tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ADAN & ILSE - Chirurgie Plastique

ADAN & ILSE

Chirurgie Plastique

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
09/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Adan & Ilse clearly is in an active mood. In less than a year, the duo is back with new material. The line-up is different as on Cold Diamonds, because Peter Rainman left the band and is busy with his own project People Theatre now.

The musical brain is Pedro Penas y Robles, the singer and lyricist, who also is the label boss of Unknown Pleasure Records, and Ushersan. The music is a mixture of IAMX with Blutengel, complemented with an Alan Vega-touch, and can be categorized as dark wave and synth pop.

Chirurgie Plastique starts slowly with the melancholic Blind that has a dark guitar riff, combined with slow beats of a rhythm box. The atmosphere quickly changes with the fresh synth sounds of Untouchable, the cool bass lines raise this song to a very high level. More obscure minimal sounds can be heard in Sin Of Sin. The repetitive synth sounds refer to the analogue electronic sound of the 80s, and so comparisons with Yazoo and Depeche Mode are easily made. We hear some dance beats in Energy or To Be Real, but it never feels like a club sound, although most of the tracks have enough power for a dance or to provoke some convulsions. The versatility of this album is once again proven by the minimal wave sounds of Edwige.

The electronic mix of cold and dark sounds with EBM influences, and the different styles, make this a CD that stands out. Not every track takes us into raptures, but as a whole the album is more than recommended.

Peter HESELMANS
09/12/2016


NL

Adan & Ilse zijn kennelijk in een zeer actieve bui. Nog geen jaar na het verschijnen van Cold Diamonds, zijn ze alweer paraat met nieuw werk. Ondertussen is er wel een kleine wijziging in de bezetting. Peter Rainman heeft na wat onenigheid de band verlaten om zich volledig toe te spitsen op zijn project People Theatre.

Bij dit duo zit Pedro Penas y Robles, de zanger en tekstschrijver, en natuurlijk ook de baas van Unknown Pleasure Records, en Ushersan, die eigenlijk het muzikale brein is. Hun muziek kan je best omschrijven als een mix tussen IAMX en Blutengel, met daarbij een vleugje Alan Vega waarmee ze dus in het darkwave-/synthpophoekje zitten.

Chirurgie Plastique komt zeer langzaam op gang met het melancholische Blind, de donkere gitaarrif in combinatie met de trage beats uit de ritmebox brengen ons net niet in een weemoedige bui. Maar de sfeer wordt snel een stuk aangenamer met de frisse synthklanken van Untouchable, de koele baslijnen tillen dit nummer naar een heel hoog niveau. Meer obscure minimalistische geluiden horen we op Sin Of Sin, de repetitieve synthklanken doen je wegdromen naar de analoge elektronische periode uit de jaren 80, vergelijkingen met Yazoo of Depeche Mode zijn dan ook niet ver weg.

Iets meer dancebeats vinden we op Energy of To Be Real, zonder dat je van een echte clubsound kan spreken, maar er is zeker genoeg power aanwezig voor een danspas of een paar flinke lichamelijke stuiptrekkingen.

De veelzijdigheid van dit album wordt nogmaals bewezen met de minimal wavegeluiden van Edwige. De combinatie van verschillende elektronische stijlen en de mix van een donkere en koude sound met EBM-invloeden, tillen deze cd boven het gemiddelde uit. Niet elke track brengt ons in extase, maar als geheel is deze plaat fraai en aanbevolen.

Peter HESELMANS
09/12/2016


Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven