tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RECTOR SCANNER - Herzschlag

RECTOR SCANNER

Herzschlag

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMFuture Pop

[77/100]   

Emmo.biz
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps devoted fans of the electro scene remember Rene Nowotny, the man behind AD:key. Once he was regularly on stage with the EBM godfathers Armageddon Dildos. The man also had his own band, Rector Scanner, and a first CD (Vocoder) released on Pandamonium Records (the label that also released some Clan Of Xymox albums). For his second album, Herzschlag, things went completely wrong. The label went bankrupt and the album never was released. And yes, ten years later Emmo.biz Records releases the album. Too late? If a CD is merely a product, then yes, but art (even if it is synthetic) is timeless.

Tief In Dir (you can interpret this the way you want) is an instant hit: a melodic singalong that has the energy of And One and the gothic content of Project Pitchfork. Silbersonne, the title sounds like a Rammstein-song, is lovely future pop (with some EBM influences). Wafenbrüder, the name says it all: we hear stomping EBM beats. Of course EBM includes some machismo (right?) In Herzschlag Rene whispers all the things he intends to do with a lady, while in the background you hear a horny female voice. Sexist? A bit, but it's irresistible EBM with melancholic Kraftwerk-beats, so what more do you want?

Versteck Dich is the softest track here, it’s rather a mysterious goth song. In Angezogen we hear that horny woman's voice again, while musically, the song is between Frozen Plasma and (again) And One. It's hard to stick a label on Gottes Maschine and Kontrastprogramm, but these tracks guide you to the dance floor! Im Meer Des Ewigen Lebens (what a title!) makes you think you have a Tangerine Dream-CD is in your player.

This cute disc concludes with four remixes, even one by his old friends Armageddon Dildos. Herzschlag is a record that will please many electro fans!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

De naam Rene Nowotny zegt je misschien iets als je de weg kent in het elektrowereldje. Juist, Rene is tegenwoordig de man achter AD:key, maar hij stond ook regelmatig op het podium met de EBM-godfathers Armageddon Dildos. De man had echter ook een eigen bandje, Rector Scanner, waarvan de eerste cd (Vocoder) werd uitgebracht op Pandamonium Records (het label dat een paar Clan Of Xymox-albums uitbracht).

Met zijn tweede cd Herzschlag liep het echter compleet fout. Het label ging op de fles en het album verscheen niet. En jawel, tien jaar later is er Emmo.biz Records dat deze plaat wel uitbrengt. Vijgen na Pasen? Als je een cd louter als product bekijkt natuurlijk wel, maar als kunst (ook al is het synthetisch) blijft muziek tijdloos.

Tief In Dir (te interpreteren zoals je dat zelf wil) is meteen een schot in de roos: een melodieuze meezinger die zich ergens tussen de energie van And One en het gothicgehalte van Project Pitchfork situeert. Silbersonne, de titel alleen al klinkt als een Rammsteinsong, is heerlijke ouderwetse futurepop (met wat EBM-invloeden). Wafenbrüder laat het al vermoeden: hier horen we stompende EBM-beats. Bij EBM hoort natuurlijk ook wat machogedrag (ja toch?) en in Herzschlag fluistert Rene je alles toe wat hij met een dame van plan is, en dat terwijl de onderdanige lekker ligt te kreunen. Seksistisch? Een tikkeltje wel natuurlijk, maar het is tevens onweerstaanbare EBM met melancholische Kraftwerk-beats, dus wat wil je nog meer?

Versteck Dich is weinig dansbaar, eerder een mysterieuze gothtrack. In Angezogen horen we alweer die geile vrouwenstem, terwijl de song zich muzikaal tussen Frozen Plasma en (alweer) And One wringt. Het is moeilijk om een etiket te kleven op Gottes Maschine en Kontrastprogramm, maar het zijn twee tracks die je naar de dansvloer leiden! Afsluiter Im Meer Des Ewigen Lebens (wat een titel!) laat je vermoeden dat er een Tangerine Dream-cd in je lader ligt.

Voor de fijnproevers wordt dit leuke schijfje afgesloten met vier remixen, waaronder zelfs eentje door zijn oude gabbers van Armageddon Dildos. Herzschlag is een plaat die heel wat elektroliefhebbers zal plezieren!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ELFERYA • Eden's Fall
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In
JEROEN VAN VEEN • Riley ‘in C’
JUSSKA • Tsuki (EP)
EL YUNQUE • Baskenland
MENSWEAR • Nuisance
FUTURE PERFECT • After The Fall
SYNAPSI - 10TH ANNIVERSARY & FAREWELL • Helsinki, Finland
THE SEXORCIST • This Is Erotic Body Music
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + FUTURE POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015
XP8 • Nigredo EP
BRUDERSCHAFT • Return
VIRGINS O.R. PIGEONS • Bleed to lead

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation