tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MASS GOTHIC - Mass Gothic

MASS GOTHIC

Mass Gothic

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicShoegaze
SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A white-black drawing of a man who’s wearing a T-shirt with the inscription Italian Girls are The Best In The World. It is probably true (sorry for the non-Italian ladies), but this cover doesn't tell you what to expect musically. Don’t be fooled by the band’s name either, as Mass Gothic is not gothic, although it sounds darker and heavier than many gothic we hear.

The core of Mass Gothic is the New Yorker Noel Heroux, the founder of Hooray For Earth. Despite the fact that Noel had a lot of success with that band, he disbanded Hooray For Earth at its peak because he was bored. Heroux eventually had a deep depression and apparently he is okay now as along with Jessica Zambri he returns with this brand new project. The style? A mishmash of different (good) things, resulting in indie with psychedelic influences.

The first highlight is Want To, Bad, a synth pop track that makes you weep and dance. Beautiful. The high level is maintained in Pier Pressure. The backbone of the song is just a melodic pop song, but a bizarre synth makes it mysteriously dark.

Nice Night was our first encounter with the band, because it was the first single. You can’t score a hit with such a composition, but you can impress people with it.

Every Night You've Got To Save Me is a bit of a bummer. It's a good track, but the Phil Spector-like melodies don’t really fit here. At least that is what we think...

Territory begins with contemporary electronics (think M83), but after a minute it evolves into a lovely psychedelic cacophony.

Mass Gothic won’t make Noel Heroux rich or famous, but art it is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een wit-zwarttekening van een man in een T-shirt met het opschrift Italian Girls are The Best In The World. Het is wellicht waar (sorry voor de niet-Italiaanse dames), maar voor de rest vertelt dit beeld maar weinig over wat je van deze muziek kan verwachten. Staar je ook niet al te blind op de naam van de band, want Mass Gothic speelt geen gothic, alhoewel het donkerder en zwaarder is dan heel wat gothic die we tegenwoordig horen.

De hoofdrol in Mass Gothic wordt vertolkt door de New Yorker Noel Heroux, ooit de bezieler van Hooray For Earth. Ondanks het feit dat Noel heel wat succes met deze band had, raakte hij er zo op uitgekeken dat hij op het hoogtepunt Hooray For Earth definitief naar de schrootplaats verwees. Uiteindelijk belandde Heroux in een zware depressie en blijkbaar is hij er nu uit, want samen met Jessica Zambri is hij er terug met dit nagelnieuw project. De stijl? Een bont allegaartje van alle (goede) dingen, zodat dat alleen indie met psychedelische invloeden overblijft.

De eerste extase is Want To, Bad een synthpoptrack die je tegelijkertijd doet huilen en dansen. Prachtig. Het hoge niveau wordt meteen doorgetrokken in het angstaanjagende Pier Pressure. De ruggengraat ervan is niet meer dan een melodieuze popsong, maar die wordt omkleed met een bizarre synth die de track mysterieus donker maakt.

Nice Night was onze eerste kennismaking met de band, want het was tevens de eerste single. Een hit scoor je niet met zo’n compositie, indruk maak je er wel mee.

Every Night You’ve Got To Save Me is een beetje de spelbreker van de plaat. Het is een goede track, maar de Phil Spectorachtige melodieën horen hier niet echt thuis. Ten minste dat vinden wij toch…

Territory begint met eigentijdse elektronica (denk aan M83), maar na een minuutje is het een heerlijke psychedelische kakofonie.

Rijk zal Noel Heroux met Mass Gothic niet worden, maar het levert wel een schitterende cd op.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
AUBIN • Any Day Now
MEIJER • Vrouwen
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
HECQ • Night Falls (Remastered)
FEW BITS • Big Sparks
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC + SHOEGAZE
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
KARAWANE • Karawane
THE SHOES • Chemicals
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
Horror Punk Band CUT LIKE THIS Personifies Insomnia With Latest Single, 'The Boogeyman' Featuring ANGELSPIT

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven