tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MASS GOTHIC - Mass Gothic

MASS GOTHIC

Mass Gothic

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicShoegaze
SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A white-black drawing of a man who’s wearing a T-shirt with the inscription Italian Girls are The Best In The World. It is probably true (sorry for the non-Italian ladies), but this cover doesn't tell you what to expect musically. Don’t be fooled by the band’s name either, as Mass Gothic is not gothic, although it sounds darker and heavier than many gothic we hear.

The core of Mass Gothic is the New Yorker Noel Heroux, the founder of Hooray For Earth. Despite the fact that Noel had a lot of success with that band, he disbanded Hooray For Earth at its peak because he was bored. Heroux eventually had a deep depression and apparently he is okay now as along with Jessica Zambri he returns with this brand new project. The style? A mishmash of different (good) things, resulting in indie with psychedelic influences.

The first highlight is Want To, Bad, a synth pop track that makes you weep and dance. Beautiful. The high level is maintained in Pier Pressure. The backbone of the song is just a melodic pop song, but a bizarre synth makes it mysteriously dark.

Nice Night was our first encounter with the band, because it was the first single. You can’t score a hit with such a composition, but you can impress people with it.

Every Night You've Got To Save Me is a bit of a bummer. It's a good track, but the Phil Spector-like melodies don’t really fit here. At least that is what we think...

Territory begins with contemporary electronics (think M83), but after a minute it evolves into a lovely psychedelic cacophony.

Mass Gothic won’t make Noel Heroux rich or famous, but art it is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een wit-zwarttekening van een man in een T-shirt met het opschrift Italian Girls are The Best In The World. Het is wellicht waar (sorry voor de niet-Italiaanse dames), maar voor de rest vertelt dit beeld maar weinig over wat je van deze muziek kan verwachten. Staar je ook niet al te blind op de naam van de band, want Mass Gothic speelt geen gothic, alhoewel het donkerder en zwaarder is dan heel wat gothic die we tegenwoordig horen.

De hoofdrol in Mass Gothic wordt vertolkt door de New Yorker Noel Heroux, ooit de bezieler van Hooray For Earth. Ondanks het feit dat Noel heel wat succes met deze band had, raakte hij er zo op uitgekeken dat hij op het hoogtepunt Hooray For Earth definitief naar de schrootplaats verwees. Uiteindelijk belandde Heroux in een zware depressie en blijkbaar is hij er nu uit, want samen met Jessica Zambri is hij er terug met dit nagelnieuw project. De stijl? Een bont allegaartje van alle (goede) dingen, zodat dat alleen indie met psychedelische invloeden overblijft.

De eerste extase is Want To, Bad een synthpoptrack die je tegelijkertijd doet huilen en dansen. Prachtig. Het hoge niveau wordt meteen doorgetrokken in het angstaanjagende Pier Pressure. De ruggengraat ervan is niet meer dan een melodieuze popsong, maar die wordt omkleed met een bizarre synth die de track mysterieus donker maakt.

Nice Night was onze eerste kennismaking met de band, want het was tevens de eerste single. Een hit scoor je niet met zo’n compositie, indruk maak je er wel mee.

Every Night You’ve Got To Save Me is een beetje de spelbreker van de plaat. Het is een goede track, maar de Phil Spectorachtige melodieën horen hier niet echt thuis. Ten minste dat vinden wij toch…

Territory begint met eigentijdse elektronica (denk aan M83), maar na een minuutje is het een heerlijke psychedelische kakofonie.

Rijk zal Noel Heroux met Mass Gothic niet worden, maar het levert wel een schitterende cd op.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
AUBIN • Any Day Now
MEIJER • Vrouwen
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
HECQ • Night Falls (Remastered)
FEW BITS • Big Sparks
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC + SHOEGAZE
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
KARAWANE • Karawane
THE SHOES • Chemicals
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories

Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!
07
05
This month it is 30 years ago that Front Line Assembly released their Disorder EP

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT
21
05
THE LAST CRY
WGT
20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue
21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
18
05
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi
17
05
VNV NATION
Nova