tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : MASS GOTHIC - Mass Gothic

MASS GOTHIC

Mass Gothic

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicShoegaze
SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A white-black drawing of a man who’s wearing a T-shirt with the inscription Italian Girls are The Best In The World. It is probably true (sorry for the non-Italian ladies), but this cover doesn't tell you what to expect musically. Don’t be fooled by the band’s name either, as Mass Gothic is not gothic, although it sounds darker and heavier than many gothic we hear.

The core of Mass Gothic is the New Yorker Noel Heroux, the founder of Hooray For Earth. Despite the fact that Noel had a lot of success with that band, he disbanded Hooray For Earth at its peak because he was bored. Heroux eventually had a deep depression and apparently he is okay now as along with Jessica Zambri he returns with this brand new project. The style? A mishmash of different (good) things, resulting in indie with psychedelic influences.

The first highlight is Want To, Bad, a synth pop track that makes you weep and dance. Beautiful. The high level is maintained in Pier Pressure. The backbone of the song is just a melodic pop song, but a bizarre synth makes it mysteriously dark.

Nice Night was our first encounter with the band, because it was the first single. You can’t score a hit with such a composition, but you can impress people with it.

Every Night You've Got To Save Me is a bit of a bummer. It's a good track, but the Phil Spector-like melodies don’t really fit here. At least that is what we think...

Territory begins with contemporary electronics (think M83), but after a minute it evolves into a lovely psychedelic cacophony.

Mass Gothic won’t make Noel Heroux rich or famous, but art it is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een wit-zwarttekening van een man in een T-shirt met het opschrift Italian Girls are The Best In The World. Het is wellicht waar (sorry voor de niet-Italiaanse dames), maar voor de rest vertelt dit beeld maar weinig over wat je van deze muziek kan verwachten. Staar je ook niet al te blind op de naam van de band, want Mass Gothic speelt geen gothic, alhoewel het donkerder en zwaarder is dan heel wat gothic die we tegenwoordig horen.

De hoofdrol in Mass Gothic wordt vertolkt door de New Yorker Noel Heroux, ooit de bezieler van Hooray For Earth. Ondanks het feit dat Noel heel wat succes met deze band had, raakte hij er zo op uitgekeken dat hij op het hoogtepunt Hooray For Earth definitief naar de schrootplaats verwees. Uiteindelijk belandde Heroux in een zware depressie en blijkbaar is hij er nu uit, want samen met Jessica Zambri is hij er terug met dit nagelnieuw project. De stijl? Een bont allegaartje van alle (goede) dingen, zodat dat alleen indie met psychedelische invloeden overblijft.

De eerste extase is Want To, Bad een synthpoptrack die je tegelijkertijd doet huilen en dansen. Prachtig. Het hoge niveau wordt meteen doorgetrokken in het angstaanjagende Pier Pressure. De ruggengraat ervan is niet meer dan een melodieuze popsong, maar die wordt omkleed met een bizarre synth die de track mysterieus donker maakt.

Nice Night was onze eerste kennismaking met de band, want het was tevens de eerste single. Een hit scoor je niet met zo’n compositie, indruk maak je er wel mee.

Every Night You’ve Got To Save Me is een beetje de spelbreker van de plaat. Het is een goede track, maar de Phil Spectorachtige melodieën horen hier niet echt thuis. Ten minste dat vinden wij toch…

Territory begint met eigentijdse elektronica (denk aan M83), maar na een minuutje is het een heerlijke psychedelische kakofonie.

Rijk zal Noel Heroux met Mass Gothic niet worden, maar het levert wel een schitterende cd op.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
AUBIN • Any Day Now
MEIJER • Vrouwen
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
HECQ • Night Falls (Remastered)
FEW BITS • Big Sparks
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC + SHOEGAZE
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
KARAWANE • Karawane
THE SHOES • Chemicals
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading