakte hij er zo op uitgekeken dat hij op het hoogtepunt Hooray For Earth definitief naar de schrootplaats verwees. Uiteindelijk belandde Heroux in een zware depressie en blijkbaar is hij er nu uit, want samen met Jessica Zambri is hij er terug met dit nagelnieuw project. De stijl? Een bont allegaartje van alle (goede) dingen, zodat dat alleen indie met psychedelische invloeden overblijft.

De eerste extase is Want To, Bad een synthpoptrack die je tegelijkertijd doet huilen en dansen. Prachtig. Het hoge niveau wordt meteen doorgetrokken in het angstaanjagende Pier Pressure. De ruggengraat ervan is niet meer dan een melodieuze popsong, maar die wordt omkleed met een bizarre synth die de track mysterieus donker maakt.

Nice Night was onze eerste kennismaking met de band, want het was tevens de eerste single. Een hit scoor je niet met zo’n compositie, indruk maak je er wel mee.

Every Night You’ve Got To Save Me is een beetje de spelbreker van de plaat. Het is een goede track, maar de Phil Spectorachtige melodieën horen hier niet echt thuis. Ten minste dat vinden wij toch…

Territory begint met eigentijdse elektronica (denk aan M83), maar na een minuutje is het een heerlijke psychedelische kakofonie.

Rijk zal Noel Heroux met Mass Gothic niet worden, maar het levert wel een schitterende cd op.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
AUBIN • Any Day Now
MEIJER • Vrouwen
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
HECQ • Night Falls (Remastered)
FEW BITS • Big Sparks
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC + SHOEGAZE
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
KARAWANE • Karawane
THE SHOES • Chemicals
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway