tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : N3VOA - Wasted Memories

N3VOA

Wasted Memories

MusicCD (EP)
Dark PopEBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Diego Bittencourt is a Brazilian who moved to New York at the age of twelve. With his solo project N3VOA he makes electronic music, although he has his roots in a death metal band in which he was the drummer. The music he offers now is influenced by Depeche Mode and early Leather Strip.

Wasted Memories is a solid dark electro track, Diego's experience in drumming is clearly audible. The rhythm section includes some classical drumming, and of course some electronic beats.

In the second song The Beauty Of Darkness, we hear a very atmospheric intro with both dark male and sultry female vocals.

With a title as Evil Rises, you expect some demons coming out, but it never happens. Again we hear more retro influences and good synth pop. Death is dark electro. This track also has an easy pace, but it stays dark.

From Time To Time refers to Depeche Mode. The last song on this EP is Anguish. Again, the influences of the great artists of the genre are audible, the rhythm section makes it danceable, although the song itself is average.

Some EBM legends like Leather Strip, Assemblage 23 and Decoded Feedback remixed a couple of songs. The remixes explain why they are monuments. The songs retain their value, but you get that little extra that makes them better.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/12/2016


NL

Diego Bittencourt is een Braziliaan die op twaalfjarige leeftijd naar New York verhuisde. Met zijn soloproject N3VOA gaat hij de elektronische toer op, hoewel zijn roots in een deathmetalband liggen (als drummer). De muziek die hij nu brengt is zowel door Depeche Mode als de vroegere Leather Strip beïnvloed.

Wasted Memories is een degelijke darkelectrotrack waarin Diego's drumverleden duidelijk wordt. De ritmesectie bevat klassiek drumwerk naast elektronische beats.

In de tweede song ,The Beauty Of Darkness, horen we een heel sferische intro met zowel donkere mannelijke als zwoele vrouwelijke vocalen. Heel genietbaar, hoewel van een heel rustig kaliber.

Met Evil Rises als titel, verwacht je demonische uithalen, maar die blijven uit. Het is meer van hetzelfde laken een broek. Niet beter, maar ook verre van slecht. We horen meer retro-invloeden en goede synthpop. Death is rustige donkere elektro. Deze track heeft tevens een rustig tempo, maar is daarom niet minder donker. Heel rustig synthwerk met voortkabbelende drums.

From Time to Time is een song die echt wel aan Depeche Mode refereert. De laatste song op deze ep is Anguish. Ook hier zijn de invloeden van de groten uit het genre weer hoorbaar, hoewel deze song niet echt uit de band springt, maakt de ritmesectie hem toch dansbaar.

Diego kon een paar grootheden uit het genre overhalen om een aantal songs te remixen waaronder Leather Strip, Assemblage 23 en Decoded Feedback. De remixen maken duidelijk waarom ze grootheden zijn. De songs behouden hun waarde, maar krijgen dat beetje extra waaardoor ze beter klinken.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover