tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : N3VOA - Wasted Memories

N3VOA

Wasted Memories

MusicCD (EP)
Dark PopEBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Diego Bittencourt is a Brazilian who moved to New York at the age of twelve. With his solo project N3VOA he makes electronic music, although he has his roots in a death metal band in which he was the drummer. The music he offers now is influenced by Depeche Mode and early Leather Strip.

Wasted Memories is a solid dark electro track, Diego's experience in drumming is clearly audible. The rhythm section includes some classical drumming, and of course some electronic beats.

In the second song The Beauty Of Darkness, we hear a very atmospheric intro with both dark male and sultry female vocals.

With a title as Evil Rises, you expect some demons coming out, but it never happens. Again we hear more retro influences and good synth pop. Death is dark electro. This track also has an easy pace, but it stays dark.

From Time To Time refers to Depeche Mode. The last song on this EP is Anguish. Again, the influences of the great artists of the genre are audible, the rhythm section makes it danceable, although the song itself is average.

Some EBM legends like Leather Strip, Assemblage 23 and Decoded Feedback remixed a couple of songs. The remixes explain why they are monuments. The songs retain their value, but you get that little extra that makes them better.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/12/2016


NL

Diego Bittencourt is een Braziliaan die op twaalfjarige leeftijd naar New York verhuisde. Met zijn soloproject N3VOA gaat hij de elektronische toer op, hoewel zijn roots in een deathmetalband liggen (als drummer). De muziek die hij nu brengt is zowel door Depeche Mode als de vroegere Leather Strip beïnvloed.

Wasted Memories is een degelijke darkelectrotrack waarin Diego's drumverleden duidelijk wordt. De ritmesectie bevat klassiek drumwerk naast elektronische beats.

In de tweede song ,The Beauty Of Darkness, horen we een heel sferische intro met zowel donkere mannelijke als zwoele vrouwelijke vocalen. Heel genietbaar, hoewel van een heel rustig kaliber.

Met Evil Rises als titel, verwacht je demonische uithalen, maar die blijven uit. Het is meer van hetzelfde laken een broek. Niet beter, maar ook verre van slecht. We horen meer retro-invloeden en goede synthpop. Death is rustige donkere elektro. Deze track heeft tevens een rustig tempo, maar is daarom niet minder donker. Heel rustig synthwerk met voortkabbelende drums.

From Time to Time is een song die echt wel aan Depeche Mode refereert. De laatste song op deze ep is Anguish. Ook hier zijn de invloeden van de groten uit het genre weer hoorbaar, hoewel deze song niet echt uit de band springt, maakt de ritmesectie hem toch dansbaar.

Diego kon een paar grootheden uit het genre overhalen om een aantal songs te remixen waaronder Leather Strip, Assemblage 23 en Decoded Feedback. De remixen maken duidelijk waarom ze grootheden zijn. De songs behouden hun waarde, maar krijgen dat beetje extra waaardoor ze beter klinken.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed